We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Ranked #41 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
perthshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved the Holiday”
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Sunrise Holiday Resort Hurghada - Brilliant
November 2007
Reviewer - C & S Stewart
Have just returned from 2weeks holiday at Sunrise Holiday Resort. We found this a great hotel. Management and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely clean room and found the food very good especially breakfast. The waiters,
bar staff ,cleaners and the sunbed boys were very friendly.
The Animation team done a good job of organising daytime events and were a very friendly bunch. Evening entertainment was quite good with some professional acts. A big thankyou to our special friends Temo, Olivia, Sa Sa, Kemed, Walah and Mohammed.
Done a day trip to Luxor but it was very tiring and wouldn't recommend it but a trip to Paradise Island was excellent.
Our only complaint was the way the Russians(and they were there in huge numbers) treated the wonderful staff by being so arrogant and rude towards them.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank mitch35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,480
    1,062
    436
    148
    102
See reviews for
667
2,169
206
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

to say this hotel is over rated is a understatment.very tired in total need of updateing.food ive been all over the world and this was by far the worst food ive had the missfortune to eat,cold ,bland
no taste to it.thebeach wind breakers have more holes in them than the near by golf course,paint peeling of all sun beds,if you snorkel more rubbish in the sea than in the bins.
people on here who say hotel is clean should try taking their sun glasses of because the hotel is not just dirty buy filthy,take a close look and everything from the floors with dity grout to the dated and dirty funiture.for what this holiday cost you would be better of going alse were.as for thomas cook dont bother complaining when you get back as they take an age to reply just to say were looking into it.
to finish NO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY BY GOING HERE CHOOSE A BETTER HOTEL

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Egypt is fast becoming the holiday destination for more British people and it's easy to see why when you get here. This is our second visit to Egypt and to this particular holiday complex. As a middle aged couple seeking rest and relaxation (and not very adventurous either till late in life!) we simply wanted a winter break in the warmth. We were not sure what to expect but the friendliness of the staff from the very beginning made our initial stay get off to the start we were looking for.
We had heard so many stories about the water and the sickness people experienced and were obviously concerned ourselves. As long as you take sensible precautions and don't drink the water out of the tap you will find everything is OK. The hotel provide fresh bottled water every day. The selection of food is broad enough to cater for most people. Being British I am not particularly adventurous when it comes to food, especially foreign food, but I had no problem finding food from what was on offer to meet even my dietary needs.
The location of the hotel is convenient for the local town and shopping for those who wish to get to sample the real Egypt yet the hotel complex itself has enough facilities itself to make it possible to enjoy a good holiday without leaving the complex. Trips out to the highlights of Egypt were readily available and one change this year from last year was that we were not pestered by people trying to get you to use their services.
The beach area and hotel were kept clean and tidy and the rooms were too. Inevitably things can go wrong but when they do we found the staff to be only too willing to listen and respond to you.
The destination is good value for money and we are already planning on coming back again next year.
The Capewells - Stoke-on-Trent, England.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Would require refurbishment in the near future
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank JCSupaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

I would just like share my experience of staying at the Sunrise Holiday Resort Hotel. I've stayed in many hotels in Egypt with different ratings and I have to say, this was by far the best hotel I've stayed in. I really couldn't fault it, the staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble and they took the time to help or advise. They were friendly and curteous and always had a smile for you. They have something called Guest Relations staff (in blue suits) that sat in reception and they acted like a go-between for the guests and the reception staff and because their English was excellent, it was okay to go to them for any enquiries you had if is wasnt the run of mill enquiry for the reception staff. The cleaners were great too and we would come back to our room to find all manner of creations made out of our towels (a swan and a flower to name but a few!). They were extremely friendly and wanted to practice their English with you too.

The food was of a good standard, I'd read other reviews about this hotel saying the food was terrible but it really wasnt - I'm a VERY fussy eater but I was spoilt for choice with the meals and there was something for everyone to enjoy. All the food was prepared daily, it was fresh, tasty and well presented - their cakes and desserts were amazing, especially their chocolate cake!!.

The hotel was spotless everywhere, not just in our room, the bathroom was a little dated but hey, it doesnt matter as long as its clean and tidy. The beach and poolside were cleaned and maintained every single day and the towel guys were always there to help you find a sunbed (for a small fee of course but well, this is Egypt!)

I would most definitely return to this hotel again and wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to others, which in fact I have done since I returned back to the UK because I was so impressed with the level of high standards.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HappyBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Sunrise Resort Hotel, Hurghada. Before going we did our homework on ensuring the hotel would be upto the level of standard we'd expect from an advertised 4-star hotel. Everything looked good. BUT sadly not.

In summary (read below if you want more detail):

- Rooms - very dated, with cracked tiles, dirty grout and not cleaned very well.
- Very tired linen, ie. stained sheets, flat pillows and even flatter towels
- If you want to stay here, ask for rooms away from the pool side of the hotel, as from 9.30pm the animation starts and believe us its noisey
- Also, don't get a room on floors 1-3 as these are walkways through the hotel to the pool, beach, shops and reception.
- Restaurant, you need to get there before 7.15pm or you'll have to queue. To be honest, the food is very poor quality, would suggest eating out in the local restaurants
- Beach - the beach is OK, but we had to put our towels out before 7am to get a bed with a wind-break (Hurghada is very windy and hot, you definitely need a 'wind-break' and 'parasol'.

Overall, this is a very tired hotel in definite need of complete furbishment. They also need to a hire a new chef.

Would not recommend staying here if you want a proper 4star hotel. Go down the road to the Marriott.

The only saving grace is the 'Easy Diver' club that's in the grounds of the hotel. Very professional and definitetely worth diving with.

Just on Hurghada itself. Hurghada is very much the Egyptian town and is growing by the day with huge amounts of buildings going up. It's main street is doubled laned traffic which is very busy and noisey, the taxi drivers honk their horns to every tourist, the shop keepers try and pull you into the shops. Very few pavements to walk on, so constantly avoiding the traffic. To us, Hurghada doesn't have a heart, just a lot of noise.

We've been to Sharm and Taba Heights and loved both and be happy to go back to either and will definitely being trying out some other quiter resorts like Marsam Alarm and El Gounda. But we won't return to Hurghada, just a bit too big and noisey for us.

Detail
On arrival we'd been booked into a 'twin room' when booked a double, so asked to be moved. As the hotel was fully booked that night they couldn't move us the next day, but did offer us one room available on the 1st floor and handed us the key to take a look. The room was dark, extremely dirty with bare wires hanging out of the wall in the room and the bathroom. We obviously refused that one, but after considerable negotiation from my husband with several diferent members of staff, we did get moved to a double room the next day.

Cleanliness - the first room - I had to wash the bath and the tiles because they were covered in hair. The toilet and sink hadn't been cleaned properly either. The second room, the bathroom was slightly cleaner, albeit there was dust/hair on the floor. The room hadn't been dusted properly either with the bedside cabinets covered.

Rooms - both rooms where on the 7th floor, the first one was set back away from the front of the building and had one small patio door, leading on to a small baloncy. The room was very dark and we had to have the lights on at 4pm in the afternoon in order to read. The 2nd room was on the front of the building with a double patio door, which was much lighter. The only problem with this was at 9.30pm the animation started and you definitely need earplugs and the door shut in order to sleep.

Restaurant - on the first night we got to the restaurant at 7.20pm and had to queue to get in. We waited for 1/2hr whilst the places where given to whoever pushed through the door first. There was no organisation/control from the staff. (If you like Russians, you'll love this place, full of them, with no idea how to queue!) Once we got a place (we couldn't understand why we had to queue because there where loads of seats of available, bad organisation). But, to be honest, it wasn't worth the wait, the food was very poor, minimal choice, bland (and this was on one of the Chef's special nights).

Lifts - there are only 2 sets of lifts to cater for the entire hotel and most days one of these was broken. Good for those of us who want to get fit (especially as we were on the 7th floor), but not good for the disabled/elderly/people with children.

Staff - overall the staff were OK, slightly disorganised, but you did get the 'where you from, let me be your friend, I will look after you' from the cleaners and bar staff. Hoping for a large tip at the end of the stay!

  • Liked — Room had great view of the sea
  • Disliked — It was dirty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TavelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Were do i start..... This hotel was lovely the staff cant do enough to help all the mosy friendlist of people. The snorkelling boat trip that we booked in the private beach with sultan was out of this world
7 hours 4 different locations and the best help and support ever from
the boat team they was great paradise island was amazing it's a must.
We did book a quad bike trip with the man in the hotel he bugged us every day till we booked up he was a pest, dont be fooled by him its about £325ep for 2 thats £32 he will start by asking for alot more so
be careful, the foods not great but theres a nice hardrock cafe just a cab ride away which was lovely cabs sooooo cheap we went for miles for 50p we was out every night. The private beach wa sout of this world with all rooms looking over the red sea, i cant praise this hotel enough it was 1st class

  • Liked — the beach, snorkelling, nightlife, people everything was great
  • Disliked — the men from the shops trying to hussle you but thats part of egypt i suppose, its everywhere...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bradford1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

having read the other reviews before we booked this holiday we were maybe expecting more from this hotel.

the hotel itself was spotless, you could not fault the cleaners, they were everywhere, the food lets the hotel down a lot.
the buffet restaurant on the 3rd floor was closed due to refurbishment which we weren't told about before arrival, this meant the other 2 buffet restaurants were packed from 7 until 8.30pm at least, it was like feeding time at the zoo. the food was the same for lunch & dinner & you could predict it would be rice, beef (which was given different names but tasted exactly the same everyday) & potatoes. you could have pasta at the pasta station but it wasnt freshly cooked as said on some reviews it was re heated. the food itself seemed well cooked but there was so little choice that after a few days you needed something different. we ended up eating at pizza hut & mcdonalds etc, something you don't expect to have to do in an all inclusive 4* hotel we paid £1700 for. many people felt the same, a lot would walk into the restaurant then walk back out when they saw what was on offer.

we did have a room service menu so when we felt desperate for freshly cooked food we rang that, only to be told they did not offer room service anymore even though it was offered when we booked the holiday

on a more positive note the lagoon & pool area were wonderful there were always beds free although the germans & russians didnt get a clean towel everyday they used the same 1 for 2 weeks & put them down at about 6.30am to get the best spots.
we were annoyed a lot by the animation team & the red tshirt men who sell trips & massages etc as they would ask you the same thing everyday & just saying no thankyou would sometimes not work, so annoying when you're trying to relax

all the bars were great, the staff could not do enough for you & most were not just tip motivated they seemed to take pride in their work, especially the cleaners. Bahaa was our cleaner & made beautiful towel sculptures & refilled our fridge with pop many more times than he should have, he took care of us.

the mediterranean restaurant was perfect we went twice to the italian night & once for the mixed grill, both wonderfully cooked & served, it only has a few tables & is a la carte so was so worth paying a little extra for to avoid the other restaurants, you get a free trip each week anyway so use it!

the snack bar at the beach was great we ate there for lunch so we didnt have to have rice & beef twice a day, u do pay extra for pizzas but only £1 for a big one & they tasted wonderful. all the drinks were included for us as we were ultra all inclusive & the cocktails were amazing, they do have imported spirits so ask for the imported ones or they'll give you the local ones (their gin tasted of aniseed). my boyfriend loved the local beer & the wines weren't too bad, the fizzy drinks were sodas though so sometimes tasted a little watered down.

the rep alexa was very helpful & we booked 2 trips 1 day to luxor by coach & 1 day to cairo by flight (£50 & £130)
the luxor trip was brilliant well worth the long day, it was very well organised we spent plenty of time at each stop & the guide was great.

the cairo trip was not worth the money, do not book through thomas cook, book your own flight then get a taxi to the places you want to visit, cheaper & more time spent where you wanted. we spent just 1 & a half hours at the cairo museum, half of this was spent waiting for some people in our group to catch up to the rest of us so the guide could move on. we were given just 15 mins of our own time in the museum, bearing in mind how massive the museum is & how much there is to see this was pathetic. we then spent nearly an hour & a half at lunch where the guide went off for a gossip with the other guides. we spent about half an hour at the pyramids & sphinx, again pathetic, just enough time to take a few photos, no time to look around properly, we were then taken to a papyrus museum for about an hour & hassled to buy the stuff at twice its worth, finally we were dumped for over an hour in a new mall instead of going to the large bazaar, which was supposed to be part of the trip as the guide decided the bazaar would be "too busy". a waste of money for what we saw, & we couldn't help but think we were given more time in places where we would be encouraged to spend money (lunch at hardrock cafe, souvenir shop, the papyrus place & the mall) rather than the places we wanted to see (cairo museum & the pyramids) if you overlook that, the museum & pyramids were amazing, a brilliant experience.

we did have a brilliant holiday apart from the few negatives & would definately visit egypt again but not to this hotel, maybe the sunrise garden beach as you can eat in the a la carte retaurants as many times as you like. if they did this at the holidays resort we would go back in an instant.

don't be put off by this just be prepared to eat out a few times or order in a mcds or pizza hut delivery, they were about half the price of over here anyway & so worth it to feel better fed (yes even mcds is better than some of the food).

ultimately we loved the holiday & didnt want to leave but thomas cook needs to sort out the food situation or regrade the hotel to reflect it.
ps
we were delayed an hour going out & 6 hours coming back (nightmare), does seem to be quite typical of monarch & thomas cook going to anywhere in egypt.
if anyone has any questions please ask i'll be happy to help

  • Liked — the staff, they were perfect
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lilypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
3.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#62 of 222 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#112 of 222 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Property: SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing