We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but for the food.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Resort Hurghada
Ranked #73 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ( two adults and a six year old) stayed for a week in April 2013 in the hotel.

Hotel: 9/10
The hotel in general is very nice. Clean, well maintained and comfortable. My only criticism is that it’s really hard to find your way around. Our room was one of those on the top floor furthest from reception. It took 4 days before I could find the room without getting lost (and our daughter never worked it out). The corridors all lead off one another and look identical. “Rabbit warren” and “labyrinth” were words that came up very frequently when talking to other guests.

Rooms: 9/10
The rooms were large, comfortable and well spaced out. The bed was enormous and very comfortable and even with an extra bed added for our daughter there was plenty of space. We did however have a room at the back of the hotel facing the street, and yes, you could hear the traffic. Despite getting the setting sun the noise and lack of view stopped from using the balcony even once.

Pools: 8/10
Two pools were open as the others were closed for maintenance. They are advertised as being heated but this is only partially true. It was only when other guests, who had stayed there previously, started complaining that the pool heating was turned on. The temperature rose from 18 degrees (brrr) to a lovely 26 degrees over a few days, only to then start to drop again. In general the pools were too cold to spend a long time playing in but were great for a quick swim and cool down.
My advice would be to check the temperature (thermometers are available at reception) and complain if it’s too chilly. They advertise heated pools; you are paying for heated pools, so insist that the pools be heated.

Beach: 2/10
The beach, which is a five-minute walk away over the road and through a partner hotel, was very uninspiring. A short stretch of sand, more like a harbor area than an idyllic beachfront. Boats are moored just off the beach and banana boats work very close to the beach causing noise and toxic fumes. The slides advertised were all closed up and the whole area came across as very sad.

Kids Club: 1/10
Maybe it was because it was off-season but it was TERRIBLE. The area in front was a building site as they worked on one of the pools and the only access was through a section of the hotel. I would have never found it had I not gone searching. When we walked in there was not a single child there and within seconds was easy to see why. The woman in charge didn’t greet us in any way and continued to work on her laptop. We sat down and coloured for 15 mins, totally ignored the entire time by a bored looking guy and the laptop woman. The atmosphere was horrible and I would not have left my daughter there alone. Holidays are meant to be fun and kids clubs are meant to provide entertainment.


Food: 5/10
Hmmm this is a tricky one.
On the negative side we ate very average food for the entire week. They tried to get it right and the food looked great. However they got it just wrong enough each and every time to cause disappointment. ( ie, they had bread and butter pudding but with no spice and twice as much egg as normal it ended up tasting like scrambled egg and toast, the pastries were so dry they were unpleasant to eat etc )
The service started out being funny but by the end of the week was just annoying. The waiters try to be friendly and efficient but are not trained and get their priorities wrong. I would collect coffee for breakfast and put it on the table and leave to get some food, however on returning with my food the untouched coffee had been cleared away. It was always difficult to find spoons and if you asked a waiter it would take forever to come or never arrive. If you went looking, you would return to no food. By the end of the week it drove me mad. Yes they should clear dirty dishes, but if they concentrated on serving rather than clearing it would be a MUCH more relaxing experience.

On the positive side children are automatically all inclusive and the lunch buffet is perfect for them to eat at during the day.
We also took the option to eat at a reduced price at a neighboring restaurant next door to the hotel and the food was very good. I’d definitely recommend it.

Trips and spa: 8/10
We wanted to go scuba diving but it was so windy the entire week that the conditions would have made it a waste of time (not that the organizers will ever admit such thing). The locals will promise you whatever they think you want to hear regarding weather conditions etc. without actually having any knowledge. If you really want to know, you will have to check yourself.

Other guests took package trips from the hotel but were told on the day that the glass bottom boat was out of action. Only those who made a fuss got any kind of a refund and we heard later that it had been broken for weeks but was still be advertised as part of the package!

We took a package of three massages and they were all great. The massage area is far from luxurious, (tiny cubicles together next to the pool.) However if you shut your eyes and ignore that, the massages themselves were very good and leave you smelling delightful.

Summary. 8/10
All in all I would say that we had a good holiday. If you are looking for a pool break where you can read your book and enjoy the weather this place is wonderful. If you are keen to explore and get out and about then maybe it’s not ideal. The surrounding streets and neighborhoods are not pleasant to walk around and we spent 99% of our time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Take a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrewcarissatiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is my 5 time in Grand Resort. It is always the best holiday I can imagein. Beautiful hotel with quality services, polite people, nice food and more - this everything together will make just a perfect holiday. I am sure, that next year I will come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana-Janechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We love the sourroundings and the hotel. I though would say that the staff has become a bit lazy by the years, they used to more friendly.. This only aplies to the waiters staff, the front desk and housekeeping are really nice. We had a misunderstanding with a waiter by the pool, where he actualy questioned us and made fun of us. We ordered a Gin & Tonic - he came back with glasses of only gin. Didn´t understand our order of drinks - said that tonic was finished but we could get another soda. No ice, no straws. After some arguments he took he gin back and we had a beer instead.

On my mothers birthday we visited the Mediterranean restaurant, wich where great! The staff are friendly and nice and the food was very good. Nice to get something other than the buffet for a day. The staff came out all together and sang happy birthday for our table, together with a cake. Very appreciated!

We really missed the animation team that used to be there. The Entertainment during the evening felt a bit poor. But we really enjoyed the yoga & gym classes during the Days.

So - overall a very nice stay as usual at Grand REsort, we will come back for a fourth time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pernilla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a medium quality hotel. The staff is polite and okay, but it's oversized and therefore lack the exclusive quality. The food is okay, but after three weeks it get's quite boring. Do not expect that your tip that you give goes to the groundstaff. They are being stolen from the groundstaff by the middle managers. Entertainment is good, but again three weeks is over the top. Those staff I know worked there has now changed their work. Rooms are of a good quality and always clean. Hotel laundry always came back on time, but they iron everything, and therfore managed to ruin my 5.11 polo shirts. If you stay at the hotel, there is no hassel, but expect that shops outside the hotel are is overpriced and not of high quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I visited other hotels in Hurghada but Grand Resort is my favorite and this is my 4th stay there since 2009. Its the perfect getaway for those who seeks sun, sea and relaxation. So if your a family , a bunch of friends, couples, or even a solo traveler like me, u can enjoy ur stay there. And to brief it all and to help u in ur decision, let me conclude my opinion about the main issues as follow.
Style: I can assure u that this hotel has a style! In terms of exterior, interior and landscape design. Its old though but well maintained.
Rooms: clean, spacious and comfortable and wether overlooking the big or smaller pool u will always have a nice view out of ur room terrace.
Pools: if u are a family u will prefer to stay at the waterfront pool that have a kids pool right next to it along with water activities. If ur seeking for relaxation then the amazing oasis is definitely ur choice. But in both cases the pools are very clean and big.
Beach: the beach is at the sister hotel just across the street not more than 10 min walk. Its big and private.
Food: this is the only down thing, but i dont really consider it down because this is the case all around Egypt hotels, especially in Hb restaurants, so u can try finding something to eat from the dull open buffet or go to other non Hb resto around the resort or just eat outside. U will always manage when it comes to food.
Staff: they r simply amazing! All of them and i mean it! Nice, polite and so helpful. One of the best hotel stuff i ever met around Egypt if not the best. The receptionist are always smily and ready to help in any, they understand the real meaning of the word guest. U can sit alone without being annoyed by any of the pools, resto, beach... stuff. They just make ur vacation better!
At the end, let me give u some advice, if u want to buy water, food or medicine go for the shops inside the grand mall there is a pharmacy and 2 supermarkets, they are the nicer and cheaper ones. And if u need a taxi dont go for the annoying ones parking in front of the resort just grab a passing one and negotiate the price before u get it. The hotel is located in a central area and have easy access to everything.
Worth mentioning that the best time to visit Hurghada is between March and May or mid September till November.
All and all i always have a great relaxing stay at this resort, hope u do to!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank Saw-Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fabulous hotel complex with lovely decor... The room was really clean and maintained well by room service. Service throughout the hotel was super (for those who tip- lucky for us!). Get down early to the pool though as beds fill up fast!

We thought at times the reps could be a little eager in their sales pitch for massage/ spa/ trips, but generally once you give in and buy one then they stop pursuing you! Noteworthy however is the fact that you can get the same services outside the hotel a lot cheaper!

We had gone all inclusive to which there were restrictions regarding which restaurants you could use as part of the deal... So we did pay to go to eat in two of their other complex hotels... For what turned out to be the same food (just not buffet style)!
Since we are talking about the food though it quickly became a bit "samey" as the week wore on, if not actually the same food left overs recycled for the next sitting! BTW- travellers tip... UK anti-diarrhoea tablets do NOT work on the local stomach upsets (to be very subtle about the 3 week long post-holiday reminder of our stay there!).

We know it has taken a while for us to get round to writing this review so feel a little awkward mentioning the food at this stage, but it appears from more recent reviews that this is still an ongoing issue. I guess you get what you pay for!!!

In all however, we did feel that it was an enjoyable experience and would definitely say that the hotel complex was the central most memorable positive aspect of the holiday some 18 months later! We would have given it 5* had the food been better!

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Geepopalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am impressed with this hotel and this is a really nice hotel rooms and very, very clean and very excellent treatment and duties of eating it really is not a hotel it's imagination and the best hotel Grand Resort always

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sex_201125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
#72 of 222 in Hurghada
1,639 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,471 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
13.0 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#13 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort Hurghada

Address: Red Sea / Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $66 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at the Grand Resort is on an impressive scale. Lying right on the tourist promenade, at the very heart of the modern resort area of Hurghada, it boasts generously-sized rooms and an innovative figure of eight layout that allows one side of the hotel to cater for those seeking lively entertainment and music while the other offers tranquillity for those who simply want to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing