We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done Marriott”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our experience of this resort was totally unplanned as I was put ashore from a cruise ship in Safaga & taken to hospital in Hurghada for a cardiac procedure. This left my wife somewhat isolated but fortunately she was directed to the Marriott by the insurance company. She could not have been treated more considerately or sympathetically.I was able to witness this for myself when I joined my wife there on discharge from hospital.The facilities are fine but what distinguishes the
hotel is the excellent attitude of the staff. A great credit to the Marriott brand. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guest ,
Thank you for choosing the Marriott , and thank you for the time your good self dedicated to post these nice comments on our Resorts . We love to serve . Please come back soon . Kindly don’t hesitate to contact us to check offers for repetitive guests for your next vacation planning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    528
    154
    49
    31
See reviews for
601
573
158
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
380 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

In my opinion the Marriott Hurghada Resort is a good hotel – it is graded five stars by the official Egyptian system. Although I only stayed there one night, I was impressed with the quality of the hotel and the attitude of the staff. Check-in was quick and efficient and the room we were allocated was on the second floor overlooking the pool and was more than large enough for two divers with lots of luggage. There were two standard size double beds (the most comfortable I have slept in for many a night), a mini-bar (unused by us but prices not extortionate but remember the 25% extra in taxes on top of the prices shown), a large wide screen TV with some English channels and a big bathroom with a hair dryer and numerous soft fluffy towels which were good dryers (unlike others I have encountered elsewhere in Egypt). The balcony was large with two chairs. The room air conditioning managed well – the outside temperature was a cool 35C. We were on the full board option and therefore ate all of our meals there. Dinner and Breakfast were in the Shorouk Restaurant (really a buffet place) and the options available were well presented and very tasty. There was not really a vegetarian option for the main course and so I had to create something from the buffet by repeating a few of the first course options and adding a salad. Cuisine is European and Egyptian. Staff were very attentive but not over-so. One vegan friend managed to find enough to satisfy him. Breakfast options included freshly made omelettes or fried eggs and waffles plus an alarming choice of pastries. Orange juice tasted of orange but I doubt that it was fresh. We ate lunch at the pool side café (Surf & Turf Pool Restaurant and Bar) and that was reasonable although no vegetarian option was available on the full board menu and so I ate off a different menu. The swimming pool is ideal for children and there is a “Kids Club” which seemed to be keeping a number of children well occupied. There is a sandy “sea side” area which is kept reasonably clean and tidy plus a harbour water swimming pool which looked clean. Over-all the hotel is kept to a good standard. The hotel is some distance from the main town and you would have to use a taxi to get there (prices very negotiable) and much of the area in the general vicinity of the hotel is still a building site (no work taking place) and this did not affect us at all.

I was particularly impressed when, as I was taking a picture of the hotel, a member of staff realised he was walking into the picture and stopped still without being asked until I had taken it. I noticed that in the evening staff were fumigating for mosquitoes although we saw none and so I assume their work was sufficient to solve the problem. The hotel has an unofficial book exchange scheme and dotted around the hotel are unlocked cabinets where you can exchange one book for another – most of the books seemed to be in German or Scandinavian languages. The hotel has its own dive school on-site and it seemed to offer the usual range of beginners options plus trips on numerous day boats out to the crowded reefs in the area (we counted 70 day boats heading out at around 9 am as we came back into port on our liveaboard).

The hotel is reasonably disability friendly but I suspect that someone in a wheelchair might have difficulty in getting to the sandy beach area and therefore the island bars beyond it – there were ramps elsewhere around the hotel and ground floor rooms had their own ramps out onto the poolside. Happy hour started at 5 pm by the beach and 7 pm in the hotel with drinks 2 for 1 or half price.

Check-out was easy and fast and the bill could be paid in numerous currencies although the Egyptian rate was the best, the currency exchange rates looking a bit in their favour.

The one downside of the hotel was that internet charges were extortionate as is usual for Egypt (£4 for 30 mins, £16 per day) - I did not know that free time might be given if one purchased something in the internet cafe as reported by another reviewer.

If I wanted a “bake in the sun” holiday on full board (drinks extra) then this would be a good choice and I would not have any hesitations about taking children of any age.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool, others and internal courtyard - be sure to ask for your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest ,
Thank you for choosing the Marriott , and thank you for the time your good self dedicated to post these nice comments on our Resorts . We love to serve . Please come back soon . Kindly don’t hesitate to contact us to check offers for repetitive guests for your next vacation planning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel could be very good but it is let down by issues with maintenance and service.

The public areas of the hotel are nice. Great private beach and nice pool. Reception area and restaurants are also fine.

We stayed in a standard room overlooking the pool area. The room layout was fine but it was in need of a renovation. Furniture and fixings showed signs of wear and age. The air conditioning was effective and reasonably quiet.

We were surprised to find out that internet is not included in the room rate but what surprised us even more was the extortionate rate they wanted for it.

Food in the restaurants was average. Not great but not bad either. However, you need to note that they add 10% tax and 12% service charge on all prices shown in the menus so you will end up paying 22% more than the listed price. This is quite significant difference.

The worst aspect is the service though. It seems nothing gets done in an efficient and timely fashion. Having a quick lunch in the pool bar can end up taking hours. It is almost comical how you ask for something and the staff member just disappears. You then wait a while for something to happen and ask another one with the same result.

All in all it wasn't terrible but it also wasn't the kind of experience you expect from a 5 star hotel. There are a lot of resorts in Hurghada in the same price range as the Marriott and next time I would look for something else.

Room Tip: We heard the better rooms/suites are nice so it may be worth to spend the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Marriott, and thank you for the time your good self dedicated to post these nice comments on our Resorts. All your comments are taken with attention. We love to serve, and we will see that you’ll experience enhancement on your next trip. Kindly don’t hesitate to contact us to check offers for repetitive guests for your next vacation planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in January 2012. Was a little cool but expected for that time of year. We loved our stay. Are room was very comfortable. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast rate, the food was excellent and so much variety. The staff went out of there way to be helpful. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverleyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest ,
Thank you for choosing the Marriott , and thank you for the time your good self dedicated to post these nice comments on our Resorts . We love to serve . Please come back soon . Kindly don’t hesitate to contact us to check offers for repetitive guests for your next vacation planning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to Egypt I decided to try Hurgada for a change (I usually go to Sharm El Sheikh). I found the location to be disappointing as there seemed to be very little to see or do. Having got used to the ocean views at Sharm I was really annoyed to find most hotels stretched along a single road which was several hundred yards back from the coast!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReindeerBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear ReindeerBond,
Many thanks for posting your review regarding your recent holiday with us. Although we are disappointed that you did not have a great experience, we are grateful for your feedback, no matter how candid. Hurghada town is well known as a bustling resort with a variety of activities including diving, water sports, shopping and lively nightlife. It seems that you did not take the opportunity to discover what this resort has to offer and would urge you to visit us again where we will be more than happy to advise you with regards to Hurghada activities. Please don’t hesitate to contact me on lamia.sherif@marriott.com and I will be delighted to advise you further. Wishing you all the best for the upcoming festive season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, rooms are excellent nice beach and swimming pool and away from noise. food quality is not a high 5 star hotel but not perfect. Location is good as it is in the center and you can reach any place easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamer Maged G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tamer Maged,
Warm hello from sunny Hurghada! Many thanks for your recent review! We were delighted to read that you had a great holiday with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very helpful hotel - allowed us a late check out - very useful. The children though it fab ( though would like the slides from sinbad). The sea is very nice and swimmable and warm in October.
Pros: Food was very nice - with plenty of interesting egyptian twists, rooms were large, clean, bed and sheets of high quality.

Cons: Bathrooms starting to look a little tired, iritating man near the pool trying to get you to do aquarobics, no free wifi ( but the internet cafe people hand out 2 hr passes with abandon/ when you buy something - works by the pool). The travel agent near the front got a bit annoying saying "taxi- taxi" - but you are in Egypt where this is a national sport!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#44 of 222 in Hurghada
2,191 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#22 of 222 in Hurghada
3,420 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#69 of 222 in Hurghada
1,046 reviews
2.6 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Address: El Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and directly on the beach, the Hurghada Marriott invites you to experience the ultimate in Red Sea luxury. This Hurghada hotel famous for its extravagant lifestyle and Red Sea charm, delivers exceptional service and outstanding amenities. Our beachfront resort in Hurghada features 283 spacious rooms complete with sea view and sumptuous furnishings designed for your comfort and relaxation. With a variety of dining options, this Marriott hotel boasts a diverse selection of international cuisine with 9 restaurants ensuring every day is a new experience. Whether your stay is business or pleasures our extensive amenities including wifi, outdoor pool, two tennis courts and a private island, the Hurghada Marriott ensures you of a memorable holiday. Experience the legendary Hurghada night spots and take a plunge into world class diving, explore and discover our Hurghada resort, the greatest vacation where life is ‘simply blue’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurghada Marriott Red Sea Hotel Hurghada
Marriott Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing