We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hurghada
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveler rating
392
348
167
93
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
392
348
167
93
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua park jasmine beach pool bar aladdin hotel animation team foam parties fish oriental restaurant sofa bed beach restaurant choice of restaurants great holiday kebab fire show clean towels enjoyed our holiday cleaned every day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Amazing time at the Ali Baba Palace. One of the best holidays this decade. We travelled as a family of 5, the children’s ages 14,10 and 8. And here is all you need to know.

I was very sceptical reading some of the reviews and got stressed for no reason. If your expecting the equivalent to a UK 4 star then I suggest you book yourself a hotel in Blackpool and don’t waste your time reading this review.

We arrived on the 30th October and the weather during the day got to high’s of 30c. This time of the year the sun rises at 5am and sets at 5pm so you will get at least 10 hours fun in the sun. The evening temperature is perfect.

For the Entry Visa at the airport keep to the right hand side of the queue at the arrival hall, there is a Bank located at the end of the queue and it cost £20.50 per person (UK coins accepted). Do not fall victim to the fake reps shouting from their stands “British, UK come hurry up” as they charge £25 to include their commission.

Once visa is done you will need to complete a landing card for each passenger. Name DOB Nationality Passport number and Destination.

I had booked private transfer which was approximately 15 minutes drive to the hotel.

Currency exchange at hotel lobby ATM. Enter sterling and you get Egyptian pound. The ATM accepts credit/debit card and £20 pound notes ONLY. New £10 notes can be exchanged at vendors or paying for things.

The WIFI is extremely disappointing and cost £9 for 7 days. This is only available in the reception area and the connection is very weak and only good for message no chance of facetime/video call. However if you need to make a call back home they have a phone booth it cost 50p a minute or alternatively you can purchase a data sim.

Top tip you will need to pack a 2 Pin full circle plug and Mosquito repellant spray.

There are 3 restaurants all available for breakfast 7am - 10am. Lunch 12:30 - 2:30. Dinner 6pm - 9pm. All serve similar food. There is a 4th restaurant called Sesame which needs to be reserved and not part of all inclusive.

Never go hungry at Ali Baba. Breakfast is excellent you can get everything fresh bread, croissants pancake and much more. Lunch and Dinner plenty variety rice pizza, pasta, shawarma, roast chicken,l and full lamb but the same menu can get repetitive. Kids corner at Ring o Tree serves chips.

The lobby bar serves drinks, tea and coffee all day. Pool bar is available all day for snacks, burgers, chips and ice cream.

If you dont like the food you can take a 20 minute walk or take a taxi costing 30 Egyptian pounds (£1.50) to the Senzo mall where they have a McDonald and KFC.

The cleaners here are on steroids they clean the whole complex night and day. Bed sheet and towel changed daily.

The big let down was the bathroom and standard room decor which is very dated with old furniture, sofa and beds but everything was practical. My sons mattress was too thin. I complained at the reception and within 2 minutes got a knock on door with a new bed. There are also a few cats which im not a big fan of.

We had 2 ground floor interconnecting rooms (5604 & 5605) with a garden and pool view and the best thing was the french doors opening up to bring the outdoors in. Fridge in room was topped up with bottled water daily.

Ali Baba has a sister hotel Aladdin on the same vicinity and the great thing is you can use their facilities too. This is specially handy when it comes to beach towels. Two types of beach here rocky on one side and sandy on the other. Beach bar also serves beverages.

The hotel pool is great for private spots water gets warm about 10am and soft drinks every corner. The Aqua park really sets this hotel apart absolutely amazing one side for kids and the other for adults. We also played on the 5 a side Football pitch.

No need for Excursion’s as plenty to do however we went to Paradise island (beautiful) that included 2 stops for snorkelling 8:30 - 4pm at cost of £20 per person definitely recommend. We also went on Jeep Safari that included a family Buggy, Quad, and a dangerous high speed ride through the desert in a Land Cruiser, and finally a quick Horse and Camel ride at a total cost of £80 for 5 people but this was very average trip and had to buy scarf and hire goggles. Both the excursion price I had to negotiate no such thing as fixed prices. We also walked to Sand city which was a ripoff paid £30 for 5 minutes of touring and that was it.

The camel ride around the complex was fun the camel was called Oscar and had better manners than the keeper.

There is a Mosque on the complex which was a real blessing. There is also a mosque at the airport gate as soon as you have past security.

Hotel check out is at 12pm and they give us a lunch pass on the day which is a nice gesture as our pick up was at 3:30pm. There is a free Safe at reception. Air condition is free too.

Security at Airport is tight on the way out and make sure to take a pen as you need to complete a departure card.

All in all super holiday worth every penny. We was intending on going to Turkey in 2020 but Ali Baba now seems to be an obvious contender.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Abdul_HX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azharmoominka, Public Relations Manager at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from Alibaba Palace!

Thank you for the kind words about our services, facilities, food and drinks. We are proud to attend to our guests’ needs in the best way possible. We appreciate your feedback about updating the rooms. We are working constantly on improving the hotel to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations. In 2018 and 2019, we have launched 3 buildings with all-new renovated deluxe rooms; pool bar, shisha bar and 2 all inclusive restaurants are recently renovated as well. Please be sure that we are taking measures to develop all our services and facilities to make your vacation safe and comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you here again!

Best regards, Ali Baba Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food, nice water park, clean and huge pools, 3 nice private beaches, nice coral reef, turquise sea water, beautiful tropical garden, good day and night show. The personal is very nice.
The rooms are large bungalow type. The toilets are not quite according to the European standards for four stars, but for Africa is resonable. If yo not like your room you have the possibility to change it for a small difference of the initial price.If you give small tips 2-3 euros every day you are treated like a king/ queen. It is normal for Egypt.
Many rusians, germans and french nationals.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank Bogdan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azharmoominka, Public Relations Manager at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Bogdan,

We would like to thank you for your positive review. We are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations. In 2018 and 2019, we have launched 3 buildings with all-new renovated deluxe rooms; pool bar, shisha bar and 2 all inclusive restaurants are recently renovated as well.
As guest satisfaction is our priority all guests are accommodated in the hotel according their booking and vouchers. In case if guests are not satisfied with their room we can offer for them room change for free. If guests wish to change their room on different category we always inform them that it has extra charge. As any other hotel all over the world, we never push any guests to pay for an items / services if they do not want, we just offer extra for your comfort. Please be sure that we are taking measures to improve all our services and facilities to make your vacation safe and comfortable. We would be delighted to welcome you again.

Best regards, Ali Baba Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just back home, it was my 3rd and last time at this hotel. I feel so sorry for my friends who I took with my, as they was 1st time in Egypt.
Hotel in general was ok, if comparing this October and 4years ago( my 2nd time in that hotel) is the difference in rooms, they done some renovations but not in main building and lobby. In the lobby desperately needed new carpets!!!
Room- we got deluxe so can’t much complain, was ok. Cleaner was good and always top-up water.
Food- was good but comparing 4 years ago, was more selection 4years ago then now.
Drinks- crap test and smell of petroleum, unless you will pay for branded premium spirits BUT even then you have to watch what they mixed for you!!! We was there for 2 weeks, 1st week we were like everyone and got local alcohol which is not good at all. A few times we bought “premium “ cocktails which was very good and after that we decided to upgrade to black bands +€56/ adult, kids free. Hey-ho here adventures is just begun. The same drinks which we paid for was included BUT it wasn’t the same quality and in plastic. We were spoke to guest relations, to the reception, to bar stuff- didn’t help at all. Even did pictures of paid for and took the same including- what a difference All the time you have to show “magic” pass lol which made of paper to get this drinks or fresh juice- but it’s so uncomfortable if you want to swim in to the bar!!! Basically your kid has nothing- you give your fresh juice or bowling game to your kids and you have less for this money. So my conclusion- it’s west of money and your nerves!!!
Beach- ok but better to wear swimming shoes as some corals could be there. Beach bar- the best place in this hotel- drinks surprisingly were great.
Animation team and kids club great, can’t complain.
Aqua park- good.
As I was 3rd time there- they treated me as a queen lol - our check-out time was 00:45 so one of employees was met as near ours rooms and asked for a key ( he explained that he have to check rooms) ok, we give and went to the reception desk. In 5 min the receptionist said that in my room missing bathrobe and I have to pay €25, oh what a drama, in next second 3 more employees + 2 night managers + 4 security appeared. To avoid missing flights I decided to give them a small present €25 and “happy” memories for myself!
It’s so sad to see that such a lovely hotel has greedy owners!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ir4ik13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel in mid-summer, liked the room, clean, fairly bright, comfortable bed.
But my most pleasant memory of this hotel is Egyptian cuisine in an oriental restaurant and sushi. I liked the girls at the reception, they are fluent in Russian. If not next summer, then in the coming years, I think again to visit Egypt and will most likely stay at the same hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _funky80p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azharmoominka, Public Relations Manager at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Sunny greetings from Alibaba Palace!

Thank you for the feedback, we are pleased to know that you had a great time with us and especially enjoyed our food & beverage outlets. We offer to our guests various dishes in 3 different restaurants with International, Italian and Oriental cuisine. There is also a la carte restaurant with Asian cuisine and pool BBQ. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel and hope you will find a second home here.

Best Regards, Ali Baba Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I impressed with hotel. Amazing and comfortable place. Rooms were clean. Helpful staff. Definitely recommend to my friends choose your hotel. Apreciate for good service. Looking forward to my next holiday in your hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Мейржан К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azharmoominka, Public Relations Manager at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mейржан,

Warm greetings from Alibaba Palace!
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that our staff made your vacation enjoyable and you you were impressed with our hotel. We would like to forward your kind words to our entire team. It will be a great honor for us to greet you again in our hotel.

Best Regards, Ali Baba Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews