We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Definately will return (the ice cream chef)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #33 of 223 Hotels in Hurghada
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definately will return (the ice cream chef)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks (1st - 15th March) at the Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh. We travelled with my sister and her partner, this was our first visit to Egypt and we were delighted with our choice of hotel. Although only half open you would never know. The rooms were large, very clean and the shower was to die for. The cleaner who came in daily kept the room immaculate and us entertained by his amazing towel art (room 1006). All the staff were so very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I would like to say a special thank you to Mr Hosseiny and the chef's who went to so much effort to make my husband's birthday so very special by creating a great atmosphere and fabulous dinner in the Italian restaurant. Hassan at the pool for making us comfortable every day on our sunbeds and the staff at the pool bar who looked after us very well. The food in the buffet restaurant was good, always something to eat which you enjoyed, but as you will be aware when you cater for a lot of people to can't please all of them. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and helpful and the head chef was always available to talk to and would listen to any comments and take them on board, like when my sister asked for fried bread at breakfast the chef had no clue as to what she was talking about but with help from her she had her fried bread. Rika and Heleri (part of the animation team) these two girls were fantastic always laughing and smiling, they both worked hard to make our stay entertaining, playing darts with Rika was quite an experience.
It is very difficult to criticize anything about this hotel but if I were to be picky my husband said he found the bed very hard, but we did find out towards the end of our stay that you could get a softer over-mattress (too late). The service in the lobby bar could be very slow at times even when quiet and evening entertainment was somewhat sparse.
All in all we had a great stay, weather was wall to wall sunshine and we would, and in fact already have recommended this hotel to friends and will certainly be returning ourselves.
We would like to take this opportunity to recommend the hotel and thank all the staff for making our stay excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deesomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,946
    500
    141
    59
    60
See reviews for
858
1,170
65
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tayside
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just returned from a 14 night stay at Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh for our wedding anniversary and from the moment i walked through the door it had the wow factor ,our room no 5032 was fantastic a pool view and spotless with many towel displays on our bed,all the staff were simply outstanding and could not do enough for us .the resturants were all good ,the italian and the mexican were something else but we always found a good selection and good service in the main resturant I liked the beach and pool bar equally good ,the lobby bar the staff once again were brilliant and i enjoyed it more when the musicians were playing .the animation team do a great job and my thanks to Heleri and Rika for making this vacation special .I could name every member of staff for an award for a great job they all deserve a gold medal .one of the nice things i liked was that all the managers and they are great team do a walk round every day and any problems can be sorted out quickly not that i heard of any .I have stayed in the nieghbouring hotel the Premier Le Reve and to be honest i enjoyed this one better .We cant wait to return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank volvof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had an amazing holiday at Tropital Sahl Hasheesh in Sept 2012. We travelled as a couple, aged 26 and 28 and celebrated our wedding anniversary whilst we were there.

I do a fair bit of research before booking a hotel, so knew what to expect and the hotel lived up to all our expectations.

Our room certainly had the wow factor. We were upgraded as we were on our anniversary (drop them an email before you go if you are celebrating an anniversay, honeymoon or birthday), and had a large corner balcony overlooking the pool and sea, what a view! Flat screen TV, decent air conditioning, a massive bed, a free safe and a massive bathroom with a good walk in shower completed the picture. The hotel is brand new and you can tell, everything is in really good condition.

The 2 a la carte restaurants were really nice (I wasn't a fan of the raved about ice cream bomb myself though) and we never went hungry in the main restaurant either, always a chef cooking a dish at the cooking station, plenty of choice and always hot. Maybe after 2 weeks it would be a bit "samey" but where wouldn't? We had a lovely romantic meal at the Italian, watching the fish swimming below us, overlooking the beach with a star filled sky.

We never had a problem getting drinks, apart from the one night we went to the evening entertainment, there was no one serving and we didn't get a drink the whole time we were there. We weren't too impressed with the entertainment and didn't go to the bar again, preferring the lobby bar in the evening after dinner. I'm surprised at the review saying they struggled to get spirits, that's all I drink and we never had any issues at all. A little tipping goes a long way so maybe that's why we were looked after.

The pools and pool bar were lovely, plenty of sunbeds and towels. The entertainment team try hard to get everyone involved, they had a joke with me every day that I wasn't joining in but they left you to yourself if you didn't want to get involved.

We knew the hotel was remote, and were looking for a relaxing week away, in fact when we drove through Hurghada on the way back to the airport, we were glad we weren't in the centre of Hurghada, it reminded us of Narma Bay, or Marmaris in Turkey (we have had great holidays at both resorts but that wasn't what we wanted this time).

The beach is lovely, in much need of a jetty though as we found walking over the coral difficult and dangerous, we only attempted it once. I'd suggest you buy sea shoes before you go as the free ones you can borrow aren't great. We only found out that they did a lunchtime BBQ on the beach each day on the last day, we would have enjoyed that had we have known (something to go back for!)

The one main negative for us was the shops in the hotel, they were very overpriced (£15 for a blow up beach ball anyone?) and on the last day, my husband was suffering with an upset stomach. I had read on reviews on here that the chemist was very expensive but the thought of a 5 hour flight and travel to and from the airport meant we visited the chemist for some tablets. The chemist provided 2 boxes and said it was £30. Having travelled to Egypt before, and paid around 50p for the very same tablets (kindly the concierge at the InterContinental Cairo Citystars went out in the middle of the night to find us some tablets from a 24 hr chemist, and brought them to our room, they only charged us the pennies they cost - that's real customer service for you!), there was no way we were going to pay £30 (unfortunately for my poor husband!). I know the hotel does not set the prices but something really should be done. In Hurghada the tablets were only being sold for around £5 according to some people we got chatting to on the bus back to the airport. Still very inflated prices but I could live with paying a fiver....

Would I return to this hotel? Yes, for a relaxing week away, providing they had built a jetty by then!

Room Tip: email them directly if you are celebrating a honeymoon, anniversary or birthday, you may get an upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura8192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just come back from 11 nights at the Tropitel (we stayed in room 5021). Our first impression as we walked through the doors was very good. The hotel was very clean and, on the surface at least, looked like a five star hotel. Our room was nice, overlooking the pool area, and only let down by a very few minor details. There were the usual dodgy electricals that you associate with any country that uses two pin plugs. In this case it was worse, because most of the plug sockets were right next to a light switch which made it impossible to switch the light on use the plug at the same time if you were using an adaptor. Also, the drains occasionally gave off a bit of a whiff, but my wife will tell you that it was probably no worse than me after an evening drinking beer. The only area of the hotel that let it down was the Shisha bar. What great potential - a rooftop terrace overlooking the sea, but covered in a marquee, and serving drinks in plastic cups. It was also the least clean part of the hotel.

The staff were generally good, particularly in the buffet restaurant (Hassan), and the guys around the pool and pool bars. The upstairs bar was a little bit less relaxed, and I never really felt particularly welcome there. Reception staff and guest relations were good, and the animations team were friendly, but a little loud as they walked round trying to drum up interest for the various activities.

The bad points:

Firstly, the food. I am amazed at all the positive reviews about the food. I will eat pretty much anything, and I certainly didn't go hungry on this holiday, BUT the quality of the food has to be measured against the ambitions of the hotel. In general the food was oversalted and overcooked, although there was plenty of choice. The meat was of poor quality, and generally quite tough, and the seafood was awful. A couple of times we had some nice beef, but otherwise it was poor. The a la carte restaurants weren't up to the standards of your average UK chain. Again, the seafood was dire, and obviously out of the freezer. My wife thought that the mexican was awful, and it certainly didn't bear a lot of resemblance to the mexican food we have eaten before.

Secondly, the drinks. We were all inclusive, and the local beer and wines were perfectly drinkable, no problem there. When we arrived and had a drink in the main bar though, it was almost kept secret that local spirits were also available. Now we didn't push this, and I was quite happy to drink the beer and wine, but the sense we had was that the hotel was trying to squeeze a bit more money out of us by getting us to pay for stuff that we could get for free, and save money by restricting what we drank. The bar "menu" indicated which drinks were free, and which were not included in the package, but made no mention of local spirits. The other issue with the bar was the lack of glassware. Several times I was accosted by a waiter asking if I was taking my drink back to the room, and begging me to bring it back. Several other times there were no glasses at all. The hotel wasn't even busy while we were there, so heaven knows what it will be like when the hotel is full.

In general we had a good time, but were lucky enough to miss the busy season. I would imagine that the busier this hotel gets, the worse the reviews will become. And don't go expecting world class food unless your idea of fine dining is a trip to a Harvester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeDewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to this hotel/resort on 1st March 2013. This was a new hotel and area of Egypt as we previously have gone to Taba Heights. Tropitel is a lovely, clean hotel, the staff are very friendly wherever you go within the hotel and complex. Food is good and with a choice of Mexican and Italian restaurants, an Indian restaurant is planned to open any time soon. Special thanks to Hassan at the pool, Rika and Heleri in the Animation Team who work extremely hard and kept us laughing and entertained for our 2 week stay. To Abdu, the DJ for his fabulous music selections. The waiters at the beach bar who kept us well hydrated!! The Management team who value your comments on food items, quality of food and choice of food. They welcome your comments as to how they can improve on their service. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the room staff do a fantastic job of your room EVERY DAY. A very special thank you to the head chef and other chefs for the menu they selected and a fabulous cake they made for our brother-in-law's birthday. The meal was fantastic (smoked salmon starter, fillet steaks and longesteins and a fab chocolate birthday cake for afters). All the staff work very hard and long hours to please you during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The building, grounds, staff, beach & reef are fabulous. The weather was also great. We loved our room, it's view and the restaurant. We didn't care much for going shopping so did not mind the location but others might not be so happy so far away from the action- well, anything!

We only went on 1 tour and that was the snorkelling day trip to exclusive island with Thomas cook. - don't bother - it's full of tour groups and the reef outside the hotel is just as good.

We went to only snorkel, read, sleep, sunbathe and eat. For that it was perfect. We did not attend any evening entertainment so cannot comment on the quality.

The food- well it was great. If you don't mind coconut inn every sweet dish!
The food was very German, Russian and not mediteranian which is our personal taste. It did not spoil the holiday as this was our problem not th hotels.

As with all large hotels, pastries, breads and salads were excellent. The Mexican restaurant on the sea front was not as good value as the Italian pizzeria.

I personally had a tummy bug. Their mango juice kept me alive once I could leave my room. Do not persevere with uk pills - go straight to the health suite & get their own medication- it works! I didn't but later after talking to fellow Brits realised that I should have.

We would go again to hurgada and would try the sentido as we love their hotel in Tunisia. We would recommend this hotel. It has so many great features.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Sorry all you sad disalutiond people the food was poor at best sevice average and the hotel very nice in the middle of a building site . The spa ha not a place to relax .5 star never in my life time .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgjchj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 223 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
8.6 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#16 of 223 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
4.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 223 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pyramisa Sahl Hasheesh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh

Property: Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Address: P.O. Box Block 33 B | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 566
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supremely located in the newly and highest developed areas in the Red Sea “Sahl Hasheesh” 14 KM south Hurghada, one of the world's repute resort destination, Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh, offering magical views of the warm Red Sea, with impressive collection of alluring restaurants and cool bars, magnificent beachfront and modern stylish rooms as well as numerous leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing