We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good the second time around & with no broken bones this time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just as good the second time around & with no broken bones this time...”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We first went to stay at this hotel in Dec 2011 & unfortunately, on our First night there, I broke my leg. ( Nobody's fault) The staff were brilliant, call the On site Doctor who looked at me & gave me pain relief straight away... We continued our holiday there & it was amazing, So, we decided to go back. I have to say, I am glad we went back... There were some new staff but a lot of the staff we had first meet were still there. EVERYBODY is so friendly & helpful. It was nice to be able to swim this time... The pools are lovely & clean. We had 4 children with us & they loved both the beach & the pool... The food is very good. Lots of choice, with the choice of homemade pizzas, hotdogs, chips & pasta if you don't fancy any of the food available. The two Al a carte restaurants are beautiful too. I have made some wonderful friends at this hotel & will be going back ASAP.

Room Tip: Our first trip we had a suite with pool & this time just a basic room... Both rooms were lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Mrs. Shellie,
First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback about our resort.
We are happy that this vacation was also unforgettable and that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope that we can welcome you and your family again in your “second home” SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,230
    537
    154
    40
    37
See reviews for
967
1,428
72
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed at crystal bay from May 15th for 2wks.
On arrival check in was very efficient, luggage taken to room whilst we had a drink on the terrace.
Our room was spaciouis and clean with pool view,( missed breakfast the first morning due to ,too many drinks on the terrace ) pool area was clean with plenty of sunbeds and clean towels daily, didnt bother with the red flag and was rarely disturbed apart from rit"a who worked for the spa and would stop for a chat each day, Lunch at the beach bar was ok but service was slow,choice of pizza, fajitas,and buffet selection also ice cream.Main buffet restaurant was nicely laid out and spotlessly clean although we were rarely asked if we wanted drinks. Food was fine a good selection and again spotlessly clean. We ate at the italian restaurant at one of the sister hotels and sadly this was very poor, we also ate at the mexican restaurant again in a sister hotel this was very good,food was lovely and restaurant was very authentic.We also ate twice in the meditereanean which we found to be extremely good ,service was excellent and nice surroundings.The indian restaurant again was extremely good.Evening entertainment was very low key and drinks service was sometimes slow but you can always go to the bar yourself all the staff we came into contact with were very nice and we were also able to keep our room until 6pm on check out day free of charge.My husband suffered from a bad stomach and diarrhoea and was still suffering on our return home ( i think the chemist over the road must be a millionaire ) Very relaxing holiday but buffet food and drinks were not 5 star standard and have decided after reading reviews from recent visitors that the hotel seems to be on a slippery slope to 3 star rating , We would not return due to these poor reviews and would sadly not recommend.

Room Tip: choose a room with private pool as they are right on the beach and really did look lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele1965Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Ms. Michele,
We are pleased that you found time to share your holiday experience with us.
We are sad to read that you decided not to come back even if you had a relaxing stay in our resort.
Even though some guests have put some negative comments in the internet, these are still public sites and anybody can write what they want. On Trip Advisor there are also very good comments, even on other websites we score very well. We have many satisfied guests leaving the property and many of them return because they had such great vacation with us
We hope that we can welcome you again and show you our improvements.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

On arrival greated with cold flannels and fruit juice! Recently returned from a 2 week stay at Sentido, and minus a few air conditioning and power issues, beyond the hotels control it was amazing.
staff are incredibly friends, all 3 Mohummad's in the reception bar, especially the bar manager! the lobby is immaculate, chairs moved and arranged back around the table as soon as possible, no empty glasses on tables. you always have a drink on hand, even if you go to the bar and order, chances are they'll bring them over for you!
Food isn't varied that much, but everyone can find something to eat! the staff in the main restaurant and the beach a-la-carte restaurant are all lovely.
it takes a few days for the staff to get use to you, but once they recognise your face, they're over friendly and helpful.
Pool is amazing, never struggle to get sunbeds.
Beach is very good too.
The grounds are amazing, just be alarmed if you do leave the hotel, you'll get beeped at by every taxi that drives past.
hotel management are always happy to help with problems, go straight to reception, not guest relations or Thomas cook rep.
automatic doors could be a problem for little kids as the sensor's high, but staff are always close by to help them out.
The staff are amazing as I've already said, they truley made the holiday unforgettable. thanks to Kenaway & Mohomad at the pool, Ahmed, Mohummad's and Mahmoud and Yousef in the main bar.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience about our resort.
We are very happy that you had a fantastic holiday with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed here now for the last 3 visits, sadly we will not be going back.
Firstly the hotel on our first visit was so clean you could have eaten off the floor, but now not the case last 2 week holiday we never once saw the outside entertainment area cleaned.
Secondly we very rarely had to go to the bar on an evening the waiters including there boss would tell you sit down and we will bring them for you. No longer the case now. This is not the waiters or even cleaners fault this is really bad management ( cutting down on staff ) not monitoring if a job has been done etc.
Swimming pools shut for 3 days because a child we were told had an accident (bad stomach ) in the pool ok maybe not the hotels fault but why 3days.
Food generally all ok but choice was down on previous visits
But now my biggest gripe guests from neighbouring hotel had been overbooked so management put them up in our hotel they paid a lot less than people in our hotel then boy did they abuse the bar ( 24 hour in lobby ). We had a couple trying to get into our at 3:00am not amusing to find them blind drunk.
As i said at the beginning never again, shame because it did have potential originally.
Management please take note we were not the only british couple who was not happy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamnjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Graham and Mrs. Judith,
We are very sad that you didn’t enjoy your holidays in our resort like you did the other 2 times.
The pool was closed only for a couple of hours (not 3 days consecutive) to general clean the pool again and assure the safety & hygiene of the pool. Accidents can happen and is out of our hands. In the time that one of the pools was closed we have in our resort a second pool, children pool and a Jacuzzi pool. Also our guest can use the 5 pools of our sister resorts SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa and SUNRISE Select Mamlouk Palace Resort & Spa.
The whole day there are cleaners and gardeners busy to clean the public areas. In summer time we clean in the evening or in the early morning as of the heat.
All your comments are given to the department heads for further improvement.
We hope that we can welcome you again and show you our improvements.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 20th July for two weeks and was really pleased with the standard of the accomodation and the service. If you are a UK visitor then be prepared to be in a significant minority with most of the guests being Russian or French and you will find that the buffet menu is probably more suited to their tastes.
We had interconnecting rooms on the 3rd floor with beautiful views of the fantastic pool and the sea. The food in the main restaurant was a little repetitive but was very suitable for a family with children and there was always the option to use one of the 6 excellent restaurants available to book for your evening meal. The hotel is very quiet specifically for children and there is little in the way of organised entertainment however the sports bar provided my boys with enless hours of pool and air hockey. All of the staff were extremely attentive and the service was fantastic throughout. Our rooms were very clean and the mini bar filled daily with soft drinks and water. It was a shame that some of the apparently inclusive elements were actually chargeable, wifi is £10 for 2 days, the beach cabanas have to be paid for and the seafood restaurant charged about £100 for a meal for 5. There is little / nothing to do outside of the hotel other than walk around a small collection of shops opposite and the evening entertainment is quiet with a singer on in the main bar each night and a show organised by the entertainment team in the amphitheatre in the hotel grounds. As with all holidays there were good and bad elements, I would challenge the 5 star rating and say it was more of a 4 star but all in all we enjoyed our holiday very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Mrs. Marge,

We want to thank you for sharing your holiday experience in our resort. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your holidays.

We hope we can welcome you again in SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,

The hotel-management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just spent a week at sentido, from 27 July
Excellent food....really good food, good variety, good quality. Does not feel prepared for hundreds of people, instead feels more like a restaurant.
Best hotel in hurghada yet, the ranking in trip advisor is accurate so far ( better than Hilton, sunrise mamlouk).
Only improvement is air conditioner on the rooms on the right hand side looking at the beach 43X 429, etc....couldn't really deal with the heat....after second day moved to 14X on the left hand side and the air con was much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dramirez999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Ramirez,
We are happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our resort. We want to thank you for sharing your positive feedback about us.
As you have experienced, Egypt in general faced many problems with the electricity supply, but our emergency generator has been working during each power cut.
We hope we can welcome you again and make your stay unforgettable.
With best regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After comming back from our truly amazing 2 week stay at sentido we felt it was only right to share our amazing experience to say thank you while staying at this hotel. Each and every member of staff are a credit to this hotel and can't do enough to help you, the animation team work so hard and for such long hours to make sure are enjoying yourself and are having a good time, they were also good knowing not to pester you on days you just wanted to relax. Our room was huge with a king size bed and a big bathroom with a massive shower, we both found it hard to get cold water from the shower but this did not trouble us.
The food was excellent with a good choice in the main buffet restaurant with a theamed night each night which made it even better, there is two a la cart restaurants on site at sentido, the mederterain and Indian which I found found to be of really good standerd, there are also another 3 restruatants in the sister hotel, one of them which we tryed the asian which was excellent. There is also another restaurant me and my girlfriend enjoyed massively which was the fish restaurant located on the pier at the bottom of the hotels grounds, this isn't inclusive of your all-inclusive package but you do get 20% off for being a guest at sentido and it's defiently worth a vist and isn't expensive at all. (fillet steak and whole lobster! Best surf and turf I've ever had!)
On the last few days of our holiday we decided to take a trip to the Senzo mall one night which is around a 10 minute walk away from the hotel, after booking a taxi to pick us up from the mall which did not arrive we were led into a taxi by which seemed to be the taxi rank man were my wallet was stolen and a large amount of money was taken, The security at the mall were very unhelpful and pretty much useless on the hole situation ! They pretty much found the whole situation a joke a told us to walk back to the hotel. When we arrived back to the hotel the staff were so helpful and apologetic about the whole situation and even took us back in a car with 3 police vans full of officers to try and find this taxi man.
Apart from our last unfortunate experience of one of our last nights I can truly say this is the best hotel and holiday we have ever had! And we'll defiently be returning
Thankyou sentido! See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBeckett11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive review - we do appreciate your high appraisal of our hotel and the staff. It is great to know that you and your mother are happy with your holidays and it will be a real pleasure to us to welcome you again in SENTIDO Crystal Bay Resort.
With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
6.5 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
9.0 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
3.1 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Property: SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Address: Safaga Road | KM 20 Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing