We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Ranked #43 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

y'day me and my husband just back after fantastic holidays in Hurghada (Sunrise Holidays resort). That was first time in Egypt, but we very enjoyed our holidays. all hotel staff was very friendly, food good quality,room cleaned every day.every day something special in a room(heart, birds, flowers).that is very nice.we liked entertainment shows every evening.super amazing animation team.thanks very much for good time :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    1,058
    435
    148
    102
See reviews for
664
2,166
205
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is my 8th time in Egypt and my 4th different hotel, albeit the others were in Sharm.

We booked the holiday independently booking a flight with Easy jet, which was a very good flight, and booked a superior direct sea view room on the Sunrise website. We arranged a transfer through Hurghadatransfers.com, which I must say was excellent and would highly recommend. We were met just inside the terminal by a lovely man, who already had our visa’s waiting so no queuing for us, got our baggage and straight into a waiting taxi, seamless!

On arrival at the hotel we were given a cold towel and a drink and shown to the reception. We were the only couple arriving but I must say, we felt a bother to the 3 reception staff that were there, not a smile between them, no good afternoon or welcome! They only thing they said to us was how were we going to pay. Once we had sorted out payment announced that they had upgraded us to a suite. We were then asked to follow the porter to our room, which was a bit of an effort as the lift doors kept getting stuck so we finally took the stairs. I had seen all the pictures on Trip Advisor so had a rough idea of the room we would be getting. I wasn’t quite prepared for the room we were ‘upgraded’ to. While the room, 567, was perfectly fine, a bedroom, kitchenette and lounge area, the view was of the top of the restaurant, heating vent and a building site with a bit of the sea in the distance. We told the porter that it wasn’t the room we wanted and he pointed to the phone and said to call reception which we did. We were told by reception that there were no other rooms available and could we wait until tomorrow afternoon to be moved. Knowing that the hotel was pretty quiet we told reception this and they said to stay there until a room becomes available. As we didn’t have any drinks (or anything to look at) we decided to wait in reception. We showed them the photos we had taken or our ‘direct sea view’ and were given a room within 20 minutes, and were asked to delete our photos.

The room we were finally given, room 611, was what we expected. Double bed, although it was extremely hard, and had very poor sheets (no Egyptian cotton here) it was spacious with a large balcony, lovely views across the lagoon and sea and beautiful sunrises each morning. There was a large wardrobe, fridge, safe, TV and hairdryer. The bathroom was a bit grubby and showing signs of age, and the shower was barely a trickle, make sure you take your own toiletries at the ones supplied aren’t up too much. The room was kept clean every day and had some lovely towel arts displays left for us and the aircon was great.

Breakfasts were fine, with all sorts of eggs at the egg station outside, cereals, meat and cheese, and the food at the beach bar was very nice with fresh pizza made for you. We found the meals in the restaurant at lunch and evening very hit and miss, sometimes actually very poor. It was really the same thing every night and apart from two occasions was usually luke warm. One night, the sign said chilli duck, which when put on our plate, looked very much like chicken, and tasted just like chicken. When we asked the chef if it was chicken, he said ‘no it was duck’, we said it was chicken and he laughed and asked if we enjoyed it…. It was definitely chicken!!!!!

There were four bars, open at various times of the day. Drinks weren’t the best. The wine was undrinkable, and I’m definitely not fussy with wine, the beer was very gassy, and the spirits, I only tried the vodka, was ok, if you could get a cold mixer with it

The animation guys, although while we were there, was only 4 or 5 of them, and really did try their hardest to get everyone involved and there was lots going on during the day. But can honestly say the entertainment of an evening, was the poorest I have ever seen, the singing duo being the worst!

The lagoon is lovely. There was always plenty of sunbeds, wherever you wanted to go, you were never stuck for a nice position no matter when you got there, and there wasn’t any of the usual up at 5am and towel on the sunbed and disappear for the rest of the day (apart from a couple of people who have been there before and have their favourite spots, and just used them as a base) There are lots of fish in the lagoon and it is ideal for people who want to snorkel and see them but do not want to go in the sea, the resident turtle who comes up every day is a big bonus. A really great idea is the red flag you can get from the towel centre which you can display by your beach beds which means you do not want to be disturbed, it stops the animation, spa, and excursion people from hassling you.

We tried to venture into Hurghada Marina and the town, but honestly we just got so hassled and did not really feel very comfortable (it’s not like Sharm) that we just ended up in the Retro Bar across the road, which had great service, decent drinks at reasonable prices (Egyptian Stella, which was very nice, at £1 a pint) and a friendly atmosphere. And free Wi-Fi

We found the staff to be a mixture, some were very nice and welcoming with great service (Omar at the pool bar of an evening, never had to even queue for a drink, he always just appeared with one. Sheriff at the beach bar was always happy and pleased when he guessed your drinks order right, and the young lady in the lobby bar, we never did get her name) Others, especially in the restaurant, we felt we were really rather an inconvenience and often just finishing our meal when someone came to ask us what drink we would like. We did notice people walking around asking opinions, but we never got asked. We also never received a call to the room to ask if everything was ok. When checking out, we got the same service as when we checked in, miserable staff with no customer relation skills, we were never asked if we enjoyed our stay or wished a good journey etc., not the best lasting impression to make you want to return.

Overall, if you want adults only holiday, with a great spot, you’re not fussy about going out, or the food and entertainment, and just want to relax for a week with lovely weather, then this isn’t a bad place to go. Would class this as a 3 star hotel at best. Personally, I prefer the hotels I have been to in Sharm, which for the same price were of a much better standard and service. Incidentally, I must admit, even though there are troubles in Egypt, this in no way impacted on our holiday.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are sea view, some overlook the road. Insist on the room you want. Room 611 was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just back from a great holiday at Sunrise Resort, it was our first time in Egypt, wont be our last. Initially we were disappointed that Luxor was not deemed safe to visit, but did not stop us enjoying our holiday, The staff are very welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Our room 249 was excellent, king size bed, large balcony over looking pool area. spotlessly clean.Three restraunts all serving a vast and varied amount of food. never had a problem finding something to eat.
Drinks non branded, but brought my own Dissarano and Omar and Mo from pool bar found it strange I would ask for cola with ice, asking did I want a vodka instead? ( Hello Boys xx)
Done a couple of boat trips. good value and met some lovely people ( Tina & Mike/ Les & Cheryl). xx xx
The animation team work so hard to entertain the hotel guests, they always have a smile and make such a effort to welcome you and involve you in the activities not an easy task getting people to leave their sun loungers, lol. ( Miss u all xx)
The hotel goes to great lenghs make your stay a happy one, they take a real pride in ensuring you have your individual needs catered for, I would recommend this hotel to my friends & family .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunnybunLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

stayed here 13th sept for 2 weeks room 433 overlooking the lagoon the standard of the hotel was excellent,food was great,rooms cleaned everyday the staff were all happy to please the most relaxing holiday i have had for a long time.i will be returning next year with my good lady.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall holiday was fantastic. Weather brill. Food OK. Hotel was comfortable and clean, great for snorkeling and learning to dive. Entertainment was a little poor but we went on so many trips we weren't that bothered. Will definitely go back to same hotel next year and same month. The staff couldn't do enough for you in all departments, all very friendly. The only thing I wanted to moan about was the amount of our money given away in tipping. This does seem to be expected. Overall a very nice holiday and one we will never forget.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenjonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Egypt, and we were very impressed. The hotel and room was very clean, some of the fixtures in the room could do with updating but this did not bother us as we spent little time in the room. All of the staff were very helpful and there English is pretty good, the managers were constantly walking around checking everything was ok and if we needed anything. The food was very tasty and I would definitely recommend booking in to the Mediterranean restaurant(a la carte restaurant). I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely travel back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

10 night stay 10 sept with hubby .hotel only 50% full due to Cairo issues . However none of this spilled out into Hurghada .
I will make this short and sweet
Room : excellent room no 437 double balcony overlooking lagoon
Food : very good choices at all meals
Beach bar : excellent
Activities : a lot going on but we were happy to lie and read
Entertainment: not the best but plenty of it
Weather : fantastic
We got what we wanted from our holiday and would say we got value for our money and will return in the next couple of years .
Recomend dolphin trip with Thomas cook

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pamwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
3.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#62 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#113 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Property: SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing