We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“EXCELLENT HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Festival Le Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Festival Le Jardin
Ranked #113 of 207 Hotels in Hurghada
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After reading 2 very bad reviews, we were in doubts of going. But, I am so glad we did. This was a much need holiday, after retiring from the pub business. We had a lovely room with a view of the sea (no extra cost). The staff were more than helpful and friendly. Only 1 barman took 3 days to start to smile at us, when we persisted. I think it is mostly the language barrier that makes some people think they are unfriendly.Mostly, we constantly were greeted and helped by very pleasant staff members. Very often, we would find our drinks already anticipated and ready for us, as we approached the bar, as they remembered what we drank. The food was good, for those who could eat spicy food, but being one of those that can't, I always still found something to eat, and I did eat a lot. We tried the theme restaurants and of the 2, we by far preferred the MamaMia one by far, with its very friendly staff and good food. The asian restaurant, in the sister resort, we found unpersonal and the food cold, needless to say, we only went once. We did have a bit of a hiccup with MamaMia, in that the Head Chef entered the toilets whilst my husband was there, and never washed his hands afterwards. We mentioned this to the customer service staff and quickly found hand steriliser placed at the enterance of the restaurants. The customer service staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable,clean and spaceous. The only blight, was that the bathrooms are looking a little 'tired' and need sprucing up. If there was a problem, when we mentioned it, they quickly sorted it out. The pool and beach area was fabulous. Their spa was really good too, when we spoilt ourselves to a Pharaoh's Massage. I fell ill during the first week with bronchitis and was treated very well by the local doctor and the hotel staff thereafter, with fruit baskets and cakes for the following week too. Every now and then a random staff member or manager would ask how I was. They could not do enough for us. We enjoyed the excursions too, except for the 'Shop n Rock' trip. This was a waste of time and money. We were told we would have steak, but this 'steak' turned out to be a plain burger at Hard Rock Cafe. Drinks were astonishingly expensive. 4 drinks cost us the equivalent of £50 Sterling! The quad bike ride was good, but very restricted, although the guide was very friendly and funny and kept saying 'Come to Papa'. The next trip into the desert in 4x4's was really good and we had a wonderful guide and driver. At the resort, the restaurant manager Faraq was excellent and so friendly. Yes, there were many Russians, some of which were very arrogant, but they are visitors, just like us and not the responsibility of the resort. Overall, we would definitely like to spend time there again some time in the future and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: To enjoy the view, do ask for a room overlooking the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    178
    112
    79
    69
See reviews for
155
254
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cwmbran
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here 2 years back witj my god mother and her daughter, the location was ok but outside our hotel there was buildings witch were have done, and around the corner was a little waste land. But it was a mile away, the beach was lovley and there are plenty of pools, the nearest onw by the sea is really salty thou.

The food was great, I recommend the restaurant near the sencond small pool only british people were aloud in that one witch was good as the Russian's were far to rude! But the main food hall was not the the best.

The weather was perfect lush hot sunny days we had there, also went to water parka wit h wrre great.

The staff were lovley but watch out forthe pool guards they can be nasty and pervy on the woman

Overall I had a great time :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coreey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

On arrival my room was not ready, I was offered a room 7 rooms away from my daughter even though I had rung 6 weeks before my holiday to request 2 rooms on the ground floor together as my husband is disabled. As the room was not ready we were told 'go eat', we went into the restaurant there was no table to sit at, no cups or glasses, the food was cold, some plates were dirty, this was a common theme throughout the stay. All 3 of us suffered sickness due to poor hygeine! BE AWARE LADIES: the staff will enter your room without knocking and will ignore the do not disturb signs, this happened on 3 occasions when my daughter was alone in her room. the management felt several fruit baskets was a suitable compensation for this upset. In the hotel bar there were dead flies these only grew in volume throughout the stay. My daughters room had an ants nest, inside and outside there were dead and alive ants. This was swept away when we complained but did not have pest control treatment so it came back. The staff are equally as rude as their guests (the russians) clearly they do not like a british guest and made no effort to make this holiday enjoyable. The lift didn't always work. The lights in the room didn't work. The staff asked for tips. The rooms were barley cleaned. The air conditioning didn't work for half the holiday. The safe didn't open. The cleaners helped themselves to sweets etc in your room. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IT IS HORRIFIC. THIS IS MY 7TH TIME IN EGYPT AND IT IS THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE STAYED IN!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from our 7 night holiday and will not be returning. Not because of the hotel or the staff but due to the number of Russians.

We stayed here three years ago and enjoyed our holiday so much we vowed to return (wish we hadn't)The hotel is showing it's age but the rooms are clean and spacious with English channels on the television. All the staff are very helpful and are happy to do anything you ask, just be careful when you decided to tip this could go either way ie they can change as fast as the weather.

Food is boring and the hotel caters for the Russians. Breakfast is the same everyday, lunch is a mix of chicken, burgers or hot dogs everyday with either rice or chips. Dinner is again either chicken or grilled fish. The chicken is varied either in a stew, breaded or battered but it is still chicken and believe me after 7 days of chicken for lunch and dinner, it doesn't matter how it's cooked it gets boring!!!

The Russians are very rude and ignorant. They never smile or respond if you say hello, sorry etc. They push in when you are waiting to be served either at the bars or in the restaurant and if you say anything they look at you as if they have something on the bottom of there shoe.

This hotel has changed over the last three years and we will not be returning again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janet271166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejardinresort, Guest Service Center Officer at Festival Le Jardin, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel second time and sharing your feedback with us and in the same time we want to express our regret that you didn’t enjoy your holiday in Festival Le Jardin Resort.

We would like to draw your attention to the point that the hotel is multicultural resort, accommodating many nationalities, depending from season of the year.

Concerning your comments about the food, management discussed this during our meeting to take action.

We look forward to seeing you and family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable. For any further information for your next vacation please contact us: gsc.lj@festivalhotels-egypt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a travel talk tour. We arrived at 9pm and were still able to eat at the buffet. The lobby and reception area are huge and very fancy. We had an all-inclusive bracelet that allowed us to eat and drink as much as we liked. The hotel is set on the beach of the Red Sea, it has a heap of pools a really nice garden area two or three bars. The rooms are big but we asked for a double and got two singles. The other disappointing thing is that there was no hot water in the shower, for a resort of this size I thought there would be hot water. The buffet food was nice and a lot to choose from. The resort and rooms are clean and everything is catered for but it is a large resort with a large number of tourists and not a lot of quite space to escape the crowd. The staff were friendly and happy and enjoyed a chat if given the chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwis_can_fly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejardinresort, Guest Service Center Officer at Festival Le Jardin, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback and helping us improving our services.

We would like to express our regret that you didn't enjoy your holiday in our hotel, we do apologize if your stay was uncomfortable. Your comments have been discussed with the hotel management, action have been taken concerning hot water, maintenance has been made for all water heating system and this problem has been solved.

We wish to welcome you back in Festival Le Jardin Resort assuring you to make your holiday more comfortable.

Thanks & Best Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

After reading mixed reviews about this place, we were hoping for the best from this hotel. This is going to be a very mixed review itself. I travelled with my partner last July.
The hotel itself is stunning, really clean and could not fault the room we had at all. Most if not all of the rooms have sea views which are lovely.
There are so many pools, very large in size and very well cleaned, some which are shared with the twin hotel next door. Swim up bar is a nice touch. However, the alcohol is very weak with it being all-inclusive and extremely sugary.
The area of hurghada itself is beautiful, the sea and beach lovely. I would wait and book excursions from the thomas cook rep who is usually near reception desk. Be careful of those in the gift shops inside the hotel too, often try to rip you off or pressure you into buying things.
There are also men that wonder around the pools and try to offer you massages. DO NOT LET THEM. One came behind me and began massaging my neck without permission and only stopped with my partner forcefully telling him too, then tried to charge us for his services!!!
When we stayed we were the ONLY english people there, wouldn't have been a problem but all the entertainment at night was in russian, all the food was catered for them, they were rude and pushed in front of people at bars, put all their towels down at 4-5am (not even joking). We didn't meet a single other english person until the day we were leaving.
The main part of this hotel that lets it down is the food. I'm not a fussy eater at all but it was terrible. This is the only holiday in my entire life where I have come back having lost weight. Breakfast was alright, what you'd expect but nothing to shout about. Lunch became very repitive, just burgers and chips everyday by the pool that were exceptionally greasy or last nights pasta warmed up. The salad tasted gone off. Dinner was even worse. No meals seemed to be catered towards english/americans at all. Unless you arrived staright away, food was almost always cold. I survived off bread rolls all week long. Having said that, the a-la carte italian resturant was amazing! Very friendly staff too.
The staff in general were very helpful, polite, etc but not as friendly and outgoing as staff elsewhere.
Overall it is a nice hotel, but nothing to rave about and the food lets it down. Although this is not the hotels fault, the amount of russians majorly let it down. I would not return unfortunatley. Pay attention to the bad reviews because they really are true...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejardinresort, Guest Relations Officer at Festival Le Jardin, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are concerned that we could not meet your expectation while you’re last Holiday. Festival Le Jardin is a hotel which is getting a good feedback from our reviewer, however we also understand that sometimes something may well go wrong.

Your feedback is very important and can help us to improve our quality of service.

I can assure you that many actions have been taken, concerning the food, since in July 2012 we upgraded the buffet, additionally, we have many live cocking stations for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This fact is confirmed with many positive reviews from our guests during last period.

As for salesmen we took action like more supervision from the security team and recreation department at the beach and around the pools to avoid any other incident. In the same time we believe that red flag system could solve this problem, as we didn’t receive comment related to this issue after implementing the new system. We would be very thankful if you could contact us on our email gsc.lj@festivalhotels-egypt.com and give more details about your incident.

Dear Guest, we only blame ourselves we could not have you better enjoy your holiday, we apologize and we hope we would have the chance to welcoming you again in Festival Le Jardin as we wish restore your faith on the good quality of services we offer.


Thank you,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a nice place to stay. Hotel was clean, room was ok. Food is average, but ok. Pool areas are nice. Nice place to go with kids or without. Staff was friendly.
Medical help was very good, there is doctor 24/7.
There is big area to stay, and you can use two other hotel restaurants, pools or sunbath areas close to main building.
All inclusive drinks were ok. Nothing special, and not that bad.
Its worth for 4 star hotel name.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lejardinresort, Guest Relations Officer at Festival Le Jardin, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and your positive comment can be very helpful for our reviewers who are expecting to visit us.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a good holiday in our hotel. It is our aim to meet our guest’s expectations at all times and your excellent ratings for the hotel’s products and services do bring a lot of encouragement to the whole team.

We wish to welcome you back soon in your second home Festival Le Jardin Resort.

Thanks & Best Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.4 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
1.4 mi away
The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Festival Riviera
Festival Riviera
#157 of 207 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
AMC Royal Hotel
AMC Royal Hotel
#67 of 207 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
#105 of 207 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Le Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Le Jardin

Property: Festival Le Jardin
Address: km 11 Ahiaa Rd - North Hurghada, Hurghada 46, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#88 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Festival Le Jardin 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Festival Le Jardin Resort is a 4 star plus resort situated 20 km north of Hurghada International Airport, 15 km from the city center and 10 km from El-Gouna. The resort has been built on 5 floors in an area of 27.000 m2 with a unique view of the magnificent Red Sea. This energized resort caters to satisfy the needs of enjoyable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Festival Le Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Le Jardin Hotel Hurghada
Festival Le Jardin Hurghada
Festival Le Jardin Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing