We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beach resort in the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort
Ranked #204 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable beach resort in the city center”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We have stayed in Hurghada Seagull Beach Resort for one week in November 2010 to get warmed up by Egyptian sun, to travel around, to go out diving, etc. Overall, we were very pleased by hotel location (literally in the center of the town of Sakkala, district of Hurghada), friendly and attentive staff, services offered inside and outside the hotel, including beach and pool area, daily animation program, etc.

The rooms in "new Seagull" building are spacious and clean enough, but furniture was a bit shaddy, compensated by view out of the window and from the balcony. Keep in mind that the hotel is divided into two buildings - the old one (around 550 rooms), and new one (200 rooms); there is a restorant, several cafes and pubs in each, but larger building was usually overcrowded. Services offered are more or less the same, beach areas and pools are nicely laid out, with plenty of sunbeds and free towels for all-inclusive guests.

Location in the very city center has its positive sides - you can start shopping right behind the hotel door, or opt for a walk (be ready for constant hassling by sidewalk traders!), just don't expect total quitness at Seagull. A sheer number of guests, plus active street life with endless use of horn, plus arabic world outside ensure a constant noisy background. To get some rest, try asking for a room that overlooks inner yard (pool area) only. In any case, hotel animation team will start daily show at 10pm so quitness lovers should look for other accomodaiton options. And by the way, animation team does its job remarkably good, trying to account for all languages guests speak, sometimes succeeding, sometimes not.

Tips. Good shopping place is "Cleoparta Bazaar", just across the street - the prices are fixed there, and are a way lower than you can bargain from the traders on the street. Food & beverages are good in the hotel, so there is no need to but anything extra - especially if you are all-inclusive. For evening walks, try finding marina, mosque, or christian church nearby, as the rest of Sakkala is tightly filled with apartment buildings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    215
    136
    82
    70
See reviews for
285
193
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed in this hotel 3 nights, hotel is in very good localisation, the the city center Sakkala,
it is very popular hotel, the beach is near hotel, the hotels has 2 types ot rooms, before renovation and after renovation, at the beginning they will try to locate you in old rooms and it is really bad, but there is a list at the reception and you can ask the to change the room, I got the new one on the 2nd day and it was very nice, from that moment I had nice holidays.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

For the money we paid it was perfect, stuff was friendly, food was delicious. Near to the sea, but we were all the time at pool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allrounder1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I spent ten days in Seagull hotel in Hurghada. Hotel is divided in two separate buildings, the new and the old Seagull. Although it sounds "old", the old part is much better then the new one. As a guest you can use all the facilities in both buildings, including beaches, swimming pools, bars and restaurants. Though we arrived very late, just a few minutes before midnight, we were able to enjoy a hot supper and water/juice/beer. After late meal we received the key to the room that was quite shabby with very old and dilapidated furniture. The bathroom was the biggest minus. Broken door handle, shower and towel holder. If you are not satisfied you can easily change the room. For 15$ you can get whatever you want. Corruption flourishes all over Egypt, so Seagull is not an exception.
Beside this inconvenience, the hotel is more than OK. Food is good. Personally, I find oriental cookies too sweet but basically it's just fine. Staff is very, very polite with smiles on their faces.
Hotel has two beaches. That one behind the Old Seagull is more like lagoon. The water is just up to your knees. Personally, I prefer the beach of the New Seagull wing. It's bigger and water is cleaner. Animation team is very nice with plenty of animation both for kids and adults.
I red some reviews on TripAdvisor about Russians. Well, most of guests are from former USSR and Poland. It's no wonder because 90% of tourists in Hurghada are Russians and Polish. Personally, we didn't have any problems. Probably because most of guests are young couples or parents with toddlers because of beautiful water park. They were very nice and friendly. We played few times beach volleyball and water polo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexejbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

- the room was comfortable and had a great view
- housekeeping staff are acceptable
- live guards was excellent I hope all staff learn from them how to satisfy a guest
- Hotel location is unique
- swiming pools is great
- water sports available
- Entertainment was very good
I am a regular guest and each time I visit the hotel I find it worse
-the food had no taste at all
- Very poor quality of items on breakfast buffet excluding bakery items
-the service was a little bit aggressive in the restaurant (I think because they are dealing with cheap tourism
-unbelievable behavior from the bell captain he said to me that his department is not responsible of carrying your luggage and every guest has to pick it himself that causes that my 4 luggage stayed at the street for 20 minutes and one of my cases was totally damaged from a passing microbus
-no apologies made from any supervisor or even a bellman
-while complaining I preferred silence because I felt the bell captain will hit me
- The front office personnel did not know the basics of their jobs (dealing with system-dealing with guests-behavior of talking-solving problems - guest satisfaction means nothing)
- The elevator to my room section is always out of order
- The restroom at the lobby is always out of order

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seif_bakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We have visited this town many times over the last few years due to my daughter living opposite the hotel ,and have made the mistake of staying in several of the "All inclusive " 4*Hotels out of town which are fine ....but a nightmare Taxi ride in and out of the town center which can fray even the hardest nerves ! . The Hotel is in the most central part of the town and as other reveiws say is in 2 parts which is not a problem at all .Food is quite repetative but of a good quality and you will never starve there . We were half board but due to familly living there we ate out most nights which is so cheap it seemed silly to go "All inclusive " For familys it has a good supervised water park and the Beach which seems to have come in for some flack on these reveiws is fine and safe with attentive beach staff (bung them a £100 eygptian) and you are guarenteed a sunbed every day ! Overall the hotel is in a great central location ,The rooms are a bit tired but with the right deal you can stay there for £16 a night per person full board.One last point for british tourist this is predominatly a russian tourist hotel but dont let that put you off ,in all of our stays there we found them to be no different to any other nationals just different AND they dont hog all the sunbeds !!! My overall verdict is that you get what you pay for here ,if you want more you have to move out of town and then the price shoots up !!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank probb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This was my first time to Hurghada since 2000, & this hotel really made my holiday.
The cuisine is so good. Lots of amazing stuff can be done there to enjoy your time.
Animation team is so good, funny, & really makes you laugh, they know how to entertain guests with various tastes of fun.
The sea is very good but the beach is rocky which annoyed me a lot.
The hotel includes 2 hotels, 2 swimming pool areas & 2 beaches which makes you as if you checked in 2 hotels at the same time.
One of the best things is that the hotel is at the city's center, so you can enjoy walking through streets & not take a cab or something.
The staff are average, not bad not good, because some of them are really not friendly at all. But the service was incredible.
The room was a bit small but good, holidays isn't about spending your time in your room anyway.
But also I have to mention the Russians, you can say the hotel is made for them, the entertainment is mostly Russian, even the songs played by the DJ are Russian.

But in a nutshell, it was a super holiday...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princemoneim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#112 of 222 in Hurghada
551 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
4.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#109 of 222 in Hurghada
522 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Star Beau Rivage
Sea Star Beau Rivage
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
932 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lilly Land Beach Club Hotel
Lilly Land Beach Club Hotel
#133 of 222 in Hurghada
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort

Property: Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort
Address: Sheraton Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#99 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#119 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#132 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our deluxe four star resort is the perfect location for a wonderful holiday under the warm Egyptian sun. Only a few minutes from Hurghada airport and within walking distance to downtown Hurghada. The Sea Gull Hotel is the perfect location, where you can combine great fun and action with days full of wellness, sun and relaxation. Seagull Beach Resort 4 star deluxe situated in the heart of hurghada directly on the blue water of the red sea, 10 km from the airport. May 2015 a comprehensive renovation has been done for the following: Rooms Restaurants Bars Food court at the beach (Chinese,Oriental,Italian & Indian) Fish Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurghada Seagull Beach Hotel Hurghada
Seagull Resort
Seagull Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing