We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT WEEK”
Review of Jaz Aquamarine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jaz Aquamarine
Ranked #33 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We, my wife and I have just returned from JAZ AQUAMARINE RESORT on the 21/03/14. And we simply could not find a single fault with this resort, the cleanliness of this hotel is absolute superb, and as for the food, the people who complain about that should always remember that it is a muslim country and not to expect european food.
All in all we had a fantastic time, and would certainly go back to this hotel again anytime.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent !!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRUISERNORFOLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,286)
There are newer reviews for Jaz Aquamarine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 6,286 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I started planning our "sunshine break" holiday back in December 2013, by reading reports and checking out deals for the Red Sea area. Why Red Sea? - because that is the nearest source of a really good snorkelling environment which has warm water, sunshine and and some affordable package deals. We have previous experience of holidays in Taba and Sharm, so we were quite sure what to look for. We decided on the Jaz Aquamarine hotel in Hurghada after quite a lot of research, the tour operator was Thomson/First Choice and the dates were 03 - 17 March 2014.
We booked the discounted holiday in January 2014, all inclusive flying from Gatwick to Hurghada, and after booking we contacted the hotel via the internet, where we first encountered the charming Tracey Saunders, one of the splendid team of European Guest Relation Officers provided by the hotel. Tracey sent us lots of first-hand information, arranged for us to have the room of our choice and suggested that we make use of a hotel car to collect us from the airport
.on arrival (75 E£) - great advice.
Our flight was fine, sadly no TV to while away the 5 hours, but quite comfortable overall. On arrival we went through the unavoidable nause of queuing for a perfectly useless - and totally over-priced - visa, before being allowed into the country. Fortunately for us, as we emerged our pre-booked car and friendly driver were waiting, cases were stowed and we were whisked away to the Jaz. From the very first minute we were aware that we had made the correct choice. The staff were helpful, polite, informed and fluent in English. We were given comprehensive information packs, then conducted to our spacious, comfortable room, to where our luggage had been delivered.
Throughout our stay we were impressed by the comfort, cleanliness, organisation and high level of service offered by the Jaz. Unlike previous hotels we have used, the "local" spirits and wine offered as part of the all inclusive package were eminently drinkable, while the catering was really first class. The main dining room is supplemented by four A la Carte restaurants, a beach cafe and a poolside snack bar - all serving delicious fare, and should you wish to go out on an expedition you can book a packed lunch to be collected from reception.
What makes the hotel so memorable is the staff, all 1,200 of them! From the Managing Director to the humble room boy, they are dedicated to providing an excellent service, and one feels cosseted and slightly spoiled by their attention. There exists a suspicion that the staff perform well merely to attract a larger gratuity, and while all tips in recognition of service are welcomed, there is absolutely no pressure or coercion from the staff.
Singled out for praise are: Mahmoud, the resident Thomson representative, a cool, skilled and thoroughly likeable chap who is a master of his craft. Tracey, Holly, Katya and Tatyana, the hard working and always smilingly helpful Guest Relations team, Mr Ibrahim, one of the most involved and hard-working managers I have encountered, along with his team of first class barmen and waiters.
In order not to sound too sycophantic, I should say that we were fairly disappointed by the coastline at the Jaz. We really looked forward to snorkelling on lovely coral reefs and enjoying the sight of lots of exotic fish. Sadly the coast is sandy and extremely shallow, and to swim on a reef it is necessary to book a boat trip to the offshore islands. Should you wish to take this course you would be well advised to book through Mahmoud - we didn't and we regretted it! .
All in all a delightful holiday. We unreservedly recommend the Jaz Aquamarine - perhaps a prominent jewel in the crown of the Iberhotel chain. We shall return!!

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms - but we found the ideal to be a first floor room in the 4 series...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colmf500588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is my second visit to this truly amazing resort as returning guests you get VIP arrival treatment very nice . We booked a pool swim up room which is great my only comment would be that it's too shallow so it's laze about not swim. We were greeted by Mohamed Hussain who makes this resort so special. The whole team are like a big family and nothing is too much trouble. The food is outstanding I'm not so keen on the eat at 6.30 or 8.30 but that's me I like to sit at 7.30 eat at 8 but was ok. When you have an issue it's the way they deal with it I had an issue with the seafood restaurant which was resolved in minutes to my total satisfaction. Ahmed in the Sofra restaurant is an outstanding member or staff so he knows it's me it's Mr Peter ha ha . If you are looking for a great hotel with the most outstanding customer service superb food and drink look no further this is the resort for you

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Petertc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Ok I start by saying each to their own, the hotel itself was beautiful our room was great, fantastic housekeeping staff, the food was appalling absolutely shocking in fact, only holiday I've been on and have been really hungry, selection of food and presentation would have been nice, have stayed at many hotels in Egypt and this definitely does not in my eyes warrant being a platinum hotel as described by thomsons. Couldn't really eat out as was advised only to stay to certain areas of hurghada which didn't have restaurants we wanted to eat at. The staff as far as we were concerned couldn't really be bothered with the acception of our housekeeping guy arafa and Ahmed a beach waiter we also found the reception staff rude and very sharp, so would we go again definitely noooo. But like I said at the start each to their own what someone else may like someone else may not ....

Room Tip: Block 1 or 2
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunqueen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. We are committed to delivering a pleasant holiday experience for each and every guest.
I do apologize that we didn't accomplish this for you and we welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service.
Unfortunately we can find no record of your stay with us, and are very surprised that you were unable to find anything to suit your taste, considering that you had access to two buffet restaurants serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, 4 pool/beach bars serving a variety of lunchtime snacks (each with their own specialty) and, as we assume you were a Thomson guest, unlimited visits to 4 a la carte restaurants in the evening. If your problem had been brought to our attention, our chefs would have been more than happy to prepare something specifically for you.
We can also assure you Hurghada is perfectly safe.
We do hope that you will return to our beautiful hotel again so that we may have the opportunity of creating the perfect holiday experience for you.

Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Good flight with Thomson, bit chaotic at Hurgarda Airport as 3 flights arrived same time. As has been mentioned on various forums/reviews we went to the banks on the left for our visa rather than follow the crowds heading for the men waving the Thomson signs. Visa cost £11 each.
Quick coach transfer as all on coach were for Jaz, followed by chaotic check in and scramble to identify cases in the dimly light foyer. The hotel is huge and we got lost trying to find our room despite directions!
I had emailed the hotel a week before our trip to ask for a top floor room in a quiet block. Got a top floor room but it became apparent the next morning that we were not somewhere quiet! I was a little disappointed with room 1256 – smaller than I envisaged with an unpleasant smell from the bathroom drains and the shower (no bath) didn’t drain properly/quickly. We overlooked the main heated pool that played LOUD music ALL day and it transpired we were in the family block.
After 5 days we asked to move rooms. Guest relations were very helpful, offering us a first floor room in a block overlooking the relaxing pools. Slightly bigger room with better bathroom (no bath still) BUT could hear the early morning call to prayer. We could enjoy the late afternoon sun on our balcony in peace though. The holiday improved from this point on and we spent our time by relaxing pool no. 12 where you don’t get pestered by sales people and the bar staff waited on you.
We found the food and drink really good in all restaurants/bars. Enjoyed unlimited use of the al la carte restaurants. Thumbs up for the easy to use booking system in the reception area. Our fave was the Lebanese, then the Asian (best Sweet and sour sauce, ever). Not sure what the occupancy rate is at the moment but we never had any problems finding a table/seat/sun bed. The only place that was busy was around the heated pool where the daily activities took place. Waves bar and Nogoum Bar (in Blumarine part) were nice places for a quiet evening drink.
All the staff were lovely, friendly and work so hard and such long hours. Managers were often seen wandering around and talking to guests. We were asked for our opinion on a couple of occasions but it was a bit intimidating having 6 members of staff standing over your sunbed!
You are given 150 MB free wifi, we purchased another 500MB for 20 euros. A couple of evenings it wasn’t working and overall it was slow.
Husband went diving with the on site dive centre (it’s just an office – no equipment here) but wasn’t impressed by the hour+ drive to the boat and organised further dives with Aquarius who collected him and are only 10 mins away with access to a house reef. Not much of a beach at Jaz and not a pretty coastline so if you are looking for good snorkelling this isn’t the place.

It’s not quite 5/5 for us but having been to Egypt 5 times now this is the best hotel so far and overall we would consider returning as the food and facilities are hard to beat.

Room Tip: email Guest relations if you want a particular type of room...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauritiusbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was there for the first time & i was not desapointed at all we arrived at the airport which was not full of people at this day(lucky we are)then 20n minutes we drive to the hotel by bus and on the first step you enter the hotel you will be impressed from the nice welcome from every body even the man who carry our bags,without expecting any tips at all,(well trained)
we were suprised that every thig was going normal in an easy going way at the begining but we found it later on that this is normal way for doing work we had room at the relaxing pool which was very good.

we had diffrent meals at the al la cart reasturant and we really enjoied all,except the fish one .
we had also every day a nice clean towels art on our bed,our cleaner ahmed was super cleaner.
we were not happy at the end about an incident happened to us and no one helped us and the russian guest relation was only watching us!!! when we felt down but honestely it was not the hotel fault at all.
we will be back again as we really enjoied our holiday there and had nice selections for food every day.

Room Tip: a room at the relaxing pool the 4000 or 5000 building
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

we stayed here 3-10 march and had an amazing time. the hotel is absolutely enormous so if youre not able bodied then i would advise requesting a room closer to the lobby/beach/whatever floats your boat.

the service at this hotel is flawless. the staff are perfect. incredibly friendly, polite, and physically cant do enough for you. no one ever asked for a tip but were extremely grateful when they recieved them.

the food is very nice, we only ate in the topaz as it was fine for us and we loved the service. we have a very fussy 4 yr old daughter who is very fussy and didnt like very much but the staff volunteered to make meals specially for her so she would eat, that is the sort of service they provide! we jokingly made a comment one night about missing having a curry and the restaurant manager arranged for the chef to make one spcifically for us the following night! and it was fantastic!

the animation team do the best with what they have. the kids mini disco is a bit short and is the same every night. last year we stayed at jungle aqua park and found the kids evening entertainment was better there. so it could be a little better.

special thanks to mahmoud from thomson who is brilliant! tracey and holly from the hotel are also great and Ahmad from the topaz restaurant could not have been better. would definitely recommend to a friend

1  Thank fletch1205
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.3 mi away
Jungle Aqua Park
Jungle Aqua Park
#48 of 222 in Hurghada
2,841 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#38 of 222 in Hurghada
1,371 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.5 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,359 reviews
4.8 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Aquamarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Aquamarine

Address: South Sahl Hashish Road | Magawish District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#41 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $122 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Aquamarine 5*
Number of rooms: 1001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Aquamarine Resort is made for those who want to spoil themselves with the prefect, relaxed, All inclusive luxurious five-star Egypt holiday. Located on the southern tip of Hurghada with its own unspoiled private beach, this impressive complex features seven restaurants. It boasts over 1,001 comfortable rooms equipped with all the latest facilities, services and amenities as well as the “Mercato” shopping complex and a conference centre for up to 1500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaz Aquamarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Aquamarine Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing