We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“possibly over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #2 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

After all the 5* comments , I feel the odd one out expressing slightly less enthusiasm. We to had the wind most days , so it does seem prevalent , despite management comments to the contrary. Yes the staff are great , and the beach is peaceful...but..
a) The breakfast buffet is fine , but nothing “wow” given it is the “most expensive hotel in Hurghada” ... much of the fruit was unripe, rock-hard rolls no-one ever ate... Some days they didnt even have bananas, plastic yougurt pots..
b) Breakfast is either in the rather chilly (a/c) and somewhat spartan main restaurant, or the “courtyard” which is pleasant but in slightly chilly shade early in the morning.It has no sea views, and feels quite crowded once a few tables are occupied , especially if kids are around. Its such a shame they dont have any sea view dining :both the pool area tables and covered pergola (fantastic views) are not open for breakfast. (why?).
It was very low occupancy during our stay : if they ever fill up , I think it could get quite crowded in this smallish area.

c) As others say , it is expensive : cocktails £10,wine £10/glass, minibar coke £3, so do stock up in town (or better , buy at arrivals duty free).
d) At lunch , the menu is limited : either full main course or nuts &crisps. They don't offer the mezze plates that are available on room-service only.

Of course the suites are spacious and private and we ended up in out courtyard most days, but that can get a bit claustrophobic, and you dont get the sea views. There are loungers round the pool, but if kids are playing...and no shade..

Overall it seems slightly dated. the luxury hotel world has moved on, and they have in my opinion been left behind a little.

We also took a taxi into town. The only “tourist” destination is the marina , very pleasant, bars & cafes, primarily for locals, but its a tedious 35 minute drive: speed bumps and road blocks). I guess all the other resort hotels are “all-inclusive” (and there are a LOT of them!), so there is absolutely no tourist “scene” and there is no buzzy corniche, or pedestrian area, and thus no evening passagiata (compared to say Sharm) . Downtown is busy at night, but only with local residents.
Would I go again: ?no.

Room Tip: they suites near the sea are pleasant , and you can at least sit out on the porch with an early morn...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for your valuable comments.

The months of February and March are windy at times due to the change over from winter to summer and they are called the "Khamasin" winds. We follow the weather closely on the internet and advise our guests of the same. The wind factor naturally being out of our control, we use our spectacular open air courtyard for dining for breakfast and dinner. The main restaurant is also available at these times and guests have a choice of where to dine. We move to an outdoor setting around the pool in the summer months only due to better temperatures and less wind. Our lunch restaurant at all times is in an outdoor setting with sea views due to favourable conditions at that time of the day year round.

We also have daily changing menus at lunch and at dinner so our guests do not see the same items on the menu. The lunch menu features a selection of starters, soups, salads, pasta dishes, pizzas and main courses and changes each day and is on a 3 day cycle. Our dinner menu changes each day on a 8 day cycle. In addition, we have a Middle Eastern menu for dinner and an Indian menu for dinner. We feel this offers a large variety for our guests.

Our menus are priced competitively and are far less expensive that the competitive hotels of similar standard in Hurghada and Sharm El Sheikh. You may be aware that all international spirits attract large customs duties and leave us no option of pricing them the way they do. The Egyptian wines are very reasonably priced and popular with our guests.

Due to the wind at certain times of the year, the suites are cleverly designed with walled courtyards behind to protect guests from the wind while they enjoy the sunshine. Our base category suite is large at 85 sq meters in size.

Thank you for your feedback on the breakfast buffet. We offer seasonal fruits and yoghurt along with the rest of the fare. We offer an extensive a la carte selection for breakfast as our philosophy is that food fresh out of the kitchen is best. We therefore keep the food items on the cold buffet to the minimum to ensure that we have the freshest produce for our guests.

You are right in commenting that Hurghada has not much to offer. 98% of our guests do not venture out of the resort.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and we enjoyed serving you during your stay with us.

We sincerely hope you continue to patronise Oberoi Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We've just returned from two weeks at this wonderful hotel. It exceeded all our expectations. The Oberoi gave us the most tranquil, relaxed and happy holiday. Book it. Go there. You'll love it.

Why? The 50+ acres of glorious green gardens, palm-tree fringed, lead down to a stunning private beach, its own coral reefs just paddling distance out. Our suite was large, very comfortable and with its own private dining terrace and sun-trap with loungers. The cuisine was outstanding; the best we've ever experienced in a resort hotel. The staff were, without exception, helpful, smiling, professional and friendly. We liked the Spa, massages and the yoga and pilates classes. We loved the tranquility and peace of the place, the extra touches like guava and hibiscus foam drinks by the pool, water melon lollypops in the heat of the day and bougainvillea petals on the kingsize bed.

This is a very, very special hotel. Beautiful people. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unfinishedjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi for your two weeks of relaxing vacation. The team enjoyed having you amongst us. We thank you for your kind comments on our product and services on offer and the service provided to you by the team of enthusiastic employees. We look forward to your next stay in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a wonderful hotel, not only is the resort absolutely stunning, but the staff where just fabulous.
Absolute luxury and 5 star all the way.
I was suffering with a neck problem when I arrived at the Oberoi and decided to look into booking a series of massages to try to sort the problem out, after my first 3 treatments I started to feel a huge improvement and at the end of the 7th treatment I felt a 100% improvement. Definitely treat yourself to some amazing treatments.
We eat 3 nights in the Indian restaurant and the food was just amazing.
Please please treat your self to a holiday at the oberoi Shal Hasheesh.

Room Tip: All the suites are great but if can afford the extra for a beach front room, treat yourself.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JERYLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
The team at the spa in particular is delighted that you are feeling better after your week long treatment. Thank you for your lovely comments on our Indian food in particular. The beach front suites are amongst our most popular accommodation units. We thank you for taking the time to review our resort and eagerly await your return visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Please be warned that if you visit this hotel it is highly likely that you will return!!! The setting and the staff make it the best hotel in Egypt. It is tranquil. It is picturesque. It is luxurious. All staff from the General Manager, to the Spa staff, to the restaurant staff are so courteous and attentive without being over the top. The balance is spot on. Food is great. Suites are so comfortable. My wife and I are hooked and going back next year. Try it you the experience is amazing. If you want to chill and relax go to this place. It also has a dive centre we expert PADI qualified instructors. The Red Sea has 20% of the worlds species of fish and you can see many here. The hotel also has a number of drivers. Book these rather then local taxis for peace of mind. The cost is slightly more but to travel in comfort and safety it is worth a few pounds more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your "Warning". We are delighted that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us and intend to return in the near future. We thank you for your comments on the resort, the product and services on offer. The team at the resort is the heart and soul of the operation. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

It is the staff that make the Oberoi a class apart from other five star hotels, always attentive without being intrusive and an attitude that nothing is a problem. This experience started at the airport where the hotel representative was there to meet us, he took care of the visa (You have to pay £25 per couple for a visa in Hurghada) and we did not have to queue at all.
There is plenty of space and you never feel crowded on the resort, complimentary drinks (Fruit juices), cold towels and even suntan lotion are brought to you where you sunbathe.
Facilities are very good and the diving/snorkelling at the reef from the hotel jetty is not to be missed, make sure you have at least a go at snorkelling even if you have never tried it before!
The rooms are very well appointed and the quirky towel animals gave us great amusement!
Food: Is very good, both at breakfast and in the restaurants. We had room service a number of times which was also first class.
The hotel has a daily activity, I will not spoil the surprises but well worth a go at a few.....
Can be very breezy so take something warm, particularly in the evening.
We had a fantastic deal staying here at a reduced rate following the security issues elsewhere in Egypt (Nothing to worry about at all in my opinion in this part of Egypt) so I feel slightly guilty in giving you one tip... The drink and mini bar items are expensive, nothing more than what you may pay at other resorts in the region but still.. not cheap. I would bring at least some of your favoured tipple with you and take a trip (The hotel provide a car at a very good rate, which will wait for you) to the mall, go to the supermarket and stock up on your mixers, nuts etc. This will save you a small fortune... Sound like a complete Scrooge I know but I do like a good deal! : )
Not sure if they do this for every guest leaving, but the staff even including the Manager lined up and waved us off outside the front of the hotel! We felt like we were leaving 'Fantasy Island' (For those of you old enough to remember that TV show..) 'Its the plane boss...the plane'... and so it was back to Gatwick and the green pastures and grey clouds.. ; )

Room Tip: Sea views are worth it..
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. I have passed on your wonderful comments to the team and we thank you for choosing The Oberoi as your home for your vacation. We are pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. We eagerly await your next visit. Thank you for assuring all our readers that the Red Sea is safe to travel to.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It’s not only difficult to pin point what exactly made our stay at the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh the pinnacle of luxury, it's even hard to prioritise them. While the private swimming-pool allows almost a uniquely special and private sun-bathing and swimming experience, the service throughout every aspect of the hotel is the best I've ever experienced. While the chefs responsible for our Indian feast made what was the best Indian meal I have ever had, the team who consistently created an amazing breakfast for us each day deserve our gratitude. Even as the design and layout of the suite is excellent, the shared spaces of the pool, the courtyard restaurant and spa made the stay very special. The entire team, from Shady, to Mahmoud our driver for our only trip to Hurghada, to Mahmoud who sometimes looked after us at dinner time, to Hamis the excellent dive instructor at the dive centre, to the team at the spa and to frankly all of the team, they have exactly the right balance between great service and leaving us our privacy.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a private pool, take the initial tour when you arrive and try the Indian cuisine
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bialzibozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our most popular accommodation with the suite with pool. Thank you for your lovely comments on the resort and the Indian food in particular. I have passed on your feedback to Shady, Mahmoud, Khamis and the rest of the team that eagerly awaits your next stay. Thank you for your review of our resort.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We decided to return to Egypt for a short romantic break and chose The Oberoi because it was an all suite hotel. We were not disappointed. The food, beachfront suite and hotel facilities were excellent. Although there are no shops or restaurants near, the hotel will book a local taxi (£12 for the round trip) or a limousine to downtown Hurghada/the marina. We did venture out a couple of times and ate once at one of the restaurants at the marina. The food was reasonable & cheaper but not anywhere near the fine dining standard that is offered at The Oberoi, where on average we paid £20 per head for a main course. The food was delicious and there was an excellent variety of dishes. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a couple of minor maintenance problems in the room but these were fixed immediately. This hotel can't do enough for you. On one evening we had a 'romantic dinner' included in our deal and were informed by the restaurant manager that this had to be taken in the main restaurant. I was disappointed by this and when I commented that I had seen other couples dining alone outside he said there was an extra charge. Shortly afterward he said he would arrange for us to dine outside with the compliments of the hotel. This was very much appreciated and the following evening we had a lovely candlelit dinner under the full moon. It is these kind of extra touches that make this hotel stand out. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay a very pleasant one. If you're going to Egypt and want peace and tranquility, fine dining in luxury surroundings, then The Oberoi should be at the top of your list.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank deano02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Thank you for choosing The Oberoi for your return visit to Egypt. The team and I are delighted that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. We are pleased that in particular you enjoyed the food and service and the fact that the team went beyond their call of duty to ensure you had a comfortable stay. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.7 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
6.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#46 of 222 in Hurghada
2,308 reviews
6.5 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 222 in Hurghada
6,297 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
3.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Address: | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 117, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $236 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing