We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but NOT very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Ranked #22 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, but NOT very good”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have given a very good rating as average would be unfairly low. Good would be fairer.

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Mercure. All started off well and the greeting was warm, professional and slick. Once checked in, this was the first slight problem we encountered. We were staying as all-inclusive guests and got a reasonable deal for this and when we said we didn't want to wear the wrist bands, this seemed to send the reception staff into mild panics. Lots of questions and phone calls back and forth and almost a pleading with us to wear the bands. We were unwilling to be moved on it and would have walked away had someone from a back-office not eventually say it was ok not to wear the bands and the bands were duly attached to a rucksack! Oh the drama!

Escorted to our room and given a guided tour of the hotel and facilities and everything including times of restaurants, bars etc was all explained along the way. This was a very nice touch.

We were shown to our room and this was excellent! Dumped the bags and headed to the beach. All was looking good. Nice and quiet, not many people about but not a sunlounger to be had. All "reserved" with towels and scarves gaily draped round chairs and umbrellas! Not a good start. Then tried to get a bottle of water from the VERY surly and rude bar manager at the beach bar and this is NOT possible without paying approx £1.00 for a 250ml bottle which sells in the local shops for 0.20pence. Bargain... NOT! We were directed to a drinks dispenser at the end of the bar which dispensed juice and water and watched (horrified) as many of the other patrons proceeded to handle the dispensing nozzle with the unwashed hands and watched later as the bar man wiped the bar and proceeded to use the same cloth to wipe the drinks dispenser.
This decided us to take a trip to reception and inquire about bottled water to be told we had to pay for it and not even Super Inclusive customer were provided with bottled water. We indicated at that stage that we would go away and reconsider our position as water is not a luxury item and in the heat is pretty much a necessity.

Later that evening, on our way to dinner we decided to visit the bar and try the local spirits which came as part of the deal. Undrinkable (to our delicate British palates - the Russian patrons seemed to be coping very well with the local spirits however). This firmed up our minds... we were leaving! We didn't bother with dinner and went straight to reception and asked to see the manager. We spoke with Mr Mohammed Al Tahir who brought us for a drink to discuss the issues in the Super Inclusive bar and within five minutes everything was rectified to out total satisfaction.

The rest of our stay was very pleasurable and staff were very attentive and helpful. Mr Al Tahir spoke with us on numerous occasions throughout our stay, ensuring that we were happy and comfortable. The room cleaning staff were amazing and very efficient and made sure that we were happy with everything and were on hand if anything was needed at any stage.

One of our party was vegetarian and the food options were great (apart from the Fish night - both of us struggled to eat that night). We didn't partake in any of the entertainment or partake in any of the animation events. At times it was a little intrusive and loud and the hotel would have been better without ANY of it. Also, if you are concerned about animal welfare or animal rights, then the Mercure is probably not the place for you - donkey derbies with little care or attention about the size of the riders, horse riding on the beach, camel rides through the sun-loungers - Not good and somewhat annoying and concerning.

The Spa and trip sellers were annoying until they got the message that we were NOT interested.

What I would say of the hotel is that, like any decent hotel, if you have a problem, speak to the right people and they will do their utmost to sort the issue or problem. This certainly was the case with us and I would imagine this would be the case with anyone else. They certainly did not want us to leave and made sure that everything was sorted to our satisfaction to ensure we were happy and stayed.

If you get the hotel at the right price, then I would recommend it, but do not pay top dollar for it. Ultra All Inclusive is not worth the price (and you can upgrade when you get there, if you really want it).

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which was nice and quiet and no one walking past your balcony, which got the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DecF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion about your recent stay at Mercure Hurghada. As evidently stated in your review “The team certainly did not want us to leave and made sure that everything was sorted to our satisfaction to ensure we were happy and stayed” certainly this is our infinite role as we always strive to take care of our guests, follow up on their needs and ensue their contentment, undoubtedly it is not easy to adapt our services style to match with the different tastes and expectations of our multinational guests but we always try to keep an excellent value.
I am happy to know that you were satisfied with the immediate actions taken by Mr. Tayar our guests services manager towards your comments and that you appreciated the cordial greeting, caring team, selective front sea view room location, housekeeping staff competency and varied food items.
I do appreciate your constructive comments which are extremely valuable and I would like to highlight that we attempt to decrease the usage of plastic bottles as part of our commitment to the environment preservation and we produce our own purified drinking water which is available in all the hotel’s restaurants and bars and is regulary tested by a special certified international company.
Looking forward to having the pleasure of wlecoming you once again.

Aladin Saleh
General Manager
Mercure Hotel
H1815@accor.com
ACCOR BRAND: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,559
    648
    158
    60
    40
See reviews for
1,182
1,175
156
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from 1 week at this property which was excellent value. We paid £480 for two people in a sea view room all inclusive (exc Flights). for what we paid i cant really complain but if you had to pay more than this i believe that you may want to stay elsewhere. From arrival to checking out the only English people we saw/Heard were an elderly couple in their 60's. By far the majority of people staying at this hotel are Russians followed by French and Northern Europeans. So if you want to mingle with other British tourists this is not the hotel for you (probably as its not available as a package deal from the UK, we booked separately). The layout of the hotel and food is excellent and very clean. My partner is vegetarian and we both mainly ate Vegetarian food all week as it was excellent (Fish night was the only difficulty as there were not very many other options available). The Shows at 9pm are absolutely terrible and were staff that mimed to English songs although they were Russian and French and so had no idea what they were doing.
The Pool was absolutely freezing an if it was any colder i doubt anyone would have used it (perhaps avoid months of Oct-Mar) as its not heated.
We went for Sun and relaxation for a quick week the hotel delivered on this apart from the Noise and hassle of the animation team who can be annoying, also the sellers who try to get you to buy Massage, Trips and Tattoo (you weren't safe even by the pool).

We went on a boat trip with Fun Fly (who sell trips to you around the hotel so i assume they have some affiliation with the hotel). It was £35 each for a day boat trip, this was the worst mistake we made of the holiday. 8Hrs on a boat with toilets that don't flush, nowhere to lie down, men that were very over-friendly with the female customers and it visited areas that were so busy when in the water swimming, it looked like a scene from Titanic. The fishing part was also very disappointing as people were catching amongst other things Coral, and beautiful tropical fish that they threw back dead- What was the point of this. Needless to say the day after we had to visit the chemist as we both had stomach ache and this was the only time we left the Hotel.

Ultra Inclusive is available but from what we saw there is no benefit apart from a separate bar and sunbed area- Don't bother paying for this.

Oriental/Fish restaurant is once per stay but you pay for drinks which at $30 for a bottle of wine was laughable as it was the same food/Wine that was available in the Main restaurant. Dont waste your time on this either.


The Best part of the Hotel:
Food quality and selection

The worst part of the hotel:
Associated costs out of the All inclusive- $3 for a beer and $5 for pringle crisp in the shops $30 for a bottle of wine in the oriental restaurant.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the nominal charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kieran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larvik, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My girlfriend, her kids and I was there for the second time in nov -12 and had another wonderful stay. Placed a littlebit out of the city centre and at the beach. Very nice, helpful, polite staff with a good sense of humour. Bring your diving mask and see the corals and fish outside the beach. We can recommend this hotel for both families, young and elderly people

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bjorn-Ivar_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing hotel Mercure Hurghada once again for your holidays and placing your feedback at Tripadvisor. I am happy you liked the convenient location of Mercure that set amidst tranquil and spacious green gardens, creating relaxing and pleasurable atmosphere. Mercure’s team will be delighted to welcome you for another careless vacation and be sure, whatever time of year you choose for your visit, a stay at Mercure Hurghada always means sun, sea and unlimited water fun, with a beautiful beach along turquoise blue waters and snorkeling area with astonishing underwater world just at you reach. We highly appreciate your absolute recommendation of Mercure Hurghada and truly hope to welcome you back very soon.

Aladin Saleh
General Manager
Mercure Hotel
H1815@accor.com
ACCOR BRAND: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this lovely resort for one week from February 18th to February 25th 2013. The hotel is situated a short 11 minutes bus ride from the local airport, which is very convenient after a long flight.

We soon experienced the outstanding hospitality that characterizes this wonderful resort when receiving our welcoming cocktail during check in. After an informative introduction to the hotel and the many facilities, we where taken to our beautiful room with a magnificent view of the beach and the Red Sea.

With a staff counting more than 300 competent employees, this resort can fulfil almost any desire or need that will make your holiday the ultimate experience. There are a lot of activities to choose from, including various water sports, boat trips and camel- or horse riding just to mention some. During the day you may join the hotel animation team in various activities, such as volleyball, water aerobics, club dance, carnival etc. Every evening they perform a show in the local theatre.
In other reviews some people say that the staff sometimes is pushing, we disagree. They proudly present their services, and normally take no for an answer. I think it is just fair to give them the chance to promote their offering. Just visit Hurghada city, and you will really feel the difference.
An alternative to all the activities is always just to enjoy the sun at the beach, getting “animated” by sparkling wine served by very polite and helpful staff at the beach bar.  (Maybe only interrupted by a quick cooling dip in the Red Sea.)

The reception area can offer a lot of different shops, including a massage parlour and a beauty centre. We both did the full body massage, which is very relaxing and a real holiday treatment. The staff at the beauty centre were very kind and extremely professional, and we strongly recommend you to surrender in their skilled hands for some luxurious and relaxing treatment! We miss it/them already!

A lot of effort is put into keeping the resort clean, fresh and maintained. We had a very nice room with really good beds. The bathroom is kind of small, but then it is not a suite either. A small but nice balcony was perfect for watching the sunset every afternoon. There is no better start on a romantic evening than watching the “blue hour” with a full moon reflecting in the Red Sea! Our room was always meticulously cleaned, with a funny surprise every day, all thanks to our faithful housekeeper.

Food is available all day and evening, including breakfast, lunch and a large buffet for dinner. In addition light meals and snack are available at the pool and at the beach. The food is plentiful and well presented, but we experienced too little variation in taste. After a few days we felt everything tasted the same. The director of the hotel explained that it is very difficult to satisfy the expectation of all the 19 nationalities that visited the hotel this week. My recommendation is not to try to satisfy all 19 nationalities every single day. We would rather prefer a more theme based menu, with clear distinction in taste from day to day.

We highly recommend this hotel and already long back.

Thanks and cheers to everyone at Mercure Hurghada!

Kjersti & Petter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Petter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

One of the most beautiful holidays I spent in Hurghada, was at the Mercure Hotel
I spent most fascinating four days, a room in expired elegance and comfort, wonderful food, swimming pools and spacious and clean, the beach is clean and paved. Staff member of the utmost cooperation and smiling and friendly from Risabashn where I was met when I arrived Mr Elia Zakaria and accompanied me on a tour of the hotel facilities, including to my room he was a nice person. My children, they were safe and enjoyed much sea diving and the animation team were kind . i remmember Irina Alexei and crazy zigy . you will never think giting out of the hotel performances in the evening and disco. i will repeat visit again as soon as ican

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lamis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Lamis,
Thank you for sharing with us the highlights of your recent vacation at Mercure Hurghada.
Surely your warm words will serve as a great encouragement to the whole team and especially Mr. Elia Zakaria to provide even better service for all our guests.
I am pleased to know that elegant hotel room responded the best to your family needs and culinary delights of our generous chefs provided you with energy enough to indulge into numerous sport and fun activities at Mercure Hurghada. We hope to welcome your great family very soon to enjoy exciting fun and pure bliss on a backdrop of golden sand beach by turquoise lagoon at your Mercure Hurghada.

Aladin SALEH
GM MERCURE Hurghada
H1815@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Mercure is convenientely located in short walking distance to the beach and I really enjoyed a perfect service during my stay. The staff was very helpful and kind and everybody created a unique atmosphere in this stylish oriental hotel! Rooms are comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated: The animation team, staff from spa and the menagers made this stay very enjoyable. I loved the room with the vue of the sea!

Suzana MD

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Suzana,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your pleasurable experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed our compassionate caring team, elegant Andalusian design buildings, modern stylish rooms, famed animation activities, spa facilities and exceptional front sea view location.
It is my pleasure to transmit your gratitude to the animation and spa teams whom I am sure will be much more motivated with your kind feedback.
Mercure team is waiting for you soon for another enjoyable holiday.

Aladin SALEH
GM MERCURE Hurghada
H1815@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is second to none! The animation team made it what it was. The shows every night were spectacular! The dancers were all professionals and the manager does a fantastic job in managing the whole hotel experience. All the staff smile at you tirelessly and the food was divine! The beach was clean and there is always something going on such as volleyball and water aerobics and even bellydancing. You can also purchase water sports on the beach and go to jeep safari and quadbiking from the beach. Well organised excursions all conveniently located so you don't even need to go out of the hotel. There is hotel transport available to take you to and from airport and to downtown, but really you don't even need to go to downtown unless you just want to experience it. There are shops in the hotel and there is also a bank and doctor's surgery. The rooms were beautiful and very clean and endless bottled water provided not that you needed it as there were plenty of drinks at the beach bar. Once again the animation team were wonderful and they made it an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HalaG186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Hala,
“The hotel is second to none” what a way to express your extreme satisfaction about your vacation experience at Mercure Hurghada, it is an honor for us to receive such a comment, though we're not looking to be the first, but we do strive to be different from any other hotel in offering a very special and unique personalized service to our dear guests. I am glad your stay was an excellent one and you took full advantage of sport activities and our various entertainment programs. It gives me a special joy to share your encouraging comments to the hotel team. Looking forward to welcome you back for another exciting holiday at your Mercure Hurghada.

Aladin Saleh
General Manager
Mercure Hotel
H1815@accor.com
ACCOR BRAND: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#43 of 222 in Hurghada
2,230 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
5.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,325 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hurghada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hurghada Hotel

Property: Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Address: Safaga road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hurghada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hurghada is the perfect holiday destination for people who want to do everything or nothing at all. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the international airport, at the exclusive Hurghada beach resort, this exquisite venue offers guests the ultimate in pure luxury with a private, picture-perfect beach, elegant restaurants and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Hurghada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sofitel Hurghada
Accor Hurghada
Hurghada Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing