We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sentido Palm Royale Soma Bay
Ranked #8 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2012.
The hotel was very clean and the service was excellent with very friendly staff in all areas.
Long wonderful beach that was kept clean and well maintained by the beach boys who would also move sunbeds around to suit demand.
Whilst there was very good food with plenty of choice in the main restaurant, there were also several other al la carte restaurants of different nationalities that were also providing excellent food and service.
Although we always prefer to use the beach, the pool was spectacular with masses of room around it to spread out sunbeds without being rammed up against other holiday makers.
We only had one problem at the start of the holiday whereby there was no hot water in the room. However once we had spoken to Mr Kannan, Customer Relations Manager, he ensured the matter was sorted out immediately and continued, in a very courteous manner to ensure that everything else throughout the holiday, including the hot water, was more than satisfactory.
Overall a fantastic holiday, a special thanks to Mr Kannan, and we will definitely be returning in June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCandKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,874
    322
    88
    28
    14
See reviews for
774
998
83
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had stayed at Palm royal hotel recently, and I just had a wonderful memorable stay.
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, surrounded with endless desert, you wouldn't believe that such a luxury hotel does exist in the desert.
sea is really breath taking, pool is very good, we had a wonderful time on the beach, so quite and relaxing.
Hotel has an outstanding tennis courts, unfortunately we did not have time to use it.
Food was fine. dinning experience was satisfactory.
Staff are friendly and caring, specially the reception staff, they gave us a room just with our preference - really amazing direct view to the red sea- , several courtesy calls to make sure that everything exceed our expectations, they even offered me a complimentary late check out for couple of hours to make me feel home as per their words!!! we never been treated that royally in our life before.
Hotel area is safe, ideal for couples and families. we are surly coming back along with friends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just to clarify I am a legit reviewer and have reviewed other places before, so you can read them if you like.
We stayed for a week from the 11th of September, and booked through Thomas Cook all inclusive Holidays with Style.
We just wanted a week away without the daily routine to relax.
To start:
Thomas Cook itself. They do look after you, I can't fault the rep Bassem. He was top notch, very helpful and let us know what was happening.
But Thomas Cook as an airline is pretty awful.. It's just the seats are so tight for leg room, it makes pretty uncomfortable traveling if you're on a flight longer than three hours which we were, and they like to have the inside of the plane pretty hot which is unbearable. Even when someone asked for it to be turned cooler it didn't make much difference.
It made not a nice start to what was supposed to be a relaxing time in our lives, that we had paid hard earned money for, and waited most of the year for. It's a night mare.
The rest:
The transfers were fine, an hour to the hotel. Check in was fine also, both in and out.
Actually I cannot fault the polite, friendly service that the hotel and Thomas Cook offered. The people really made a difference, and were lovely at the hotel.
The rooms were very average. I am not sure about the standard of the other rooms but we had a sea view looking out to the marina and windsurfers. The view was lovely. Sunrises were amazing. The decor was very tired. The TV was great, and there was always a movie to watch if you needed to. The bed was like a brick, like a concrete slab. I like a firm bed but this was not a relaxing way to end the day. There were moments when I had thought that the floor might have been more comfortable.
The bathroom had seen better days, with mold. I don't know what everyone else expects but I don't think mold should be a feature of a resort. It just needs a good clean, a good scrub.
The rest of the hotel is ok, nice but the rooms definitely need a spruce up.
The beach where we spent a lot of time was lovely, great for families as the water was clean, clear and tranquil. There were small fish swimming around. Lots of water sports going on round the corner of the beach where the marina was. The wind was never to the point where it was too windy, sunsets beautiful. The way the loungers are set up is really tasteful. I loved the woven umbrellas. You could always find a lounger, even when it got a bit busier towards the end of the week.
We also spent some time at the gym pool as it was pretty quiet, and not too hot. The people there were really nice, although I wouldn't drink the water they offer you in plastic cups. I don't think it was from a bottle, we were (more fool us/stupid mistake/should know better) pretty ill after this.
The food in the buffet restaurant was ok, but the idea of being able to visit the 4 restaurants on site was a great way to break up the stay. We visited all but the Italian. I loved the food at the Lebanese, and loved the atmos with the guitar player at the Greek. Food was lovely, and as for the blue menu items that people complain about having to pay for, it was only a very few items. There were plenty of choices to make.
The coffee at the atrium bar is top knotch and our waiter there was a lovely guy, thankyou for the lovely smiley face on my cappa!!!
We didn't drink much as the local stuff a bit stomach ripping, the beers ok though. Through effects of sun and stomach upsets we drank less and less as the holiday progressed.
It started off with my partner being violently ill one night, then I went downhill from there with stomach trouble, just on the day of going home. All I could think of was whether I could make it home that day or not.
My seat mate across the aisle on the flight home had been staying at the Palm also and she had been put on a drip, which they tried to insert into her arm 7 times at the clinic on site. She had been given 4 different medications to take and it cost her $150 USD. She didn't know what it was that made her ill although.
We are still recovering four days later. We were aware of tummy trouble before going to Egypt, but took the risk.
but now having experienced it, for that reason alone, I don't think I could risk going on another holiday of this sort to Egypt.
I couldn't face it.
I a lot of ways the Palm Royale gets it right, but in a lot of ways it does not, but from what I've read of some of the other resorts in Sharm, and elsewhere in Egypt it is all a bit of the same.
As for anyone else going, try and be polite to the staff, they work really hard, they are very kind - and a please and thank you isn't going to hurt. Can't believe how horrible some people were to the staff there!!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are quieter than pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

the best place ever & great services .. it's the first visit and never the last . we really enjoyed everything . Keep the good working & thanks to all the stuff & the gentleman Mr. Ahmed abd el fattah for the great effort .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 525Nehal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Very very nice hotel with high stander service . I really enjoyed my time soooooo much. Wonderful holiday . I recommend
To everybody what ever you looking for ,you will find it there.! Trust me.the sea and the weather are Amazing

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

very beautiful resort nice staff and polite, i have spend a week like in a paradise.
it was my second time within 2 years.
THe most nice thing,that we have really good service here.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.
Many thanks for all palm royale staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nader K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm the 3d time in this hotel with my wife and we really love this wonderful place,where we always have perfect relax rest,perfect sea,nice food,good rooms,big and buatiful territory of the hotel.THe most nice thing,that we have really good service here.In lobby restorant the managers are very proffecional and very polite.Aspessially Mohamed El Sayed-he is really best manager! /A.Balkarov/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aubekir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
13.5 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5,025 reviews
10.9 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
788 reviews
19.7 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
13.9 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
23.9 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Palm Royale Soma Bay

Property: Sentido Palm Royale Soma Bay
Address: Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Palm Royale Soma Bay)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the 1.2 km long private sand beach in Egypt is the Palm Royale. Here you can relax and enjoy the perfect holiday with your family and friends. The two bays offer a perfect atmosphere for privacy and enjoying the weather. The Palm Royale is just 45 km away from the airport of Hurghada and 50 km to the city center of Hurghada. Moreover, the city Safaga is just 12 km away from the Palm Royale. You have got the possibility to use the free WIFI from the hotel. Furthermore, the Palm Royale offers a kids club, Babysitting, a playground for children, a gym and four tennis courts. The meals are served in form of a buffet with fresh cuisine in the Palm Royale. Furthermore, several a la carte restaurants offer a huge variety of fresh meals. Many sport activities are offered during your holidays. You have the possibility to play beach volleyball, water ball, use the gym and many other water sports activities. Furthermore, the Palm Royale has got a spa area to relax and enjoy the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sentido Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing