We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 206 Hotels in Hurghada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I would thank all the stuff who they worked . Every people is helpfully and polite and smile all the time , I'm very pleased to stay and hope stay again next time ..
Activities is good pool , spa , gym , beach , restaurant ( oriental - Chinese - Italian - Mexican ) , discotheque
Food is very good ( breakfast , launch and dinner )

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahaa2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your review.

We are glad that You are satisfied and we are looking forward to welcome You again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    394
    141
    68
    39
See reviews for
898
544
62
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Sunrise Beach and Garden Resort on 27 th September until 4th October. The location was beautiful and the gardens spectacular. We travelled as a couple for a week of peace and sunshine.I must say we got just that, the hotel was very quiet , but the staff and guest services can not do enough for you.The food in all restaurants was superb and presented beautifully. Also in the sister hotel Mamluk the services were just as exceptional. The Egyptian people love the English so we should support them by going .We will return hopefully in January cant wait .Once again a big thankyou to everyone who works there , your a credit to these 2 hotels. Can I just add the spa was fantastic too , its a must have , and also the fish restaurant which is a short boat trip.
Jeanette Thompson and Andrew cummings

Room Tip: I think I was in 3014 and we had a sea view big room with fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam1CountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your nice review.

We do appreciate Your review very much and we are looking forward to see You soon back in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We returned from our holiday in September 2013 at the Above hotel. What a fantastic holiday. on arrival @ the hotel @ 11.30pm we were met by the duty manager who put us at ease by saying welcome home. As this was our 1st visit there we were at ease . He then said he had read the information sent to hime by Thomas Cook for assistance required. He told the hotel had a special room for us the main dining room and entertainment area. had we any questions at which i asked if they had pool service he said no but he would get meone if i wanted it. at which i refused. However the senior quality manager susan had already arranged our sunbed area near the pool bar. Service by the pool bar staff was excellent. After 3 days we were told that all europeans would be having our lunches at the italian a la carte for the rest of our stay. We were also told that we could have evening meals at the 3 ala cartes as many times as we wanted.every day the hotel guest service managers darya & olga would check with us to see if everything was alright.on the last dat the guest services managers came to say there goodbyes and to ask us if we would be returning to the hotel again we said that we had had the best holiday ever and that we would be returning next year.
thanks once again to all the staff for such a fantstic holiday .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Alan,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort.
We are more than happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort.

We have thanked all the mentioned staff members in person for their hard work and perfect service.

the team of SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa is waiting to welcome you again in your "second home"

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Returned from spending a week at this hotel. Usually stay in Titanic Palace so we were slightly apprehensive,but our stay here was first class from start to finish. We were welcomed and looked after by all staff with professionalism and quiet efficiency. The Hotel had low occupancy due to political issues and tourists reluctant to travel here, but there are no issues here, just a desire to ensure people enjoy their stay. The Egyptian pound offers excellent rates to pound sterling. People are missing out on excellent value holidays with friendly staff, fantastic climate and opulent surroundings, would recommend this hotel and would return. Just remember this is Egypt and not Spain and cultural differences are inevitable.

Room Tip: If you don't Like the room just politely request a change
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Heather C,

We want to thank you for your feedback about our resort.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our resort even when you didn't book our resort in the first place.

We will be more than honored to welcome you again in our resort.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My mum, her partner and 4 friends just returned from this hotel. They all agreed the staff were brilliant always asking you if everything was ok any problems couldn't do enough for you always smiling and helpful. Everywhere was kept clean and tidy all the time, cleaned everyday, fresh fruit and treats left throughout the week. A big thank you to Daria for arranging the Italian meal with the manager and the cocktail night. A special mention for Kano from the animation team keep up the water aerobics. All in all a fantastic week felt safe and relaxed in beautiful surroundings. Going again in April would recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank _SophieDRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your lovely review.
We are glad that You enjoyed Your holiday with us.

We are looking forward to see You soon in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

just returned from the sunset hotel and my what an awesome time we had. the hotel was very quiet due to other europeans flights cancelled to egypt and yes there where a few egyptians in the hotel but not loads. the staff go above and beyond making your holiday a holiday. my partner had torn his shirt when we arrived and after a conversation with the most helpful Daria in customer services and a chat with the super efficient susan the shirt was taken to their seamstress who did a fantastic job in repairing the shirt and i might add free of charge.
Now the food yes their is not always what you want but saying that their is a number of other restraurants around in fact you have on average 5 or 6 to choose from and that is allowing for the ones closed on alternate nights! you are not going to starve if you dont find something in select then go to mamalouk next door what has live outdoor cooking staitions every night. failing that go al a carte they are wonderful. dont like the touch screen to book then see daria who is so helpful it is unbelievable and so is the other girl olga they cannot do enough for you
i have stayed in a variety of hotels in egypt and only write up if i like it now this one i loved it
we had a wonderful barman called amhed down on the beach bar who was there for the full week we were there and he could not do enough for you neither could mohammed the manager for the beach bar al a cartes etc they made us feel so special now normally when we have stayed over in sharm towards the end of the week the staff are only paving the way for tips when you leave of starting to give you sob stories on how bad they have it NO not in this hotel never once did i feel that anything was done so you would tip when leaving and thats the first time in egypt that we have felt that way that the staff do everything because they care and they want to all the staff everywhere are very profesional and cannot do enough.
we went on a trip with blue waves what a very professional bunch of guys they were. would highly recomend a day snorkelling with those guys and the food was lovely as well
i dont think all in all i could say anything negative about this hotel, its staff oh apart from sort the water pressure out in the showers when you have long hair it takes ages to wash but i found a solution to that just went to the hairdressers instead! who also did a great job
susan the manager sorted everything out for us and i cannot thank her enough for her kindness if you need a taxi to the hotel email them and they will have one waiting for you at a cost of £12 which i thought was a good price and you can pay in english too
thanks to all the staff and have already been looking to return in a couple of months
JUST BOOK IT GUYS THERE IS A LOT TO CHOOSE FROM ONCE THERE!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Michelle,

We want to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort.

We are very happy that you and your husband had a perfect stay even when you were a little bit worried before arrival.

The team of SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa are waiting to welcome you again in your "second home".

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Even by Egyptian standards this is not a 5* hotel.

The rooms are dated, but are generously sized and clean. The TV was a relic from the dark ages! most channels didn’t work and if they did, the signal was terrible. The beds were extremely hard, the safe wasn’t attached to the wall, our toilet wouldn’t always flush and the shower water pressure was pitiful.

The food was a major problem. The main buffet was appalling! The food was wet, sloppy and bland. When we raised this with the hotel manager we were upgraded to the paid buffet free of charge. This buffet was much better, however being a 5* all inclusive hotel, I would expect this to be available to everyone without the extra cost! The À la carte restaurants were ok, nothing special. The Italian was the best of the bunch. The poolside food consisted of pizza, chips, calamari and fish in bread, none of which was particularly nice.

The pool areas at first glance appeared nice but closer inspection revealed the brick work was dilapidated; I saw one child trip badly because their foot got stuck in a gaping hole. Also parents were letting their children urinate in the pool; literally hanging their children over the edge to let them wee!

Most of the staff were friendly, but some were rude and quite frankly incompetent. It took 90 minutes to get breakfast room service because I was told they didn’t “think” they did it, even though the room had a menu. I was sent on a wild goose chase, having to phone different departments; I got nowhere so ended up walking to reception to make a complaint. The manager I dealt with was very apologetic and gave us the room service for free. One of the cleaners cornered me and practically forced me to give him a recommendation on the guest service survey. The man who made the pizza by the pool would always serve the Egyptians before anyone else even though you were first. We were harassed by the hotel sales team on a daily basis. On one occasion when we were by the pool, 4 different members of staff approached us within an hour. The Photography man was particularly annoying, he wouldn’t take no for an answer, and started to do a cockney accent and said he could Photoshop the photos to make us look brown as that’s what white people wanted. Very bizarre. The bar staff and towel attendants were very polite and attentive.

We used the Spa which was excellent; one of the best massages I’ve ever had! The Shisha bar was also fun.

As many European countries aren’t flying to the Red Sea, 90% of the guests were Egyptian (from Cairo seeking refuge). We were made to feel very uncomfortable. My cousin who wore a bikini by the pool was constantly hissed at by the women and leered at by the men. Several made misogynist comments. We respect other peoples cultures, however as an international hotel you should be able to wear a bikini without abuse. I was also called a fascist by a man for absolutely no reason. We didn’t speak out for fear of causing trouble, so decided to avoid the pools and spent most of our time at the beach.

The hotel management tried their best to resolve some of our complaints but there was only so much they could do. The hotel has many fundamental problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr.Lee,

We want to thank you for sharing your vacation experience.
We are very sad that you didn't enjoy your holiday in our resort.

We are an international resort with more than 10 different nationalities including Egyptian guests.

We have a 14-day rotated theme evening in our main restaurant with a daily Oriental corner as of the specialties from the country. As Thomas Cook guest in our resort you have the luxury to eat in the evening in our a la carte restaurants and in the ones from our sister resort SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort.

Our life guards are trained well and watching the pools continues. The parents need to watch their children but as hotel we will not let anybody drown.

After you contacted the Hotel Management we took your comments very serious and action was taken directly.
i.e. We opened the Italian Restaurant specially for our European guests with a set menu and a dessert buffet. Reservation in the a la carte restaurants.

On daily basis we came to you to check how you are and you were satisfied with the taken actions and felt a lot better as you mention to Our Guest Service center you and you family .

Unfortunately you didn't inform us with any further comments to solve your problems


We hope that we can welcome you again and give you a positive impression about our resort

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
8.2 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Desert Rose Resort
The Desert Rose Resort
#19 of 206 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,799 reviews
4.5 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
7.7 mi away
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
#30 of 206 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5 star (local category) "All Inclusive" Resort is perfectly located in an extensive garden landscape. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea. Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the beaches. For those, who prefer water activities, the Resort offers aqua park with 8 slides for adults as well as kid's mini aqua park for small guests who didn't reach 120 cm in height. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing