We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good great holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #62 of 223 Hotels in Hurghada
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely hotel good food,very clean,would go back tomorrow,staff wonderful.enjoyed every part of our stay in Egypt . Thanks see you again.2014. Thanks for our special time with Sam the manager . Go on the boat trip to orange island and see what paradise is like.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeancook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    339
    132
    82
    95
See reviews for
576
309
64
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Facilities are great. Food was good, staff is very nice, but they seem to try to save money at this hotel. Shower gel is not provided unless we asked. Power shut off every morning for few hours. Heated pool was not heated though it was a little cold.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nagwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tychy, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Sonesta is really a wonderful place, I recommend the most, leisure, fun, great food, entertainment for children and adults, lead animator Karim great aqua gym, you will see that it gets to the heart, is really great, brilliant DJ Cola, overall I would recommend this hotel, only Sonesta! Weronika : )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weronika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismailia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

A perfect hotel with most stupid staff !!!! I had a nice time in the perfect hotel infrastructure , but when deal with hotel staff I feel sick, they are awful, very nice beach and wonderful views ,, quite and perfect for relax, but my advise do not deal with staff there hehehehe

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingtut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I went to sonesta last month and I sat 4 nights 5 days. First day I didn't find my reservation but I took a bungalow instead which was a good beginning. Second day was the worst in my stay. There were alot of people who come in trips together and they go swimming wearing weird clothing!!! Also the karnak restaurant is perfect in breakfast but in lunch and dinner it's awful !!
Third day was the same :/
but fourth day was the perfect day. The reception was very clean and the candles gave nice look
the food was very good...al the problem was those weird people who came !!
over all I really had spent a wonderful time and I wanna to go there again :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

GENERAL:
The hotel is near to the Sahl Hasheesh and 12 km from the HRG Airport.
In Sonesta are 360 rooms (main building and bungalows).Some bungalows in the garden and near to the beach and far away from the main restaurant. Shopping center, Clinic, Massage, Sport center and more restaurants in the hotel and the beach too.

LOCATION:
Hurghada is not too far away from the hotel. Outside from the hotel the long bazzar, pharmacy and lot of shopping center. Near to the Dana Beach hotel, there are a fix prices shopping center (the Cleopatra), this is good with good prices. The beach is far away from the main building, but each morning very good the long walking. If you are lazy, you able call a golf-car (call on the reception) and this car take you to the beach. The shopping center in the hotel is a little expensive. If you go out from the hotel (the another side), you can buy cheaper.

SERVICE:
The staff is surly and unfriendly. Very few people happy and kind and helpful. The bar does not serve. The cappuccino, imported drinks, fresh orange juice pay. The cleaners are very nice and helpful. The senior staff are not talking with the tourist. There are many staff keep the hand (they expect a bakshish). The staff speaks English, German and Russian. I'm sorry, because a lot of tourists do not go back to this hotel. Terrible lot of the Russians, who just drink and not behave.

The rooms are oldest, but clean every day. There are a clinic and massage in the hotel.

GASTRONOMY:
Three a'la carte restaurant in the hotel and 2 other restaurant and one main restaurant. The a'la carte restaurants (Valentino's - Italy, Mathryoska - Russian, Chinese - Chinain). I do not recommend!

The food is good in the Mathryoska, but the more restaurant is terrible. The decorations is nice, but the food is terrible, same then to the main restaurant. The next restaurants the Isis, there are a little Egyptian food and gyros and fresh fried bread. The last restaurant on the beach, the Sea Breeze. There are fish and seafood meal.
The meal on the main restaurant is very poor and not changed. Each day is same. The beef and the chicken is not cooked (raw and hard food). The cakes are dry. The soups are good sometimes. The salads are always the same. The soft drinks are very sweet or tasteless as the food. The pans are dirty, the dirty plates and glasses.

If you run something in the restaurant, you have to wait a long time for the next dose and may not receive the same.

SPORT:
The animation is very weak. The pool is not too big, but nice and not too clean. The sunbeds are old. The bar is near to the pool, but the stone around the pool leads to a very slippery.

ROOM:
We got the big junior site room. This was a wonderful big room and clean. The bathroom with bidet, hairdryer and tub. The airconditioner working good. The furniture is very old, but this was not problem. The room with balcony, kettle, telephone, safe (the key on the reception), minibar and nescafe, sugar.

Room Tip: Working in the hotel an internet corner (9 $ is 60 minutes), a taxi-service and the safari-travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

On arriving at Sonesta Pharoh Beach...I was greeted by very pleasant staff.

We were upgraded to a Bungalow by the beach which was gratefully accepted as the hotel looked very full and busy.

All the staff were pleasant and attentive, although they seemed very busy with a very full hotel.

The food was of a very poor standard and very little variety, Chinese restaurant was the best meal of the week!

The entertainment was not to my taste and as my friend and I were the only English in the hotel it was not a surprise

I believe the staff were doing their best to turn this hotel into a high end holiday hotel they have a lot of work to do but with the efforts of the team I am sure they will ....

Room Tip: Check with travel agent to ensure that this hotel is being sold to English
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Rosemary b

Thank you for your review , we are always doing our best to upgrade our services and meet our guests requirements , we hope we can host you soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.2 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#67 of 223 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#48 of 223 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Titanic Palace
Titanic Palace
#105 of 223 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#47 of 223 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Desert Rose Resort
The Desert Rose Resort
#21 of 223 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing