We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Divine!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #1 of 208 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Divine!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent my christmas this year with my mum at the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh and think I might have started a new family tradition! Who needs stuffy or too cold Uk houses, hours in the kitchen cooking christmas lunch and overloaded christmas trees? lets all head to the pool or the beach and relax instead! The resort is well laid out, spacious and airy but still managing to be warm and friendly, it's not easy to have both and the staff manage to get it just right! The suites are beautiful, perfectly laid out with a lovely bathroom and are really spacious! The food is delicious! Some of the menu items were a wee bit gourmet for my mums rather bland pallate but we only had to ask for a variation to suit her needs and it was never an issue, we really did feel spoilt! Oh yes, if you like going to the spa whilst on holiday then the spa here, although small really is world class!
Thanks Again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank heidisrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for the festive season holidays. We sincerely look forward to having you back with us for Christmas each year. Thank you for your lovely comments on the services on offer and especially the spa. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance whatsoever for your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: Dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    74
    28
    17
    8
See reviews for
241
658
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Myself and my two children stayed there last week, and it is one of the best vacations we have had. We have travelled to many places in and outside of Egypt and this is by far a great place to go to. If you love to relax and stay in quiet places, this is definitely the place to visit.... a bit pricey but worth every dime.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank raniaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed the serene atmosphere of the resort and relaxed during your stay with us. We look forward to many more visits and please do not hesitate to contact us directly when you plan your next break.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: Dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at this fabulous hotel, ideally positioned right on the Red Sea on so much land you are never going to feel a small cog in a big wheel - in fact the very opposite.

The setting of the hotel is wonderful and the accommodation is first class all the way. Add to this an amazing (but not over whelming) service from all the staff - nothing is too much trouble - and you have the perfect recipe for a brilliant holiday.

My husband and I had had a very busy year in 2012 and not managed to get away at all. This week in Hurghada has given just us the lift we needed to come home and get back to work - but with a smile on our faces and the energy to do a good job!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyCNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
The team and I are pleased that we could give you the perfect break that you needed after a hectic 2012. Thank you for your review of our resort. We are happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. We look forward to many more visits.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: Dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would rate this hotel as being one of the best I have ever stayed in. The suite was large, airy and beautifully set out. Little luxuries like pillows you melted into, sunken bath and the most attentive staff make you feel spoilt and special. There is no need to leave the hotel as everything was there. The restaurant was excellent and the pool large enough to burn off the calories. Gouda made the best cocktails and Saleh at the poolside was a fountain of information and nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: I thought the suites were better value than the Presidential suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaycee829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. Thank you for the mentions of Gouda and Saleh who along with the other team members strive to ensure all our guests who pass through our doors have comfortable stays. We look forward to you returning to our resort in the very near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampieux, france
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have now stayed here twice. Staff and facilities are great. The Indian restaurant is a must.
The reef is accesable from the jetty, but I suggest you use a lifejacket as water can be choppy. Lots of nice fish on view. We are not into sightseeing, so this is an ideal rest and relax resort for us. We paln to return in a year or so. We visited in Feb 2010 last time (not 2012)

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with plunge pool are great but for the sun you need the beach or main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh. We now have over 25% of our guests who return to stay with us. Zaafran, our Indian specialty restaurant is certainly a highlight of the resort and a must try for all our guests. We look forward to your third visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a awesome property in a awesome location. This is the only real five star resort in the entire Hurgadha area. All the other resorts are at best 3 stars. The hotel is all suites and individual cottages. Most with their private pools and all have the most beautiful view of the Red Sea. They have a 1km long beach which is almost entirely a coral reef. The reef is one of the best I have ever seen and great for snorkelling and diving. The hotel has a great dive center and the guys there are very experienced and helpful. The food at the hotel is excellent and they offer a great selection of sea food and other world flavours. The best part is that privacy the property offers. The staff is always around to help but now in your face. No one will disturb you and everyone will work their best to ensure you have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for detailing your experience at our resort. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all services on offer exceeded your expectations. We sincerely look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great choice for those who want the luxury and the benefits of being on the Red Sea without the crowds and annoyances of the resorts such as Sharm el-Sheikh.

The hotel is spread out along a large stretch of beach and this affords ample space between sun-loungers and between rooms - creating a feeling of privacy.

Snorkeling and diving are obviously very popular. There is a house reef which can be accessed directly of the jetty and has a wide array of wildlife. Two things to note, the jetty is home to a family of unaggressive lionfish (they gave me quite the surprise) and during the full moon the sea is densely populated with harmless jellyfish (these can be bothersome to some).

All suites decorated in a modern style with hints of arabesque and are quite lovely.

This is a great resort to relax for a few a few days.

Room Tip: One close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JordanNYC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us over the resorts in Sharm el Sheikh. The peace and tranquility of the resort and the 850 meter long beach are two of the most significant factors that makes us more enjoyable than Sharm. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the snorkelling. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
8.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 27 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
6.9 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Property: The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Address: | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 117, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing