We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit this year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #1 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second visit this year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a second visit of the year having visited in March. We have never returned to the same holiday destination before, this time we took our children as a special treat as they are now at/going to university. The Oberoi is a top top class hotel and the dive school and house reef is nothing short of spectacular. I would compare it in the same class as the FourSeasons in the Maldives where we stayed the previous year. The sea is so clean and pure the seagrass grows here which attracts the seahorses. I have dived on the house reef 20 times now without getting bored because of the wonderful marine life. There are turtles, rays, lionfish and thousands of fish which populate the reef.
There were not very many guests because of the political situation but the quality of the service and everything else was unaffected. The kids learned to dive during the holiday which they loved and the also the quality of the hotel (they had never stayed at such a top quality hotel before) The food is superb, in particular the spicing of the dishes which was so well balanced. The food covers a whole range of different cuisines from European, North African Indian and Asian and never anything other than delicious. Things to be aware of - alcohol is expensive with foreign wines starting at $80 region because of the import taxes, the local wine is half this price and is perfectly acceptable. The portion size of the food was on the large size for us and we had to get used to not having clean plates! The internet speed was at the slow end of acceptable. As you can tell from these tiny minor points I'm nitpicking about this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a twin room for the children, as the rooms have only one king size bed the hotel provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrich_Wolflord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyal patronage of our resort. We were thrilled to see you back again this year. We are particularly pleased that you and the family enjoyed the diving experience that we offer. The internet speed is a function of the line coming into the hotel. As such, we have excellent infrastructure for high speed internet within the hotel. We hope to have faster speeds in a months time. We look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    91
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
298
751
33
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Impeccable service, friendly, attentive staff and attention to detail would be a fair summary of our experience at this hotel. My wife and I arrived at the Oberoi on 13th September for a one week stay with great memories of a previous visit and our expectations have, if anything, been exceeded. We would make particular mention of the restaurant staff as the food is consistently excellent.

Our wedding anniversary fell during our stay and we were provided with a lovely cake and also some effort was put into decorating our suite in a lovely, romantic way to help us mark the occasion.

Is it expensive? Yes. Is it the best hotel we have been to in Egypt? Yes (by a mile). Not our first visit and surely won't be our last.

Only slight niggle would be that the restaurant dress code is 'elegant attire' but they seem happy for gentlemen to turn up for dinner in shorts which we would prefer not to see in a hotel of this quality.

Almost forgot the awesome spa which also deserves a mention - great massages!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyal patronage of our resort and for visiting us yet again. We are thrilled that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on the restaurant food and service and the spa in particular. We thank you for your feedback on the dress code in the restaurants and we would like to reiterate to all our readers that we recommend elegant casual attire for dinner in the evenings and no shorts and slippers for gentlemen. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Fates were surely smiling on me when I was looking for a short notice holiday after a difficult year and found the Unforgettable Experience offer on Secret Escapes. Choosing it was one of the best decisions I've ever made. Such a special time; the beautiful accommodation right on the beach, the setting, the food - each meal delicious and beautifully presented. My delight at finding an alligator in the doorway, then having a monkey created before my eyes, the sunsets and sunrise - all this was very special. Above all though is the people. I hesitate to single anyone out as all are great but need to mention a few. Saleh on the beach whose sweet smile I looked forward to each day, more than the water, cold flannels, juice and iced fruit he provided. The iced hibiscus was my favourite. Faten, who I enjoyed meeting at dinner each evening and occasionally lunchtime, when there was room after the plentiful breakfast. I recommend trying the Egyptian breakfast - scrummy! And last but not least, lovely Mohamed who took me snorkelling, from the boat to Giftun Island and from the beach. That was truly special. I was very sad to leave but even then we were given a free late checkout which meant we could make the most of the last day. My first day back at work today was awful but it will provide me with the means to repeat this wonderful experience. I could go on and on as I keep thinking of other things I'd like to mention ... But I hope I've given you the general idea. :)

Room Tip: Having a suite on the beach made it all the more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh. We are thrilled that you had many memorable moments at our resort during your recent stay with us. I have passed on your kind comments to the entire team. We eagerly await your next visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our trip did not start as planned due to the agent overbooking rooms, which meant we did not get our upgrade as promised. As always we try not to set expectations, but this did dent our confidence in what we were told would be a 5 star experience.

How wrong we were.

Our experience of the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh was amazing. Not so much by the resort itself, but by the overwhelming warmth of the management and staff at the hotel. They helped to make this a truly unique experience.

The Garden Suite where we initially stayed was lovely, clean and spacious. My wife had initial concerns about the food but these were quickly dispelled after an excellent breakfast on the fist morning of our stay.

The experience just kept on getting better, from a personal hello by the hotel manager upon our arrival to private dining experiences and even a private cooking lesson (because we loved one of the dishes so much) the staff went well above and beyond our expectations.

A very special thank you to Sherif, Dhiren and Ahmed, you made our trip truly memorable, my wife will never forget the private dinner you organised on the jetty.

If you are considering a trip to the Red Sea, make it the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, you will not be disappointed.

To the staff at the Sahl Hasheesh, thank you for making this a unique and special holiday. You all have a special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinayP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. Thank you for your review and your lovely comments on our product, services and team in particular. People are the pillars of our hotels – these dedicated ladies and gentlemen ensure that each interaction with the guest is a lovely moment of truth. I have shared your feedback with everyone at the hotel – your praise means so much to our people. We look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the min, we arrived, the staff could not do enough for us. No words , to find, to say that the service, was impeccable ,is to understate the fact.Again, it certainly ranks as one of the best hotels we stayed in during the last 4 years .
This was our twelfth stay at the Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh.......and this time, my husband, Frank, want to thank especially, Mr Dhiren Pereira, (general manager) , that i consider already as one of our closed friend, each time again, and Mr. Ashish,( the master chef,) and Mohamed Salah,( wonderful and most kind poolboy, we ever met), for the evening tennis,(Better then Wimbledon), and dont forget the after tennis ......!!!!!!
.Also, thanks to the entire restaurant staff, to make each dinner , a wonderful mix of African, French, with a toutch of Indian, hospitality and culture mix ,. The staff was truly attentioned,Thanks Mr Essam, for the memorable service.
Dont forget to mention, that the rooms was spotlessly clean and immaculate, nicely bathrobes and slippers were provided, Wi-Fi is available everywhere for fee, and to be eco-friendly, L'occitane products.Also The Spa,,The Gym., is one of the best , to feel the stress dissipates.
Everything about this resort was pure luxury.
The service and the professionalism of the Oberoi , reflected this at every Level.From the restaurant and the poolside staff fulfilling every small request, to the front desk on to management, every staff acknowleged the guest with a big smile and eye contacts as if impeccable service for the guest is priority.
Throughout the entire staff, we felt welcome here and personally tented to.
Bravo to the Manager.
Real value for money with such excellent service. We highly recommended it.
Again, it was 2 weeks of Paradise!
See already forward to our next stays.............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
12 stays and still counting. We thank you for your loyal patronage of our resort. It is always a pleasure each time to welcome you back to our resort. It is something that the entire team looks forward to each time you come back to your second home. We are delighted that we exceed your expectations each time. We eagerly await your next stay with us in October 2013. Thank you for naming numerous personnel who provide you with delight on each of your stays. We look forward to a long and continued relationship with The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is my second time in Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh resort, i was upgraded to Royal Suite as a surprise from Oberoi group, it was a wonderful experience in both times I was in this lovely place, everything is just perfect.
I have never seen such hospitality and quality of service, all the staff are well trained to provide excellent service, everybody is smilling and willing to support even if you request a non-standard service...

Thanks a lot for all Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh team, you are perfect!

Room Tip: Grand and Royal suites have private pools, this is a wonderful experience specially for the muslims...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhefny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for returning to our resort for your holidays for the second time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Royal Suite with private pool. Thank you for your kind comments on our product, services and the team. We look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The Royal Suits offer a good spacious area and the pool size was great unlike many other hotels which offers a private in room pool this pool is big and also the location of it in hurgada is amazing not only for honeymooners but also for a family escape with the fact that you are not so far away from the downtown if u have a car with you also it is very near to senzo Mall, as for the food we didn't like it that much but still its a good experience that you will try to repeat it over and over

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi for your recent family getaway. We are pleased that you chose our best accommodation in the Royal Suite with its own private pool. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall. It is of concern to us that you did not enjoy our food offerings and I will write to you to ascertain the exact reasons for the same. We look forward to your next stay and look forward to exceeding your expectations with our food on offer.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.7 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 229 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,947 reviews
6.5 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#26 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Property: The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Address: | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 117, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing