We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrise holiday resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Ranked #54 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our holiday was from April 12th - April 26th
This was our 4th time of visiting this hotel as soon as we walked into reception it was like meeting old friends from the bell boys to waiters Eslam at reception was there waiting for us he took us up to our room 424 lovely room with large balcony overlooking the lagoon. All the time we were there he couldn't do enough for us.
Our room boy Osama kept our room spotless on the last 2 days we were there I became ill but the hotel staff looked after me bringing me drinks food and telling my husband what tablets to buy. Abdullah the breakfast chef was great he cooked the best fried eggs and omelettes
Animation team were great fun Can can with his card tricks Susanah really sweet girl Gemma the botcha queen
In all a good holiday.
Thank you to all.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank caryl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,637)
There are newer reviews for SUNRISE Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,608 - 2,614 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Sunrise Beach Resort in Hurghada is about 7 years old and still looks modern. This Hotel is an adult’s only one, which means that it is much quieter. The Hotel is about 200 yards from the fringe of the main shops so a taxi ride down to the Marina (cost about £2.50) and a slow (1½ hours) walk back is an experience! The hotel has an excellent swimming pool and a sea water beach pool. This is unusual, it is made by having a raised artificial island, the underside of this island is supported by steel beams. If you’re lucky each morning you can see two turtles come swimming out. The snorkelling here is satisfactory but if you want to see a better variety including moray eels then you will need to go on an organised trip. We chose to use our Hotel rep for this, cost £22 each. This trip was probably one of our best snorkelling trips, the fish were excellent plus you had an underwater guide to show you the best places, the food and no-alcaholic drinks good and plentiful. The food at the two main restaurants was good. But for that special occasion go to the al-a-carte restaurant (The Mediterranean) which is free to use once per week of your stay, you will be pleased you did. One fault is the Lobby Bar, the staff insist on waiter service, but you can wait over ten minutes for your drink only for the waiter to arrive and has mixed up your order! The pool bar does not open after 6.00pm until May, although the evenings can be cool before May. There is another indoor bar which is on the ground floor; this is the Jungle Bar, where the Animation (entertainment) team put on a 45 minute show at 9.30pm every evening. We only used this area in our last few days and were annoyed with ourselves as the shows were very entertaining and fun. The Animation team were excellent with a variety of things to do during the day, but they were never “pushy”, if you didn’t want to join in then that was fine. This is a very good Hotel and one that I have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: At a minimum choose a "Garden view".
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned home from a two week holiday at the Sunrise Holiday Resort Hotel in Egypt celebrating my wife’s 60th birthday .
I must take this opportunity to thank all the staff .
First of all a big gong to the general Manager “Ayman “ who made himself personally known to all the visitors and offered his help and enthusiasm to any problem that came his way .
Second The head Chief “Ashraf” Also made himself known to all and came top in kitchen hygiene award for all Hurghada. In charge of the best display of food I have experienced in all the all inclusive holidays we have had anywhere . Ohh Thanks for the birthday Cake .
The Animation Team : What can I say They are Nuts , Friendly and there for you .What a great bunch of people. The first experience with them when we turned up on the comedy night , Considering they are catering for about 6 different languages I went being a bit negative . They soon had us in raptured of laughing and blew away the negativeness that comes when entertaining different cultures. They were the ones that made our holiday special . A big special thanks to Cancan , Gemma , Suzanna , Chiko and the rest of you Guys .
SHOWS : Every evening, the animation team put on amazing shows, and imported outside acts on some nights . They really are good.

Staff Members: All of the staff within the resort are all very friendly and cannot do enough for you.
The Room : was nice ,clean and comfy with the most brilliant view from the balcony. Several times when we came back to the room there would be the most fantastic towel sculptures on the bed “ Swans , Crocodiles ,spinx etc and was never the same each time .Ace . The daily cleaning was faultless .
Boat Trips : When we went on the boat trip provided by the hotel, We saw coral reefs white sands thousands of fish , wrecks and even seen dolphins we also went on a glass bottom boat . Fantastic this is a must .
Drinks : The beer “ Lager “ was not up to much so I drank wine instead and you can drink the local shorts all day and some did . Lol
WI Fi : This was a bit disappointing It equated to £52 for 12 days if you wanted it in the Hotel. A bit expensive considering to is free in local bars so on occasion we went out to a local bar and paid a very reasonable amount for cold bottled good quality beer and got free WiFi for an hour or so .
The location : The Hotel its self was fantastic but when you go into the local Hurgada streets It was a bit grim and found we were pestered by begging children who were sent to us by their mother who was hiding. These kids would not go away even to aggressive shouting . It was horrible . We found getting a Taxi to the Marina or Main shopping arias or restaurants was best .
The Beach and Pool: The towel/Beach man “Hamid” would sort out 6 places in a row for us with wind breakers and Parasols , What a Guy So nice and Friendly and always up for a bit of banter .
Tipping : This is a way of life in Egypt , You don’t have to tip but if you want the best holiday and be treated like a lord then it’s a must . I took some good advice of someone and exchanged some money into US dollars for tips . Paper money can be exchanged in the banks in Egypt but not cash so instead of giving a pound coin or a 10 pound Egyptian (Aprox £1) I used Dollar’s which equates to 65P English . Better all round I think .

Leaving : When we were leaving the hotel, members of the management staff and some of animation team all came to see us off that was so nice .

The Rep : The Thomas Cook Rep was Faultless and was really informative.

Thanks To All The Members Of Staff at the Sunrise Holiday Resort . You all made it Special.
With Love From, Phil and Val , X.

Arrived on April 9th 2013, Departed on June 23rd 2013.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are better if it is food time as there is only two lifts but high rooms have the best V...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank armandnuttbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Best thing about our holiday??

The entertainment team!! Mr can can, and tetio, the guys look like they are having fun too!! You made our holiday, both daytime and the evening entertainment.Did not feel you got enough back up, from the females.

Sorry girls you were rubbish!! the guys work sooo much harder than you, might help if you tried to look interested!!!!

Chef Ashraf!! Thank You for the amazing choice of food, so well presented and so clean.Your staff so helpful and first class service, whatever time we visited the resturant.

We went with Thomas Cook,flight was rubbish! five hour flight, no radio,no films, no food. Seemed like a long haul flight! We are used to flying long haul so expected a beter standard for a five hour flight!
Ripped off for the visa at Hurgada airport,but no chioce, if you want to get through,it should be $15 charged $18 guard got stroppy.

Out of the airport,all change,our Thomas Cook rep, Mohhamad, was great fun and made sure we all felt welcome.He was always ready to sort any problem out for any of the guests, quickly and polietly,always with a smile!!

Hotel first class! Our cleaner wonderful!! Thank You! please leave a tip for them!

Bar staff, great too, very attentive, give tip, well looked after for the whole week!


Would have liked some dancing earlier in the evening, had to wait until 11pm, was too tired then after a long day, evening a bit boring,

Russians often smoking in entertainment areas, but not adressed, bit worrying, as enclosed downstairs space!! management let this go, and no 'fire exits'!! We did bring this to their attention!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from the Sunrise for the fourth time. And I will be returning again soon, The Staff are all very friendly and welcoming, The hotel is spotlessly clean, and we had a fantastic view from our balcony of the lagoon and sea. The food is also fantastic prepared by head Chef Ashraf and all other chefs who were also very friendly. All the waiters were also fantastic and could not do enough for you, I would highly recommend this hotel. The Management always asked if everything was ok. The Thomas Cook rep was also very good and the service on the flight was also very good. When we left all the Management, Guest relations and Head Chef were all waving us off, We went on a trip on a glass bottom boat to see the fish which was wonderful to see. In my experience I have never been to such a fantastic hotel,

Room Tip: As for Sea View
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niahewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived at hotel about 5 in the evening was welcomed with a drink very friendly reception staff.shown our room, which I can say was clean and comfortable had a big balcony which looked out to the Beach, the next day we had a welcome meeting which All managers and team introduced themselves. In my experience Thomas cook pulled out All the stops to make sure everything is OK. Be aware when you go out the hotel my husband nearly had his phone stollen from his picket by street seller.don't book trips with rep its a rip off there say all sorts About people selling same trips we saved 67 pound by booking boat trip on the beach. We Also booked the speed buggies which broke down half way in the desert.but we did get A refund. All in all great holiday great weather 47 degrees in the shade, I will say there are better hotels out there, but you do get good value for money with sunrise,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited The Sunrise Holiday Resort at Easter which proved to be fourteen days of sunshine and the very best of Egyptian hospitality. The big difference in visiting this hotel is the way In which
staff actually treat you. Relax and enjoy what is a wonderful region of Egypt . The waters are beautiful with magical fish to view across at nearby Paradise Island.
We are returning in August to what is the most beautiful place to take a holiday.

Room Tip: Value and tranquility
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
8.2 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#38 of 222 in Hurghada
1,370 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,585 reviews
17.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
3.5 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#64 of 222 in Hurghada
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Address: Corniche Road - Sheraton Street, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $69 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing