We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Ranked #43 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and holiday”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Nothing negative at all to say about our stay at this hotel. We have stayed at the Hilton resort hotel in Hurghada about two years ago, and we feel that this hotel was better. There are some refurbishments going on at tha hotel, but they did not impact on our stay in any way. The Animation team are great and never stop during the day getting games and activites started for you to join in, and the evening the shows they put on are very good. There are a number of restaurants in the hotel, and the varied dishes means you always find something you like. The hotel has shops, a health spa and beauty salon etc. all the staff we came into contact with where very helpful and friendly. We recomend a stay here to anybody thinking of visiting Hurghada.We must also mention Aladin and his brother who run the Cleopatra bizar which is across the road from the hotel main entrance next to the pharmacy.Thay where a great help, froim getting us phone cards to call home, to bringing us items from another shop that we wanted to consider as gifts. Thus avoiding the hassel from other shop owners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    1,058
    435
    148
    102
See reviews for
664
2,166
205
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I returned from the sunrise on the 17th June. After reading all the reviews on Trip advisor my expectations were pretty high.
When we arrived at the hotel the welcome was excellent they unloaded our suit cases off the coach and took them to our room,
we also received a cold drink and flannel which was great. We then went to our room thinking we would have a large room with a large sea view balcony.
We couldn't of had any thing less. The room was small and very dated but looked and smelled very clean so this didn't bother us, un till we went into the bathroom. The toilet seat was clean but was stained yellow which i thought was really bad as it all needs is replacing with a new one which wouldn't be very expensive. The shower and all the other facilities in the bathroom were fine.
We had to single beds in our room, the one bed was so hard that i never had a decent sleep, the other one weren't to bad i suppose. The lagoon was lovely, in fact it was the only really good thing about the hotel.
I cant understand why people rave about the beach bar though, I asked a man who worked behind the bar for a menu it took about ten minutes for him to know what i was on about, after all that they didn't have one. He said all they did was a margarita pizza. The main buffet restaurant was also pretty poor. what ever was on offer for dinner would be your lunch the following day actually every day if you like beef and rice and few other things that look like slop you will love it! we chose to eat out everyday. The staff at the beach bar made us feel very uncomfortable to the point where we didn't want to get a drink from there again. Every time we went over they would stare, laugh and shout uuppa!! was not amusing. The cleaner constantly knocked on our door and for some reason would never take our rubbish so we had to leave it outside the door as there was no where else for it to go. It was weird as the cleaner was very good at cleaning the room and bathroom. The one man behind the reception always had a angry face on him and looked as if he just wanted to die. The lifts! I think there's only 2 lifts in the whole hotel which has 7 floors so you can be waiting at least 10 minutes for the lift also they are very dangerous!!!! you need to be ever so careful as they only give you a few seconds to get out or they will shut on you as they don't have a sensor. It also stopped working whilst we were in it for at least 5 minutes and the doors wouldn't open which was pretty scary. Also the lobby bar was never busy but it always took us ages to get served as there was hardly anyone there it also smelt of rotten beer and poo not all the time but most of the time was not pleasant at all. If you like to be pestered constantly to play volley ball etc or if you do like to play games in the day time and join in you will love the animation team but if your after a nice relaxing get away and just want to relax and sun bath then beware! because you wont be doing it in peace as they don't take no for an answer. Not a great holiday wont be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank member20midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Me and my fiancee went here together and I would never go back! The staff are very friendly and nice and the hotel is ok. Rooms a bit grubby but pool area ok. But the food is terrible very repitive and not very hygienic mixing old and new food in trays. Was ok for a few days but thern got very ill and had a terrible time. Our rep was terrible from tc (think about it!) and not very helpful. The other downer you couldnt relaxed we were always getting hassled to go on trips or having a massage bugger off and let us chill out. Avoid is my personal opinion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikkiandleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

On a recent trip to Hurghada, I had a great time at this hotel.

The staff were helpful, the entertainment team was great fun, the food was good and all amenities were clean.

A rep from Thomas Cook called Tariq Taha was knowledgeable and helpful and he really made the holiday worth while. He knew which trips and excursions were best to go on, knew what was worth seeing, was always available and ready to help.

Great trip, great place, great people!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayed76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We arrived at Sunrise Holidays Resort to a warm welcome which continued throughout our holiday. We were shown to our room (628) which was a bit dated but kept spotlessly clean by our cleaner Mohammed who added nice touches by creating different animals from our towels over the 2 weeks we were there. As Thomas Cook had kindly changed our flight from Glasgow to Manchester we were exhausted our first night and struggled down to dinner to be greeted by an enthusiastic Mustafa who was more than attentive to our needs. There was a huge selection of foods to choose from at every meal time and all of the waiters who attended to us – Mustafa, Mohammed and Faoud were superb. The animation team Sherif, Momo, Eddie, Fox, Jolya and Mercedes were so enthusiastic and worked tirelessly all day encouraging everyone to take part in the activities during the day and putting on great shows at night which ranged from dancing to comedy. Even when they were on their day off, they would take time to talk to guests. We spent every day down at the lagoon rather than the pool as there was always more of a breeze there – we would recommend asking for a red flag when you collect your towels as otherwise you will be pestered by people trying to sell diving, boat and safari trips and spa treatments. We generally had lunch at the beach bar where you could get freshly baked pizzas, burgers, kebabs and chips. Only 2 general complaints – don’t buy sun cream from the ground floor shop. We had run out of our factor 50 and bought a lotion which the shop assistant recommended which we later discovered (when we got badly burnt) was either fake or out of date. If you do need to buy any extra lotions, please make sure you go the pharmacy over the road. Secondly – the bar manager Monistar seemed less than happy to be at his work as we never saw him smile once and he had a very poor attitude towards his hard-working staff. Saving the best till last – Mohammed the barman at the lobby bar was amazing – he was always laughing and smiling with the guests and ensured that you always had a drink before you finished your last one. Overall, we would recommend Sunrise Holidays Resort – the staff were all excellent and would never walk past you without saying hello, including the general manager who always took time to ask if you were having a nice time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley-George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was our second visit to the Sunrise, Hurghada. Renovation work is still on going but didn't affect our holiday. We were shown the new rooms which looked excellent and we can't wait to return in the near future. We would certainly recommend this hotel as it is great value for money.
Entertainment during the day & night was good and a big thank you to Momo who entertained us during the day playing bowls. Big thank you to Sherif and staff who entertained us during the day and night. Also a big thank you to Mr Ehab who is the food & beverage manager.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandChris50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull yorkshire enland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

we stayed here in jan 2010 the weather was grea very hot the food was hit and miss the best place to eat was the snack bar at the lagoon but that was only open at lunch ,plenty of choice drink wise .staff was very friendly and the day time entertainment was good not the night time they did try though they also let children in the disco which was good as most hotels dont so you find your in bed early which isnt too bad when the children are little but not when their are teenagers we would go back to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
3.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#62 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#113 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Property: SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing