We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Ranked #113 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a super hotel with two good pools and own private beach. As a couple in our thirties we had a great time. Very few guests are English, with the majority being Russian or German, however most people do speak a little English with most of the staff being fluent. This is not a hotel for you if you want a British type of holiday , but if you are looking for something different where you can chill out , eat good food and relax , then this is the place for you. We made brilliant friends with a German couple, who to our embarrassment spoke better English than we do. Please ignore some of the cynical reviews of some other reviewers. We found all of the staff were friendly and liked the English , as always you get what you put in. If you are polite and friendly and use a few Egyptian phrases, you will be made welcome and find that staff cannot do enough to help and get to know you. Hurghada is developing at a fantastic rate but still has the flavour of true Egypt. I personally prefer here to Sharm and encourage Brits to give it a go .

Room Tip: Suites are super, and rooms in the 600 block are good too
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel Hurghada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 546 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Rooms spotless, hotel lovely, most of the staff wonderful, a couple of them a bit over friendly. Beach fantastic. Only down side was the food.....plenty of choice but it was not hot and the fish was a bit dodgy mad me sick and a few other people. Birds nesting and flying about in 1 of the restaurants not very pleasant. The bistro was the best place to eat. Drinks in the evening kept flowing by our excellent waiter Mohamed Marey, entertainment was good. I would not return to the hotel unless the food quality was to improve.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

thankyou so very much EVERY SINGLE member of staff at the grand hotel.this must of been our 8th visit in 2 years to our home from home.so obviously we love it so much.from checking in to very sadly checking out we have not 1 complaint.the rooms are spotlessly cleaned everyday the beach and pool areas are fab.the entertainment everynight is great always something to watch or a disco.the food is of a really good standard and lots of choice.the drinks are plentiful and if you have tea and coffee or drinks and cocktails they are a very high standard.i could thank everybody by name but i would be here all day,but a special thankyou to miss sarah,mr ibrahim,mr yasser all the fantastic chefs all at reception and everybody else that work really hard in the hotel.see you very very soon lots of love suzie and karen.xxx

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely and have been refurbished to a high standard
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamfam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

nice stay in a nice hotel at a very reasonable price. friendly and helpful staff, well-maintained beach and garden, very convenient location (10 minutes from the airport and close to shopping area). nice stay in a nice hotel at a very reasonable price. friendly and helpful staff, well-maintained beach and garden, very convenient location (10 minutes from the airport and close to shopping area).

Room Tip: I I think that you should not choose the standard rooms are not renovated yet and they are not very...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonidP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel just one night (fortunately). The hotel consists of two types of buildings,...a new one which room numbers starts at 600's to 900's. And the rest of the hotel which is old and disastrous which I'm reviewing today.

Location:

The hotel location is average, it's on the promenade where you can find a range of decent cafe's or restaurants in a walking distance. and also relatively close to the airport however you won't be bothered by plane noise.

Rooms: (I was staying in room 249)

Rooms are very disappointing, they are 30 years old and not renovated, When I talked to staff there they told me that this has been renovated a couple of years ago....Dear management, renovation is not just about painting walls and leaving every thing else the same.

As a beginning the door knob wasn't working fine and it took me 5 minutes each time trying to get in the room trying to open the door. When I successfully get in, I found the room small and not clean at all as there is dust on the floor and on the balcony chairs. The room is equipped with 14 inches TV which was in "Black and White"...I'm serious abt that B&W with only 11 channels in Arabic, English, German and Italian.

The bathroom is small and very dirty. water mixers and towel holders are both rusty and the water sink and toilet are almost expired. Bathroom amenities are below average but at least are there. Towels were very old, had stains on them and I used the one with least stains on. They were over used and started to tear out.
For beach towels, they are supposed to be in a handbag in the room, but I found the bag empty and when I asked for beach towels every body in the hotel was trying to convince me that they are in the room...but it seems that it's my mistake and actually I waited for replacement but I didn't get any ..till check out :)

Sleeping quality is not terrible however it remains poor and the bed is small.

In the morning I woke up on the noise made by room service staff pulling and pushing noisy carts and they added to the noise by having some loud conversation going back and forward in front of my room.

Beach:

The beach is almost 150 meters wide, the beach is good but the sea beds are very old and some of them were broken. the sun shades are rusty so be aware don't hang clothes on them. Also no towels provided on the beach, either you have them in your room or you'd have yourself sundried, which is not bad btw.

Breakfast:

Breakfast is served in at least 3 different restaurants. The breakfast is as poor as the rest of the hotel facilities. the lack of hot meal options and the quality of the existing is poor. Just had bread, cheese and cereals which was ok and weren't bad.

Service is not good given that when I asked them for beach towels I didn't get them and the staff response was not positive. and when I asked once for someone to help me fixing the door knob, no one showed up till the moment I checked out.

Security people at the door are bullying each and every Egyptian getting in whether he is a guest or not. This is rude from them and this is different than applying security measures, no safety measures are applied however, they are just picking on Egyptian guests.

Again please note that my review is based on old building rooms. while I'm not sure if staying at new buildings would improve your experience as some of the facilities and issues are common across the hotel in general.

I highly don't recommend staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_Fattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

After reading many bad reviews of this hotel, I wasn`t happy we booked it in combination with a Nile cruise, but I was positively surprised. We had two different rooms - one before and one after the cruise. The first one was better, we actually got a free upgrade to a superior deluxe room. The room was simple, but nice, only the bathroom wasn`t the newest. The second room had the actual category we booked (superior) and one could clearly see the difference - this room was even more simple than the previous one, so far from being "superior", but it was okay.
This is a huge hotel which can be a problem when trying to get a place at the restaurant - it was usually very crowded, especially in the evening. The food quality wasn`t constant - we usually managed to find something delicious, but there were also not too tasty dishes. The service was okay, sometimes we had to wait longer to get our drinks, but altogether the dining part was okay.
The beach was nice, despite of the fact that the chairs were obviously not the newest. Still, it was a nice experience swimming and sunbathing there. The only negative thing was the garbage floating in the water (tossed from ships) from time to time.
The fitness room is a disaster - expensive and the machines are VERY old.
Altogether it was a nice holiday. There are for sure better hotels to stay, but I guess we still got a great value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Unelma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

my husband booked our family holiday to Hurghada last minute we were taking our 4 year old and 2 year old with us and the grand hotel seemed perfect.
we arrived and was greeted by door staff who took our luggage from us straight away while we checked in, once checked in we made our way to our room and found our luggage awaiting in our room. very fast no messing about. we were also upgraded to a massive room, which was great. the hotel was fantastic, swimming pools every where children had own swimming pools with slides and water fountains. private beach on door step. the most importaint part about this hotel is the way they treated our children, they were so friendly and happy and treated the children like kings and queens. by boy who is 4 was allowed to order his own juice at the bar and would serve him like an adult which by boy loved. lol I would go again in a heartbeat I felt safe my room was clean, bedding changed frequently, thank you for a great time.
we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms had great view as surround by private beach.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Summer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
#70 of 222 in Hurghada
1,618 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
4.0 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#104 of 222 in Hurghada
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#44 of 222 in Hurghada
2,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Samra Bay Hotel
Samra Bay Hotel
#105 of 222 in Hurghada
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Hurghada

Address: Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Price Range: $22 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Hurghada 3*
Number of rooms: 549
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished but retaining its traditional charm, The Grand Hotel's low rise blocks occupy a prime location in the heart of Hurghada's modern resort district. A great value introduction to Red Sea Hotels, its stunning gardens and sweeping sandy beach with on-site dive centre make it a favourite with guests. Close to a wide array of bars, restaurants and shops, it is an ideal base from which to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sea Grand Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Hotel Red Sea Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing