We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has a very special atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #61 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This hotel has a very special atmosphere”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very nice holiday! I was in this hotel already twice. I´we been about 7 times in Egypt before, but never been twice in same hotel. Sonesta Pharaoh was this kind of hotel, where I come back and I think that will go back even the third time. This hotel has a very special aura. Really nice stuff - they are very careing, friendly and helpful. They speak lot of languages. This hotel has a very nice big rooms, garden and big beacharea. There are lots of different restaurants, which all are for free if you have ALL INC services. The most I liked in this hotel Yoga at the beach every morning. I like dancing. Every day in daytime at the beach oriental and latino dances. If you like to dance, then I recommend this hotel, because their animation team has professional dancer, every everning live music outside, in wintertime inside. Animation team is absolutely gorgeous - friendly, they talk with everyone, play with childrens. This hotel has even professional dance team - I´ve never seen in other Egyptian hotels such kind of show every everning. Always different, professional enyoble shows - Michael Jackson nights, hip - hop nights and etc. I recommend this hotel especially for younger people, I like it very much.

Room Tip: all room is clean and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear maher m

We are happy you liked our entertainment team and the dancers as well as the variety in our all inclusive formula , that is always our pleasure to have repeated guests . Thank you for sharing your comments with other and hope to host you for a third time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    352
    133
    86
    95
See reviews for
608
323
72
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

An amazing hotel! Overall cleanliness and friendly staff. Our room was very big, clean and we had a cool view on the garden and sea. We had an amazing week there also thanks to the animation team in the hotel. Incredible guys!!! I would recomand this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a good quality time in the most amazing country! Thanks
Al omda

Room Tip: all the room is so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hakime a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear hakime a,

Thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel for other travelers , we really appreciate you took the time in sharing your good experience at our resort with others .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

not good at all.food is terrible .service is bad.i wonder is sonesta supervise that resort? the answer was no. they just took their money and let the administration make the resort a bad reputated sonesta

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sameh_fahmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is anything but a 5* hotel. It has a huge territory, the beach and numbers are OK. The service is so-so and the stuff is pretty importunate. You probably will not enjoy lying on the beach because of the ppl offering you massage, water melons, scuba diving and all that stuff. Be aware of a possible fraud when buying things in the shop near the reception desk: when you ask them to convert dollars to local pounds, they may manipulate the rate. The taxi service of the hotel has the rates that exceed a lot the normal price. The worst thing about this hotel is food. It is gross in ALL the restaurants of the hotel. If you do care about what you eat, look for another place to stay in Hurghada. Also, mind that this place has no free wifi in the rooms or anywhere else. You have to pay for it ($12 for 24 hours) and it is not an easy thing to find a place where it does work. Conclusion: I would not recommend this hotel. At the same price, you can find a way better place in Hurghada to spend your vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n_safronov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear n_safronov

Thank you for your review, I apologize for any inconvenience related to the food , maybe you did not try the other restaurants in our resort as we have a big variety of cuisine . I hope you give us another chance to experience our new restaurants and have a better feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

worst Vacation at all, the food were very bad and no variety I could not find food tools easily. the air condition was very bad in the room, the all staf (reception, resturant, animation, pool , beach) were unfriendly non Smiley all the time. and the room and bathroom were very bad and non hygiene

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhmedMostafa121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear AhmedMostafa121

Thank you for getting back to us with this review , we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay , I will copy the management with all your complains , just wanted to ask if you asked to change your room when you found the A/C not working or not .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Positives:
Great location
Big rooms
Big pool
Long beach

Negatives:
The front desk guys are not welcoming and not smiling at all
There is no variety in the food, very little choices
The animation team is using many sexual intimations in the night show

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear John M

Thank you for both your positive and negative feedback , I will make sure that i report the animation team and the food issue to the management . Sorry for any inconvenience and hope to see you soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrived on the 1st April, we were not welcomed, we had booked a sea view room which if you hung over the balcony and craned your neck to the left you could just about see the sea in the distance. This is not the hotel for British people. The other holiday makers were mainly Russian and German and the hotel catered for their needs, the staff were unhelpful. The tennis courts were under construction and not useable, the food was at best slop, there were not enough food stations, limited choice and not nice.

This hotel is at best a 3 star resort!

It was so bad we paid another £300 to be moved to another hotel on the second day.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Karen M

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, whether it is positive or negative , it is by reading your reviews that we try to correct our mistakes , sorry for you experience and be sure we will do our best to upgrade our service , food and accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
Titanic Palace
Titanic Palace
#102 of 221 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#37 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#52 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#27 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing