We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Ranked #75 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our second visit to Hurgada, last time we stayed in the Sunrise Resort Hotel in the old town ( Adult only ). On our arrival we were instantly upgraded ( British are nearly always upgraded ) to a room in Block 5, closest to the sea, on the second floor & with a sea view, nice large room & everything working & clean.
If you cant live with Russians for your time on holiday - go elsewhere - the Hotel had a lot of Russian visitors, inc children, those of you who have been to hotels with Russian visitors know why - they are very loud, dont queue & have virtually no manners, also some go purely for the AI & spend a lot of time drinking, however this did mean the Hotel was very lively & everything was open & operating.
Food - The dining room was always busy & we ate at alternative ( on site ) Restaurants on 3 occasions, the main restaurant food was good, lots of choice & kept replenished, ok it was a bit repetitive but the choice meant you could eat differently every night. We also ate in the Italian Restaurant - very good, the Oriental Restaurant ( this is Not the Chinese ) this was ok but not very special & the Asian ( Chinese ) Restaurant which was very good, service in all was good.
Reception Bar - Very busy after the Shows but good drinks & fairly quick waiter service.
Beach & Pools - The beach was good, sandy with lifeguard & lots of sunbeds & all with sunshades, beach boys were attentive & as always the Sales Teams were out in force, however the little red flag from towel boys worked a treat, there was a beach bar with soft & alcoholic drinks available, cleaned every night, the beach toilets do need some attention & more regular cleaning. There are 3 swimming pools, the children's large pool was heated but the other 2 were really too cold to use.
Gym - We used the gym every evening, very well equipped & with someone on duty all the time.
Entertainment Team - Superb, there was something to do nearly all day if you wanted to & their evening shows were as good as we have seen anywhere in Egypt - they certainly do work hard & then do the rounds in the bar after their shows talking to anyone & being very sociable.
Gardens - The grounds & gardens were super, the gardeners never seemed to stop working & were watering late into the evenings & nights.
Thank you to all the staff for a super 11 nights holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure they know you are British & if not offered ask for an upgrade, Block 5 is quiet &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.
Thank you for your nice and detailed positive review.

We are glad that you had ,, super,, holiday as you wrote in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you soon back in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 3,802 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We were booked in the mamlouk next door but spent most of our holiday in the garden as it was much more US, friendly and light bright reception as apposed to the dull and businesslike mamlouk with its grubby rooms and tatty bathrooms and reception staff who show a big dislike when u complain. We adore egypt and have never in 12 visits needed to make a complaint before. We are about to book for the garden resort the kind lady in charge took us to see one of there rooms and it was lovely, she was so kind. We had some very bad mannered russian ppl in the mamlouk too eating from serving spoons and emptying full trays of some foods onto there plate with no regard for others and it felt like feeding time at the zoo so, we mainly ate in the garden restaurant where a better class of tourist seemed to be. We enjoyed the company of all egyptian staff and tourist because it is you who we come to egypt for and not any other reason :-)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Mrs. Maggie,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.
Thank you very much for your positive review and we are glad that you had nice time in our hotel and we are looking forward and it will be our pleasure to welcome you soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week in jan the hotel is very peaceful. the rooms were made up everyday by a really helpful young man. infact all of the staff are helpful. good choice of food, right throughout the day. A selection if shops opposite hotel with lots of bargains to buy and at good prices if you haggle

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA for your vacation.

We are very happy that you took the time to write positive review and that you was satisfied.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was one of the family of 10 mentioned in the review of the Reading Two - actually the eldest!
I had e-mailed ahead to see if it was possible to reserve a table for 10 at the evening dinner. I was assured that this would not be a problem. On arrival we were met by Kate (customer services) who assisted with Ahmed(Reception) in booking us in. She has arranged for a table to be reserved each evening as promised. We were very well looked after. I liked the provision of a pool for the more "active" holidays makers ( including two grand children) and a quieter pool for those just wanting some quiet relaxation in the sun. The large gardens were immaculately kept. The beach was really clean.
Personally I am not a great fan of Animation Teams, but appreciate that not all agree with my opinion. However, I wish they would understand the word "no" when I say that I do not wish to join in.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and really welcoming throughout our stay. There is nothing more to say, there was nothing to complain about. Undoubtedly one of the best hotels we have stayed at and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcs1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.
We are glad that you had nice holiday with us and we are looking forward to welcome you soon back with your family in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel and staff are by far the best I've ever been to,the entertainment was fantastic the food was great and the staff were even better especially the animations team they were fantastic at what they do I would give this hotel and resort 10 out of 10 easily,we will defiantly be back next year xxx thank you from Linzi,Luke,leon and Henry in room 6108 / 6109

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.
We are very happy that you had fantastic holiday with us and that our Entertainment Team made it even better.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here from 14-21 February as a party of 10 family members aged from 9 to 70. Room and bathroom were a great size and very clean. Towels were replenished daily and it was a nice touch to have your bed turned down each evening and having fruit bowls and pastries delivered without asking. The rooms could do with being a bit lighter and this is because the furniture is very dark. Could also do with having more hangers in the wardrobe and some additional draw storage. Every meal time there was a good selection of food, however, we would have preferred some more plain grilled fish. The waiters in the restaurant, the bar staff in the other bars were fantastic, very attentive, friendly and polite. They are a credit to the hotel and they work tirelessly. The pools were good, with one being more for families with children and the other much quieter. The beach was great and the addition of woven wind breaks made it feel much more secluded and private. I had a manicure during my stay and have to say that I was quite disappointed with it. Only 1 coat of nail polish, no base or top coat, and it started to peel the same evening. Wouldn't recommend a manicure. There is free wifi on the terrace outside the restaurant. We had a great time and it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.
We are glad that you spent with us nice family vacation and that you relaxed as you expected.

Regarding to the Manicure issue, We are very sorry, that it didn't reach your expectation.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great stay at this resort, lovely hotel very friendly people and animation team were fantastic special thanks to Kastella who gave us a lot of information on the shows and all the entertainment and activities we could participate in definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinker b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.
We are so glad that you had nice holiday with us and that our hotel staff members made it even better.

We are looking forward to see you soon back in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.2 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
11.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 221 in Hurghada
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
4.9 mi away
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
#65 of 221 in Hurghada
4,835 reviews
22.9 mi away
SENTIDO Palm Royale
SENTIDO Palm Royale
#14 of 221 in Hurghada
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-

Address: km 20 Hurghada _ Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $64 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select- 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5 star (local category) "All Inclusive" Resort is perfectly located in an extensive garden landscape. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea. Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the beaches. For those who prefer water activities, the resort offers aqua park with 8 slides for adults as well as kid's mini aqua park for small guests who didn't reach 120 cm in height. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select- reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing