We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$221
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$114
$92
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
$92
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
$75
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$71
$67
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$299
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$43
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$126
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (3,916)
Filter reviews
3,916 results
Traveler rating
3,077
531
177
83
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,077
531
177
83
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua parkanimation teammain restaurantsister hotel next doorvictoria puba la carte restaurantsadult poolmamlouk palacelobby barthomas cookguest servicesnice holidayspecial thanksred flagkids clubitalian restaurantsenzo mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,472 - 1,477 of 3,916 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel has got a great territory and nice sea views from building 4 and 5, quite nice beach and very strong animation team. The major problem is service and food. Service people dont speak polite, they look at you as if you owe them 100 dollars. The food is 3rd class and everything is fried in a cheap oil and looks like it is cooked for pigs, not for people. Beach towels are washed time at a time, not every time you change them. The main restaurant is crowdy and you need to stand in the line for food. The al a cart restaurants booking is impossible, as the hotel is fully booked and only those, who damands it with a help of a manager can get a reservation. In this hotel you will need to fight for your rights, not to rest as all of the atmosphare feels like the hotel wants to save at your account. Everything is the cheapest, green fruits, cheapest liquers, beers and wine, cheap products, even paistry doeasnt taste good.
If you have ever been in a good 5 star chains as Rixos or Amara in Turkey, dont go to Sunrise, you will be totally dissapointed.
I wish the management of this hotel to look forward in future and invest in service and food quality.

Room Tip: Building 4 anf 5
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inga i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Mrs. Inga,

Thank You for Your evaluation of the hotel. We are highly interested to receive feed back from our guests which helps us to improve our services and to achieve the highest expectations of our guests.
Your comments have been forwarded to the Heads of Departments in order that necessary action will be taken.
Extra training for staff is planned for the nearest future to improve communication skills.
We are constantly working on quality, variety and presentation of food.
In the Main restaurant we implement new tables outdoor and focus on the cleanliness of the inside tables.
Since we have Al inclusive system which includes dinners in Ala Carte restaurants with reservation in advance we are already working on better solution for reservation system to make it more comfortable.
Also we would like to inform You that according to Al inclusive system alcoholic drinks of local production are offered, drinks of international production could be ordered for extra charge.

We are looking for the pleasure of welcoming You again in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & SPA in the nearest future, where You could see the difference in Your mentioned comments and we hope that Your next stay will be much better than previous.

Best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was our 3rd time in Hurghada and we have seen better and worse. The hotel is OK, with very friendly staff, but it's clear that this hotel has lost its bling since it was new. The room was very large, bed comfy, the TV did not work half of the time and even when the hotel technician replaced it after our complaint, the TV was no better. Oh, and the air conditioning only works when you are in the room. August was extremely hot (40+ deg C outside and 32 during the night) so we never managed to get the room cool. It was on top floor though. The value all in all was good considering Hurghada's standard and I would still recommend this hotel to undemanding guests, who value cleaningness. The room was spottless and made up immacuately every day! Congratulations to the staff on this point, not "natural" for Egypt at all:)

Room Tip: Avoid top floors in the summer because of the heat.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TineTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to come back to your second home Sunrise Select Garden Beach.
We would like to inform you that we appreciate so much your comment on our hotel.
We are glad that Your vacation was comfortable.
We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon for the 4th time in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best Regards,
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from the 2nd - 9th April 2013, room 6109. This room was on the ground floor overlooking the family pool. Didn't attend welcome meeting as we had been to Egypt on various occasions, but Bassem the rep kept us informed with literature. Very well kept gardens which were beautiful and areas kept exceptionally clean. Beach at the end of the hotel with plenty of sunbeds and the food was very good there. The bar area near one of the pools with Chef there made excellent pizzas for lunch. Plenty of ice-cream for all. Rooms were very comfortable and large with free safe (easy to set), a fridge and tea making facilities. Even a set of scales in the bathroom! A large choice of food, savoury, sweets and plenty of fruit. Very warm during the day, but could be quite windy, sometimes needing a cardigan of an evening. Sea was not very warm at all but we are early in the season.Staff were all very polite and helpful. Pianist in the reception area of an evening with a bar. live music/singer outside and the animation team put on various shows throughout the week.
We had a very enjoyable time there and Bassem very kindly arranged for us to have a free late check out, which was very nice, Hotel comes highly recommended and we are hoping to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginand2nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your comment on our hotel. We are glad that our personnel succeeded to make Your vacation remarkable.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

 Recently returned from a  one week stay at the Sunrise Garden Beach. The weather was on average 30 degrees every day with a welcoming cool breeze, however quite chilly on some nights so would advise to take something to cover up if needs be.
Our room was clean and spacious, huge bathroom, mini bar with soft drinks, tea coffee making facilities and balcony overlooking the quiet pool. We used this pool most days, unheated but nice and peaceful. The main pool is heated, with slides, music and activities if you wish. Beach Towels are provided for you so no need to take your own, simply exchange your card for fresh towels every day, you can also obtain a red flag if you wish, to place on your sunbed which means that you don't want to be disturbed by the sales people,we never felt the need to use it, but thought is was a good idea if you wanted to be left alone.
Have to say that the pools, gardens and grounds in both hotels were immaculate.
Now for the food..... The main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is plenty of choice, the food is Ok, but it is very noisy and gets very busy, Elbows out, good luck!! 
Snacks are available at the pool bar through the day if you prefer, fresh pizza, fries, salad, ice cream, you certainly won't go hungry.
Try and book the a la carte restaurants if you can for evening meal, a much nicer experience, four in total, Mexican, Oriental, Asian and Italian. We ate at all of them, all very nice, Mexican exceptional we thought. Worth mentioning that the wine by the bottle offered Isn't part of AI package. Now you have to be quick to book these restaurants as they are very popular and tables can only be reserved 24 hours in advance. This is done by a touch screen service in reception, which people queue to use in the morning. However you can book from midnight if you happen to be around ;)
Another restaurant worth a visit nearby is the Felucca seafood restaurant,
It is at the end of a small pier belonging to the Crystal Bay Hotel, when you make your booking they arrange for a boat to come and collect you from the jetty of the hotel, really nice touch and something a little bit different. Food is really nice and at a reasonable price and when you are finished the boat drops you back off, all lit up in blue fairy lights, like I said really nice :)
We booked a boat trip with aqua waves based at the hotel, I have to say this was the highlight of our holiday,  3 snorkelling stops and a visit to Paradise island for sun bathing. This is the first time I have ever snorkelled,  I was completely out of my comfort zone and have to say, the attire is not the most flattering haha but I was put completely at ease and loved every minute. It's a whole new world,  the multi coloured fish and coral are breathtaking,absolutely amazing, Do it, you won't be disappointed.
Had a fab holiday, no complaints really, ideal for a winter get away. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyandflop28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank You for Your positive comment on our hotel. We are glad that our personnel succeeded to make Your vacation remarkable.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here March 2013. Lovely resort, beautifully kept gardens, clean spacious room. very comfortable bed. Food OK, big choice though mostly the same items. All staff were brilliant, always happy to help, most speak some English. Took the Thomas Cook boat trip, although it was a lovely day, we should have gone with the guys in the hotel grounds, they go to 4 different locations for snorkelling, and charge £20 per person less!!! Their lunch was on the boat, and sounded very similar to the TC one we had on the island. It was my husband's birthday while we were there and he was given a cake, nice touch. If you want souveniers go to the supermarket in the shopping mall a 10 min walk. The same T-shirts etc as in the hotel are much cheaper there. Postcards are 1/3 of the hotel price just across the road. Machine in reception for changing money, excellent as you only change what you need. The 4 restaurants which have to be booked the day before are very good, especially the Italian. We ate at the fish restaurant the last night. You have to pay, but it's not overly expensive. A small boat takes you there for free. Made a pleasant evening with lovely views across the water.
The only thing that spoilt our time there was the rude, arrogant Russians. They barked orders at the staff, pushed in when others were waiting to be served, never heard a please/thank you, or saw a smile. We felt sorry for the lovely Egyptians who had to deal with them.
Would recommend this resort, it's excellent value. Be careful of the very pushy "helpers" when you get to your coach at the airport. Having dragged our case all the way to the coach, this person was wrestling cases off people then demanding a £2 "tip" for simply putting the case in the luggage compartment. We told him no and put our own on.

Room Tip: We were in block 8. It was very quiet as we were 1/2 way between the entertainment and the beach. There are no lifts so if you're not very fit, get a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbararfa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenbeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your comment on our hotel. We are glad that Your vacation was comfortable.

We are looking forward to see You and Your family soon in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews