We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Ranked #104 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned home from a one week stay at the Ivory suites.
The hotel is located in a quiert area of Hurghada (or as quiert as it gets - Hurghada is a noisy city) a short walk from big shopping area (Village Road) where there's lots of shops, cafés, and restaurants. There's also a few mini markets and a café right next to the hotel. It's easy to catch a bus (or taxi) right infront of the hotel and it will take you anywhere in Hurghada for 1 egyptian pound.
The hotel itself is very clean, pleasant, and the staff is so nice and helpful. They do their very best to help you in any way they can.
Breakfast is good with a wide selection of food. Try the omelet, it's the best.
I did not go in the pool during my stay but it looked nice and clean. Some other reviews claims the pool to be really small but it looked alright to me.
The area may seem a bit dodgy, esp. at night. But it's NOT. I walked alone at night and never once did I feel affraid or unsafe.
I can strongly recommend this hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hurghada.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miuchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went to Hurghada for 3 days diving, i wasn't aiming for a luxurious stay with a sea view, yet i was pretty much concerned with the cleanness and hygiene of the rooms and the breakfast.
Sol Y Mar was my perfect choice not only because it's cheap, it's because it's more clean and neat than many five stars I've visited before.
- Staff was really friendly and understanding, when i asked for a late check out due to the fact that my last day dive would be finished by 5:00 PM they secure a room for me with their usual smile with no extra cost.
The Breakfast is quite fresh and tasty, not so many varieties yet the place is sunny and well furnished.
The rooms are really really spacious, it is a suite, where you have that living room with a flat screen and a quite new AC separate unite and a simple yet neat furniture, and a kitchen with all it's essentials, and accessories, and the bedroom itself with a comfortable beds and spacious lockers.
I really find that hotel redefines the true meaning of the value for money concept

Room Tip: Go there if your planning to spend time in diving or water sports in other place, as it's locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohamed_Hazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Rooms spacious,clean and modern. All areas are well maintained and the pool is immaculate. All the staff speak excellent English,nothing is too much trouble and they remember what you like and how you like it , a personal , professional touch.
A hotel with fully fitted kitchen in every room for you to prepare your own food and drinks if you prefer.
Restaurant food tasty and well priced, Bar stocked with local alcohol and very friendly barmen.
Close to all amenities, and the airport is 5 minutes away , although there is no hint of any aircraft noise.
This hotel is small, quiet, clean, professional and friendly and well worth every penny. Close to beaches, larger hotels and town if you fancy some adventure. Child friendly, my kids ( 12 and 11 years ) loved it. Secure and safe .
Staff were exceptional, from reception , housekeeping,security ,maintenance, chefs, and managers. They are approachable, cheerful, porofessional and very accomodating.
A very happy week was spent here, and plan on a longer term stay later this year, a gem of a hotel

Room Tip: Single room can sleep up to 4 people as beds are so huge and hotel will put in an extra bed into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammorgan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

big rooms,good food,nice staff !
little hotel with perfect service

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Having been to Hurghad 34 times before, we have stayed in many hotels, and this was for us one of the best.
A very clean well maintained property comprising spacious with lots of space, attractively decorated apartments with beiges as the decor theme.
Buffet breakfast is of quite good variety and good quality.

Well done Mahmoud and Mina at the reception!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waseem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

not the best hotel very disappointed after visiting 4 other hotels all of which were very good

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A very clean property, with lots of space in the modern style suites, and well presented by the helpful staff. Pool was a bit too cool if anything! Nice breakfasts with good omelettes etc. It is a 30 minute walk to Old Vic Beach, through the shopping / tourist area. Being an Aussie I do not like paying to use a beach!!

Room Tip: On the back [west] side away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross11-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Rose Hotel
Golden Rose Hotel
#153 of 222 in Hurghada
120 reviews
10.4 mi away
Azzurra Sahl Hasheesh Suite
Azzurra Sahl Hasheesh Suite
#145 of 222 in Hurghada
72 reviews
0 mi away
Luxor Hotel Hurghada
Luxor Hotel Hurghada
#131 of 222 in Hurghada
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#174 of 222 in Hurghada
803 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal Star Beach Resort
Royal Star Beach Resort
#76 of 222 in Hurghada
834 reviews
0 mi away
Elaria Hotel & SPA Hurghada
Elaria Hotel & SPA Hurghada
#163 of 222 in Hurghada
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Address: El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#43 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $22 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Ivory Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing