We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel with wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Royale Soma Bay
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We spent two weeks here over the New Year period having booked with Thomas Cook. The hotel is fabulous, the photos of the reception on their web site realy don't do it justice. It's a "Wow!" as soon as you walk through the door.

The service through out the hotel is world class, in our opinion. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone gives 150% in ensuring you have just what you want when you want it. From the room cleaning service, all the staff in each and every restaurant, the guest relations team, the annimation team, the spa team - everyone really did go out of their way to ensure we had an amazing holiday.

The food was superb. The A la Carte resturants were fabulous. The Greek was our particular favourite followed by the Asian but the Italian and Lebanese were very close behind. We just rotated around the four of them for our evening meals (booking 24 hours in advance with guest relations - no problems getting in) and had lunch in the Stella Cafe which provided a good variety of food everyday.

We had upgraded to a Club room and had the pleasure of taking breakfast in La Terrance every day. It was the perfect way to start each morning - looking out to sea and enjoying the incredible buffet. A special thank you to Lisiel, Khled and all the staff there who really did provided excellent service.

Our top tips:
1. Get a mattress topper.
2. Exchange sterling to egyptian pounds in the machine at the hotel - it's a good rate and you are charged pennies for the exchange.
3. At this time of year I would recommend to take some warm clothes for evening time - there is quite a cool breeze so you need a wrap/cardy or jumper.
4. Go - you won't regret it!!



I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrandMrs_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    315
    89
    28
    14
See reviews for
762
977
80
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent Christmas and New Year at this hotel and we were very pleasantly surprised at the effort the hotel put in to make the festive period enjoyable, the whole place was decorated out, with Christmas dinner laid on and a Gala Ball for the New Year celebration which was fantastic. We had some initial issues with the first room as the sun at this particular time of year does not get to the rooms at the NNE side of the hotel so after a quick chat with the girls on guest relations we were moved to the sunnier side. At this time of year the hotel only runs 1/2 chillers so the airconditioning was a tad weak but again the the front of house manager provided a fan to keep the room cool at night. The rooms are spacious and clean with tea/coffee making facilities with the only down side being the occasional smelly drain which was rectified quickly with disinfectant. The AI package for this hotel included the 4 themed restaurants with a 24hr pre booking regime, all of which were good value and a change from the hotel main eating area. Our favorite was the Lebanese with perhaps the Greek coming out 4th but all the food was well cooked and well presented. Be aware that the more expensive dishes will come at a supplement as do imported drinks but both the red and white wine was palatable as was the beer, the only spirit that was Ok was the brandy but if you had them in a cocktail the odd taste diluted somewhat. The other things included were spa tasters, various treatments, diving, wind surfing, horse riding and others, all very good. Now for the few minor issues.....the Spa pool being overrun by groups of noisy uncontrolled children and toddlers as this was the only heated pool. This flies in the face of the ambience that was trying to come across with Zen music and the relaxing spa facilities which was disappointing. The sea was plenty warm enough to swim in and safe with sand to play on, ideal for unruly and noisy kids of all nationalities!! The hotel really needs to put an age restriction on this area, in the summer months it may not be such a problem but at this time of year it was too much. I didn't quite work out why there was a charge for local alcohol from the mini bar in the room as everywhere else was included, I can only assume it was to control the 'disappearance' of stock. Also the internet charges were too high which was surprising as in most hotels around the world the internet is free at one point with perhaps a nominal charge for wifi in the room. Its 45 minutes to get to Hurghada with a charge for the hotel transport and apart from the shops, the marina looked like the only place I would want to visit again did we go back. Overall we had a very good holiday with customer service and restaurant service being exceptional, our thanks go to all the staff and Kannan the front office manager, the girls on guest relations did a brilliant job and are a credit to their hotel. We would go back again for the Christmas period as the staff made it really special.

Room Tip: If you want sun on the balcony a room (3/4th floor) facing in towards the pool. In summer I suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayandSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Palm Royale over Christmas. The weather was good, the hotels ambience and facilities are great but what really makes the hotel stand out is the quality of the staff and their eagerness to make sure we had a great holiday.

Front of House Manager Mr Subramaniam could not have been more helpful and made sure my wife had a lovely birthday - even driving us in the hotel golf buggy to dinner! Mustafa who cleaned our room kept us entertained with towel animal sculptures all week. Hassan on the beach always made sure we had a great spot to sunbathe. Khalid was our favourite waiter and was normally in the Lebanese restaurant and was a particularly kind to our daughter.

The hotel is pretty remote but had everything we needed for a lovely relaxing week and we still had some great excursions to swim with dolphins, visit a Bedouin village and go scuba diving.

The a la carte restaurants were all very good but the Asian and Lebanese ones were our personal favourites. The facilities in the gym and spa were very good and although the big pool may not be heated - the lovely sea and the smaller heated pool more than compensated.

We felt entirely safe at all times despite the foreign office advice! We are already thinking of booking to return again next Christmas - highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good food, good facilities, large room. We particularly liked the themed restaurants which gave a lot of variety (Greek, Italian, Lebanese and Asian restaurants which were very nicely decorated). The beach was also very nice with lots of palm trees. They need a heated pool for the winter months as it was too cold for us to swim in the pools that they had (apart from a small pool at the back). The manager said a heated pool will be fitted next year. The internet charges are also too high.
If I am totally honest it's not really a 5 start hotel, it's more a good 4 star hotel. The Kempinski is 5 star.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

EGYPT was never on our holiday list but it was a very nice surprise to find a place where the staff our so friendly and helpful, we arrived on Christmas Eve and much to our surprise the grounds and buildings were decorated with fairy lights etc, the Christmas Eve and Christmas day food was exceptional, the weather was warm to very warm but sometimes the wind could be chilly and the sea very cold,(it is winter there) the beach is large with plenty of sunbeds with fresh towels available from the beach hut .Our room was large with a balcony and kept very clean and tidy as was every where .The New Years Eve Party was absolutely brilliant plenty of very good food and drinks . We did get upset stomachs not sure what caused it but the staff were brilliant getting us food and drinks and the chef cooking special food for us. If you are interested in fishing you need to book a good boat in Hurghada it was only inshore reef hand line from booking on the beach .If we had any complaint it would be about NOT being able to adjust the air-conditioning as this is computer controled

Room Tip: our room was 2222 with a good view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prapdvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were so impressed with the place, the people and the service last time that we booked this additional 10 days on our last day's holiday back in July 2013. It's much quieter this time and understandably just after the Christmas/New Year as the season won't pick up again until March/April but being quieter isn't a disadvantage at all. The same levels of staffing make everything as per the subject line!

The diving is tremendous and although the air temperature is averaging 21 - 25 the sea is still 24 at the surface and 23 at 12m - 20m so fantastic with a 5mm suit. The hotel has also extended it's all inclusive client offers to include a morning or afternoon's sea fishing which we are signed up for this Wednesday.

The food once again is outstanding from Stella the main resort restaurant to the 4 specialist my favourites still being the Greek and Asian.

The staff are as brilliant as they were last year, all of them but a special mention for Tarek and Anna at Dive In, the on resort PADI Dive Centre, Yousef in the Atrium and Jonny's Bar and last but certainly not least Mr Kennan, Manager extraordinaire!! Thanks for another wonderful break.

Room Tip: All rooms have super sea views so there isn't any need to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccles, Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went for Christmas and New Year and all the staff made sure we had a fantastic time - Santa and his helpers were out on the beach on the day giving out presents to all the children!, traditional christmas dinner was available at lunch and the food in the evening was great. The party at New Year was unbelievable and so much time and effort was put into ensuring everyone had a great time - and this was all included, no extra 'gala dinner' charges! My husband said this was the best New Year party he had been too!!

I had emailed the hotel a couple of week prior to going after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor and everything I asked for was provided, the mattress topper made the beds beautifully soft and they are huge! We were also surprised with our very own anniversary cake which was a lovely gesture.

There are 4 al la carte restaurants as well as the main restaurant which are all very good and you can go to as many times as you like so long as you book with customer relations in reception. We found we liked the Lebanese the most and visited 4 times - the food was amazing and the manager was very accommodating, Mr Mostafa squeezed my family in one time when customer relations had said the list was full - I was so grateful - the bread lady Hannan was lovely too, she didn't speak much English but always had a smile and some bread for us whenever we passed or visited the Shisha area.

Johnnys Bar has all the football you can image (as do the rooms!) and they make a nice Pina Colada (make sure they make it with local spirits otherwise they charge) - the vodka is vile and my husband said the beer is good and the diet coke is just about drinkable, but the atmosphere is good and we met so good friends in there. There are 2 billiard tables which have to be pre booked via Customer Relations which the kids enjoyed.

The beach is always clean and lovely big fluffy towels are provided by staff for the beach or pool and the beds have mattresses - yes there are staff selling the usual, massages, diving experiences, salon/nailstuff but if you say no politely they don't bother you again.

The animation team was very depleted (3) due to the time of year and number of people staying but again if you did not want to get involved they would not hassle you, you could get involved as much or as little as you wished.

We never used room service so cannot comment on that but we did use the laundry which - other than them losing a shirt then finding it after we said would complain it was found, brought to our room with a very grovelling apology and a no charge fee for half our cleaning - I couldn't complain too much.

If you book with Thomas Cook - make sure you take advantage of the 3 free treatments in the spa and the 3 free activities ie. horse riding etc. The treatments are good, as is the gym but be aware they will try and sell you other massages etc, if you are interested and I have to say they are excellent do barter! We managed to get 5, 1 hour massages for the price of 2.

It really is an amazing hotel, food, rooms, beach, staff especially, Mohammed Medo & Mr Mostafa in the Lebanese, Samy Nasry in the main restaurant, Mr Subramanian in reception to name a few. Mr Subramanian was constantly asking if everything was ok - he is such a genuinely nice bloke - he said he would send us offers from the hotel if we were interested in going back so that we could compare with Thomas Cooks rates! He even said he would recommend some places to visit in Sri Lanka (where he was from and where we got married) if we decided to visit there in the future. Nothing is too much for anyone and I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering going to Egypt. Yes the hotel is in the middle of nowhere but you can arrange a personal taxi to take you to the next town, we paid £40 (about half an hour away and you can barter with the price) but there is enough going on in the hotel to not leave at all! We only left once in two weeks!

Thanks to all the staff especially Mohammed Medo, Hannan, Mr Mostafa, Samy Nasry, Mr Subramanian - you made our holiday extra special - Im already looking at booking for next year.

If you want to know anything about the hotel/area - please feel free to make contact - Im sure you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress topper - if staying in the summer months I would recommend asking for a room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracey280770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
13.5 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 229 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,947 reviews
10.9 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
19.8 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
13.9 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
23.9 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Property: Palm Royale Soma Bay
Address: Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#8 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the 1.2 km long private sand beach in Egypt is the Palm Royale. Here you can relax and enjoy the perfect holiday with your family and friends. The two bays offer a perfect atmosphere for privacy and enjoying the weather. The Palm Royale is just 45 km away from the airport of Hurghada and 50 km to the city center of Hurghada. Moreover, the city Safaga is just 12 km away from the Palm Royale. You have got the possibility to use the free WIFI from the hotel. Furthermore, the Palm Royale offers a kids club, Babysitting, a playground for children, a gym and four tennis courts. The meals are served in form of a buffet with fresh cuisine in the Palm Royale. Furthermore, several a la carte restaurants offer a huge variety of fresh meals. Many sport activities are offered during your holidays. You have the possibility to play beach volleyball, water ball, use the gym and many other water sports activities. Furthermore, the Palm Royale has got a spa area to relax and enjoy the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing