We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fab time had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albatros Palace Resort
Ranked #41 of 208 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fab time had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our 5th trip to Egypt but our first to Hurghada. 2/8/13-9/8/13

On the whole we had a great time and can not fault the hotel at all, the only aspect that perhaps affected the children was the lack of other English people in the hotel. For the first 3 days it was just us, then a family of 9 arrived from England. My boys did kind of play with the Russian and German kids but of course conversation was limited. It wasn't a problem for me though!
The staff work tirelessly and were so friendly and helpful, they are even nicer when they realise you are English!
I did not use the spa, I was asked for a couple of days but just kept saying no, they got the message and left me alone. Also I didn't leave the hotel unless on organised trips as I was on my own with the kids, I thought that would be safest so I can't comment on what the nightlife outside the complex was like.

Food:
At first we found it all quite overwhelming as there are six themed restaurants, which each night all three of us wanted to try different ones....awkward! But after a few days we settled into the Mediterranean one. Myself and my eldest son tried everything, I don't understand the comments saying the food is repetitive as we tried something new every lunch and dinnertime. None of us got Delhi belly and we ate the fish/salad and had ice in our drinks.

Drinks:
The spirits are harsh and not of our quality but its a dry country on the whole, I guess they don't place too much emphasis on the quality of the alcohol. A rose spritzer or a shandy suited me perfectly. The kids were happy with pop or fruit cocktails. The powdered juices mixed with water have been served in every hotel I've been to in Egypt, so I wasn't surprised, it's no biggy!

Pool:
Pool area was spotless, the life guards worked tirelessly. Ice cream, pancakes and doughnuts are served all day by the pool along with the swim up bar and the pool side bar. The slides are for little ones but we went next door to the sister hotel to use the bigger ones. Unfortunately you have to buy an inflatable ring to use the white slide as they are not provided, you can get on for a fiver though. Best thing though was we never struggled for sunbeds, no getting up at 6am to reserve them like in Sharm, in fact reserving beds was prohibited.

Entertainment:
The best entertainment I've experienced in Egypt was at the Holiday Village in Sharm, but that was organised and carried out by English people. The animation team here were made up of two Germans and two Russians, but they worked so hard and spoke so many different languages they were great. Mini disco for little ones followed by magic shows/dance shows/comic sketches and a hilarious Mr and Mrs competition. By Egyptian standards the entertainment was pretty good!

Snorkelling:
There is a few coral reefs off the hotel pier that provide great snorkelling, lots of nemos and Gills to see :-)

Room:

Had everything we needed, cleaned every day, flat screen tv, air con, free safe.

We will return!!

Room Tip: I'd suggest a pool room, the view is great. We were in 1133 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBoultons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    216
    76
    32
    25
See reviews for
259
310
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

definatly not a 5* more like a 3* food was repetative and cold in all resturants not a good choise in any of them asiatic the worst service on the 2 nites we went in there no plates or drinks available for at least 30 mins .hotel grounds and pool is immaculatly kept clean and tidy rooms also clean and well presented.entertainment in foyer very basic and repetative.such a shame as this could be a brilliant hotel if attention to this is done . foyer seating needs replacing leather seating dirty and springs sticking up not a good first impression .we would not return to this hotel if this is a 5* wouldnot like 2 see a 3* in the area.such shame as this could be a fantastic place if they change just a few things.

Room Tip: pool view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

An excellent hotel with 6 restaurants and 4 bars and a coffee bar. We went last year and returned this year and was recognised by many of the staff who speak good English and have a good sense of humour. We were given a pool view room on the ground floor despite only paying 1st Choice for a garden view because my mother had a leg injury and they stated as they knew us from last year they would give us a nice room. The rooms are large and comfortable with a fridge, safe and flat screen TV. The pool is huge. Please ignore any negative reviews re this hotel as some people just can't be pleased. The hotel is constantly being cleaned and the gardens and pools are well tended. This Hotel is soooo good we have now been 3 times

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzyBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

definitely not a 4* or 5 star hotel, cracked, chipped glasses not once or twice but every day! chipped crockery, had to chase for cutlery as they only lay places for 3!!?? NEVER take a glass from one bar to another unless you wish to be told off, the food was ok but VERY repetitive. leather seating in foyer looks plus but in reality you need to sit carefully - either sagging seats or spring up the rear. We asked the animation team for a disc of there wake up don't be lazy music - paid £10.00 and got a blank disc. Power cuts every day. Yes the staff work hard and are forever cleaning but that is to keep the flies at bay I expect. the photos on the web sites do not apply to this hotel - it caters well for kids and if you want to drink yourself silly but it is def not a top hotel - even by Egyptian standards we have stayed in better 3*. sorry would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandrawicker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

For us was just perfect. Good variety and quantity of food, superb pool, great spa. It has it all! The location is poor, but who cares; you have everything inside. And the personnel make you feel really at home, provide that you tip them ( usually a smile and good manners do the job; for rudeness they have plenty of other customers). Absolutely recommended.

Room Tip: Pool view are better, but noisy. The street is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvahertog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

all was very nice. would have liked to have ice cubes and beer in my room. the pool was fantastic. The beach was not really that great. The salt water pool is a very good idea. Food waqs real good and the variaty was excellent. the wnes were also good

Room Tip: close to the main building, pool side or garden side does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodneyrentschler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel friendly staff but they need to sort more entertainment out for the daytime and evenings .They also need to do more variety with there food alot of it was same day in day out.
Also dont leave any money on the dressing table as my husband left his birthday money on side by his cards and the cleaner took it he saw the rep out there and explained what happened and he said that he probably thought it was a tip but when husband said no as he gave him a tip every time he done room he said would get back to him but he never did.so lock everything away in the safe.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy67Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park
Albatros Aqua Park
#84 of 208 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albatros Resort Hotel Hurghada
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#11 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#26 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Albatros Resort
Beach Albatros Resort
#56 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dana Beach Resort
Dana Beach Resort
#20 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Palace Resort

Property: Albatros Palace Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Hurghada - Red Sea - Egypt, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#46 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on 72,000 sqm, the Albatros Palace Resort delivers a beautiful beach side oasis with a wide variety of activities and attractions. The distinction of this luxurious 5-star resort lies in its great architecture, warm hospitality, finest in accommodation, dining and facilities. It is only 15 minutes from Hurghada Airport and 20 minutes from the city center. Albatros Palace Resort ensures guest comfort in every way and provides rooms and suites designed with a true sense of luxury. At this all inclusive resort, there are more opportunities for fun and adventure than you will have time to indulge in with just one visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Albatros Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Palace Hurghada
Albatros Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing