We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best quality / price/ privacy”
Review of Elysees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elysees
Ranked #151 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the best quality / price/ privacy”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I was expecting more for my first time in Egypt, the hotel quality vs price vs privacy. U can rest everyone is trying to sell u something all the time. I came here for the view and to get some rest ( holidays ) but u can, because everyone is trying to sell u something att all time. Even in the hotel.but the overall very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank octavio205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    57
    37
    45
    30
See reviews for
52
63
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arilje, null, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I was there with my girlfriend, okt.25-nov.5 2011.and it was very nice. Even better that we expect.... The location of the hotel is probably the best in Hurgada(also near by hotel Mariot 5*), because is between the old and new part of town. Belive me, that is very important. Rooms are clean, bed is big enough for 2 adult people :-) with central air condition, 2 swimming pool..... We have no problem with hot water, food is what we expect,but only sugestion is- it could be more fish food & fruit, hey we're on Egipt, on red sea... For the touris who want to by or drink some alcohol, you can only buy on the end of the new part-Memsa, in "duty free", but only with your passport...and 15 metters from that store is the best salesman in Egipt, Ali.......big hello for him..... And one warning- Egipt is the only country in the world who have a papir money for 50 cents ( half of euro, dolar, pound......) and beware when you buying something, expecially on the street.. Hotel beach is very nice, with excellent spa center(Horus), where you can really enjoy, the sea is beatifull, staff on the beach is allways smile and ready to help you.... There you can find a local guide-Mohamed, who can take you to some fantastic trip to safari, diving,snorkling,,,,etc....on the end, hope to see you again-Egipt,Hurghada,Elysses.......:-))))))

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Radosav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I was there 4 times and this is the first time i feel there is some thing changed, the staff smile, the service better, the room cleaner there is always some one listen.
I like to be there

Room Tip: pool view room, main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stefanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

It supposed to be a 4 star hotel, but it's definitely not. Rather 3 and considering constant lack of water and level of reception service even 2.
The only really nice thing was the temperature of water in the swimming pool, but I guess it's normal in Egypt.
Rooms were clean, equipped in a flat screen TV and a free safe box.
The bad things now.
Almost every evening we didn't have hot water, some rooms didn’t have water at all.
Food was OK, one day good, another day just edible. Restaurant tables were not cleaned quickly; to eat you had to remove plates after somebody else by yourself and sit by the dirty table. Once I saw a roach in there.
I didn't like the service, they had stupid jokes e.g. pretending that they spill coffee over you or serving only a spoonful of food pretending that you will not get more.
After 6 you couldn't have a drink, even water (they wouldn't give it to you one minute to 6 even if you begged) and the swimming pool was closed.
One day we had a very unpleasant event. We were waken up by a phonecall - rude receptionist shouted that the manager wanted to see us, he sounded like we would have done something wrong. It turned out later that they accused us of breaking the TV.
I was appalled by such rude behaviour and requested the apologies. I never found out what it was about because the TV was working normally. They might have confused the rooms or what. Anyway, we were never apologised.
I do not recommend the hotel. From tourists in other hotels I know that they were more satisfied.

Room Tip: The east views ara probably the best but then you have street noise. Construction sites all around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank i s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Belgrade
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

From the first point of view, it doesn't look like you will be satisfied with this hotel. Especially because the criteria for hotels in Egypt and everywhere else, are totally different. It is surrounded by big constructions which are not finished, but placed in the best place for vacation, which is very important for Hurghada. It is quite place in the middle of city, between the old and traditional area (where is always big crowd, jam, a lot of people trying to sell sth) and modern but expensive part of Hurgada (which is not interesting as well). So, hotel is well positioned. It has very good beach, 50 meter from the hotel, and the best animator all around the world :) (Tito). Food is as everywhere in Egypt, with lot of unknown spices but good. Hotel is clean and staff is very polite. After all, when you realized that every hotel in Egypt is not as well as it looks like in advertisement, you will be very satisfied with this hotel. Not exclusive, but clean and interesting. I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank peljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Hotel has 3 stars, but from my opinion it deserves more, especially by Egyptian standards. Service was OK. Room was cleaned every day with new towels. For bedding it was changed but not every day.
Room was very nice, clean, with LCD TV, safe box. Toilet is big, clean, with big tub, hair drier. Only complaint that there is not terrace ,but rooms in some part of hotels have terrace.
Location is very good. To new downtown Memsha distance is 10 minutes on foot. To old downtown Sakala you can go with taxi for 5 Egyptian Pounds (0,6 euro), to beautiful new Marina fr 10 pounds (1,2 euro).
Food in hotel is OK, but every day is almost same. After 7,8 days I skiped lunch or dinner and ate in some restaurants or McDonald's.
All inclusive contains of drinks in plastic glasses (Coca Cola, Sprite, Fanta, domestic beer, vodka, rum) on beach bar and on the pool. During dinner and lunch you can also drink domestic drinks in glasses. Also there is two times a day snack on the pool, bu it is very decent.
There are two pools medium size. In one of them is bar (all inclusive).
Beach is more than OK. You get new towels every day. There are deck chair with big umbrella on beach and on the pontoon. Animation is similar every day. It contains of yoga, sketching, aquabik, picado, belly dance, volley ball and it last about 1 hour. The rest of day you enjoy in listening music (which is same every day) and sunbathing.
In hotel lobby there is free Wi-Fi medium speed.

Room Tip: If you can chose pick rooms with terrace and with look on the pool, because if room has look on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Danilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

have to cross the main road to get the "private beach" were locals go in there aswell, no food on the beach, the food is the same everyday, theres no animation, and after 6 you cant get a drink in the hotel you have to go outside on the main street to a pub to get a drink, only till 10:00pm then you have to pay. the pools very unsafe for children.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lorraperring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Mashrabiya
Al Mashrabiya
#164 of 222 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#152 of 222 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun & Sea Hotel
Sun & Sea Hotel
#170 of 222 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#176 of 222 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysees

Property: Elysees
Address: El Sheraton Road | next to Marriott Hotel, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysees 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysees Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing