We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday - would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #20 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday - would recommend”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Premier romance boutique hotel and spa in Sahl hasheesh which is on the outskirts of Hurghada.
We were looking for a good value all inclusive sunshine winter break without travelling too far from the UK. We wanted a small quiet hotel with good food and service and no kids ( we're not miserable but we've been there done that and got the t shirt! )We also wanted to be able to snorkel off the beach without having to take a boat trip.
I'm pleased to say this hotel has ticked all the boxes and all the reviews on trip advisor were accurate. It's beautifully decorated with lots of nice features marble everywhere so lovely and cool. It has a private beach with plenty of sun beds and shade and towels provided. There's a bar at the beach but apart from bottled water the rest of the drinks come from the hotel so you can expect to wait for your drinks.

We bought our own snorkels and flippers for 480 Egyptian pounds as we wanted to do it every day - but you can hire them for 15euros a day. It's well worth it as it really is a giant fish tank out there and we must have seen about 20 species of fish. You can also windsurf off the beach. From what we could tell the majority of rooms have sea views. They are spacious and with a lovely bathroom that has a glass wall looking into the bedroom(with option of a blind for privacy) but if you wanted to you could have a bath and enjoy a sea view. There's free tea and coffee in the rooms and bottled water but you pay for the mini bar.

There's also a swimming pool but it didn't feel heated! It has a jacuzzi and a sauna. The gym is a bit poor with only two treadmills, free weights and one cycle and the only air conditioning is to leave the door open! Some exercise mats would be a good investment and a cross trainer if you're reading this GM.

All inclusive here means you get local drinks and bottled water so don't expect high quality wine. The beer is ok and cocktails go down well! You mainly eat in the main restaurant but you also have the option to have one meal at the Chinese and one at the Italian. The main dining area serves a variety of food but lots of beef and rice always a selection vegetables so if you are veggie you would survive but not much vegetable protein other than cheese and egg. They also have yummy soups. Desserts are small cakes and jelly mousses or fruit. All in all the food is good but not european 5 star. Having said that there was always something tasty to eat. They say formal attire in the evening but casual trousers/ jeans and a smart shirt were worn by most men, women tended to dress up more.

We opted to be safe and avoided all salads and prepared fruit. although we did notice the hotel had a kitchen hygiene award and neither of us were ill. We were a bit more relaxed around ice as a mojito without crushed ice just isn't the same. The staff were all really helpful, friendly, respectful and polite and they can't do enough for you.

We deliberately picked this hotel as there wasn't a lot of entertainment however on one night there was an ok singer and another night some belly dancers that were amazing.

There is free wifi in the foyer and restaurant but it's a bit slow.

There is also a spa offering all the usual treatments and they also offer a Turkish Haaman.

Smoking is only allowed in the cocktail bar so the restaurant and lounge bar are a smoke free zone.

If I was to critique this hotel at all it would be the gym - add more equipment, the toiletries in the bathroom should be better quality, but the main one that everyone remarked on was the slow service in getting drinks, they just don't appear to have enough bar staff. Although all inclusive you still have to sign for everything but you don't pay - this might be what slows the service I don't know,

We had an evening flight so asked about late check out. Unfortunately it wasn't possible to keep our room however we were able to shower in the spa but there was no hair-drying facilities and the light was really poor for doing your make up. a bit if a girlie comment i know! The spa team were not that helpful however after speaking to reception they found me a hairdryer. The hotel also allowed us to have lunch and drinks all day which in theory we should have paid for so that's a nice touch.


We mainly wanted a restful break but we did want to do a couple of trips out. We booked them with our rep who warned against booking them with the chap on the beach as he doesn't work for the hotel and he said they weren't insured trips. His description and knowledge of the trips was a little embellished and not entirely accurate. We chose to go to valley of the kings and the island of Mahmya for snorkelling on a bigger coral reef. We paid on credit card as the hotel don't charge for this. Outside of the hotel the rep advised either use Egyptian pounds, sterling, euros or dollars. Don't use a card as it will cost you! There is a currency changing machine here and also you can do this at reception.

Valley of the kings. This is an early start and takes about four and a half hours (not three as advised by the rep) . The road you travel on is new and once they have finished surfacing it I'm sure it will speed up the journey!

We weren't expecting to take photos in the tombs but its a shame that you can't take any photos at the site and they make you leave your cameras and smart phones on the coach. We saw three tombs which were interesting. they are all buried under the desert on average about 90m but one was as deep as 300m. This was to avoid them being raided. We opted to pay an extra 10EP each to visit Tutenkhamun tomb. This was a bit disappointing as it was the smallest and had no paintings but you did get to see him in his mummified state and his wooden coffin. Everything else is now in the Egyptian museum in Cairo.
Lunch was at a restaurant and was buffet style, no alcohol.

The trip also included a stop off at an Alabasta shop where they demonstrate the difference between the real stuff and the fake. You are then encouraged to buy something and we negotiated the price in English pounds from £55 down to £25 for a small vase/candle holder.

The temple of Karnak was amazing and we would have loved to have spent more time here but they had only allowed an hour. Apparently it's the biggest historical site in the world. Our guide was very knowledgable on the history of all the sites and had some very interesting stories.

On the way back we went to another shop where they demonstrated how to make paper from papyrus which they then paint on and you have the opportunity to buy something. Could have done without this at the end of a long day.
We got back to the hotel at 1030pm. The hotel sent bread and cheese up to our room as the restaurant closes at ten.

Things you should know about Egypt

Wherever you go you will need 1EP to use the loo and they will give you some loo roll!

Do not express any interest or look at any stalls or shops unless you intend to buy as they will drag you in! It's hard but you have to ignore them or be prepared to be hassled!

Alcohol is only available in hotels and some licensed restaurants

Everyone expects a tip , beware of anyone coming up offering you a service or advice as they will expect to be paid for it.

Check trip advisor for reviews on hotels on hygiene and what's included. Especially if its at a bargain price. We met some people who were not having the same experience we had and paying a bit more might stop you being ill on your holiday. Stick to cooked food and avoid ice in drinks and fruit that has been prepared already and you will hopefully avoid being ill.

In the shops and markets knock down any price they give you by half... Or tell them what you are prepared to pay for it.

In Hurgada you will need to buy a visa at the airport and it will cost you £15 pp

They don't eat pork so it's not available anywhere but they offer beef alternatives, even beef bacon!
.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Nibs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed S, General Manager at Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear our valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we pleased to read your positive comment also we promise to improve the points that had been record .Thank you for choosing our hotel and we wish you all the best and looking forward for your next one soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    167
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
1,026
63
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just got back from our trip to Sahl Hasheesh after a week of rest and pampering.
Our first impression was the 5 star look you get on arrival. Check in was done in the bar , so there was no hassle at any reception area.
When we were taken to our room we were even more impessed.
We had a wonderful time. All the staff were great and were always ready to help. We could not fault the service here.
Being an adults only resort makes a difference.
We had great service on the beach as well. Special menton to Ibrahim and his smiling face. Nothing was too much for him.The beach was clean and very peaceful .
Our room and all the communal areas were impeccable. The seaview with balcony suites were the best.
We were suprised at the variety and quality of food that was available and there was something for everyone, so I cannot understand anyone complaining.
It certaily lives up to its 5 star standard.
Mr Mohamed the manager who was excellent. He was always around making sure everything was up to standard.
We are definitely thinking of returning next year again and will recommend The Premier romance to all our friends.

Room Tip: The sea view room with balcony is the best. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank val645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed S, General Manager at Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Val645
Thank you for your review , i am glad that you enjoyed your time at premier romance and we loook forward to see you again at our hotel.
MARRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I would just like to say what a wonderful holiday we had in the Premier Romance There is not much I can add to the previous good comments The staff are great, very attentive and efficient. We built a great relationship with many of them. We arrived on my wife's birthday and we managed to book into the Italian restaurant. The waiters finished our evening singing happy birthday carrying a cake with a candle. Which we thought was amazing as we had just arrived.

There are a few negative comments in other reviews, we can only say I do not know where these people were staying because our experience was perfect from start to finish and we have stayed in hotels all around the world. To the person who moaned about signing for things I can only say, I would much rather sign for things than wear a stupid armband.

Thank you to all the staff. we will be back!

Room Tip: We did not try the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed S, General Manager at Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear dsmithy 50

Thank you so much for your review , and again thank you so much for your understanding our signing system.
we look forward to welcoming you many times at premier romance in the near future.
MARRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Final day here in Sahl Hasheesh at the Premier Romance. First impressions, certainly 5 star in appearance and run to impeccable standards. What really stands out and makes this hotel is the staff. The service in all areas of the hotel has been impeccable. I have stayed in hotels before where the service has met the 5 star grading , but what really makes the extra difference is how engaging staff are with their guests, taking the time to get to know people, seeming to make extra effort to not forget a name or face. Specifically, Ahmed at breakfast, Sharif in the snack bar and Karem in the lobby bar were very personable, friendly and attentive. If there is one criticism of this hotel, there is little to do particularly at night time. The online description described entertainment as being low key..... It's actually almost non existent. However, if you like quite day time and night, indulge in a good book and a good red, this is the place for you. Sahl Hasheesh as a resort is in its development, with some impressive looking hotels, some boutique and luxury yet to open, clean beaches and communal areas, in years to come, this place will certainly be an exclusive resort.
Out and about, the hustling can be very frustrating, however worth putting up with to see the sights. Luxor was amazing, from the valley of the kings to the Karnak temples, a long day but a real must do

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flowers A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed S, General Manager at Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Flowers A
Thank you so much for reviewing premier romance on the tripadvisor. I and my team are delighted that you enjoyed your stey with us .
We look forward to welcome you at premier romance in the future.
Marry Christmas and happy new year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is a 5* unlike some other hotels in Egypt claming to be 5*. The place is beautifully designed, immaculately clean and well organised. The staff speak limited english but enough to communicate. The food was great but we were getting a bit bored with the buffet by the end of the week. Things we wished we knew before we arrived.....we didnt have any Egyption Dollars small enough to tip staff - although they didnt expect it we would have liked to throughout the stay, quite a few people gave them english money but this is difficult for them to exchange. Take snorkling kit with you, if you dont buy it from one of the shops when you arrive otherwise you will miss out on the fantastic snorkling that is right on your doorstep. The beach and sea is right outside the front of the hotel and underwater you are able to some great sea life which we found amazing! A couple of donts - dont book diving with Pirates of Red Sea (recommended by our rep) their kit was faulty and therefore dangerous, the instructors did not adhere to basic diving rules and there boat looked a wreak. Dont come to the hotel if you expect a lot to be going on, its quiet and relaxing which was great for us as thats what we were looking for but younger/more active people could get bored. My only complaints are sometimes it did take a while to get a drink and occasionally the wine was awful!!! Overall a great stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Browniebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed S, General Manager at Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Browniebrian
We glad that you review our hotel on the tripadvisor and we look forward to welcome you at premier romance in the near future.
Marry Christmas and happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Please make sure you read all of my review before making any judgements 30th Nov-7th Dec) We arrived at the hotel 2 hours later than expected due to our flight making an unexpected landing at Dubriovnik The hotel reception greeted us and instead of hanging around with bags in reception we were immediately escorted into the reception bar where we were provided with complimentary drinks. The next thing we knew our check in was complete and we were handed our room key.This we found a very nice touch and an excellent start to our holiday.
The room 1310 was in a fantastic spot over looking the beach, we did wonder why we had been given a twin room and not a double but that did not deter us or put us off as,the beds are amazingly comfortable and the room very quiet. There is none of the door slamming or furniture moving that can often be annoying in other hotels.
I have to give a special mention to Wael our room valet who works tirelessly every day for 12 hours per day and kept our room in tip top condition. He is a very pleasant guy and he really really keen to make sure you have everything in your room you need - he seems to take pride in making sure you have a good stay.
We went on an all inclusive package and have to say did not find any issues with the standard of drinks in the hote,.it did seem strange however that the hotels policy was that you had to pay for either ise cream or cappucino's,.not sure of the reason for this but seemed a little unneccesary.
The beach is lovely and the beach staff are wonderful - Ibrahim is the front man - remembering everyones names and greeting us every day he gives the hotel a friendly quality which makes you feel instantly at home.
Moustafah is the man - he cannot do enough for you - he smiles all the time and provides drinks constantly even though he has to keep running across the road all the time.I have to say that this kind of service was not just for us because we tipped ...he delivered a great service to everyone.Tips are clearly not his motivator.
Mina was his wing man and even though he was only around for part of our holiday he also was pleasant and had a great sense of humour - he went out of his way to ensure we were ok at several points of the day .....A great pair of guys who really stand out and give the hotel the 5 stars they derserve.
On the down side, however, we found the service in the outside bar area in the evenings very poor indeed - we often would be sat without a drink and even though my partner went to the inside ar he was told to go back and sit down ....but still no service. On one evening we sat waving at the waiter who looked across acknowledge he has seen us and then walked back inside !!!!! He did not come back out for another twently minutes ans then went and served another couple.I cannot make the excuse that they were busy as there was only two other couples say outside and then on the insdie another three couples - hardly rammed !!!! We tried to give then the benefit of the doubt several times as we like to be objective but it became very frustrating indeed - this is an area that has stopped us awarding a five star rating.
The other slight niggle was the snack service ....great menu ..great food .....advertised as being open until 5pm daily .???? Not so .....we went over at 4.30pm..the waiter took our order then we saw the chef come out of the chinese having a strop right in front of us he even threw our order back at the waiter who knew we had seen and looked very embarrased.- Now I know these guys work long hours and maybe would like to think thay could have a quiet hour but that carry on should not have been seen by us or indeed ever have happened as it made us uncomfortable.
We ate in the snack bar mainly due to the fact that the restuarant food is very average .....in most five star hotels there are a lot of diplays etc, seafood deocorations, fresh fruit in abundance but there is a lack of creativity about their food - not totally off putting but the word I would use is boring .....seen better elsewhere...sorry !!
In the restuarant ,however, we need to give great praise to Ahmed who served us coffee every day and also provided us with his exceptional service in the Italian ...which is well worth a visit ...great food ....now thats more like it guys !!
Overall a great hotel ...just a few small adjustments which would take it from a great to an excellent in our book
I beleive this is a fair judgement of an hotel that is not on the cheap side - if the corners are smoothed off it will make excellent value for money- A well done and big thank you to the guys we have mentioned as they really made our holiday complete

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pins1Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed S, General Manager at Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Pins 1sheffield
I seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing the premier romance . it was really our pleasure .
on the other hand i want to extend my personal appreciation for your comment during your stay with us.
All your comment and feedback will definitely be conveyed to our management team.
once again thank you and we look forward to see you in 2013 . marry Christmas and happy new year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My stay in this hotel did not meet my expectations.

It's clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was fantastic surprise. The room was spacious and clean with a sea view. The hotel is small, friendly and quiet and he beach has nice sand and easy swimming.

Don't expect much beyond this. The food is average and the wine is terrible as part of the all-inclusive package. The rose was cloudy with sediment. I complained but nothing was done. I have had an upset stomach for 5 days since returning.

Availability of sun beds can sometimes be a problem unless you tip the pool boys. Again something I had not expected from a hotel promoting such high standards.

I'm up for relaxation but service is very, very slow and some of the staff don't seem bothered. Over 1 ½ hours to wait for a salad and pizza. The bar by the pool was not staffed and there were infrequent visits by waiters.

Chefs and staff can be seen smoking at the side of the hotel and the reception staff smoke in their office. I don’t like that at and think it is very unprofessional.

Mohamed and his team are not proactive in providing information. The Indian a la carte restaurant was closed and has been for some time, which was a disappointment and not made up by any additional visits to the either the Chinese or Italian restaurants.

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels throughout the world, and this definitely does not meet the standard I would expect. I prefer the Oberio down the road and their sister hotel 'Le Reve' which is much, much better in respect to service and food.

I would not stay at this hotel again. My holiday is a considered purchase - I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed S, General Manager at Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Nick c
Thank you for your comment which definitely will be conveyed to the management team.
once again thank you and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
4.5 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,325 reviews
5.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
9.0 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: Piece 33, Sahl Hasheesh | Old Town, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#53 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance king of the hotelsssszz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing