We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing day, couldn't ask for better guide.e. Recommend to anyone taking a guided to with Ahmed.

Excellent experience with Amhed today as my tour guide. Totally safe as a solo traveller. Full of... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2024
lilymayburnett60
Our day trip from Marsa Alam to Luxor with Tours From Hurghada was nothing short of amazing

Our day trip from Marsa Alam to Luxor with Tours From Hurghada was nothing short of amazing. From... read more

Reviewed April 15, 2024
Abigail16052649476
,
Tel Aviv, Israel
Read all 111 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hurghada
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
103
6
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
103
6
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 111 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

The main reason for the 5 stars is the communication from the company and the guide and driver they provided.

I was very apprehensive booking from the UK with only email correspondence and flight tickets that looked as though they’d been typed on word. However everything we were promised was delivered on.

Our driver Reda was a gentleman, opening our doors, stopping at a shop for us to grab water and supplies, and keeping us safe in the manic Cairo traffic.

Our guide for 2 days was Hedar. He was very knowledgeable and always offered us more time at locations. We were the first to arrive at the attraction in Saqqara which meant we got a great look around without hustle & bustle! If you go into the pyramid just be aware... our guide told us we weren’t able to take photos but inside the guy was encouraging us to do so. I refused to Take them and he said if we gave him 300 LE, it would be okay to take (£13), he then blocked the exit asking for a tip, we hadn’t yet been to the cash machine, so only had a couple of dollars and he was trying to ask for more. Quite common in Egypt.

Hedar took lots of great photos for us to make sure we had some great memories to take back which was welcome as if you ask vendors to take photos they charge you once they’ve taken them.
Our visit was during Ramadan and both Hedar & Reda were fasting so we can only imagine how difficult in the heat it must be to be talking for 7 hours, particularly when in Saqqara where it was exceptionally dusty.

My only criticism would be the second day. It wasn’t as thrilling as the first day and wasn’t as interesting for us. If we were to go again we would probably fly at night to Cairo, stay over night and do everything in one day then fly back to Hurghada.

The hotel they booked us into (steigenberger) was fantastic and surpassed expectations when booking a package deal. The flight was pleasant with attendants providing a drink and some biscuits FOC each way.
We travelled with only hand baggage so when we landed back in Hurghada, we found our driver outside waiting and we’re back in our hotel with 12 minutes of the plane landing.

Big thank you to Reda & Hedar for a lovely couple of days!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank SLJW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

I visited Egypt with friends.Thank you Egyt portal for an amazing experience..our guide Mohamed Elshamei was fantastic...knowledgable and nothing was to much to ask of him it was done..will be back

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank nazli_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

I booked our tour through Tours from Hurghada so I'm not quite sure why we were asked to review Egypt Portals.

I have mixed feelings about the tour that we just completed, 3 days and 2 nights in Egypt. Firstly, our drivers for each leg of the trip was good. Our personal guide in Hassan Ali in Luxor was excellent. He was a lovely person and full of knowledge and we were very happy with the entire day of information. He waited on the platform for over 1 hour because our train to Aswan was late and he made sure to escort us to our seats. Thank you Hassan Ali!

Our guide for Aswan was not very good. We drove over 3 hours to Abu Simbel and only got a guide for about 30 minutes before that was the end of his services. So the entire day, we only had someone explain something to us for 30 mins.

Our guide in Cairo (Reham and driver Reda) were excellent. Reham had a wealth of knowledge and we really enjoyed spending the day learning all about the pyramids and ancient wonders. Our driver Reda was a gentlemen, always opening doors for us and even giving us his portion of food at lunch when he saw that we really like it. Do request for Reham and Reda when booking for Cairo.

A quick explanation of what really brought down the stars are the restaurants these tours choose to take their customers. Drinks are not included in these tours so the restaurants that they choose to work with, work off charging rip off prices on those drinks. I wish tours would book local restaurants that are honest and not all about ripping off tourists. In Cairo, we were brought to a restaurant that we made the mistake of not checking the price (our big mistake) when ordering tea because how much could tea be right? wrong. We were served lipton tea bags, not even fresh tea and it was 4USD for EACH teabag. In aswan the restaurant gave us a "tourist" price list and when we went and got a menu that they give to locals, realised the price was 3.5 times more expensive. I'm fine with restaurants making money off tourists, but when you do it sneaky or go overboard, you loose the trust of the customers.

I will be writing a separate review for "Tours from Hurghada" since they are who we booked with in all our email correspondence.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank emuthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Early 4am start, arrived by 7am. security as in Europe. Arrived at opening of Cairo Museum and had the place to ourselves for a while, saw Tut exhibition very easily.Excellent. Also visited the Pyramids and the Sphinx with plenty of time. Only complaint was that spare time in mid afternoon was wasted. I'm sure there is more in Cairo than the 3 main things. Shopping was not required but visits made to obligatory perfume and papyrus shops. The medieval and Islamic centre and souks could have been better.Cost £160 from Hurgharda, and included lunch and tips.Never take a photo of an Egyptian or take advise of any sort as they want tips for everything and will sell at exhorbitant prices so take great care.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

I can not recommend this trip enough. It is a bit of a leap of faith booking it on the internet and paying the deposit but we did not regret anything. It all ran so smoothly.
We were picked up from our hotel in Hurghada at 3.45 am, which is an early start but no where near as early as if we had gone by coach! We requested the slightly earlier flight back, which was about 5.30pm, and that was perfect - still plenty of time to do everything we wanted but back in our hotel early enough for dinner and bed!
We were picked up from Cairo airport and at the pyramids for 8.00am before the crowds, went to the Sphinx, had lunch, and went to the Egyptian Museum, before being dropped back at the airport again. We also added on extras like going inside the Great Pyramid and having a camel ride. Our guide and driver were both lovely - knowledgeable and friendly, supplying us with water, juice or tea and giving us traditional Egyptian breads to try in the car.
If you are thinking about booking this trip, do it! You won’t regret it.

Date of experience: December 2018
7  Thank ladyh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews