We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #49 of 208 Hotels in Hurghada
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Positives:
Great location
Big rooms
Big pool
Long beach

Negatives:
The front desk guys are not welcoming and not smiling at all
There is no variety in the food, very little choices
The animation team is using many sexual intimations in the night show

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear John M

Thank you for both your positive and negative feedback , I will make sure that i report the animation team and the food issue to the management . Sorry for any inconvenience and hope to see you soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    330
    125
    79
    90
See reviews for
546
300
60
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrived on the 1st April, we were not welcomed, we had booked a sea view room which if you hung over the balcony and craned your neck to the left you could just about see the sea in the distance. This is not the hotel for British people. The other holiday makers were mainly Russian and German and the hotel catered for their needs, the staff were unhelpful. The tennis courts were under construction and not useable, the food was at best slop, there were not enough food stations, limited choice and not nice.

This hotel is at best a 3 star resort!

It was so bad we paid another £300 to be moved to another hotel on the second day.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Karen M

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, whether it is positive or negative , it is by reading your reviews that we try to correct our mistakes , sorry for you experience and be sure we will do our best to upgrade our service , food and accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrived at Sonesta and first impressions were good - on check in we found the reception staff rather unhelpful but just assumed it was because they were busy. Our room in the grounds was more than adequate albeit it had no view! The food was awful - it was like a canteen style more than 5 * and this is where we first came across the many Russians - they were rude, pushed in, and filled their plates (and bags!) with so much food it was disgusting! The hotel catered for the Russians and the staff have obviously picked up on their ways as they came across as very rude and unhelpful! At breakfast there was limited selection not enough plates/cups (sometimes having to wait 5-10 minutes) and the tables were often left uncleared. They were obviously very short staffed - and the hotel wasn't full? On a positive the pool area was beautiful if you could find a sun bed that didn't have bird droppings all over it - these were not cleaned and many were ripped. The grounds were very pretty. At one point we even travelled back to siva grand to try and book into there instead but couldn't afford the price! It's a good thing the weather was beautiful which helped enormously.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvetteH622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
YvetteH622

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time at the resort , I will report your comments to the management and specially the short of staff issue and I am sure if you give us another chance you will experience the difference next time

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Sonesta Pharaoh hotel. Yes, there was a lot of Russians, but I found them well mannered. Maybe it was because the hotel was not crowded! There was plenty of chairs round the pool and on the beach. We had a beautiful room overlooking the gardens, which were tended to daily. I enjoyed the food and especially the cakes! There was an 'all you can eat' fish restaurant on the beach with an evening entrainment Egyptian style! We paid £10 as we were all inclusive guests and it was worth every penny! I've never seen so much fish!
All in all I would defiantly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I don't know why, but we had a very large room with a king bed and two queen beds and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthWestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel has beautiful grounds and the bungalow rooms are very simple and pleasant. The hotel always seems clean and tidy with very polite and friendly staff. Fabulous pool with a great, spacious pool area.

However, some less positive things left a feeling of the hotel and its guests being slightly uncared for:
- being half board, there were nowhere for us to have lunch in a restaurant or bar
- asking for a repair to a shower on Sunday which still wasn't fixed by Friday
- no pool towels one day and bird droppings on the back of many of the loungers
- toiletries not being restocked in our bathroom in the week
- half the tiles across the gardens being broken
- every meal time having to wait for glasses and cups and no drinks service being offered .

If these sort of things could be sorted out it would have made a nice stay a really good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Germany, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice holiday ! Reception staff very good especially hussein gr . I traveled with my sister in february for a one week stay.We stayed in a garden bungalow and it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.Breakfast was really good with plenty of variety and everything freshly cooked.
i well come to the hotel soon
al omda

Room Tip: All room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmohamed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have visited Egypt with my family this year and i can say we were very luchy to have chosen Sonesta Pharaoh. The room we received was very big and luminous , with garden view, and also we could see the sea from our window.
The beach is very clean and large, and the corals are amazing. The water temperature in January was pleasant enough to dive. There are plenty of sun beds and you get towels that you can change as often as you want.
The staff ... incredible friendly! The animation team tempted us with all kind of fun activities like dance lessons, aerobics, darts and WOW shows every evening! They made our holiday even better, they made is perfect!

I hope to return here soon, because it was a perfect holiday!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loonnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
5.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,769 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
3.4 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#11 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#53 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing