We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Egypt”
Review of Old Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Palace Resort
Ranked #51 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in June. This is a beautiful looking hotel and the features in the reception area include a stunning view from a large window overlooking the terrace down to the sea. All areas are kept immaculately clean and the rooms are very spacious and cleaned every day, including clean towels and bed linen. We were upgraded to a chalet room over looking the smaller of the two pools which is in the quieter area with a refreshment bar. There is also a large pool over looking the sea which offers more enertainmnt with a pool bar. Our room was lovely and had an amazing bathroom with seperate shower and toilet areas. There was also a bath that you could see the living area from, in front of this was glass and shutters for privacy very unique. There is a mix of nationalities here but very few English. This is because it is not well known with the major tour operators. These companies need to wake up and make this hotel more available to the English. We travelled with A1 Travel at a reasonable price. The restaurant has a variety of meals but naturally has to cater to the majority so I was told by the Executive Chef Mr Ahmed Ali that we only had to inform him and he would cook anything we wanted. His main priority is to make sure all guests are catered for. The General Manager Mr Fathy was always available and very helpful at any time as was Mr Shaheen the Operations Manager. We were invited to a dinner in the Italian Restaurant with other guests which gives you an opportunity to get to know other guests and put any ideas forward that could improve any issues we may have, this is a really good idea which other hotels seem to be following (the violinist here was marvelous) The entertainment in the evening includes a show run by the animation team and there was also a singer on one night. The terrace area plays back ground music while you sit and have a quite drink if you prefer. All the staff go out of their way to serve you and do not expect to be tipped at every opportunity. We gave our tips to staff at the end of our holiday and as they do not earn a great deal of money were very grateful. Staff like Abdul Kalek, Eslam and Taha made our stay most enjoyable. The beach area is the best I have seen in Egypt with panoramic views and easy access to the sea. There is also a small coral reef for snorkeling. There are water sports of all kinds and you can also hire a pedal care for an hour to take you right along the bay at a price of £15. If you are the type of person who likes to take a walk there is a beautiful plaza that has fountains and lights up at night, it is something quite amazing. You can get the hotel bus for £4.00 each to take you to Hurghada or the Marina with its fish restaurants and bars. I would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age and there is also access for the disabled. I have been to Egypt many times and this has got to be the best hotel I have stayed in. There are more expensive hotels here but this hotel is of a resonable price and quite a gem.

Room Tip: Chalet rooms are larger than the standard rooms and they also have junior and delux suites at an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wheeler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just returned from a two week vacation at the Old Palace,this is our second visit in the past six months.
Where can I start: this resort is truly wonderful.
We have been visiting Egypt for over Ten years and stayed all over Egypt in Five star hotels,this hotel is truly the best.
I went with my wife and teenage son and had a fabulous holiday.
The hotel is located on the beach,in a superb setting,the area it is quiet and the scenery is beautiful.
The hotel is large and immaculately clean,our rooms were big in size ,we would recommend the suite,we had a lounge area and bedroom,rooms cleaned daily to a very high standard,clean bedding and towels.
We would really recommend this hotel,although there is not a lot of British go there do not let this put you off.
We met some lovely Russian, French,German people and had lots of fun with them.
The staff are always there to go the extra mile to help,Management Team made us feel so welcome.
I would really like to compliment the head chef who catered for our son every day.
Food is excellent with lots of variety daily.
The Animation team work really hard to get everyone involved in the activities,they are fantastic with the children.
There is evening entertainment every night which the kids love,or you can sit out and have a drink on the veranda and look out to the sea.
Big Thank You to Tamer Shaheen and General Manager Kellet for their hospitality.
We will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Presidential Suite,although all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again and again at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just returned from a two week vacation at the Old Palace.
This is our second visit to this hotel in 6 months.
This Resort is truly out standing,in all areas.
The service all round is to a very high standard.
The staff really go out of there way to cater to your every needs.
Food is excellent with lots of variety.
The location is set on the beach,it is quiet and peaceful.
The animation team work really hard day and night providing entertainment,which my son really enjoyed.
Rooms are large in size with plasma TV's and are cleaned daily to a high standard.
I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel,we will be returning in August.
A big thank you to the management team Kellet,and Tamer for there great hospitality and excellent service.

Room Tip: The Suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahcob39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked this hotel on the advice of recent customer reviews on trip advisor and they were spot on, great service, great staff, nothing is too much. As a lone traveller they were extra attentive and ensured that i was safe at all times, the restaurant staff even saved me a roof terrace table on one of my evening meals, a perfect spot for the lone diner, I was extremely greatful to the team.
The only couple of down sides were the continuous badgering on the beach for services offered by the hotel and the saving of beds on the beach in the morning. How was it dealt with well.....as much as I find rudeness unacceptable a stern word was the only method that proved successful to limit their approaches and going to the beach at 7am placing my towel and enjoying an early morning sun bathe, breakfast would be consumed just prior to end of service at approx 9.45, this would avoid any confusion especially amongst the Russian guests who have no qualms settling themselves sooo close to your umbrella to make use of its shade if they were too late.

but as an end note this hotel is in an up and coming area of Hurghada appoximately 35 mins from the airport, with some very quiet unused stretches of beach great for walking of some great food served in the restaurant.
I would certainly return, thank you for looking after me, a special mention to Mohammed at reception, Helmi who couldn't do enough and with a genuine approach, and the director of operations Tamer Shaheen who handled himself professionally and courteously at all times.

Max in the animation team always brought a smile to many a face, his aqua aerobics was a joy to watch.

Thank you Old Palace

Jozi London

Room Tip: Ask for the chalets if upgrades are available, very impressive layout, beds very comfortable and exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jozicomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in mid-March and although there were some positives, we found the negative experiences outweighed them. Overall we would not recommend staying at this hotel as there are plenty of other options and we would recommend going for a hotel that values the customer experience and provides a good service.

The Ugly

The hotel has a taxi service and this was a nightmare. We went to the old town and were due back to our pickup point at one pm. At around 1220 the taxi driver came up to us and told us we were late. This was a blatant lie and when we told him this he agreed upon the one pm return time.

The next time we went to the same place, had paid, and were sat in the minibus ready to go when he told us they would be going to the new town instead. We got off and complained and were lied to again saying that there was some confusion and they were one and the same place. To make up for this we were taken to the old town in a car for the same price but upon return the hotel lied to us saying the price we were quoted was per person. We have heard of this trick being used by private taxi drivers but never thought our own hotel would try this on us! We refused to pay any extra.

Housekeeping was poor. Items such as shower gel, shampoo, toilet roll, tea bags, etc. were not topped up as they should be on several occasions. We complained and the supervisor told us there should be no further problems but we still had issues so stopped complaining.

The Bad

When we arrived we weren't made to feel at all welcome. We arrived around 7-8 pm yet we had to unload our own luggage as there was nobody at the door. Upon arrival we were just told to sit down and wait while the paperwork was done. A complimentary drink would have made a huge difference.

Our room wasn't prepared for us, we informed them in advance that we were travelling with a baby but it wasn't until we arrived that a separate bed was bought in and the two single beds were joined together.

The restaurant service was below average. We often had to request that our table was set, and sometimes had to wait for this to happen. We heard other guests complaining about this. We were half board but somebody who was fully inclusive complained that drinks were often late and sometimes not received at all.

The food in the restaurant was very similar day in and out. In particular the desserts always seemed to be based upon a very similar weak sponge. The hot food was not particularly suited to British tastes.

The hotel was not very responsive. They did not get back to us with information and when we requested things they weren't always done.

The good

We got a free upgrade to a seaview room and this made a big difference to the quality of our experience.

The hotel was very clean and tidy throughout and the grounds were kept in a great condition.

The staff were generally friendly and they would smile and greet us.

There was variety in the restaurant and the focus of the evening meal changed (we had Mexican, Italian and Chinese.) The coffees from the machine in the restaurant were really nice.

UPDATE:

This review was sent to the hotel management to give them an opportunity to respond.

They informed us that even though the taxi service is booked and paid for through the hotel, it is run by a separate company. Mr Sharif Sabry offered to refund us the cost of the last taxi service we received. However, he felt that international banking charges meant that it wasn't cost effective for them to pay this money into our bank account. Therefore he said he would send this money via a British guest(!)

It is a measure of the 'customer service' of this hotel that six weeks on I am still waiting for this promised refund! He has not communicated further with me about this. I am not holding my breath!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DazedByTheLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

Please find below my respond to your email earlier in April,

"I would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel and please let us express our regret to your good self for the inconveniences you have mentioned in these comments. However, it is a great opportunity for us to trace and recover any eventual weaknesses we might be encountering. Meanwhile, we do believe that the mentioned incidents resulted from some unusual circumstances and do not really express how our service truly is.

At The Old Palace Resort, we always give a great attention to any comments or concerns raised by our valuable guests and take them on the highest serious levels. Therefore, we have thoroughly investigated all incidents reported by your good self, and we have immediately taken the necessary corrective actions. However, I would like to explain some points:

- The hotel does not own or operate the taxi service. It is an outside supplier. But since this service is presented and recommended to our guests through us, we are committed to it at our guests and we take any consequences that result from it. So would you be so kind to send me your bank account details, I will fully refund you the amount you have paid upon the second down town trip.

- A proper corrective action has been taken against the room attendant and the supervisor, who were responsible for the section, where your room was during your stay.

- I do apologize personally for the inconvenience of the check in and I am speechless, because it is my department.

- As a standard we bring baby or extra beds to the rooms first after the guests settle in their room and after any eventual room upgrade or change (like in your case)

- We are working on updating the rotating themes night buffet and link the desserts to them in order to satisfy all tastes of our guests.

Finally, I wish I had been informed about your complaints during your stay with us. Then I would have done every possible thing to handle them, to change your impression and make sure that you will come home with only good memories.

Again the Hotel Management is expressing its regret for the occurrence of any incidents that caused your dissatisfaction. Although, this stay in the Old Palace Resort did not meet your satisfaction, we sincerely hope that such experience will not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. So we are looking forward to welcoming you again on many more occasions very soon. Furthermore, if you would be so kind to contact us the next time you book our hotel. We will do our best to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and enjoyable as you may wish."

Further I would like to add the following:

- As communicated between me and your good self, it was not logic to pay 30 English pounds as a transfer free for 8 English pounds refund.

- I offered your good self a voucher at the value of 10 US $ per night for any length of stay, valid for 1 year and can be utilized by any person. But you refused it.

- At the end we agreed on sending the money via an English guest, which was not possible so far. However, a repeater English guest is currently spending his holiday in our hotel and will be leaving in couple of days. So you will receive your 8 English pounds refund by the 30th of this month.

Thank you for your patience.

Best regards

Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife (65) and I (72) have read many good reviews about the hotel, its staff and Sahl Hasheesh. So when we arrived at the hotel, there was only one uncertainty: a room. We are grateful to Sherif Sabry Front Office Manager, who gave us a room which satisfied all our desires.
I don’t mention other names, because all the staff, without exception, treated us very kindly: at the reception, on floors, in bars, at a restaurant and on the beach. There were lots of smiles and jokes. And at the same time they worked very hard, especially at the restaurant. I couldn’t say we liked all the dishes, but we could always find something to our taste. Cakes were simply stunning!
Usually we got up at sunrise around 5:00 and went to the beach till our breakfast at 8.30. We took long walks along the promenade. At our opnion the beach and the entrance to the sea near our hotel were the best. The water was crystal clear and one could see fishes of different shapes, colours and sizes.
A previous review is called “Urlaub in Rußland”. I’m afraid it’s a wrong name. I’m sure in Russia it’s impossible to find a hotel for the same price, which would have the same level of service, the same variety of dishes in the restaurant and … a tender warm sea nearby. A correct name would be "Urlaub mit Russen".
Yes, there were many Russian families, but IMHO they conducted themselves quite well. Of course, it would be more interesting to observe and contact in the hotel with families from different countries (and,by the way, as I could remark, the hotel staff speaks English, German, Russian, French, well ... and Arabic too). Let’s hope that in the near future it will be so. Or, as they say, Insha'Allah.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alexander1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

every thing was excellent and they didn't let us wait for checking in or checking out, the attitude was very friendly end the stuff was very nice.
the upgraded our room for ver special rate although it wasn't our honeymoon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Degwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
7.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,471 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,741 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
1.8 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#28 of 222 in Hurghada
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Palace Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh | Red Sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $57 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing