We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! But...”
Review of Old Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Palace Resort
Ranked #51 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel has surprised us a lot. First week of our vacation ment staying in a paradise. Not many people were staying in the hotel, so you were nearly alone by the pool, also there were many free sunbeds on their amazing beach (not in the first line of course :-) ) Accommodation was great. Room was clean, furniture very nice. Staff was also great and helpful.The only thing that can be (and need to be!) improved is the food. Yes - it was tasty and it was lot of it but every day basicaly the same (except their desserts - they were just delicious!).
Well, first week was definitely a paradise but the second one turned into a hell. But not because of the hotel itself. It was because of the lot of Egyptians staying in the hotel. Their behaviour was just awful! Five star hotel means certain services and certain standart and you have to behave according to this fact whether you like it or not but geez that was just too much!
And I don't think that the whole-day screaming, fighting for food in the restaurant, throwing food on the floor etc. belong to any 5 star hotel.
But as I said - hotel itself and its staff was great and I would love to come back but only without those Egyptians. And I believe I'm not the only person who feels it that way because many and many other tourists were pretty angry and complaining because of them!
Yes - I would recommend this hotel - maybe you will have a bigger luck on people than we had :-) And Sahl Hasheesh is worth visiting! Yet it is the most beautiful place in Egypt I have been to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Ms. L. Michaela,

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. We highly appreciate any comments made by our esteemed guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality service standards.

Many thanks for your compliments and for your constructive criticism. Only through the feedback, we receive from our valued guests, like your good self, we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our service levels. We will definitely take your comments into deep consideration.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we place great value on your continued relationship with the Old Palace Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel in the nearest future.



Thank You & Best Regards,

Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I've checked out from this hotel today. It is my first visit to Sahl Hasheesh area, it is a very nice place to live in, very clean and safe place. The hotel was very nice, room surprised me; furniture and fixture was very elegant & luxurious, breakfast buffet was fine but the dinner was horrible.
Beach was long and clean, swimming pools are very nice and clean also, crew was coopeative. All rooms have free internet access.
shortly it is nice place for families and honey mooners.
Tamer

Room Tip: LCDs in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamer294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Mr. Tamer,

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. We highly appreciate any comments made by our esteemed guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality service standards.

Many thanks for your compliments and for your constructive criticism. Only through the feedback, we receive from our valued guests, like your good self, we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our service levels.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we place great value on your continued relationship with the Old Palace Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel in the nearest future.



Thank You & Best Regards,

Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Everything was perfect - thanks to the Servicemembers who made our holidays unforgetable

Room Tip: The best is a view to the red sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Mr. Tom M.,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My friends and I were looking for a getaway where we can relax and get away from our hectic lives. I should say that the Old Palace Resort did the trick!! The size of the Resort offered us privacy even though it was full!! amazing location with a long beach stretch and a huge swimming pool with a bar in it. Clean air, clear skies and a virgin sea that has all kinds of blue colors reflecting clear water. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with open windows to the post-card like views.
What made this hotel very special was basically the staff!! from day one, you feel you are part of the family because the staff are professional, friendly and relaxed, eager to please and you can feel that they are keen to make their guests feel welcomed and comfortable. There were activities all the time throughout the vast pool and beach and grass area, from aquagym to stretching and children activities. Hotel managers walk around all the time to check on their guests. We truly had a magical time, we were pampered and enjoyed a relaxing five days trip. It is worth mentioning that Hurghada is very safe and down town and marina areas are a joy to walk in. We heard so many stories and warnings to travel to Egypt, we are glad we made the trip because we felt very safe and we saw hundreds of tourists all over the place mostly with young children enjoying their time. Salutes to Egypt and Egyptians for their loyalty to their country and for the excellent tourists services.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RanaAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Ms. Rana,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I wanted a week's holiday doing very little but being looked after. Not wanting to go too far we settled on the Red Sea coast of Egypt, and after looking at brochures and Tripadvisor, settled on the old palace Sahl Hasheesh. Right choice! We were met at the 25 minutes later were at reception. Reception is not a queue at a counter but a comfortable armchair with a welcome drink of fruit juice and a refreshing towel. A short tour of the main building was followed by a buggy ride to our beachfront suite: large sitting room, good-sized bedroom, lovely

We had a superior suite which had a small courtyard with two This turned out to be very useful, as it was and so when it was windy on the beach, we were able to enjoy the sun in complete privacy.
The place was fairly quiet for the week we were there (second week ),
but the service was excellent in every department. Breakfast was not a buffet, we had to choose from an extensive and varied menu, but there was a bread basket, various pastries, fruit juice and cold cuts as standard, so sometimes we didn't even want to order anything else. I did try the Egyptian breakfast, and really enjoyed it, so be brave and go for something new!
We had lunch by the pool, the grill had a good selection of salads and lighter fare, and if you stay more than a couple of days the staff get to know you and what you like (or don't like).
Dinner is more formal, in the restaurant (not open at lunchtime), but the quality of the food is very high.
Halfway through the week there was a cocktail hosted by the manager and his team. Very pleasant and the manager was very attentive, spending time actually taking to the guests.

can leave an envelope at the front desk when you leave, and the money is shared out among all the staff.
. We preferred the pool...
So, if you want a relaxing time, good food and excellent service, I would thoroughly recommend it. It may not be cheap, but it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HurghadaSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Sir,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just spent a week at old palace hotel and it was superb, the staff,the food,the accomodation were all excellent. This hotel is ideal for a quiet,relaxing break in the sun. We upgraded to a delux room which had .
Absolute bargain of a holiday! Booked this last minute and had a great week being waited on, couldn't ask for more. this did not detract from the experience. The service was second to none, quality of the buffets and the grounds are gorgeous. The seafood restaurant has the best sea bass ever!

Room Tip: Just spent a week at old palace hotel and it was superb, the staff,the food,the accomodation were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Front Office Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Sir,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction, as guest satisfaction is what we really strive for.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

the worst hotel in hurghada . just one restaurant very bad food no variates in dishes . Reception sell the same rooms by extra supplementary and show the rooms first in order to cheat us . standard is the same of sea view but they just want to make money from free.

Room Tip: Rooms looking in the small pool in the right wing in the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sergy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Front Office Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Mr. Sergy K,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel and let us express our regret to your good self for the inconveniences you have mentioned in these comments. However, it is a great opportunity for us to trace and recover any eventual weaknesses we might be encountering. Meanwhile, we do believe that the mentioned incidents resulted from some unusual shortfalls and do not really express how our service truly is.

At The Old Palace Resort, we always give a great attention to any comments or concerns raised by our valuable guests and take them on the highest serious levels. Therefore, we have thoroughly investigated all incidents reported by your good self, and we have immediately taken the necessary corrective actions.

Regarding your comment about the food, we intend to update the rotating themes buffet in order to satisfy all tastes of our guest. And regarding the room, please be informed that the only difference between the standard room and the superior room is the view. The standard rooms are overlooking the garden only, while the superior rooms are overlooking the sea. So they are not sold at the same price.

Again the Hotel Management is expressing its regret for the occurrence of any
incidents that caused your dissatisfaction. Although, this stay in the Old Palace Resort did not meet your satisfaction, we sincerely hope that such experience will not deter you from returning
to our resort in the future. So we are looking forward to welcoming you again on many
more occasions very soon. Furthermore, if you would be so kind as to contact us the next time you book our hotel. We will do our best to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and enjoyable as you may wish.




Thank You & Best Regards,
Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
7.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,475 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,742 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
1.8 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#28 of 222 in Hurghada
3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Palace Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh | Red Sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $51 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing