We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely big posh hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albatros Palace Resort
Ranked #39 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really lovely big posh hotel!”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My finace and I stayed here All inclusive last week and thoroughly enjoyed our week. The hotel is just 15 mins drive from the airport but if you are the last drop off of a coach transfer like we were, it took an hour. I would recommend a private taxi. The hotel gave us a lovely welcome, it looked amazing with arabian architechture and beautiful lobby. We got a perfect room as requested, third floor, quiet, king-size bed. The room was spacious with nice bathroom and balcony, hairdryer (bit slow) fridge (makes loud noises at night so u may wish to unplug it like we did) and safe with plenty of room for passports, wallets, keys, mobiles, jewellery. We forgot our code once but phoned reception and they gave us some tips how to get it back quickly. The bed was very comfy and we had a sofa too which came in handy for storing suitcases etc. There were only 8 hangers in the wardrobe so take a few of your own. The hotel had several large pools but were freezing this time of year, kids slides, outside food court and swim-up bar. Inside there were several bars/ cafes, four restaurants for dinner (Asian, arabian, mediterranean and Italian. All of the food was really lovely and fresh and varied. We didnt get a tummy bug at all. There were always plenty of sunbeds, singles, doubles or triples! You can use the waterslides next door. The staff are brilliant! They really appreciated the small frequent tips we gave them. (10 egyptian pounds- £1.50) then they saved tables for us, brought extra drinks without being asked etc. We had a really lovely time and would recommend the hotel to anyone. The only niggle was that the shower tray never emptied of water so it was always wet when you stepped in and if you have a long shower it can flood the floor.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmtomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    265
    92
    38
    25
See reviews for
321
403
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

this hotel is fantastic there is a lot of choice for food although a some of it is quite spicey
egyptian people are very nice and helpful ,getting back to the hotel you do not have to pay for any extras such as the beach towels & safe in the room. it is very upmarket and we loved it ,on the down side there are a lot of russians that stay there and they push in front for drinks and food the other thing that we found disturbing was the jeweller in the foyer locks you in the shop to make a sale ,but my husband reported him to reception so maybe he has learned his lesson ,dont let this put you off we will return next year

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Having booked this hotel when it was rated Number 1, we watched with horror, as review after review seemed to highlight problems and issues that people had had, everything from over booking to rude staff! And the rating dropped.

Well, our experience could not have been smoother, easier or more pleasant. We booked ‘Mo’ to sort out the visa and transfers, (I’m sure you’ll find his details on here some where), so were through the airport pretty quickly and arrived at the hotel, check-in took all of 5 minutes and we were shown to our room, which was clean, tidy, had a good bathroom with walk in shower, and was kept very clean and tidy by the staff daily, even our shoes were lined up for us. We didn’t have a pool view, but as we discovered this meant although we didn’t have a pretty view, we did have the sun all day on the balcony. We were in the right hand wing if you’re facing the sea.

The hotel itself is clean beyond belief; I even saw them cleaning the roof one day!! The pool area is huge, and although the children’s pool, and pool nearest to the beach were heated the main pool (the one with the swim up bar) was freezing and I mean freezing. Although of course we did go in, just to say we’d been in all the pools, but only for about 10 seconds!!

The beach is not much to speak of, but the sun beds (one of my main grips usually) are very comfy, and each has its own umbrella and rattan type wind break. There are even some ‘hut’ style ones which can accommodate 4 sun beds. We never had any trouble getting a spot even late morning. The pontoon is great for swimming and snorkelling or even just watching the fish.

Splash became our favourite place for lunch, having tried the food court, however, we did visit there for crepes at around 4.00 daily. Drinks were always readily available, there are at least a couple of bars open at any one time, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised to find the wine very ‘drinkable’ especially the rose, although occasionally I had to ask for some ice to be put in, demand meant there wasn’t always time to chill the bottles/boxes.
I guess the only thing that doesn’t live up to the rating is the food. There is a really good choice with 4 restaurants to choose from, but being a buffet, self-service, its not haute cuisine. The Tangin was our usual haunt (they did the best bread), though the Asian did a great curry or sweet and sour too. You’ll always find something to eat, even if its pizza or pasta. Though the same old cakes for dessert did get a bit dull, it would have been nice to have a fruit salad (they did some for breakfast, so why not in the evening?) or cheesecake.
Finally, we also did the day trip to Luxor and whilst a very long day I would say it’s very worth it, though I would certainly think twice about going any where near the summer months, it must have been well over 30 degrees in the valley of the kings and that was the first week of January.
All in all would I recommend this hotel? I have to say yes I would, especially if like us, you get it at the right price, it makes a great bargain and a great break from the British winter, think I might go for two weeks next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimble12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURKEY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We just sent a week over the Christmas period at the Albatross Palace Hotel what can I say “wow “this place was just fantastic, beautiful spacious rooms, lovely swimming pool, beach and the food was out of this world. As well has wonderful Egyptian food there is Chinese, Indian, Thai, Italian, Mediterranean and a beautiful Moroccan restaurant you can choose from. We are extremely picky when it comes to food and can honestly say the food here was just the best. All the staff where so so friendly and could not do enough for you. The reception team at the front desk were the best, so helpful with everything we needed. We have already booked to go back in February. Really could not recommend it highly enough. We just loved this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

As with a lot of previous reviewers we did a fair bit of research before going and were slightly put off before we went due to some of the negative feedback, all I can say is that their experience was very different to ours.
We booked with First Choice and paid around £430 each, our party was 4 adults and 2 kids aged 3 yrs and 10 yrs.
When we arrived we were slightly worried due to reading reports of people being sent o alternative hotelsa through overbooking, I recon this was because people had booked with independant companies- I can honestly say that Thompson /First Choice guests were treated very well indeed, there was no problem at all, checking in was relaxed and effecient, staff were very friendly and competent. Whilst waiting we walked through the very impresive reception area out onto the terrace overlloking the poole areas and all said "wow". It is a really seriously impressive view across the pools to the sea.
The hotel was relatively quiet as we travelled off season from 27th Nov to 11th Dec.
Weather
Weather was fine, it was about 20 degrees or just over during the day but by about 3.30pm the sun was not warm enough to sunbathe. At night the temp dropped quite a bit and you needed a jumper or fleece if sitting outside.
Sea
Sea was what we expected, beach very average at best but step out onto the pontoon, walk down and get snorkelling, we did and had a wonderful time, we also bought an underwater camera. You can swim right next to the reefs on both sides & stand up in the water (adults) so it is pretty safe. There are loads of lovely coloured fish to see & it would be a shmae not to take this opportunity. We have travelled around a bit having family in Australia but have not seen anything as good as this.
Entertainment
Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss but we made our own entertainment and enjoyed relaxing with drinks and a decent meal. There always seemed to be something to do and the hotel is huge so no problems. Soem nights we played pool in the billiards room and often went into the basha bar where there was a massive sofa we all laid around on, the kids thought this was great.
Service was absolutely spot on, the waiters all made a fuss of the kids and made paper flowers for them and did tricks etc.
Cleaning
Cleanliness was unbeleivable, they cleaned very thoroughly and continually each day, rooms were all made up to a high standard & they rearranged stuff if you got a bit messy. Outside the paths were cleaned day and night by washing and scrubbing. At dusk they had an mosquito smoke thing that they took all around the grounds, my wife was bitten several times (she is tasty) but the rest of the party escaped other than my sister who was bitten at the airport on the way back.
Food
The food was good, there are 4 restaurants, mediterranean, italian, egyptian (Tagine) & asian and all were fine. We preferred the decor in the egyptian which was lovely and enjoyed decent meals & super service there.
2 of our party were ill (one was me) and not through anything to do with the hotel - I am ashamed to admit the cocktails & beers for lunch and then dinner probably contributed.
At meal times there was plenty of choice & plenty of food, we never once queued for anything and often waiters would bring along drinks especially after they started to get to know you.
I really liked breakfasts, it is a treat to get something cooked as normally it is a mad rush every day. Freshly baked croissants & nicely done scrambled eggs my fave, you could have eggs specially doen for you - omlettes etc. Loads of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts, crepes etc.
At dinner times, you could get pizzas, pasta, selection of meats, all pretty good. Fresh veg, fruits and selection of desserts.
Between lunch and dinner there were crepes served near the food court out at the side of the pool areas, these were freshly cooked and decent.
Upstairs there were cafes serving proper cappucino anytime and you could get bottled water and any drinks, local spirits but branded soft drinks coke, fanta, shweppes mixers for g and t and so on. Cocktails were fine and staff worked very hard to ensure noone was kept waiting.
The room was a standard but overlooked the sea & was in the last block away from restaurants so very quiet. It was well appointed with fridge (stocked with water every day) flat screen TV with a few english speaking channels CNN, Fox movies etc. The beds were big and pretty comfy - I am tall and have a bad back so this was welcome, There were twin beds (both nearly double sized) and a standard single for our daughter.
The bathroom was excellent, marble and tiled with good quality fittings & very clean. A walk in shower which always worked well & little toileteries if you need that sort of stuff.
We were next door but one to our sister and family so it was good for the kids to be near each other.
For the kids there was access to the brilliant big water park next door at sister hotel, albatros beach gardens- just a quick walk across an internal road. Guests at the palace could not drink or eat there but use rest of facilities which we did. There was a kids park, 18 hole crazy golf, nice hot indoor swimming pool. The slides were really good, for the adults it was the first time we had done that and had some great fun and got good images.
Back at the palace there was a nice big kids pool with mini water slides and features, this was heated & there was also a decent sized heated adult pool (deeper) closest to the beach. The main pool is HUGE about 150 metres long, very wide with features like bridges and a swim up bar. This pool was very cold when we were there & not many people braved it sticking to the heated separate pools.
Sunbeds no problem to get anywhere beach or pool - we tended to go for 4 poster canopied ones, all had cushions and were not hard plastic but decent wooden ones all in good order.
We did a trip to luxor which was a very long day but worth seeing Karnack temple, Luxor temple and valley of the kings - it took about 3 and a half hours and were on the coach by 5.00am & travelling. The trip was pricey (£86 adult) through Thompson so beware, other trips were avilable locally including Cairo but this sounded way too far for a coach trip- porbably better to do trip by air and overnight there to get best out of it.
We went with quite low expectations having never been to egypt before & were pleasantly surprised. Normally we go to Greek Islands in summer but work etc meant we could not do this & had to book very late on. We ended up having a lovely holiday in a really nice hotel. We visited other hotels on pick ups for trips etc and I have to say ours looked really good compared to some.
Our overall impression was that people were genuinely friendly, sometimes a bit pushy but you get used to it and it is thier way of doing business. Once you accept that you will be OK.
We did worry about whether or not we should tip and how much, we came to the conclusion that if you thought someone weent the extra mile you should recognise that, we often gave relatively small tips of say £10 or £20 egyptian (£1 or £2 sterling) and gave £5 egyptian to those who really made our holiday special on the last day.
My advice, there are 5 star and then there are 5 star - this hotel is genuinely well kitted out and relatively new so everything is in good order. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Have a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveyBDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athis-mons
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2009

the Waiters and bar personal was very friendly most of the were able to speak even polish russian an all the others were english speaking ,it was very easy to communicate. It was really great i can only recommend it .if u are there u´ve got to try the snorkling,it is just a dream.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belairprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Arrived at airport and was shouted at by the Egyptians because we were told by First Choice we diddnt need a visa if we stayed in the Hotel which was rubbish, so not a great start.
Got dropped off at Hotel which was by far the best we had seen all the rest look terrible.

Hotel was very very clean and big, staff were perverts and continuously eyed the women up and down and pesterd you for tips or changing up money. Pool was soo cold that no one and I mean no one went in and food was average I supose as good as you will get in a all inclusive.

If you want to go out the Hotel DONT trust me the people are rude aggresive and just after your money they lock you in shops until you pay.
If you want a break go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben_Fran2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park
Albatros Aqua Park
#15 of 222 in Hurghada
457 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
2,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Albatros Resort
Beach Albatros Resort
#76 of 222 in Hurghada
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dana Beach Resort
Dana Beach Resort
#27 of 222 in Hurghada
1,291 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#10 of 222 in Hurghada
357 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Palace Resort

Property: Albatros Palace Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Hurghada - Red Sea - Egypt, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on 72,000 sqm, the Albatros Palace Resort delivers a beautiful beach side oasis with a wide variety of activities and attractions. The distinction of this luxurious 5-star resort lies in its great architecture, warm hospitality, finest in accommodation, dining and facilities. It is only 15 minutes from Hurghada Airport and 20 minutes from the city center. Albatros Palace Resort ensures guest comfort in every way and provides rooms and suites designed with a true sense of luxury. At this all inclusive resort, there are more opportunities for fun and adventure than you will have time to indulge in with just one visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albatros Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Palace Hurghada
Albatros Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing