We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Imperial Shams Resort
Ranked #181 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Modern hotel.
Well equipped rooms.
Plenty of food but be cautious from stomach pains.
Nice beach.
Not fully available spa for free.
Swimming pools are cold at this period of the year.
Tips are expected.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hfahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Trencin, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Everybody was talking about poor quality of Egyptian hotels. It is not true. We both were very satisfied. The staff especially in restaurant was so kind and smily that I did not want to go away from there. Thanks to Ali and Ashraf our breakfasts, lunches and dinners were full of laughing and joking. Food was delicious and tasty, even if you get some Pharaoh´s revenge :D after some compliments to cooks we knew and talk to them almost every day. Thanks to Yousry who prepare special sweet digest of chocolate cakes for me. On birthday we get unbelievable cake which we find in our minibar fridge. There were a lot of small things like that which make our stay memorable.
The surrounding was so quiet, the most suited for us! We wanted to be away from noisy centre.
Whole Egypt smokes. Be ready for it.
There was an animation every evening from 9pm. We have never been there because of series Heroes which we love and had to watch :)
Room was enough spacious, with long and dark curtains that we spleep well till 9 without disturbing by the sun which is very bright after 6 in the morning. Room was facing beautiful sea and sandy beach with palm leaves´ sunumbrellas. Bathroom has narrow bathtub, so it was uncomfortable to wash ourselves together behind the shower curtain. Anyway, water has never been cold, even from a cold water pipe :) Minibar was filled with 2 bottles of water everyday and tins every week. Fanta is more tasty than in Slovakia, so we drank litres of it!
We have free massage a week and we turn profit 3 times a stay. It depends on masseur how the massage is, so just try it.
Every Tuesday there was a possibility to have a free lesson of diving so we try it (only few minutes but it is enough to experience it). It was first time for us to be under water this way and we were so fascinated that we order a diving trip in open sea - ah, we saw dolphins there, doplphins I was dreaming about couples of nights :)
We visit Cairo and Luxor - go there for sure! I love Egyptian history and its worth to see - everything you catch during your stay. We recieved breakfast boxes including baby banana, some sweet and salty rolls with extra jam and butter, bottle of water and caddy of juice - we like guava the most :) when you come late from a trip you have a late dinner - tell to the receptionist in advance (our guide from travel agency did it).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

Same good stuff, good food, good attendance, excellent interiors, very clean. Absolutely recommend. Near the coast of a small coral reef.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank innesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

We just came back from Imperial Shams Resort and we have to say that we were absolutely satisfied! If you want enjoy a quiet holiday, take a rest...this location is amazing. Hotel is new, so that is clean, staff is perfect(friendly), room is clean and every view is seaview!
Beach = clean( a lot of beach stuff), pools = 4( warm, cold, middle...)perfect, food= this is the only one thing what is not for 5star, but its good for 4star resort! There is not fruits( just a little and not fresh). I think that everyone can choose something. A lot of drinks, coctails, ice cream every day...
What is perfect for this location is a wind cause we had a 37C...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janhutnan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurghada
0.2 mi away
Sol Y Mar Paradise Beach
0.5 mi away
Lotus Bay
Lotus Bay
#6 of 14 in Safaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
4.6 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#1 of 11 in Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
0.4 mi away
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort
0.0 mi away
Lamar Resort Abu Soma
Lamar Resort Abu Soma
#11 of 14 in Safaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Shams Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Shams Resort

Property: Imperial Shams Resort
Address: Safaga Road 52L, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 324
Also Known As:
Imperial Shams Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing