We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SENTIDO Palm Royale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yara Beach Club(Soma Bay)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shams Safaga(Safaga)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Reviews (2,987)
    Filter reviews
    2,987 results
    Traveler rating
    2,366
    452
    119
    33
    17
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    2,366
    452
    119
    33
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgreek restaurantmr kannansoma baycafe stellaatrium barazur bara la carte restaurantsthomas cookpoint breakkoi carpmattress toppermain restaurantanimation teamkite surfingspa poolhorse ridingfront of house manager
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,501 - 1,506 of 2,987 reviews
    Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

    This is without doubt an Oasis of pure delight. A full review will be submitted however I wanted to ensure our thoughts were available to ensure you book.

    Do not delay book now you will not be disappointed. ..

    Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    6  Thank ITNETWORKER
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 14, 2014

    The hotel has a lovely ornate lobby with piano bar. The main restaurant and all A la carte restaurants were all clean and served excellent food. We particularly liked the Asian and Italian restaurants. The room we had was good but the beds were very firm and uncomfortable. The pool area and grounds were extensive and beautifully maintained, however sparsely used as most people were on the beach which was also good. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The night time entertainment was limited. At the end of our holiday a large contingent of kite surfers and wind surfers appeared for a tournament. This changed the atmosphere from a quiet resort to a massive party as a stage and large sound and light system were built in the grounds. The loud music went on until 2am and disturbed our sleep. We also witnessed drunken guests which was no surprise as the hotel had waiters giving out shots of vodka to these guests. The hotel has a discotheque with sound insulation and the out door stage was not required really. It felt that the hotel had changed from a 5 star to a 3 star overnight. I would therefore advise anyone who wants a normal holiday to check if there are any events planned before booking. On a good note, the hotel facilities are excellent with the opportunity to use the spa and all watersports freely available. Overall a good experience but choose your dates wisely.

    Room Tip: We paid £70 extra for a sea view room where we got a view of the sea and the construction site next door. The grounds are lovely anyway and the hotel is right on the beach so we would not pay this again. Some rooms in the Nefertiti block got no sun on the balcony at any time of day.
    • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Graham W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 5, 2014

    Just got back from 2 weeks at the Palm Royale and have to say that as an all round holiday experience it rated as one of the most enjoyable, relaxing holidays we have been on.

    The build and quality of the hotel itself is most impressive and is spotlessly clean, The staff are friendly and attentive and cannot do enough to ensure your stay is memorable.

    Occupancy at the moment is low....maybe 15% and that inevitably does impact on some aspects of the hotel....only two out of the four a la carte restaurants open each evening ( Italian and Lebanese one night and Greek and Asian the next) but the upside to that is that booking an a la carte is a stress free, quick experience and we dined a la carte on 11 of the 14 nights we were there.

    Another victim of the low occupancy is the heating of the main pool. It is a bone chilling 16 degrees C and it not a comfortable experience swimming in it. The spa pool, however, is heated to a level that is most enjoyable. We were speaking to one of the senior managers and he said that they had plans this year to divide the main pool into two and heat half through the winter as well as heat the children's outdoor pool as well. He went on to say that they would then make the spa pool adults only.

    The food at the hotel is excellent.....the Stella restaurant (main buffet) offers a wide range of well cooked food. We ate there each lunch time and found the choice and quality of the food on offer to be consistently good.

    The a la carte restaurants are top class....our favourite was the Asian. We were expecting a Chinese type restaurant but were most surprised to find it was Thai / Japanese / Indian cuisine. As an avid spice monkey I was in seventh heaven. They have a Bangladeshi chef who does the most divine butter chicken and garlic naans. They even have their own tandoor oven. Our next favourite was the Greek...they do a mean rabbit stifado as good as any I've had in Greece. They also have a guitarist/ singer playing which is good. The Lebanese was good but not to my wife's taste although I enjoyed it. Our least favourite was the Italian which disappointed on the two occasions we ate there.

    There is little by way of entertainment in the hotel although they have an excellent pianist playing each night in the lobby. Johnny's bar is good to get your football fix if needed.

    The beach is sandy and entry to the water is easy and gentle, no snorkelling worth doing though. Sea temperature was OK and we bathed in it every day.

    We went with Thomas Cook and found the rep, Khalid, to be excellent....polite, knowledgeable and very helpful.

    We have stayed previously at the Premier le Reve but have to say that as an all round package the Palm Royale has the edge and we will definitely be back

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    9  Thank Ivorbigwedge
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 5, 2014

    Well just got back last night and all I can say is wow

    Such a shame that the hotel is so quiet,like most of the tourist areas but please be assured here in soma bay you are not touched by any troubles,in fact even the locals themselves are begging the tourists to come back to them

    And if you do come please come to this hotel as it is truly a five star hotel

    You feel awed when you walk in the lobby and treated like a special guest from start to finish.

    We paid a little bit more and got a beach front room 2008, it was 30 secs from the beach itself and the bonus is if you want to use it you have password protected free wifi for as long as you are ther in all areas of the hotel.

    Transfers from the airport is around 45 mins

    The food

    Is excellent from the buffet breakfast,lunch and evening meal.we ate in the terrace a lovely first floor restaurant for breakfast where they serve you all your drinks,but I can recommend the Stella restaurant as well,they even have hot porridge and a waffle maker there.
    Lunch was just as nice and dinner was wonderful. The waiters cannot do enough for you.

    We were able to use the a la carte restaurants as it as so quiet,and it was included in your AI price.we tried the Asian twice and well what can I say but beautiful food cooked in the room,and try the black rice pudding it was lovely.

    The staff

    From the moment you arrived your cases are taken by the concierge and then taken to your room,the hotel manager and all the reception staff are great,speak English extremely well,and nothing is too much trouble,inc changing some larger LE to small ones for tipping

    The restaurants are full of lovely people who always ask how you are,which again makes you feel like an ind person not just a room number

    The cleaner came in everyday and really cleaned the room well,inc beautiful towel art,make sure you take pics xx

    We left a little money each day for them and then a little extra on the last day

    The trips

    Thomas cook do some wonderful trips,we did the dolphin trip which was a full day in the sea and they provide breakfast and lunch all cooked on board

    Then we booked a private tour of luxor in our own private car and the guide was great

    We also went on a desert safari,bumping around in a 4x4 over dune and hills. Very bumpy not recommended for those with bad backs etc,evening meal provided and entertainment,we would have stayed for the star gazing but it was overcast but it did not spoil the day

    The sea was a little cool but probably only the time of year,and the main pool was very cold but the spa pool was around 28'c,so choice for all

    The spa

    As AI you get 3 sessions in the spa,we opted for all three at once and were able to have a full body massage in one oh,and it took around 3/4 hour

    The beach

    The beach was lovely and clean,loads of sunbeds and there is a bar near the sunbeds
    The towel boy is great,will even have your towels ready on your bed for a small tip

    The shops
    There are a few little shops in the hotel,from a pharmacy to clinic,bank jewellery,perfume oils,papyrus,right through to flip flops,sunglasses etc,and also has an ATM machine which was great

    You really have to try this hotel if you are looking for something special

    We stayed for a week,and wish we could stay longer. But we have decided that we will probably be back,and I have to be honest I cannot wait

    Oh just on a quick note. Uk Imodium will not usually work in Egypt but the local cure tablets are fantastic. You will usually only get and upset tummy if you drink the tap water,or if you have you water bottle too cold,and make sure you turn off the air conditioning when you get out of the shower,we did this and never had a bad tummy at all,it was a tip from the rep

    The rep

    The rep is great,loads of knowledge and don't be afraid to ask his opinion on which trips to take,he was available every day but Sunday. But can be contacted through reception

    Well I probably has waffled enough but cannot recommend this hotel more highly

    Please go and as I said do not be put if by the "troubles" they do not affect where you are at all

    Room Tip: We were in a beach front room 2008 open French doors and beach 30 secs away. And with the beach front rooms you get free wifi for as long as you are there and it us password protected and works all over resort
    • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    8  Thank catherine t
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 2, 2014

    Stayed at this hotel over xmas 2013 and was not disappointed . We had never been away over Christmas before and my wife and i searched long and hard to get the right hotel for us .
    On arrival both our jaws dropped at the site of the most splendid reception area ,we quickly checked in and were whisked via a glass lift to our room on the third floor .
    On entering our spacious and beautifully decorated room we were more than happy with our decision so we speedily decamped to Johnny's bar to celebrate Christmas eve with a few glasses of the local red wine .
    Service throughout was amazing and we could not criticise any member of staff at all but i feel i must mention Joseph in Johnny 's bar especially as he really did make us feel special during our week's break .
    The staff at the main buffet restaurant were absolutely brilliant and extremely attentive and this theme followed through to the satellite restaurants which because we had travelled with Thomas Cook we could use as many times as we wished .
    Front of house staff were excellent as were the guest relations staff , big mention to Head off front of house he is literally available 24/7 .
    On the whole our stay was extremely relaxing spent in beautiful surroundings with friendly and helpful people .
    We will be back for xmas 2014 .

    Room Tip: From what i have seen there are no bad rooms .
    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank clivos
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews