We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not 5 Star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Hurghada Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Ranked #53 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
N Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK but not 5 Star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

My wife and I spent two nights in this hotel as part of a 9 day group tour of Egypt. It was not a highlight of out trip. Reception was chaotic. Breakfasts were average but dinners were poor. Dinning room buffet style was always crowded. Staff appeared to be under pressure or just not paying attention. Bar staff likewise. Pleasent enough when their attention was attracted but prone to making mistakes like bringing the wrong drinks, making out the tab, etc. Also when I tried to settle my bill late on the night prior to departure it was not ready. I got the impression that the staff regarded the hotel as theirs and that guests were to be tolerated, except when tips were due. The management needs to get a grip on this establishment. Bed rooms are standard lego type, with no originality and the balconies are narrow. As all rooms face east to the sea they get no sun. Architecture in the bedroom wings is functional with uninspiring narrow corridors. The reception area is quite large but the airconditioning is inadequate. The heat was unbearable. Drink prices were exorbitant, even before the what appears to be a common Egyptian custom of adding tax, service charge, and a further 2% if charged to your room. The majority of guests appeared to be staying on an all inclusive bases so presumably prices did not concern them. We took a trip, on what was called a semi submersible but was in fact a boat with a glass sided hull, to the coral reef. Nevertheless, quite spectacular, really close to the coral and fish, but don't expect spectacular photographs. It lasted about an hour and a half not the two hours touted, but still an option for less athletic guests. For the more active snorkling, scubba diving, windsurfing, etc is all there. There is little else near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoDownRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    318
    119
    71
    36
See reviews for
423
421
56
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moldova-Romania-USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Good solid 4* hotel. Not 5 though.
I have stayed in this hotel in Feb 09. Solo traveler. All rooms in this hotel have sea view. I stayed in a standard double room. It was spacious enough. The furniture and the TV set are a bit oldish, but in no way broken or anything like that. Clean. The service was top notch. Staff friendly and smiling. The hotel is not that big (around 200 rooms). 2 downsides that I saw: 1. The restaurant wasn’t that big and as a result there were some lineups. 2. Around 7:30 in the morning 80% of the beds by the pool would have towels on them.
Other than that it is a good solid hotel. Nothing special but small and quite. Would proly return if I want to do a bit of scooba diving and spend some quite time with a book by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexX_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed here for a week, long enough all inclusive. Waited over an hour to check in. The hotel, grounds, gardens and beech is really nice. However the staff are discurtiouse they have that I couldnt be bothered attitude, a few did a lot of hiffing and puffing under the breath when asked to do anything. The restaurant was busy and always at dinner had to wait for a table, or wait for a table to be cleared away or wipped down, I often went to get a tray and cloth and just did it myseld cos of waiters attitudes. The food was ok but often not warm enough. The room was basic and dusty, roomservice if you ordered anything food wise took about 1 to 2 hours and you got a cold order. There was a mainly russian clientell and there where a lot of russians who where very angry and showed it. They also piled food onto their plates and table like they hadnt eaten before, very strange behavior. There was never anything left at the beech cafe when you wanted an icecream or drink. The beech restaurant was often unmanned and you had to call someone. I would advise management to train staff in good manners and hard work. No evening entertainment accept a screaching singer one night. Main bar is in foyer opossite lobby reception desk, open plan and therefore uncomfortable and uninviting. I will not go again or recomend it.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilyleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielderoz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

i have just come back from a 2 week holiday at the Hilton Plaza and i was worried before leaving from the previous reviews that i had read.

like a previous reviewer, as soon as we entered the grounds those fears were banished. lush gardens surround the hotel and the size is impressive.

all the staff are friendly and i enjoyed talking to them a lot. the rooms are good - all with a fantastic view of the grounds and of course the sea which from every angle is stunning.

the majority of guests are from eastern europe - which is not a bad thing, as when you have to fly with only charter flights, you will be pleased to not be staying with the brits which look like extras from the Royale Family or a Vicky Pollard sketch.

the food was good, albeit slightly repetitive and Breakfast has a chef on hand to cook in front of you fresh eggs, pancakes or waffles.

the pool is great, with lovely double mattressed sunloungers! the beach too is very good and the water amazing.

the best part of the holiday though has to be the Animation team. Barbara, Kiko, Lili, Monica, Francesco and DJ Max did an amaxing job at making the most of our time there. daily stretching, water aerobics and nightly shows made the time pass by too quickly. plus they are the most friendly team i have met. just make sure you are on the beach at 12 noon for practice of the club dance moves which are done nightly in the disco in the hotel in the evening - fantastic - we bought the CD.

all in all a great hotel. the hotel is out of the town, but the hotel does give a free shuttle bus, and for 10 Egyptian Pounds you can get a cab also to the town which is about £1.20. BUT make sure you agree the price first - and ONLY pay 10. locals pay half this but for a tourist staying at the Hilton, one way 10 is good. always have the correct change too.

wish i was back there!!!

  • Liked — the animation team, the beach and pool
  • Disliked — food was good but a bit repetitive
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank danielderoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
124 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

We spent amazing 2 weeks in this hotel for amazing price. Room was normal, with balcony and view to the sea. Every night we enjoy perfect dinner. Hotel is surounded by large garden which isolates hotel from dusty and dirty external world. Hotel provides shuttle bus which takes you to the city centre. I have no comments to hotel, only drinks were quite expensive in the hotel. But you can buy the just accross the street for 10% of price.

  • Liked — Large garden around the hotel, dinners
  • Disliked — Prices for drinks
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

The hotel was very nice with friendly staff.
It was also very clean and very suitable for familys.
The food was okey. Some days where better than others, but there was always something to like. The hotel needs to have more coffecups however. If you had a late breakfast you could wait forever to have a cup of coffe or tea.

It was rather windy, but if you where lucky you could get a windscreen on the beach and then it was warm and nice. The hotel also needs to have more windscreens or just one screen/family. There was some people that took three screens or even stole the one that you had taken if you left your sunbeds. Some nationalitets of people whrere rather drunk and loud.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff that was very friendly and the garden, beach and the clear water.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and that it was all inclusive. The beach was also nice and clean
  • Disliked — That it sometimes took a long time to get a cup of coffe in the morning, and also thet it sometimes took a long time to get something to drink in the restaurant during dinner. some of the russians was also drunk and loud and rather unfriendly
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ancuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

We needed some sun and swimming to get us through our cold winter. We found the Hilton Plaza to have a very friendly staff and spent a great week there this december. We enjoyed the food very much and do not agree with those who say that the food here is not so good. We have never tried an all inclusive hotel before and liked it a lot. It made the whole consept of really relaxing and enjoying quiet days on the beach a breeze.

  • Liked — Quiet place with friendly staff. The Red Sea !
  • Disliked — They had some loud music in the lobby a few times.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Plodder57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
6.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#39 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
12.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
smartline COLOUR BEACH
smartline COLOUR BEACH
#82 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hurghada Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hurghada Plaza

Property: Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Address: Gabal El Hareem | Main Street, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Hurghada Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Red Sea at the Hilton Hurghada Plaza hotel, with diving and watersports on the private beach and boat trips from the marina. Work out at the gym, and tennis and squash courts or relax by the pool. Children will love the kids' pool and the kids' club. Sip drinks at sunset in Beach Restaurant at the Hilton Hurghada Plaza hotel. Then savor Oriental flavors for dinner at Bambooti Seafood Restaurant. From Hilton Rooms to Deluxe Rooms, all Hilton Hurghada Plaza hotel rooms boast balcony views of the Red Sea and offer wireless internet access. Fifteen minutes' drive from Hurghada International Airport, the Hilton Hurghada Plaza hotel has a ballroom for up to 220, internet café and wireless internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Hurghada Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hurghada Plaza Hotel Hurghada
Hurghada Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing