We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Sol y mar club Makadi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaz Makadina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jaz Makadina
Ranked #24 of 223 Hotels in Hurghada
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sol y mar club Makadi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this resort for 4 days as a single traveller. Resort located next to the beach which is perfect. The all inclusive sevice is also very well organised and good. The only things are the majority of the people is German and if you barely speak german it starts to be annoying that the staff talks german too. Second, makadi is not close to Hurghada so there is not much to do in the area of the hotel. If you want to stay close to the beach and pool this place is perfect. I would not reccomand this resort if you want to feel the egyptian culture.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelleKonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    140
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
393
233
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed there for a second time in three years and we were delighted with the very same level of quality and hospitality. Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception as well as restaurant and cleaning service, bartenders, etc...Every little problem was quickly solved, all inquiries were responded without any hesitation. My "lost" sunglasses were instantly found and handed over. Food is plenty, however, the breakfast is always the same. Though lunches are mostly adjusted to the gastronomic habits of majority of Russian and German clients (i.e. pasta, french fries and chicken), the gourmand will also find his/her favorite dishes. Dinners are rich and diverse, with a selection of domestic cuisine and seafood dishes. Room and beach was clean with plenty of sun beds.The sea is warm and shallow with three beautiful coral reefs in walking/swimming distance from the beach. The (expensive) diving center is directly on the beach and there is a small pier with a few boats (no stinky petrol, though!) Snorkeling is a must and the best time was 10 a.m. with clear visibility and myriads of fishes (unicornfishes, trevallies, groupers, triggerfishes, lionfishes, giant morrays, parrotfishes, stingrays, Picassofishes, anemnefishes, etc.). Overall, this hotel deserves its (egyptian) 4**** rating and we will come back again.

Room Tip: If applicable, ask for a family room (2+2). Spacey, compact and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We( my wife two kids and me) spent 10 days in this hotel. I was expecting troubles made in egypt, but in the end I was surprised by quality, cleanliness, stuff cooperation and helpfulness. I really recomend this hotel to families with children. Rooms are spartan but clean, garden is beautiful ,nice to walk and play in playground for children. Microbus takes you to big aquapark where slides for all ages can be used. Food was nothing special, but was tasty and most important none of us got digestional problems. Stuff in the restaurant was attentive and helpful.
Beach was little crowdy but clean of trash,water was warm and clean and most important some 30 meters from shore there were beautiful coral reefs with plenty to observe. I can imagine to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZitaSitko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and wife have just come back from two lovely weeks in this hotel,everything was more than we expected the staff were absolutely amazing!! Nothing was too much trouble, great location sea was brilliant great for snorkelling right on our beach. But if you do like boat trips I would advise the snorkelling/dolphin trip £35 from 6am till-4pm breakfast and lunch with a 90% chance of seeing dolphins we was lucky enough to swim with them was amazing!!!! One slight thing we was the only English in the hotel but everyone generally speaks it including the entertainment staff which will explain the day and night events in all languages involved. I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a very relaxing holiday and a hot one at that enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisneal0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked 4 nights in Sol Y Mar Club Makadi and it was great.
The hotel is in Madinat Makadi which includes a lot of other hotels, the water world aqua park and a golf course.
People at the front desk (reception) are professional, polite, and helpful, specially Maged.
The beach is amazing, sandy, clean, nice sun beds, beach bar is very near with nice drinks (special thanks to Zouhair), people working on the beach are very helpful too (thanks to Usama). You can always see fish near to the shore.
Food was very good, at the restaurant and snack areas, people working at the restaurant were very friendly (thanks to Ahmed and Abou Omar)
Room was average, but very clean.
I enjoyed the experience, and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Ahmed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

good and clean hotel but it was under my expectation as i know that it is one of the best ranked hotels in makadi "we are visit better another hotels in makadi like sunrise and fort arabisque"
the recieption staff was perfect we take our room once we arrive although it was a peak period of adha fest, service was good breakfast was excellent, lunch was avarage and dinner some days was good and some was avarage.
no observers on beach or bool if you are have children you will not be happy specially on the beach as the water is deep.
we go to makadi water world we bay 300 LE for the family it was fun and we spent a good time but lunch was horrible, drinks and ice cream was good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egyptian_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on all the reviews, I really wanted to like this place however, it was just "ok". The service was excellent but at the end, all they wanted was tips. They even tracked me down on my last day looking for money. Turned me off because of the lack of sincerity but in the meantime, they did accommodate me throughout. So here is some useful information about the resort:
1. The pools and chairs were plentiful
2. The beach is beautiful but rocky so you should bring swim shoes
3. The shopping center is in walking distance but the owners will trail after you and try to get you to there shop, typical hassles
4. it is 30 min drive to Hurghada city, nothing to see there but all the shops are in the "city"
5. The food is all buffet and it all looked and tasted the same after 3 days
6. There is alcohol but no pork products
7. The resort is great for relaxing by the pool but all the activities were in German or Russian - I felt out of place in that sense
8. The shops in the resort will rip you off so know your conversion and the price you want to pay
9. There are NO AMENITIES in the room, bring shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, toothbrush, no wash clothes, just an all-purpose cleaner
10. I was really bored after 3 days

Room Tip: Near the pool is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#2 of 28 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#4 of 28 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.2 mi away
JAZ Makadi Saraya Palms
JAZ Makadi Saraya Palms
#2 of 53 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadina

Property: Jaz Makadina
Address: Hurghada 193, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadina 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was formerly known as "Sol Y Mar Club Makadi" and following total renovation; this new five star property is now operating under the flagship of "Jaz Hotels & Resort" luxury brand. The revamping plan encompassed upgrading the hotel's rooms, public areas, outlets and a facilities in addition to adding brand new services & outlets as well. It's also worth mentioning that both "Sol Y Mar" & "Jaz" brands are owned and managed by "Jaz Hotels, Resort & Cruises". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Jaz Makadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Club Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hurghada
Sol y Mar Hotel Makadi
Hurghada Makadi Resort
Sol y Mar Makadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing