We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday, fantastic staff make this hotel extra special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
Ranked #30 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday, fantastic staff make this hotel extra special”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the steigenberger aqua
Fantastic hotel with amazing staff who cant do enough for you,they are what makes this great hotel extra special, the service is exceptional

On arrival, we were greeted with a nice refreshing drink, we then checked in which was very quick and efficient and we were pleasantly surprised to be told we had been given a free upgrade to a family suite,

The suite itself was very impressive, it had a living area with a plasma tv, a large bedroom with a lovely big bed and another plasma tv , and a large bathroom with a lovely walk in shower, coffee making facilities and a mini fridge which was stocked up regularly with canned drinks and water

As others have said, the staff and service are fantastic, they wait on you hand on foot,
You dont even have to get up off your sunbed if you dont want too, as the waiters come round asking if you want a drink, and once they know you and what you drink, they often just turn up with a drink without you even asking,

The lazy river is great,lovely and relaxing it takes about 30 mins from start to finish, the barman will even deliver a drink to you whilst your on the lazy river,

The rooftop pool is for adults only and is lovely and peacefull if you just fancy a nice quiet day, It has its own bar and toilet facilities.

For those with young Children the pirate ship is brilliant, and for the older children/adults the water slides at the dolphin pool area are great fun,

The food is very very good for Egypt, I think Egypt generally caters more for the russian/germans anyway, but the food was the best we have had in Egypt, Again the level of service was superb,as soon as waiters saw us they would be over with drinks etc, Breakfast was great, eggs cooked however you like , plenty of cereals and breads , cheese/jam cooked meats etc ,

We usually had lunch at the beach snack bar, just jump on a buggy and it takes you straight there, lovely battered fish and chips, hot dogs, chicken wraps , pizzas made to order etc ,Someone mentioned in an earlier review they were dissappointed by paper plates at the beach bar ? Yes the plates are cardboard at the beach snack bar,, but it is located right on the beach so bearing in mind lots of guests were barefoot,, from an health and safety aspect surely paper plates in that area are the safest option, especially for children, the same reviewer also complained you had to get your own drinks, that is incorrect, there is a self serve if you want to use it, but the waiters are more than happy to get your drinks for you if you dont want to walk the 20 metres or so to the self serve

Evening meals in the main buffet area, even if it wasnt to our taste sometimes, there was always something to eat, there was a carvary stand every night , plus pasta stations , the soup is lovely and there must be at least 15 different breads, plus lots of very tasty deserts,

There is also ice cream, and their version of cornettos/magnums/callypso lollies , during the day ,these are also free and available at the bars by the pools and at the beach snack

The speciality restaurants were lovely, sky bar restaurant was exceptional, ide suggest booking it as soon as you get there as the slots fill up quickly, the fillet steak was excellent, the manager up there is a great guy

The lebanese restaurant which is located in the sister hotel was also nice but we preferred the sky bar restaurant

Entertainment is ok, but could do with some up tempo singers in lobby bar later in evening, there were 2 great male singers towards the end of our stay, and the atmosphere was very good with people up dancing etc

Local taxis are very cheap. we always confirmed the price before setting off and never paid more than a £5 to go into town/harbour etc ,

Dont fall for the trick of them saying they will drop you off at their brothers/uncles shop, you will get harrassed as soon as you step out of taxi to go and look in their shop

There are some shops within walking distance of hotel, just go out the entrance at back, turn left ,be warned though , they do pester you at almost every shop to go in,
Gets really annoying after a while

Hurghada town itself for shopping is awful and we got out quickly, it was a flithy place , the shopkeepers were the most pushy here in trying to get you into their shops,

The harbour area shops are much nicer and the shop keepers less pushy
Loads of the usual copied t shirts, sunglasses etc, good copies of vans pumps are about £10
The Harbour area itself is lovely, some great boats/yatchs there, a pint of stella was about £1.70, and quiet a few bars there were showing all the premiership football games.

A few other tips

The exchange rate in the hotel was 11.5 egyptian pounds to 1 english pound, which was a much better rate than we got in the uk , the atm machine takes notes and cards

Free wifi in lobby, we could also pick up the same signal by the pool .

For us ladies, ghd dual voltage hair straightners work fine in the plug sockets, but in our room the sockets were not near a mirror, so mabye pack a small compact mirror just in case,

Irons and ironing boards are available if needed, just ask at reception
There is a large free digital safe in the room ,big enough for laptops and ipads etc

There are lots of sunbeds all over the pool areas , you dont have to be up at the crack of down to reserve a bed, there are always lots available at any time of day

On summing up, It really is a great hotel and deserves all its 5 star reviews

All the staff were great, and really couldnt do enough for you,
But ide like to say an extra special thank you to the following members of staff who we had a lot of contact with and who made the holiday extra special

Walleed Ahmed, pool bar waiter , (absolute star, had us laughing every day with his humour)
Adam and Ossama Saed pool bar,
Danielle guest relations,
Magdy entertainment ,
Walleed, dolphin pool ,
Asaad Fayed, dining room waiter,
Moatz Ali, Lobby bar waiter,
Adel Healey, beach snack bar

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bloomers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wae-Aboelseoud, Manager at Steigenberger Aqua Magic, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments after your recent visit to our Resort. The feedback and comments that we receive from our guests are invaluable to us as they form part of our ongoing training and assist us in refining our services.

We are delighted to see that you were very pleased and satisfied with our facilities and services and have, indeed, thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I have shared your compliments with all our staff who are very proud that their efforts and work were recognized and appreciated.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back Steigenberger Aqua Magic.


Dieter Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,247
    538
    209
    79
    71
See reviews for
1,416
863
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent a week from 25th march until 1st April at this hotel and had a great time. We met some great people, Dave and glyn and Carolyn and Dave to name a few, we had a great laugh. Their were 2 couples in our party and we were both upgraded to a family suite. We were both above the pirate ship and did think we were going to be woken by the bell on the ship early in the morning, we didn't have to worry as the bell didn't start til mid morning. Our room was 4330. A lovely, clean, very spacious room with a filled mini bar, coffee and tea facilities and complimentary toiletries.
The food in the buffet restaurant was very nice, always lots of choice and always being checked, I presumed to make sure their was enough, as I saw plenty of fresh trays being put out. The sky al a-carte restaurant was beautiful. The staff couldn't do enough for you, but then again it was like this all over the hotel. There was the odd occasion where you had to catch their eye but it wasn't a problem.
There are so many pools around, plus the very relaxing lazy river. We spent a lot of time on the roof top terrace next to the pool or lying around on the sun loungers in the pool, next to the bar where the staff were always happy to bring your drinks.
Fady and others were brilliant at the sky bar, always bringing drinks and nibbles or if chilly a blanket. There were so many staff always happy to help or to have a laugh with that we can't name them all. We also went to the beach once. The walk is very pretty through the golf course but the sand on the beach is quite gravelly. We would like to say a big thank you to you all and see you at the end of May.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael-Aboelseoud, Executive Assistant Manager at Steigenberger Aqua Magic, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments after your recent visit to our Resort. The feedback and comments that we receive from our guests are invaluable to us as they form part of our ongoing training and assist us in refining our services.

We are delighted to see that you already booked you second stay in Steigenberger Aqua Magic and you were very pleased and satisfied with our facilities and services and have, indeed, thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I have shared your compliments with all our staff who are very proud that their efforts and work were recognized and appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back by end of May at your Steigenberger Aqua Magic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed from 25th March to 1st April..

We haven't got a bad word to say. From checking in to checking out everything was superb. The room was large and spacious always kept clean everyday without fail, apart from no electrical sockets near the mirrors.

The resort itself is so clean, friendly and safe. Didn't have to move the whole holiday, staff were always on top of making sure we had drinks and nibbles!! The walk to the beach was beautiful through the golf course.

Staff were really friendly, and always made you laugh and feel welcome. A big thanks to "Ramy Masoud" who works in the evening by the entertainment stage, lovely guy, always smiling, never failed to make us laugh, he looked after us everynight we were down there, always made our night enjoyable and worth while.

The food variety was excellent and again the staff in the rest Ay were fantastic. A special thanks to Mohamed Sabry who always had entertaining tricks up his sleeves who kept us entertained when we had our meals.

Overall fantastic holiday. Thoroughly enjoyed

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael-Aboelseoud, Executive Assistant Manager at Steigenberger Aqua Magic, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Steigenberger Aqua Magic to spend your holiday.

We would also like to thank you for your vital and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to delivering the best service to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Sat in the hotel lobby as i write this reviw , hotel is fantastic , lovely spacious rooms and very clean , we have a suite and its very nice all you could need , pool , gardens and toilets spotless , own branded beer and spirits very good , check in was nice and easy and was only a 20 min transfer from hurghada airport , which unlike the hotel is a complete free for all .

Now for the annoying part , if you are german or russian here , you literally do not lift a finger , nearly every single day we have eaten in the main restaraunt nobody has even been to offer us a drink , this you might think is not to much of an issue , but when the germans and russians sit at a table next to you and are waited on hand and foot by managers and waiters as soon as their bums hit the seat after a few days this becomes very annoying , there is obviously something a miss with this and am sorry to say not many english people will stand for this and would be happy to return to a hotel that seems to somewhat favor certain nationalities, this hotel could be fantastic and could have the english talking about it as one of the best hotels in hurghada , but i am afraid customer service to the british needs to be placed on a level playing field with all other nationalities !!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wae-Aboelseoud, Manager at Steigenberger Aqua Magic, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Steigenberger Aqua Magic to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest regardless the nationality.

We are delighted to see that you were generally pleased and satisfied with our facilities in terms of specious rooms, pools, garden, your branded beer and the overall cleanness of the hotel.

On the other hand your comment concerning the main restaurant is noted, highlighting that The feedback and comments that we receive from our guests are invaluable to us as they form part of our ongoing training and assist us in refining our services and stressing on being committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest regardless the nationality.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Steigenberger Aqua Magic.

Dieter Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just arrived home after spending a week at this hotel. It is a large hotel and very clean and they cater for all famlies. The priate ship is great for small children and although we had no children we seriously considered adopting one so we could go on this. The hotel has a very large pool area and there are plenty of sunbeds so no need to reserve any. I especially liked the lazy river and the water slides which were quite thrilling.

The hotel had a beautiful par 3 9 hole golf course which was free to use you just had to either take your own golf balls (which we did) or purchase them from the clubhouse.

The rooms were large and spacious and the bathroom was also large and I loved the shower area it was like a wet room.

The hotel is near the airport but I and honestly say that we did not seem to hear any aircraft noice. Unfortunately there is work still being done around the hotel and major building work was being undertaken on the sister hotel which we had a good view of from the main pool area.

The food was really good in the main restaraunt with no complaints except that there was a limited choice of salad. The only reason I did not give the hotel 5 stars is the lack of a la carte restaraunts. There is the skylight restaraunt and the food was really exceptional and the staff wonderful but you could only book this twice. There was also a restarant near the beach which we did not use and that is it. I couple more a la carte restaraunts and it would have been perfect (expect for the building work).

I would like to make a special mention to all the staff who were so friendly and made you feel so welcome they really made our holiday special. Would I return maybe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week stay and wanted to give this brand new hotel an honest review.
Close to the airport but no real noise from aircraft and the distance means you are only transferring for about 20 mins.
On arrival at the hotel we were treated to a lovely welcome by the manager and were checked in by staff while we all enjoyed a welcome drink.We were upgraded as it was my birthday,we were given a family room with 2 rooms but that's we're the room situation ended.We were a party of 3 but the room had know bedding for 2 of us,only 2 dressing gowns,slippers,towels,mugs,glasses,water etc,took 3 requests for pillow and duvets before we could sleep!The cleaning was awful,filthy grout,hairs on the floor,bird mess on the balcony,bit of a worry when it's only 3 months old.No mirrors over the dressing tables meant hassle,and the decor is sparse,main bed was comfy so long as you don't mind the Mosquitos.
Outside is lovely (except the flies)but lacks showers and toilets,loads of sun ends and parasols,the adult pool is gorgeous,the beach is gritty and small so I think it will be an "early towel" situation when the hotel fills up.
The food,I am so fussy but have to say the food was fine,I agree that maybe the various stations could be more defined.I didn't fine the staff here particularly good except Hossam Hussan,what a star he was,I doubt they will cope when it gets going!
By far the worse thing about this hotel is the lack of evening entertainment,drinks are shocking,I think they should consider allocating each quest a limited branded quota,their local stuff must have a value and you can drink it free 24 hours a day so 6 free branded drinks would surely not hurt.
All in all it was a good hotel but will be huge when finished and somewhere I would avoid unless rock bottom price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank del21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel,I was there 11/3/14 until 25/3/14, the food, the staff (who were always polite) a special thanks to Danielle of guest relations, the rooms were very clean and large, our room no was 4228,and as for animation Miki and Oxanne were superb the best ever.from the kids restaurant,to the sky bar and restaurant,and the beach bar and restaurant,fantastic,and not forgetting Amera and mr Amir for fantastic service, once again this place is amazing, I'm booking again for September, I've been going to Egypt for 22years and this hotel is at the top of the tree, well done and once again thanks,

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#36 of 222 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
4.3 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
13.0 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#10 of 222 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Aqua Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Aqua Magic

Property: Steigenberger Aqua Magic
Address: Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Aqua Magic 5*
Number of rooms: 723
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Aqua Magic is the Red Sea's best luxury family resort addition with comfortable rooms ideal for families guaranteeing privacy for both, parents and children, a generous pool landscape and its own certified aqua park suitable for children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Steigenberger Aqua Magic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Club Hotel Hurghada
Steigenberger Al Dau Hotel
Steigenberger Al Dau Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing