We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful relaxing break”
Review of Old Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Palace Resort
Ranked #48 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxing break”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from a weeks break booked through Travel Republic.
Firstly the airport, this would be the only reason that I would not consider returning, chaos from arrival to departure. It is a total free for all upon arrival with no organised queues for visas or passport control. The Russians have no regard for anyone in a queue. It took us a total of 2 hrs from landing to getting into the transport to the hotel.
Upon arrival everything was fine, a three course meal was made for us at 11.30pm which was not expected at all.
Hotel is well laid out and very clean, rooms spacious and well laid out. Buffet restaurant has a good choice of food but again the Russians spoil the experience totally, they are rude and inconsiderate. We ate in the Italian/Seafood restaurant which was lovely, food excellent and staff very accommodating.
Drinks are ok but spirits definitely not what they say on the bottle. I only found a Pina Colada tasted as it should, beer is fine as is the red wine.
The hotel could definitely do with another bar both inside the hotel and outside, there really isn't enough with 2 bars for the whole hotel.
The snacks at lunch need improving at the outside bar, otherwise the only option is the buffet restaurant, which we couldn't stand twice a day.
No free Wi-Fi which was very poor, with the only option being a $5 a day or $25 a week charge for ONE device, unacceptable in this day and age. Needs to be free in lobby and chargeable elsewhere.
All in all if you get this hotel at a cheap enough deal go for it for a week but there are a few improvements that will make it so much better

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Holidaymaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Your comments are highly appreciated and seriously considered. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    271
    81
    23
    8
See reviews for
391
633
58
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just got back from 10 day stay here. Staff are outstanding and do everything they can for you. We were extremely impressed with the manager who made himself available and visible every day. The rooms are clean and tidy, basic old tv but who would watch tv with the Red Sea on your doorstep?! The food is ok, the Italian restaurant lovely (charged with one free sitting per stay) the local red, white and rose wines are fine as is the beer. Some great snorkelling just outside the hotel beach (turn right on the promenade). As some other people suggest go to the restaurant late to avoid the major rush. The only negative thing I have to say is the Russian guests are extremely rude (about 75% Russian when we stayed here), they push and never say please or thank you. I had a neutral opinion before this holiday but it is the only thing that would put me off coming again. Loading plates of food in the restaurant and not eating it, speaking so rudely to the staff with no pleases or thanks. There was a big problem with them reserving all the sunbeds but while we were there the manager sent around a notice to say reserving sun beds would not be allowed and to his credit personally enforced it by standing out there from 5.30am removing towels!
This is a lovely hotel perfect for couples and amazing weather and location. I'd definitely recomend a sunset quad bike trip which was stunning, would NOT recommend a snorkel trip (over crowded and not worth the money, better snorkelling off your own beach!)
If you don't mind Russians this is a perfect hotel, amazing staff and grounds are immaculate. We were also very impressed with the security and felt very safe. If you venture out a trip to the Marina in Hurgada is a decent evening. There is not much nightlife to speak of, this is more a chill out holiday so if your looking for bars and clubs you may want to rethink as there arent really any!
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent a very pleasant week here during May. At that time the hotel seemed fairly quiet and you could always get a bed by one of the pools – I would expect that during peak season it may be a different story. The hotel sits in its own extensive grounds around the middle of a large bay among several other hotels – some completed, some in progress. It’s located several miles south of Hurghada about 45 minutes transfer from the airport. There is a promenade running the full length of the bay with some tourist shops, the odd restaurant/bar, ATMs etc. You can hire bikes by the hour to look around.

The hotel has two pools, a smaller quieter one and a larger one next to the beach – both have bars with the larger one serving snacks. The grounds are well manicured as the owners take care to make sure it keeps its clean and fresh look.

Meals are served in a large dining room which has some limited outside tables. There is lots of choice so you should be able to find something you like, as the guests are from various locations don't expect British food all the time. There is also an a-la carte restaurant where you are entitled to one meal but you buy drinks.

We had a ground floor chalet room which looks to be a good choice and well worth the extra cost. They are near the smaller pool, large with a modern bathroom, air con, verandah, large TV and fridge – bottled water is provided daily. The only down side was two queen sized beds – each being a bit of a squash for two people.

Out in the bay there are lots of tropical fish hanging around several coral sites, if you go a little further out or either side of the hotel the coral is less damaged and a lot better. There is a jetty with an extension that once had a short rail track and crane which has collapsed – there are lots of fish and coral around this, it’s quite spectacular.

We did a couple of trips; a submarine which is a real submarine from Hurghada harbour taking about 40 people out in the sea (they transfer you to the start point out in the sea first). The view wasn’t quite as good as I hoped it would be but hey – it’s a real submarine ! We also had a full day snorkeling where the boat went to a private part of an island for lunch by the beach plus snorkeling both off the beach and then out at sea near a large coral formation – lots of tropical fish and coral to see.

A warning about Hurghada airport. As you step off the bus into the arrivals hall you are met with chaos. You need a visa to enter and every-man-and-his-dog is trying to sell you one. There are desks half way down with various tour operator names listed – you may see yours, there are lots of people trying to sell you one as you make your way there (not sure if they are legal or not) plus a bank in a corner which I am told also sells them. Prices seemed to vary depending upon the currency you offer and I think we ended up paying #50 for two. Then it’s the long slow queue to get through passport control.

Returning is no better. For security your bags are scanned before entering the check in area. Good idea and I’ve seen it work well at other airports. Unfortunately Hurghada airport has implemented it hopelessly with just had one entrance open with two machines serving every flight. Result: a huge queue (more like a scrum) of people trickling through the entrance with hundreds of people massed in the entrance hall. The only saving grace is that once you’re finally through the queue at the check in desk is small and the airport is all shiny and modern.

Overall we had a great time and loved the hotel - its what you make of it. I have seen lots of previous people complain about ‘the Russians’ and sadly a lot of it is true but just work around any problems and relax by the pool/sea enjoying endless food and drink in the hot sun.

Final tip – take US dollars as the local economy craves it. You get best prices (lots of things priced in USD) and the best attention when they see you getting it out.

Room Tip: Pick a chalet room, good rooms in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

my husband & I loved our stay at this hotel, our chalet room was really big light & airy good bed & shower the staff really friendly & helpful we received a free Italian meal. The food in the hotel was varied
& really good it did get a bit busy at meal times. Yes some of the none british guest could be rude & ignorant but we didn't let it spoil our wonderful stay. Pity about the airport if they sort that out then they may get more tourists!! Very good disabled access in all areas.

Room Tip: upgrade to a chalet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yvon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

firstly we would like to thank all the hotel staff from management to the gardeners you all work really hard and nothing is to much trouble we made many friends with the staff the hotel is spotless food varied and plenty to choose from although I don't think the restaurant can cope with numbers we had to struggle to get a table at every meal time due to the Russians running yes running into the restaurant to reserve tables also around the buffet long queues with Russians pushing and shoveing you and jumping the queue if you want to stay at a hotel that is 85% Russian this would be for you if not avoid this hotel which is such a shame as the whole experience was stressful be warned if you want a sun bed make sure you are up for 6am I kid you not greedy, arrogant,rude Russians have taken over this lovely hotel also hurghada airport is a nightmare where the visa thing is concerned everybody seemed to get charged more than we were quoted by travel companies and everyone got charged different unfortunately we wont be going back to hurghada firstly because of the terrible treatment at the airport and secondly the Russians sorry old palace but until you do something regarding the Russians I think you will loose bookings from the UK

Room Tip: garden rooms quieter hotel rooms have nice views of sea and large swimming pool but bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEANETTE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments on your stay lately in our hotel.

We regret that your stay was not up to your complete satisfaction and that we failed to collect your feedback during your stay.

However, we sincerely hope that such experience will not deter you from returning
to our resort in the future. Until then I would love to have the pleasure of remaining in contact with your good self via email through fo@oldpalaceresort.com to give you some updates on what has been achieved in the hotel.

Thank You & Best Regards,

Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A last minute break to get away and get some sun...

The hotel building is impressive and well maintained... mostly - Please clean the glass panels in the roof in reception!

The down side was 85% Russians taking over the hotel... rude arrogant ignorant slobs... there is a dress code that they failed to adhere to in the evening ... they push in, talk over you, demand everything. Absolutely no manners whatsoever!!!

The food was as expected for an All Inclusive... breakfast being the best with an omelette station but food was plentiful and if something was not there the staff were only too pleased to get it. Did not bother with lunch... THE RUSSIANS take over and it is like world famine as they pile their plates high yet leave half of it... a disgrace at the high waste from these people. The large pool bar has snacks btwn 1000 - 1400 which are OK although as one staff member told us... the Russians have breakfast, then go and get all the snacks at 1000, then have lunch, then take all the ice cream at 1600. You need your wits about you to get anything!
The evening meal we always left until late and I used the Pasta bar mostly which was great and freshly cooked to order. I think only the 15% of used it as you had to wait for the dish to be cooked.. The Russians are too impatient!

The Italian restaurant is lovely and the food good. BUT they are missing a trick here.... to get more people to go there and pay... put on a theme night... Pizza or pasta.... And please put other dishes on the menu... not mostly fish - which I hate!

We had a Chalet room upgrade... it was OK needs to be renovated... but away from the main body of the hotel and by the smaller pool. Quiet and peaceful.

The beach was reserved again by the Russians by 0600... we decided to stay at the smaller pool and had easy access to our room too... "Please make it an ADULTS ONLY POOL"... the Russian kids would invade it at different times and shout and scream... constantly being told to keep quiet!
The pool attendant was lovely and kept everything immaculate and did stop the kids from jumping in the pool which stopped some of their antics although the Russian adults are just as bad!

Staff could not be faulted from cleaners to management... and the hotel was spotless.

Was NOT impressed having to pay for WIFI!

Would we go back... if the Russians were not there is such great numbers YES ... so sadly we will go back to Sahl Hasheesh but to a different hotel!

Room Tip: Chalet rooms as they are off to one side of the hotel and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tekalhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments on your stay lately in our hotel.

Many thanks for your compliments and for your very constructive criticism, which is highly appreciated and seriously considered.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel in the nearest future to witness some positive changes we are planing at the moments.

Thank You & Best Regards,

Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

before I start my review a warning of what to expect at hurghada airport.(tax voucher to enter the country a free for all they were charging what they liked,we ended up paying £19 pp..The government and airport authorities need to wake up and get things sorted,we queued for 1hr getting through passport control,only 2exits open for 7 planes that landed - a joke).

Now for the hotel-- my wife and I arrived late friday evening 6th june 2014 for 2weeks.The hotel is palacial and we were greeted, offered drinks and food and directed to a deluxe room with seaview,which we had booked.The staff through all our stay were exeptionall, the premises,grounds,swimming pool,beach a dream!
Although I didn't want to moan about anything, the food although acceptable was definitely not of 5* standard(not enough variety for the amount of guests)A pointer about the lobby bar English men do not like warm/flat beer(bottles are served but opened ,poured into a glass then the remainder put in a ice trough,yhis is left here open until the next person requests adrink???????????).The pool bar however serves on tap???
If you want beach beds its up at 6-30_6-45 to put towels on beds(had to join the masses)
A special mention to Feroud in the restaurant and to Sherif hotel manager for sorting out a problem we had.

Overall a great place but it does need tweeking to get full 5* status

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments on your stay lately in our hotel.

Many thanks for your compliments and for your constructive criticism, which is very highly appreciated and will be seriously taken into consideration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel in the nearest future.

Thank You & Best Regards,

Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.6 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#40 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
0.7 mi away
Pyramisa Sahl Hasheesh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Palace Resort

Property: Old Palace Resort
Address: Sahl Hasheesh | Red Sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Palace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Old Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing