We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #65 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of April and had a lovely relaxing time, weather was amazing, very hot, don't think I could cope in Summer season as it was 38 now.
We found the food a bit repetitive but lots of choice, drinks were fine although the vodka and gin tasted the same !! The staff were friendly although some ,only if you tipped ( i know this is their culture )we weren't aware the first night so ordered a drink in the bar outside, then wondered why they were not too keen to give us another one !!!!!! When we have been All Inclusive before we have'nt carried money especially around the pool areas, but it's a definite must.
I also felt that the cleanliness could have been better just little details , maybe it's the lack of a womens touch ( no women workers in Egypt , sorry this seems sexists ) for instance the areas around the light switches, skirtings, the hairdryers in the bathroom.
We went with Red Sea holidays which were great all smooth sailing, loved the fact that one of their policies is that you can keep your room until just before you leave.
This was our first time in Egypt and we weren't prepared really for the constant bombardment when we left the hotel either as we are not very assertive.
After all this, we had a great week but would possibly not chose to go back to Egypt due to the constant bombardment and constant tipping. I certainly do not want them to change their culture but I just choose not to go their when I can pay the same to go to Cyprus or the like with less pressure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    551
    195
    78
    43
See reviews for
346
766
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel, it has been a lovely week with temperatures in the 30's. First impression is yes the rooms are a bit tired but they are large, comfortable and spotlessly clean thanks to Alli (room 102) who did a wonderful job and they are only to sleep in. The staff throughout were amazing so friendly and obliging a special mention to Hassan who works in the swim up bar he makes wonderful cocktails all part of the AI, Awad in the Oasis restaurant, Hakim and staff in Shams and not forgetting I think his name was Hakem who worked on the pier, the most wonderful place to sit for morning coffee and to finish the day on the beach watching the sun set, he worked so hard and always remembered your drink. The beach was lovely so safe for families and children and a wonderful aquatic walk, the pool was lovely especially the swim up bar for a pre lunch cocktail made by Hassan. Our room overlooked the pool neat the terrace for breakfast and a left turn to the beach so handy for everything. If there is a con it is that there is not enough outside dining areas in the evening, three times a week in the Oasis restaurant they have themed nights and you can dine outside here but other nights it is inside the restaurants. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff at Siva Grand Beach Hotel for making our stay truly memorable. We did not take any of the excursions so can't comment there. Another BIG thank you must go to Julie Moore of Travel Councillors for arranging this holiday for us always spot on not had a bad holiday with Julie in many years of looking after our holiday needs, thank Jules. We would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I did email the hotel and asked for a sunny balcony they replied and said they would try but could n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickinsonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good Hotel, good food. Great beach, good wheelchair & mobility scooter access. Nice gardens, security good, excellent weather, and take a snorkel mask or buy one. Lots of fish to see around the pier. We also liked the plaza out the front to explore other bars, restaurants, shops etc so did not feel trapped.

Hotel
Very good, nice layout, very nice and well kept gardens. Very good access for wheel chairs and mobility scooters (in the hotel and out on the front Plaza). Staff mostly friendly. Beer not bad. Take some money for tipping. Beach was excellent for families and children in particular. Very safe. Security good inside and outside hotel. Evening entertainment OK, live band one night outside in the gardens was superb. Hotel is approx. 12 years old, needs a lick of paint here and there but generally very good and well maintained. We could see them doing small touch up work whilst there so kept well. Rooms (we had the Junior Suit) was good very comfy beds, not huge for a family of four. About the same size as a family room at say a Premier Inn in the UK. Bathroom was nice size and you get bottled water every day. If you want more room specify two inter connecting rooms, but would be extra. I think all have air con and safe. Wind surfing, catamaran and kayaks/pedal boats not included, but all reasonably priced. Guys on the wind surfers very friendly and good teachers with some free lessons/trails. They will do you a better deal if you want a few goes too.

Food
All were buffet style, but different food selection every night, food was good and no upsets. Oasis restaurant near beach nice at lunch times so too was the beach grill that served only vegetarian every day. Favourite’s were breakfast and lunch times. Soups and desserts particularly good. Decided to eat out some times for a change on the restaurants outside the complex that are attached to the Hotel. Gaucho Stake house is simply excellent, best stake I have ever had! Bit pricy (about £25 for a stake meal), but well worth the visit, make sure you go! Thai Gardens, also very good and would recommend with average prices. Italian was good, not expensive and nice to sit on the front pavement and watch the world go by. But stake house our favourite, went there twice it was that good along with the Thai Gardens twice too.

Weather
We went at Easter (2013 early Easter, Late March to Early April). Coldest day was 28 Deg C with a slight sand storm (not as bad as it sounds), Average was 32 > 34 Deg C. Superb, say no more.

Trips
All I thought a little expensive from the travel reps, Aqua Scope, booked directly (Semi Submersible, so you can view the coral from inside a sub type boat) very good and around £60 for a family of four and about the cheapest trip we could find. Other trips would work out £100 > £150 per trip for a family of four so we avoided them as thought they were overpriced.

Prices
Captive audience in a poor country, I thought things were a little over priced in places, but you can haggle. If you have any spare cash to spend at the Airport when leaving there is a type of large market place within the airport to buy last minute souvenirs which you can barter. Nice idea within an air port.

Summary
I would say 4 out of 5 stars overall, its not perfect but it grew on me as the two weeks went by. Nice staff and generally good. Would have liked more restaurants or at least not all of them to be buffet style (you can get out though to others) and our room to be a little bigger. But apart from that no complaints. Would I go back to the same place…… yes I probably would.

Room Tip: Go for Junior Suit in main building. Larger room, Air Con, Safe and Balcony. If you can get it or af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Siva grand beach is very good hotel and this is the second time we’ve been even though normally we try not to visit the destination let alone the same hotel. We arrived to a fairly warm welcome compared to last time as when we arrived last time they were giving us cocktails at the door. We checked in with the help of Karem who also informed the restaurants about my allergy into our two junior suits this are well sized and lovely mattress there also was a nice bathroom with a powerful shower. We left our luggage in our room and down to the restaurant. You will notice a number of Germans but they are not rude or get drunk on the free drinks like us brits but the waiter favour them.
I was nervous about this as I am a coeliac (allergy to gluten) this gave me personal service as the head waiter (Ayman) showed me what I could and could not eat then made me a chicken dish this service was like this for all the holiday. I was ok at breakfast with my omelette in the main restaurant. At lunch I brought my own pizza bases Ayman cooked it for me every day in the oasis beach restaurant along with pasta I thought this was the best restaurant as it also had a big range of food but my parent’s preferred the beach restaurant as they had freshly grilled vegetables. The waffles, waffle cone and pancake place where all nice but the waffles are bit undercooked as there is always a long queue and Ayman made me pancake mixture which also worked in the waffle cone which both tasted delicious.
The beach was stony in some places but soft in others but overall it is quite nice but the sea is the best it is so shallow you could walk for miles in some places but it drops in others these drops are easily avoidable by looking at the colour of the sea. There weren't as many fish as last time but there where a fair few and they all came out at night and you can see them all at the sea star restaurant.
In terms of activities we hired a pedalo and carried on taking windsurfing lessons this was with Ibrahim who was very good. We also went out to get souvenir and went to joseph papyrus and hurghada star as it was cheaper and better value. We were happy with red sea holidays late check-out service only available if you go for the meeting.

Room Tip: rooms 400 and above have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaiminR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent one week at siva (29th march-5th april) and had such a wonderful stay! Our junior suite was spacious and lovely, with a nice view of the gardens and the outside bar. Weather was around 33 degrees all week, with a nice breeze towards the end of the week.
Food was lovely and varied, for breakfast and dinner we usually went to the Amar restaurant upstairs as it's slightly less busy than the one downstairs, and Mohamed Fathy brought us some lovely cocktails every night we ate in there! For lunch, the Oasis beach restaurant is the best- with a chinese corner, asian buffet, fresh cooked pasta to order,and much more! At lunchtimes/throughout the afternoon there is also 2 burger/hot dog bars by the pool and beach, a pizza hut, and a waffles/crepes/ice cream dome! We also did the special nights- the Oriental night, which is free of charge but you have to book in as there are limited spaces (belly dancing, whole roasted lamb, kofte kebabs!), and the Seafood night, which is an extra charge (lobster, prawns, singer on the jetty!) -both were amazing!!
There's always plenty of sunbeds around the pool and beach, with aqua aerobics at 11.30 in the pool, and you can help yourself to the all-inclusive drink taps all day.
There's the bars downstairs in the lobby and upstairs if you want to hear/watch the entertainment, and there's also a lovely outside bar which has shisha pipes.
We also did 2 trips- the jungle aqua park, which was great fun, and the seascope which is a submarine where you can see all the fish of the red sea, also amazing!
We had a lovely time at this wonderful hotel, and really did not want to leave! :)

Room Tip: Junior suites are spacious and comfortable, with aircon and a safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiaaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingswinford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

had a lovely week at the siva grand. weather brill. beach was better than we imagined. plenty of sunbeds round the pool & beach. but hotel needs some tlc. mustafa looked after us in the pub bar & so did hazeam at the jetty bar. we paid extra & had a lovely mixed fish meal here. well worth it. the only things we could fault is the food. luke warm & tasteless. also keep tipping staff all the time. we even had to go to the bank to change money into smaller notes so we could tip, but all in all had a lovely time & met some lovely friends. like paul & carol, we also came across rob's lack of mesh problem.( not a pretty sight ). if u want sun sea & sand this is the holiday for you.

Room Tip: junior suite above 3rd floor. to have a good sea view.`
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

we have recently returned from a two week holiday to the Siva Grand Beach and had a most enjoyable break. The hotel grounds are spacious and well maintained with plenty of sunbeds available whether at the pool or beach. Bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and kept clean. The food was varied and on the whole very good plenty of choice and all the staff very friendly. Hakim manager at the Shams restaurant made us feel very welcome and special during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suki503946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
13.6 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#12 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giftun Azur Resort
Giftun Azur Resort
#94 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Address: The Corniche, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying one of the very best locations in Hurghada, the Siva Grand Beach delivers tradition with a twist. Choose from generously sized junior suites in the main building or rooms in the two storey bungalows in the grounds. There are few steps and with a wide gently sloping beach and excellent children's facilities, it is a firm favourite with families. And it's within easy walking distance of a wide range of shops, restaurants and other activities too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Siva Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing