We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Took a bit of getting used to”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Elysees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elysees
Ranked #150 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Took a bit of getting used to”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Catered mainly for Eastern Eurpeans and Russians - not that this should be a problem. Felt like 'Bill no mates' as a solely Englsih speaker with a Northern Ireland accent! Hard to communicate.
Hastled for money by staff in the hotel, the Dream Beach and Spa - quite intimidating at times and spoilt my relaxation.
To be fair the food was good and the room clean (even though it overlooked a building site and had the noise of the traffic and the call to prayer from the mosque as an alarm call at 5am each day)
The 'all inclusive' wasn't 'all inclusive' as I understood it - based on times of the day and certain areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Capt007Pugwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    56
    37
    45
    30
See reviews for
52
63
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

We booked this hotel through a package deal and we could've kicked ourselves in the butts for not spending a little bit more to stay at the 5-star hotel across the road. This hotel is dirty and quite shabby. The shower curtain didn't wrap around the shower everytime you'd take a shower there would be a puddle on the end the shower curtain didn't cover, which happened to be the end where the toilet was. The bathroom window couldn't be opened and the puddle would take a day to dry up.

Our balcony door wouldn't lock and when we asked one of the staff about it they said we shouldn't worry, we were on the third floor and nobody could climb up. Not the point. We did hear however from 2 other couples that they had the exact same problem. Construction work was also going on up to about 11 at night, so if you plan to go to bed early, forget about it. On top of that there was a really annoying elevetator sound that went off every few second from the block across from us. Not very sound proof.

Our towels that were hanging on towel racks were re-folded. If you want your guests to have folded towels you should provide fresh ones! If they're already hanging there, just leave them!

Our package deal included breakfast and the buffét was ok, but there was no water served. When we asked one of the waiters for water we got the reply: "only dinner", so we decided to bring out own water. One of the waiters then rudely removed our bottle saying it was prohibited to bring your own water. After discussing back and forth for a while this waiter finally admitted that it was possible to buy water. Why weren't we just informed about this right away? I don't really think they're very service minded at this hotel.

Other than that the beack area and the pool were nice. There was also a really reliable taxi driver that works for the hotel. His name is Sayid. So if you ever dare to stay here (I'd recommend you don't), use Sayid's services. He's a good man that can show you the streets of Hurghada.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
6 Thank kitingmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

bournemouth,england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

we utterly agree with the french reviewer- this is a boutique style hotel with more minuses than pluses

Good points-

of course the weather- brilliant

some friendly taxi drivers

Clean, ok bedrooms

ok faux roman style ambience

very near beach with its own bar for all inclusive

errr...that's about it

Bad points

Mainly surly staff- maybe send to Sharm for training???

very small pool

other pool is attached to the bar - has no sun and is a waste of space

food mediocre at best, but loads of it, especially heart stopping cakes if you are on a 10,000 calorie per morning russian diet.

no free bottles of water

guests are 99.9 % russian which is of course positive if you are russian

the all- inclusive bars in hotel dont seem to exist consistently- you have to take it either in the resto downstairs or down the road in the "pub" which of course during day is not free

Extremely strange rules for everything which made for a tense time

safe doesnt work

Try Sharm instead

top tip - take your own laptop

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The staffs were polite but inefficient. We didn't have fridge during our 11-days. We reported it every day and they were saying, O.K. we will send engineers to fix that:))). Balcony door was broken, so we felt very unsafe.
We didn't have bottled water in our rooms, we had to leave the room in the morning and we had a plane in the evening, so just imagine all day beside the pool on 42 C! There was a mother with two months old baby expelled from the room in the morning, although she reserved for all day. She had the plane about midnight and all day she was around the pool. The food was not so bad but uniform every day almost without meat. But we didn’t have stomach problems, so we are happy with that.
Hotel rooms were very different. Some of guests were settled in service building around the hotel with too much noise so guests couldn't sleep. Furniture was new in our room, but in some other rooms like grandmas with worse quality. The beach was O.K but very crowded with only one all inclusive bar. Drink was awful including juices and coffee. Anyway only bar staff was efficient. Big thank to them. Clean guy was O.K. as well, so the room was always clean. Hotel was at good position, in the middle between old and the new part of Hurghada. If you want better service you should go to more expensive part of the town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliana092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

The best beach ever, very clean rooms cozy & excellent staff.. i stayed there for 4 days with my husband and friends its near everything, i wish i could stay there 4ever :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sassi1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel is ok. rooms are clean but the food is very bad as well as juice and coffee bar. juice given in small glasses and are very slow and ask questions if you take more juice. even though you're all inclusive. to the beach has to cross the street and the pool towels are not always ...In addition to the hotel on the left are the store with juices, water and chips also have a souvenir shop and a pharmacy. The pharmacy is the seller we stole 4 euro. also an older woman who works in a store of trouble for us and is constantly trying to trick us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knight22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

It is four star hotel and for they standard it is just fine what you should expect. I stayed there last year with best friend and we had really great time there.. Service totally nice and kind, and anything you need it wont be a problem for them.. Hotel rooms are good and clean with big bathrooms mirrors all around :D We did not have such a great look from the balcony but anyway we liked a room a lot.. Pools are not so big, but they are clean, but since the hotel beach is right across the street we did not even used them.. Hotel food was great, it was mostly sea food and fruits, and even if we were warned we should take medicines cause we can have problems with Egyptian food, we did not took any and we had no problems with stomach issues at all.. Beach was not so big, but it was clean and great, one part of beach is peaceful so you can enjoy the silence, and at the other there is all day fun.. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice vacation..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mila_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Mashrabiya
Al Mashrabiya
#162 of 221 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#152 of 221 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun & Sea Hotel
Sun & Sea Hotel
#172 of 221 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#177 of 221 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysees

Property: Elysees
Address: El Sheraton Road | next to Marriott Hotel, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#80 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#104 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#112 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysees Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing