We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$162
$126
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$148
$137
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$200
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$268
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$120
$96
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$243
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,164)
Filter reviews
4,164 results
Traveler rating
3,262
575
189
88
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,262
575
189
88
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua parkanimation teammain restaurantsister hotel next doora la carte restaurantsvictoria publobby barmamlouk palaceadult poolthomas cookguest servicesspecial thanksred flagkids clubitalian restaurantnice holidaysenzo mall
Filter
Updating list...
1,579 - 1,584 of 4,164 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My mum, her partner and 4 friends just returned from this hotel. They all agreed the staff were brilliant always asking you if everything was ok any problems couldn't do enough for you always smiling and helpful. Everywhere was kept clean and tidy all the time, cleaned everyday, fresh fruit and treats left throughout the week. A big thank you to Daria for arranging the Italian meal with the manager and the cocktail night. A special mention for Kano from the animation team keep up the water aerobics. All in all a fantastic week felt safe and relaxed in beautiful surroundings. Going again in April would recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank _SophieDRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your lovely review.
We are glad that You enjoyed Your holiday with us.

We are looking forward to see You soon in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

just returned from the sunset hotel and my what an awesome time we had. the hotel was very quiet due to other europeans flights cancelled to egypt and yes there where a few egyptians in the hotel but not loads. the staff go above and beyond making your holiday a holiday. my partner had torn his shirt when we arrived and after a conversation with the most helpful Daria in customer services and a chat with the super efficient susan the shirt was taken to their seamstress who did a fantastic job in repairing the shirt and i might add free of charge.
Now the food yes their is not always what you want but saying that their is a number of other restraurants around in fact you have on average 5 or 6 to choose from and that is allowing for the ones closed on alternate nights! you are not going to starve if you dont find something in select then go to mamalouk next door what has live outdoor cooking staitions every night. failing that go al a carte they are wonderful. dont like the touch screen to book then see daria who is so helpful it is unbelievable and so is the other girl olga they cannot do enough for you
i have stayed in a variety of hotels in egypt and only write up if i like it now this one i loved it
we had a wonderful barman called amhed down on the beach bar who was there for the full week we were there and he could not do enough for you neither could mohammed the manager for the beach bar al a cartes etc they made us feel so special now normally when we have stayed over in sharm towards the end of the week the staff are only paving the way for tips when you leave of starting to give you sob stories on how bad they have it NO not in this hotel never once did i feel that anything was done so you would tip when leaving and thats the first time in egypt that we have felt that way that the staff do everything because they care and they want to all the staff everywhere are very profesional and cannot do enough.
we went on a trip with blue waves what a very professional bunch of guys they were. would highly recomend a day snorkelling with those guys and the food was lovely as well
i dont think all in all i could say anything negative about this hotel, its staff oh apart from sort the water pressure out in the showers when you have long hair it takes ages to wash but i found a solution to that just went to the hairdressers instead! who also did a great job
susan the manager sorted everything out for us and i cannot thank her enough for her kindness if you need a taxi to the hotel email them and they will have one waiting for you at a cost of £12 which i thought was a good price and you can pay in english too
thanks to all the staff and have already been looking to return in a couple of months
JUST BOOK IT GUYS THERE IS A LOT TO CHOOSE FROM ONCE THERE!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Mrs. Michelle,

We want to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort.

We are very happy that you and your husband had a perfect stay even when you were a little bit worried before arrival.

The team of SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa are waiting to welcome you again in your "second home".

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Even by Egyptian standards this is not a 5* hotel.

The rooms are dated, but are generously sized and clean. The TV was a relic from the dark ages! most channels didn’t work and if they did, the signal was terrible. The beds were extremely hard, the safe wasn’t attached to the wall, our toilet wouldn’t always flush and the shower water pressure was pitiful.

The food was a major problem. The main buffet was appalling! The food was wet, sloppy and bland. When we raised this with the hotel manager we were upgraded to the paid buffet free of charge. This buffet was much better, however being a 5* all inclusive hotel, I would expect this to be available to everyone without the extra cost! The À la carte restaurants were ok, nothing special. The Italian was the best of the bunch. The poolside food consisted of pizza, chips, calamari and fish in bread, none of which was particularly nice.

The pool areas at first glance appeared nice but closer inspection revealed the brick work was dilapidated; I saw one child trip badly because their foot got stuck in a gaping hole. Also parents were letting their children urinate in the pool; literally hanging their children over the edge to let them wee!

Most of the staff were friendly, but some were rude and quite frankly incompetent. It took 90 minutes to get breakfast room service because I was told they didn’t “think” they did it, even though the room had a menu. I was sent on a wild goose chase, having to phone different departments; I got nowhere so ended up walking to reception to make a complaint. The manager I dealt with was very apologetic and gave us the room service for free. One of the cleaners cornered me and practically forced me to give him a recommendation on the guest service survey. The man who made the pizza by the pool would always serve the Egyptians before anyone else even though you were first. We were harassed by the hotel sales team on a daily basis. On one occasion when we were by the pool, 4 different members of staff approached us within an hour. The Photography man was particularly annoying, he wouldn’t take no for an answer, and started to do a cockney accent and said he could Photoshop the photos to make us look brown as that’s what white people wanted. Very bizarre. The bar staff and towel attendants were very polite and attentive.

We used the Spa which was excellent; one of the best massages I’ve ever had! The Shisha bar was also fun.

As many European countries aren’t flying to the Red Sea, 90% of the guests were Egyptian (from Cairo seeking refuge). We were made to feel very uncomfortable. My cousin who wore a bikini by the pool was constantly hissed at by the women and leered at by the men. Several made misogynist comments. We respect other peoples cultures, however as an international hotel you should be able to wear a bikini without abuse. I was also called a fascist by a man for absolutely no reason. We didn’t speak out for fear of causing trouble, so decided to avoid the pools and spent most of our time at the beach.

The hotel management tried their best to resolve some of our complaints but there was only so much they could do. The hotel has many fundamental problems.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Mr.Lee,

We want to thank you for sharing your vacation experience.
We are very sad that you didn't enjoy your holiday in our resort.

We are an international resort with more than 10 different nationalities including Egyptian guests.

We have a 14-day rotated theme evening in our main restaurant with a daily Oriental corner as of the specialties from the country. As Thomas Cook guest in our resort you have the luxury to eat in the evening in our a la carte restaurants and in the ones from our sister resort SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort.

Our life guards are trained well and watching the pools continues. The parents need to watch their children but as hotel we will not let anybody drown.

After you contacted the Hotel Management we took your comments very serious and action was taken directly.
i.e. We opened the Italian Restaurant specially for our European guests with a set menu and a dessert buffet. Reservation in the a la carte restaurants.

On daily basis we came to you to check how you are and you were satisfied with the taken actions and felt a lot better as you mention to Our Guest Service center you and you family .

Unfortunately you didn't inform us with any further comments to solve your problems


We hope that we can welcome you again and give you a positive impression about our resort

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I cant say one bad word. The hotel fulfill all my expexctations. Our trip start really kindly welcome from hotel staff. Willing and helpful staff made our trip faultless. Beautiful setting and scenery, well furnished room, wide range of food, many activities and great people = unforgettable holiday. I wanna say thank you to all of them, but especially Abdo from beach bar and Obama who is best animator ever. We appreciate work of all staff aj much as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your review.

We are glad that You were satisfied and we are looking forward to see You soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I cant find better word then excelent... Everything was really good - service, stuff, food... I usually dont like animation team but Dennis Obama was really the best i ever met... He is friendly, funny and polite, so I really hope that my next holiday he will still work in Sunrise...
Thanx for everything ;)

Room Tip: Garden view is the best
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrin1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your very nice review.

We appreciate it a lot and we are happy that You liked Your holiday with us and that You fully enjoyed.

We are looking forward to see You soon in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews