We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just bad.”
Review of Sun & Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun & Sea Hotel
Ranked #136 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Hotel is rundown and Staff unfriendly just like everywhere in the area. Only the housekeeping did a ok job after the expected tip. Air condition is working if you’re lucky. The worst part of all was the horrible breakfast. Even got better food at the army, and that one was real crap.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ganymedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

Hotel is great!!! Our room was VERY BIG, beds was huge and comfortable, bathroom and its showers are beautiful. Everybody was so kind and friendly, especially Hushram and beach waiter Mahmoud (best regards to both of them if they are reading this!!!). Higyen is OK, means-changing towels every day, cleaning room and beds too. We have trouble only with mosquitos, but we menage it easily. Food was delicious, we returned home with few pounds more, but we look very nice, becouse we look also ten years younger!!! Beach is small, but has open sea and beautiful sites for diving-guests from more expensive ( sunrise hotel) was visiting our beach to swim, dive and enjoy in company of Magic lampe boys ( we recomande this agency for excursions-find Sherif for details)!!!!
For that amount of money you will get the best holiday ever!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SerbianEgyptians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

When you pay as little as that, you can not expect a Marriott standard. Simple and clean, lovely, but small swimming pool with a bar, friendly staff like anywhere else in Egypt, very small beach, that's true, but if you want to go to all the trips, like snorkling and diving, visiting pyramids and the Valley of King, it's perfect. In the very town centre, almost all the rooms overlooking the see (sort of diagonally, as the hotel is made of two bulidings perpendicular to the sea). It's very quiet as well. The food was awfull, true, but because it is so cheap, you can always eat in town and still pay much less than you would have paid in a 4 or 5 stra hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

If you want to destroy your vacation and loose weight is is hotel for you!!! The food tasted terrible, almost no selection of food. All our family got sick in stomach/diarrhoea . The bed sheets/towels was old and not clean. It felt that we stayed in the worst hotel ever...

During our stay I have complained regarding food. The manager of the hotel was not at all service minded and made vacation even more worser... It felt like it was our fault.

The beach about 10meters long. Swimmig pool water cold as ice... Impossible to swim.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

If u go to Hurghada to stay in the room this hotel is not for u. If hotel means just sleep and bath this one is perfect. Ithink that this is only one hotel u can swim all night in the pool. Food is great. Only bad thing is a little beach.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miraSRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

i've just come back from my holiday. Sun and Sea hotel is very, very nice. our room was huge and we even had RTS 1 program on tv:-), the service is also good. i liked the food although it's true that the queue for fried eggs sometimes was very long, hehe... the pools and the garden are wonderful, the guys from the reception desk are so cute and kind that i felt like at home (one of them speaks Serbian great-greetings to him;). when we talk about the beach, i can say that we also enjoyed there and especially cause it's small and no crowded by tourists (yeeey!)...the center of Hurghada is so near to hotel that you don't have to take a taxi to reach all those fabulous shops and restaurants... what i wanted to say is: when you go to Egypt it is thought that you know sth. about that country, culture and people. so, if the one likes that all (in general)-he'll enjoy. and if you are not a fan of that-i hope you will become...go to Hurghada, you won't regret...SPECIAL GREETINGS TO ALL THE PEOPLE FROM SUN AND SEA HOTEL:-)))!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabrielaTheAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Food: horrible, no meat, some undefined red water cakes, long line for fried eggs. Good for dieting, though.
Rooms: looks nice, but the acoustic insulation is 0 meaning no sleep furthermore meaning no rest. My first room was just above pharmacy and near some gift shop. The music from the gift shop was so loud that I couldn't sleep so I asked for room switch. No luck in that new room also because some tourrists above me were so noisy every night.
Beach: not only it's whole 23 meters long but by one side there is some kind of broken wire fence looking very ugly.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rodiger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0 mi away
Golden Rose Hotel
Golden Rose Hotel
#153 of 222 in Hurghada
120 reviews
0 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#104 of 222 in Hurghada
182 reviews
0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Club Hotel Aqua Fun
Club Hotel Aqua Fun
#209 of 222 in Hurghada
161 reviews
0 mi away
MinaMark Beach Resort
MinaMark Beach Resort
#62 of 222 in Hurghada
1,260 reviews
0 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#77 of 222 in Hurghada
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Sea Hotel

Address: Sheraton Rd., Hurghada 84517, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#105 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $32 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun & Sea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Sun and Sea Resort and Master Management Company. Together, we took all the best from both sides - well-known hotel among tourist and experience from 5* hotels, to create Resort that will be able to answer on all Guests' requests. For us, Guests satisfaction is the most important and we will do our best to exceed it. Sun and Sea Resort is "close, yet far", being ideally located in the heart of Hurghada, on famous Old Sheraton Road, only 500 m away downtown and New marina and 10 km from International Hurghada Airport. These all features allow our Guests to browse varieties in Hurghada, but still far enough from the traffic noise. The hotel is consisted of 3 buildings in which are placed 120 rooms, including 27 suites with pool and sea view. All the rooms are equipped with balconies (back, pool and sea view), private bathroom, LED TV with satellite channels and safe deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun & Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun And Sea Hotel
Sun Sea Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing