We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort Hurghada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Resort Hurghada
Ranked #45 of 208 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
västerås
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel located in new hurghada so not much to do or see in the area directly by the hotel. Easy to get a taxi to sheraton street for 15 EGP.

Huge hotell, can be e bit tricky to find ones way around it at first. Many guards and plenty of staff to help. Good service and helpfull staff, but slow if one do not tip them. All pre bookings are to be made one day in advance, not more, not less.

Big room with very comfortable bed and nice balcony. Be sure to choose room with a view over poolarea and garden oterwise you will only see/hear construction areas. The whole hotel is very worn down, well cleaned but many small things are broken. Exeptionally nice garden and poolarea! A bit too few sun beds by the heated pool in the winter. At our visit 1 pool was 16 degrees, 1 was 28 degrees, 1 pool closed for construction and kids pool closed. Lovely beach towels and a bag to borrow is included in the room.
Minibar is not expensive, it is rather more expensive to buy a beer at the bar and bring to the room than to take one from the minibar. Room is cleaned, new towels and refilled minibar every day if wanted,oterwise just tell your room mantainence guy or put the "do not disturbe" at the door if you dont want service every day. Laundry service. Security box free of charge at the room.

Half board - 3 restaurants are included, but be aware that you have to pay for drinks and in the restaurant mediterraneo only a few selected meals are included in half board (no meat), check the last page in the menu! one have to pay for the rest. Food is mainly tasteless but plenty to choose from at the buffet at breakfast and dinner, so no need to go hungry.

One have to cross the road and go thru Grand Hotel to get to the ocean. Sunbeds and umbrellas are free of charge but "bellboys" will take your bags and towels for you and show you to a sun bed and expect a tip for it.

Room Tip: choose room wit view over garden and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigermorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    454
    193
    73
    61
See reviews for
276
697
70
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Grand Resort is very good. Nice rooms, nice area and good service, (tips not mandatory). Food absolut ok. Just walk over the front road into the Grand and you are at the Red Sea beach. Sun beds is for free, well you payed it at your agency, the men att the beach grabs your bag and take you to the sunbed you want and puts out the towels, tips yeep. But even here you can be cheated. My wife ordered a non alcoholic drink named jhhhhphfd6sod or so but was charged for the alcoholic one. BUT.. if you go outside the resorts areas....... I just say be very very carefull, absolutly not regarding crime but in the aspect of being cheated. One week and this is the cheating list, well they tried, taxi-change money, dutyfree shop exchange rates, Mall shops vodka turned into water (thought that was thousens of years ago and the other way), the above beach drink, Prices in minimarkets changed from day to day, (NASDAQ??) BUT (number 2) If you can handle that... Its a nice place!

Room Tip: Choose the minisuites it´s wourth the money. Give the cleaninga guy tip the first day. Well spent mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Iaksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The whole hotels looks like an oriantal tale.
we had a beautiful room, facing the pool with its amount on palm trees and other plants. The pool itselve is huge, you almost dont miss the sea.
The sea is 5 mins away (by feet), you have to cross the street, going through the garden of another hotel (beautiful as well), and there you are. Warm water just waiting for you to jump in!

Breakfast buffet and dinner buffet was gorgeous. Almost too much. :-)

Outside the hotel there were a few shops, no one was bugging you to buy something (guess thats the rule for having a shop at the hotel area)
Other at Hurghada: awful. You cant walk the streets just to look, someone is talking to you all the time. We got annoyed and went back to the bus, rather waiting there for an hours untill he drove us back again.
But the hotel itselfe is definitely worth going to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here In October for 4 nights, it was meant to be 7 but we was put in the wrong hotel at first see my 'Joke of a hotel' review.. Anyway this hotel is beautiful as soon as you walk through the entrance you can see why this hotel is a 5*. It's gorgeous and so big! The reception staff seemed very helpful. We had our cases took to our room which was nice but i think the guy wanted a tip but couldnt really understand what he was saying, so just kind of said thanks and shut the door lol Our room was lovely very spacious & clean. The balcony area was nice where we could look out over the pool.
There was a room just outside the hotel to the right where you could get wifi which was good.
There were 3 different pools in the hotel and each one of them so big and beautiful!
We visited the big main food hall there was a lot to choose from, but we mainly stuck to what we knew, fresh omlettes, eggs, salad, cakes & ice creams! were the best. I think it was more catered for germans! I picked up a bit of a funny tummy while we was there which lasted 2 days and it wasnt very pleasant, but it went away after the 2 days. We went to a pizza place in our hotel which was nice the pizza was so tasty! Had a little walk round the shops too in our hotel but all the guys are a bit leachy so didn't stay long!
We had a massage aswell while we was there which was lovely where they cover you in chocolate your skin feels amazing after! lasts about 45 mins to an hr.
The grounds of the hotel look superb at night even better than in the day, as the whole hotel lights up! Very wow.
The hotel porter person became slightly annoying throughout our stay and he couldn't really speak english so we couldn't understand him and vice versa but im sure all he wanted was a tip, which he didn't get.
We didnt really go out the hotel only to the shop as the egyptian men hassle you to much, which is a shame because we would of liked to explore!
I probably wouldn't go back to Egypt because of this problem but the hotel was great!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early August lovely hotel very big, beautiful surroundings no problems with the hotel at all it was really nice. Just a few problems had to go across road to grand hotel I think it was to use wifi as they didn't have it in ours which was a bit of a let down also nothing much to do in the area felt very secluded and also not very English orientated a large majority of people were German would have been nice to come across a few people who were English! Suffered with food poisoning I was fine for the first few days then it stared to kick in! My advice is what ever u do do not eat salad, fruit and ice in drinks if u want to avoid getting ill! Overall had an excellent holiday just a few things which could have made it even better :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atracey90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Average service (including reception borderline from being rude) and facilities that deserve some maintenance, made part of our stay a bit dissapointing. Not worth the 5 stars ranking.
Outstanding from the others, Arafat Ali is doing an excellent job at the pool BBQ restaurant to deliver great food and wonderful welcome every day. Thanks Arafat, you made our stay!

Philippe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alkmaar,holland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just wanted a week in the sun and nothing more. This was the right place to be. No music at the swimming-pool, no entertainment hassle around you and very good service. We had a beautiful room facing the poolside and enjoyed everyday of the good food,during breakfast and dinner. Grand Resort is a perfect place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulhofstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.0 mi away
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
#46 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
13.0 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#11 of 27 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#8 of 27 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort Hurghada

Property: The Grand Resort Hurghada
Address: Red Sea / Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Resort Hurghada 4*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at the Grand Resort is on an impressive scale. Lying right on the tourist promenade, at the very heart of the modern resort area of Hurghada, it boasts generously-sized rooms and an innovative figure of eight layout that allows one side of the hotel to cater for those seeking lively entertainment and music while the other offers tranquillity for those who simply want to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing