We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time in egypt ,very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Ranked #8 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“first time in egypt ,very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at our lovely villa 708, delighted with it, fab bathrooms, really comfy beds, great private pool and garden area, clean and comfortable. Beach cabana was great to have, very relaxing, service fom alaa (beach cabanas)was very good. Wonderful gardens immaculately kept , swimming pools sparkling clean. Wide range of food and restaurant's available however the fish restaurant was outstanding. Stafff very attentive maybe too much at times,. However difficult to get information from customer services regarding things to do outside the hotel.internet connection very poor, we found it be quite intimidating when we did venture out to shopping mall , being constantly harrassed by shop traders. Great hotel for those who enjoy all inclusive and luxury prison.one week was enough for us

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank crescent222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and taking action immediatly when in need to improve our services.

It is very kind of you to recognize the hotel team and their hard work and our slogan is to make you feel that your are at home. I will share your comments with all head of department and will work on each of them to make sure that your next visit will be more comfortable than the first one.

Please feel free to contact me for further information or comments.

Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager.

With best regards,
Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,082
    508
    148
    39
    36
See reviews for
919
1,325
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

On arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe seaview room, which I thoroughly recommend as the sunrise was beautiful, and a perfect location for the beach. The hotel and public areas are in excellent condition, the gardens beautiful and where in full bloom, the attention to detail with the tree sculpturing just added that little bit extra. Restaurants, well what can I say the choice was varied as you had the choice of 6 a la carte using the hotels next door, having said that the 2 located in this hotel had that little extra something. Food was excellent and varied. Beach bar/restaurant - the service was run like a military operation, very personal but very quick, you never felt rushed, they where brilliant. Special mention to the Fish Restaurant (extra fee - but well worth it - AMAZING), again made very special by the views and again the wonderful staff. Now we come to the animation team, special thanks to Aimee, Mark & Nanoo (i think thats his name - woops sorry if not), an excellent mix between key activities and great customer interaction, never felt pushed to join in, but all had time to say hello and a chat and appreciated that all we wanted to do was relax (other hotels should take note of how they manage this skill). In summary what makes this hotel is the staff, their only goal is to make you happy - Thank You All

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is very kind of you to recognize the hotel team and their hard work. I will share your comments with them and I am confident that they will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay and let you feel like at “second home”.

With best regards,
Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My family travelled to Hurghada for the Easter break, two adults and two children (5 & 3). We had booked into the Crystal Bay as the best of the three Sunrise resorts in the complex (neighbouring the Garden Beach and Mamalouk Palace).

Getting through Hurghada airport was pretty straight forward although there is a visa system in place requiring cash payment, so research in advance and have the correct money to hand. It's about 10 USD per person and there will be queues.

Transfers to the hotel were only about 20 minutes so from landing to arrival at the hotel took about an hour and a half.

Cool towels and drinks await you at the Crystal Bay and we were provided a check in slip by the Thomas Cook rep on the bus so you simply handed that over with passports and sit in comfort whilst they do all rest.

We booked a junior suite so that we had a more comfortable room and this was well worth the money for a family of four to spread out and have separate sleeping areas for the adults and children. These suites are a bit further away from the hotel so we all jumped into a buggy and were driven down to be shown our room. We had room 343 on the top floor overlooking the beach and the bay and it was very clean and spacious with basic facilities. The room was kept clean but the attendant changed halfway through our stay and, due to hotel being full, the timing of the room being made up was hit and miss as was provision of enough towels. After "borrowing" extra from a trolley and speaking to the attendant all was well.

The rest of the hotel is beautiful and the grounds are constantly being tended to by gardeners and cleaners to ensure they are spotless. The beach and bay are kept tidy but depending on the tide and the wind it can get a little murky and soiled with rubbish. We actually found the beach nicer for a paddle on the Mamalouk Palace side especially at low tide when you can see all the wildlife from the beach and jetty. Others have reported mosquitoes but, in the two weeks we were there, I didn't see one and we had no pest problems at all.

The pools are large and clean but only one is heated and even that was a bit chilly in the mornings. Crystal Bay is a bit more "grown up" than its neighbours, so the pool is for relaxing rather than jumping and playing. It's well looked after though and the recreation team and poolside attendants are great. On check in, you get a card per person and use it to get a fresh towel by the pool or beach each day

Food is unadventurous and, for three vegetarians in the group, very frustrating as even seemingly veggie dishes had chicken stock added and the pasta station used the same ladles for meat and veggie sauces so cross contaminated. However, I must mention Chefs Sahid and Ahmed who personally took my wife around the buffet explaining what went into each dish and offered to make special dishes if nothing suited (including veggie sushi on oriental night). Their service was great but would have been unnecessary if cooking practices had been slightly different. (no major stomach upsets for anyone though so this hotel doesn't have those sorts of problems)

Restaurant service was pretty chaotic in the Rainbow and beach restaurants with plates snatched away if you lingered, no clear section owners to deliver drinks or top ups etc. If you don't shout (as other guests will) you may wait a while to get served. Best of the bunch was Sharif who was always cheerful and looked after us well.

We tried three of the six a la carte restaurants (again because of poor veggie choice). The Crystal Bay has by far the best options. We ate at the Indian and Mediterranean restaurants three times each and they are much quieter, relaxed and better served than the main restaurant. Food is good, more choice in the Mediterranean but probably better food in the Indian, however we discovered that items on the menu; poppadoms/pickles and Gulab Jamun a dessert were unavailable and had been for months! (the menu needs an overhaul!) We also tried the "Mexican" in the Mamalouk Palace and had the most disgusting flavourless food that we left halfway through the main course (I was later sick that night). Advice: stay in the Crystal Bay! Booking is a bit tricky and you need to be up early or late to get a table - thankfully you can book the all the a la carte restaurants but the other hotels cannot book the Crystal Bay.

Drinks flow nicely, although they tend to come in small glasses so you need a lot of trips to the bar, the lobby bar staff were great and the cocktail selection is much better than the neighbouring hotels.

Entertainment is supplied by Top Team (a company rather than the hotel itself) and the staff they had were fantastic! They work incredibly hard and run all the activities from 10am to 11pm and are always happy and smiling. We got to know Aimee, Nadya (sadly now left) and Mark the best, as they tended to look after the little ones, but Soudany, Nanno, Kimo and Mizo were always around making sure we were having fun. We enjoyed the mini-disco in the evening and took in a few of the shows, which were as you'd expect from a package holiday hotel.

Outside - apart from the numerous boat and coach trips there is not a lot to do, Hurghada itself is not really somewhere to stroll around for pleasure and the shop keepers are a constant barrage of unwanted attention. The Marina is nice and there is a free shuttle from the hotel in the afternoon, but this is more of a trip where you stay in the hotel.

Summary - it's clean, it's comfy, it's friendly and if you want to laze in the sun every day and eat the same pretty good food it is a good choice. If you like to get out and about or be independent or have a bit more to your stay, Hurghada (and maybe Egypt atm) is not the best bet.

Room Tip: Junior suites are spacious and worth the extra for space and a sea view - get a top floor though to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Derby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Matt,
Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed your room, animation and vacation in general.
We are grateful for comments about the room and towels, food provided in the restaurant and the beach. It is very important for us to know your opinion to have a possibility to develop and provide our best to our valuable guests.
The team of SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort will wait for you for the next vacation to provide with our best treatment and vegetarian food.

With best regards,
Guests Service Center Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Overall the hotel is great, rooms are really nice, staff is mostly friendly, pool is great, the beach has nice setting but not that good of a location, Animation team is pretty standard nothing exceptional, Reception staff are very professional. i would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: it depends do you want something near the activity or a quite vacation, if you want lively vacation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Walid,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on Holidaycheck.com about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday at our resort, and that staff did everything to make it to your liking.

Once again thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort soon.

Best regards,
Guests Service Center Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We just spent our honeymoon at Sunrise Crystal Bay and we could not have picked a better place. From the second we arrived we were made to feel like royalty. The reception staff welcomed everyone with wet towels and cold drinks and within minutes of arriving we had been showed to our room where our bags were already waiting.
The room we stayed in was gorgeous (Rm 336). A really spacious room with the balcony overlooking the private beach. The cleaners did a terrific job too.
There's plenty of choices for meals. The main Rainbow restaurant boasted a huge variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We booked in at the Mediterranean once and the Indian twice, both of which were fantastic. It was just as easy to book into any of the restaurants in the two hotels next door too, you're really spoilt for choice.
The staff around the whole hotel were all fantastic. Every single one of them seemed to really care and they couldn't do more to make sure we were relaxed and enjoying ourselves.
In the Rainbow restaurant we came across Omar, he couldn't possibly work any harder than we saw him work whilst we were there, he was brilliant. Whilst drinking in the lobby bar in the evenings we were mainly waited on by Mustafa who was an absolute hero! He never stopped. He must go through a pair of shoes every night! Such a nice guy and a perfect mix of professionalism and a good sense of humour.
The animation team were absolutely brilliant. There were a couple more but we mainly spoke to Aimee, Chicco, Marc, Mizo, Soudany and Nanno. These guys had smiles on their faces every second of every day no matter how hard they worked, and they work very hard! They became more friends than anything else during our stay.
Overall this hotel was amazing. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, the whole place is always spotless and the grounds are beautiful. We would recommend it to anyone.

Many thanks to all the staff and management at Sunrise Crystal Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Adam,

We are happy to know that you had wonderful honeymoon and would like to congratulate you with such an event in your life.
It will be a real pleasure to welcome you aback in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and celebrate your wedding anniversary next time..

Best regards,
Guest service center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeswsood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

were do i start? Everything was amazing i have worked in hotels and the hospitality industry for over ten years now and i could not fault one thing, the 5 star rating is well deserved. Right from our arrival into the hotel we were ' welcomed home' and offered a cocktail and cold towel. Our room was amazing and Arafa our cleaner was superb every single day. There was so much choice when it came to the food we tried out every restaurant and were extremely satisfied and the service of Elsayeed in the rainbow restaurant was second to none - 1st class.
My favourite part of the holiday was in the daytime spent by the pool, the animation team were so friendly, especially Amy and Marc who we got to know really well. They were not to pushy and my partner enjoyed a good laugh with Amy over a game of darts by the pool.
We went out to Egypt for a relaxed holiday and a bit of sun and what we got exceeded our wildest expectations and we are already looking into booking a return visit next year.
To top it off i planned to propose whilst on holiday and was able to contact the hotel before hand and let them know about this and they accommodated my requests superbly in hiding the ring and setting everything up for me by the seafood restaurant on the end of the beach. overall it was an amazing holiday and have recommended it to everyone i have spoken to.
P.S she said yes :)

Room Tip: not a trip about the room but when around the pool just be firm and polite and say no if you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Marcus,
Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed your vacation.
The team of SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort appreciate your comments hope to see you soon again.
With best regards,
Guests Service Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here with my partner from 1st to 8th April and we cannot praise it enough.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and at home. I can only reiterate other reviews and we are also looking at booking to return as soon as possible. Food is excellent in the buffet restaurant, hot and so much choice , we ate in botha la carte restaurants and they were first class too. We hired a beach cabana one day and for 20 dollars were treated like royalty all day it was well worth it. Special mention to Amy and the rest of the entertainment team who were so friendly and enthusiastic but without being pushy, Wahid at the pool bar for fab service,and Saeed and his team at the sunbed and towel station ! My first time in Egypt but certainly wont be my last ...Just go its marvellous !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Tracey,
We are grateful for your comments about our staff and the service you received. It will be very useful for other travelers.
We are looking forward to share some more memorable moments with you in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort.
With best regards,
Zhanna Kartashova
Guest Service Center Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
6.5 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 229 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,943 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Property: SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Address: Safaga Road | KM 20 Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing