We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing 'All inclusive?'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jasmine Village Hotel
Ranked #112 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Food
Disappointing - No fresh or even tinned fruit at any meal. A limited range of fresh salad. Breakfasts had a wide range of pastries but no choice in eggs or 'English typed cooked breakfasts'. Potatoes and vegetables from previous day served instead. In main restaurant meals not as expected for four or five star - bland and mushy stewy and bean type meals. Very little identified meat. A good range of bread provided but always had to ask for butter or cheese. Pats of butter only put out in small quanties and immediately disappeared. A range of sweet and biscuits provided but no variety. Knives and forks put on tables, but always a search for spoons. it would be more efficient to leave piles of cutlery near plates in dining room so people could help themselves. Service for drinks dreadful in dining room. Rarely asked if a drink was wanted.

Chalet Rooms
My daughter and I shared one room, with my son and his friend in an adjoing room. We had a small seating area between the rooms which was useful to sit and chat in, although we were not allowed to bring any drinks away from the main reception area which we would have liked and would have added to the enjoyment of the experience. Each room had a fridge but only stocked with bottle water and not soft drinks or alcohol as in other places we have stayed.
The rooms and bathrooms were small and basic. No chairs in the room to sit comfortably. No safe in room although safes available in the main reception area. Rooms tidied and cleaned, bed linen and towels changed every day. A couple of cockroaches and large ants seen at night but these were easily dealt with and what one would expect in the desert.

Main reception
People were dealt with quickly and efficiently. It was useful to be able to keep the room until 6.00pm on the day of departure for an extra fee of £25. Reception and lobby area clean and cool with soft drinks and tea-time drinks/snacks available. Terrace bar had comfortable seats in both shade and sun. Service became more efficient once staff had had a few tips. Fresh fruit juices and coctails were not included in 'all-inclusive' as in other places and had to be paid extra for. This was not clear until the bill arrived.

The resort
The resort was flat, well paved and lit, safe and easy to get about in. There was no access from the rooms to the beach and the beach and pool was some distance from some of the rooms and main reception area. It could be quite a trek in the heat of the day and not easy to keep nipping back to your room.

The beach and sea was lovely and clean. There was plenty of shade if wanted. The beach boys were efficient in sorting out comfortable chairs for a small tip. There were plenty of space also by the lake, however much hotter and more flies there. Diving and snorkling trips could be arranged from the hotel and reprsentatives came round regularly to book trips with people out on the beach and by the pool.

Entertainment
The animation team was friendly and tried to include as many people as possible in a range of entertainment activities each night. There were pool tables etc but these had to be paid for by the half hour.
We were shocked and upset to see animals such as monkeys and a family of poor dogs, adults and puppie kept in a very small cage. Although the cages were cleaned out each morning they were nothing more than the basic concrete cage in the heat of the sun. Not once did we see the dogs taken out of the cage for a walk.

Atmosphere
Non smokers may be put off by the fact that smoking is allowed in all the chalets and public places, including outside terraces pool and beaches. This were no clear non smoking designated areas. People wanting to escape the trappings of Christmas may want to go else-where. We stayed during the last week of October and first week of November and already the main reception area is full with bare branches of frost covered trees and the main walkthrough wi lit up with reindeers which make quite a bizarre contrast with the sun and palm trees.

Shops And Souveniers
The shop by main reception sold a variety of fairly cheap souvenirs, however, we were hassled when we tried to shop in the mall of shops along the side of the hotel. Particularly avoid the aggressive selling techniques of the perfume shop where my daughter and i were 'cajougled' into buying some very overpriced lotion before we could make our escape from the shop.

Unfortunately in conclusion, the hotel rooms and the standard of service was not of the standard we have come to expect in all-inclusive holidays in places we have been before such Marsa Alam, Cuba, Mexico and Gambia. The standard of meals and availability of drinks, both soft and alcohol fall way below other places we have visited. This is not an all-inclusive that is value for money.

Room Tip: Blocks of rooms close to main reception rooms are quiet and handy but some distance from pool and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 745sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 566 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

My 12 year old daughter and I had a really fab time at the Jasmine during half term. Accommodation cute, little bungalows - a little tired but clean. Lovely pool and beach. Staff really helpful particularly if you give them a small tip at the start. Food a little samey but we found breakfast at main restaurant good, Italian for lunch excellent and dinner at the Oriental on the beach good. If you need a taxi make sure you use the taxi service at reception as its much cheaper. Drinks are a little slow in coming however tip and they soon speed up. Met lots of lovely Egyptian people who love the English. We'll defo go back.

Room Tip: Make sure room not too close to beach as they're situ not as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

been to the jasmine 4 times and we are just about to book the5th , its a great place for a beach holiday , the staff love the english and we have made many egyptian friends there , they are friendly and very willing to help you. you get what you pay for ,if you want 5 star then stay somewhere else. the rooms are kept very clean fresh linen every day and plenty of water in the fridge. the food is ok plenty of choice but not al a carte but you can always find something at one of the 3 restaurants. you can always find somewhere to relax the beach is great the water is amazingly clear and warm . the senzo mall just down the road is fantastic and cleopatras shop is so cheap its a must to visit. we have never been ill or had any problems at the jasmine , everything is on the complex and we cant wait to go back , give it a try you wont be dissapointed .

Room Tip: a little tip goes a long way , be friendly they are nice people if you take the time to talk to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Egypt so we were not sure what to expect. I can only suggest to read all the negative comments about this place, because they are all on the money. Service was horrible. I heard many times comments like "why do you need 4 beers". "Are you sure you want another chicken wing" and "oooo it’s you again missing milk for your coffee". Other comments include "where is my tip" and silence when ask for something. I felt unwanted and that without a tip there is no point of asking for anything. Rooms average to poor. We had to move to three different rooms because of unorganized service. The last one was the cleanest, but we still managed to kill few cockroaches and huge ants. There was no way to adjust Air conditioning, kept the room freezing cold. People we befriended had similar experience, mouse sighting was one of them. All the entertainment setup for Russian clientele. Very poor English from hotel staff led to many unpleasant situations including returning room keys 30 minutes past due at which point we were ask to pay for the whole day. Fortunately we did not have to do that, but the hustle to explain ourselves was exhausting. On positive side hotel is very spacious on the outside, lots of room to roam between garden and the beach. Still we think people more than surrounding make the trip positive or negative and this was definitely on negative side.

Room Tip: Rooms from 700-800
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AveragetoPoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

In this hotel I can only recommend, that there's a very nice beach, the sea, and a small coral reef where the fish are and coral.Co Concerning food, it was a disaster, the same thing over and over again, constantly missed coffee mugs, spoons and similarly, the staff totally bored, times neither responded to our thanks, living in comfortable bungalows, we were also in other departments najídle-alladin and alibaba and basically everything exactly the same, everyone you speak rusky.Staff perhaps would like to pay for everything!
Disco in the resort pays about $ 10? Bit I do not understand, because even if you pay the entry and then you have to pay for the drinks prices as if you were in Saint Tropez?
In this hotel is definitely nevrátíme.A nor I can really recommend to anyone! Maybe those people who enjoy paying for every little thing, and maybe even a greeting!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

the Jasmine hotel is full of great staff, great food and great weather. we would recomend the jasmin every time, our favourite staff member is Ahmed the pool boy.he cant do enough for you a very nice lad
We have been holidaying at this hotel for the past few years it makes for a very pleasant
stay it has everything you need to make a great holiday. Weather is good for the time of year food is very edible breakfast and lunch are best. dinner is a little repetative. pool area is very clean, a great little zoo for the children too. we recomend it

Room Tip: choose a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 1 week from 5th to 12th of September at Jasmin Village in Hurghada. It was a good value for money. Jasmin is a 3.5 stars hotel in the Neckermann catalogue.

Room and environment - very good:
We stayed at a bungalow that was clean, comfortable, A/C was OK. Main building and garden is very nice, pool and its area is excellent, beach with the sea is beautiful, sandy without gravels, water shallow and worm. The hotel is out of the city, taxi takes in for 25-35 LE = 800 – 1400 HUF. Most of the guests were Russians but I had no issue with their behave, like some other people here on tripadvisor.


Cleanliness - average:
Bungalow, main building, garden, streets, beach, public toilet at main building, they are well done. But the bar in the main building smells bad and look dirty, the beach bar was similar. Our most annoying experience happened also in connection to these 2 bars. They served drinks in non disposable, plastic cups (similar to the ones you buy for your child) instead of glasses. The cups gave the impression of they never cleaned. At the end of our stay they started to change the cups to glasses, however, the most travel fellow complained about this issue. It is a pity that either this or the dirty bar is just matter of intensity and not question of money. The main building restaurant is really a good example of a well managed restaurant. By the way, we saw its manager there all the time, he was going around and checking with sharp eyes everything of his people was doing.

Room service - almost there:
Towels, bed sheets were clean and changed. The liquid soap container was left empty for 2 days, we had to ask to refill it.

Food and drinks - very good:
The variety and quality of the food was very good. We are vegetarians and always found something new, good, and tasteful. Note, we stayed only for 1 week. Once you got bored with repetitive foods at Jasmin, you can walk over and eat at the 2 neighbour 4 stars hotels, Aladdin and Ali baba, for no extra fee. As we checked, they serve partially different foods there.

Internet access - terrible:
Charge is 200 LE = 800 HUF for 15 minutes. There are 4 PCs. The HWs and SWs are old and slow, keyboards are terrible. Browser set up is not safe at all, think twice to check your bank account from these public terminals. There is no WIFI access there at all.
Comment for shopping out of the hotel: be careful with credit cards usage during shopping. This is not Europe. I had issues several ways with using my credit cards. After 5 trials I have given it up, used my credit card only in big shops. Then, naturally, I was forced to check my bank account, whether everything is OK with my money after the credit card issues.
Naturally I changed the hotel terminals browsers’ security set up in order to keep my passwords, etc. privacy. (It also made me wonder that I could access these functions of the browsers....)

Telephone - poor but better than nothing
There are telephones at the rooms but voice quality is problematic. You can phone from the main building telephone centre, this is better. An Egypt mobile phone call is 4 pounds for 3 minutes, landline call is 2 pounds / 3 minutes from there. Since it is difficult to avoid having any calls locally (ex. you need to reach your Neckermann representative for help or program), I advise to forget to use your mobile for 350 HUF/ minutes but use the hotel phone. For internet access might make sense to buy a prepaid data card at a nearby plaza shop, if you are willing to bring your laptop with you from home. This shop also sells prepaid local SIM. The one I saw was sold for 15 LE and 1 minute call charge was 2 LE.

Stealing - no issue at all
Nothing was touched, nothing disappeared. We kept our wallet and passport at the hotel safe but I think, everything is absolute safe at the hotel. I never heard bad experience there and read anything like that here, on tripadvisor.

Staff service – average
They speak quite Ok in English, can speak German, Russian easily. The staff service was not bad, however they could be more polite, generally. It is rather impression, especially about the guys behind reception counter, but also about the bar staff. They are not impolite but neither polite, definitely.

Health issues due to infection by food
Some of us suffered but most of us had no issue. However, at least I was really careful.

Programs – very good
There were good culture programs at the hotel. They have really been taken care of that. We particularly liked the free slider tickets to the neighbour hotel, it was a fantastic program. The fitness centre worth nothing, even it is for free and the situation is the same at the 2 other 4 stars neighbour hotels.
Visit to Cairo and Luxor is advised, even the 1000 km and 24 hours bus trip to Cairo made me suffer like hell, while Luxor trip was just the same on a half distance. There are bumpers on roads everywhere, so no choice for the driver to drive faster. It was really the hell of pain for me, however the programs I will remember always, while the pain goes away.

Weather, sea – excellent
The temperature was around 35 degree Celsius. The Red sea temperature was more than perfect.

Tip (baksis) system :
it is not our culture. They are always eager to get tip and tip and tip. The higher level they are in the hierarchy (reception vs. room service or waiter staff), the more arrogate for that. It is always and everywhere in the air. Probably the best to give small changes like 50 Euro or USD cents (or even less) at each occasion and a bigger amount at the end of the vacation if you feel it served.
As I put together, the staff benefit package is around 1500 USD / month + accommodation. For this money they work 7 days / week, 12 hours / day, and get 1 week vacation after 4 months. By the way, I felt shop prices usually similar to what we have here in Hungary. So, it is hard working conditions for them to get good prices for us, European tourists. Some tip is absolutely reasonable, I believe.

Value for money of the trip – very good
This was a last minute trip for 200,000 HUF = 700 Euro at Neckermann for 1wk, 2 person, inc. travel, visas, accommodation. Generally, I was satisfied and enjoyed my stay there very much.

Room Tip: Bungalow is more quiet than rooms at the main building on the 1st floor, due to late evening program...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.7 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#98 of 222 in Hurghada
179 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#111 of 222 in Hurghada
577 reviews
7.8 mi away
King Tut Aqua Park Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,741 reviews
8.1 mi away
Triton Empire Hotel
Triton Empire Hotel
#171 of 222 in Hurghada
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine Village Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $40 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 446
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jasmine Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine Village Hurghada
Hotel Jasmine Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing