We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent beachholidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #61 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent beachholidays”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was there with my friend. We were both 20 years old.
The beach looks very nice. The sea is clear and nice.
The buffet for eating is very good.
The room was always cleaned and looked very nice.
And the animationteam is the best i have ever seen. They are very nice & cool.
I will go there for my next holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    346
    133
    86
    95
See reviews for
593
318
68
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort is an amazing hotel! The best hotel I have ever been to! I have been here many times and plan to go again! This hotel is absolutely beautiful and very clean, the rooms are all spacious and the food in the hotel is great there is a lot of choice to cater to everyones needs! The beach view is beautiful! All the staff are friendly! The best thing about this hotel is the animation team! The animation team are the absolute best Karim, Essam and Sheeko! They are all so friendly and trully make your time in the hotel unforgettable! They keep all the guests entertained from children, adults and the elderly, there are a wide range of activities throughout the day so that everybody can enjoy such as aqua gym, stretching, yoga, volleyball, shooting and many more! In the evenings the hotel comes alive! After dinner around 10 in the evening the animation have a dance show, every night a different theme they are amazing dancers and its an inspiration to watch them! They always involve the guests as much as possible so sometimes you may even be in the show yourself! This hotel is amazing and im sure if you come here you will have a great holiday one that is unforgettable and full of beautiful memories! You will meet some lifetime friends and Sonesta will feel like a second home! All I can say is PARADISE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gagabjedov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear gagabjedov

Its is always a great pleasure to read such a nice and positive review , thank you for sharing it with other readers and hope to have you as a regular guest at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in April 2010 after having to hastily change hotels following the volcanic erruption in Iceland.

Initials thoughts on the hotel weren't great. Having requested and paid extra for a sea view room we were somewhat surrpised and disaapointed when our room was a 10minute walk from reception in the opposite direction on the beach.

Upon reaching our room (which was clean and comfortable) we were further disappointed to find out we had been allocated a "garden view" - unfortunately for us just beyond the small garden we overlooked was an enormous building site where a new hotel was being built next door.

We deicdided to register our concern with the main reception as we had expected a sea view room - only to be told there were no sea view rooms available for 2 days and if we wanted one there would be an additional charge of £50 per night!! We opted to pass!

We decided to head to the restaurant to sample the buffet. It soon became aapparent that the majority of the other guest were russian and much of the food was prepared with this in mind. LAlso worth noting is that most (not all) Russinas do not believe in queuing and lack even basic manners. They will push, lean, reach, shout and I even witnessed food being handled and put back after sampling.

The best feature of this hotel was definatelt the beach area. Whilst it was a fair distance (20minute walk) from our room it was worth the journey for the view alone. Bright blue sea, white sands, tropical plants, and ugly Russian men in thongs (OK better to ignore the last view!)

A few final notes of interest....... the staff for the most part were reasonably friendly - the one glaring exception was the waiter who laughed after he had managed to spill a glass of coke over my wife's dress. Thankfully the main reception apologised and arranged for the item to be dry cleaned at no cost.

There are many excellent available - I highly recomment the submarine trip, an overnight trip to Luxor (this was particularly fantastic)

The trips that we didnt enjoy quite so much were a trip to a "deserted" island. The island would be destrted asaide from the 1000 odd people they ship in each and every day! The one good thing about this trip was seeing wild dolphins swimming alongside our boat on the return trip.

I aalso wouldnt recommend the trip to Old Hurghada. You will be recognised as a tourist immediately and pestered to the extent that you won't even bother to enter shops as crowds of people start to gather around you!. We found a hotel to seek cover in until our return bus arrived and then we ran the guantlet again just pretending we didnt speak english, french, german, russian or any other language that was thrown at us!

The new tourist friendly past of Hurghada are better with shops and brand restaurants (such as Hard Rock cafe) though you will still be approached and pestered by shop owners

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydecay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear jaydecay,

Thank you for taking the time to write this long detailed review , it is really beneficial for us to know the small details that are bothering our guests as this is the only way for improvement , we forwarded your comments to the general manager and be sure the necessary action will be taken. I hope you will notice a difference next time you visit our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Every time I find new friends here. All the staff are very friendly! Mostly the animator team who do everything for us to enjoy the holiday. I recommend for young people and families too. If you want a good holiday let's visit Sonesta! You will not regret it

Room Tip: All rooms is Exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear cloud f;

Thank you for your review we are happy you liked our animation team and hotel and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for 7 night with my parents, my boyfriend, and my brother and his girlfriend.
First impressions of the area in Hurghada was that all the hotels have grand entrances and try to be visually impressive. Please do not book your holiday on this basis, we have heard that some of the most impressive looking hotels in this area have some of the worst service. Sonesta however was a very good hotel.
The front entrance was beautiful and the main lobby had plenty of Egyptian paintings on the walls which would be great and fun for kids. The front desk were friendly and once even helped me fix my shoe. If you are expecting to go to another country and have them treat you like kings (as some other reviews appear to expect) then you are mistaken. If you are polite, they will be polite back. if you are rude then it is your holiday that you are sacrificing.
The one thing i have learnt from going on many all inclusive cheap holidays is that YOU MUST TIP. After being poorly treated in Tunisia for not tipping (my being a student) i would suggest you bring enough money to tip, and tip often because then the service is 5*, and you will also make friends with the staff who are lovely people (and do not get paid enough in my opinion).
On arrival we were upgraded to the little villas, one each per couple! they were lovely, clean and spacious and i would recommend booking these. We were without shower gel and shampoo for 2 days but when i called they came and brought masses of handfuls of them and it was very sweet - they really try to correct any mistakes so don't be afraid to let them know.
The food in this hotel varies immensely. The main buffet food is very very disgusting, and i mean inedible. This is not their fault (they cater for the Russian guests who will quite frankly eat anything). BUT you are in luck because Sonesta has great a la carte restaurants and i would suggest booking each one for as many nights as you can. The best a la carte is the ISIS, which when you book is called the oriental restaurant. This is NOT Chinese food, it is traditional Egyptian food and is delicious! Fresh lamb Kofte, fresh chicken doner kebab (not the fatty kind we have in England), the freshest Egyptian pitta bread (please tip the bread lady, she works so hard!).
The second best restaurant is the chinese. I personally hate Chinese food but this was fine dining and delicious. The italian was ok, but don't order anything creamy because their dairy is not the same, order something tomato-based and it tastes lovely. I did not manage to go to the sea breeze restaurant so i cannot comment on that.
There is one person i would like to mention and we called him MAGIC MOOSE. he is part of the animation team and if you go along with him to the daily activities he will make you laugh and have a good time. He is the nightclub DJ also and does a good job - do him a favour and dance because it's so boring for him being a DJ with an empty dance floor!

Regarding the town - HAGGLE!!! do not take their starting price for law it is total rubbish. Go for 30% of what they ask and wiggle your way up a little bit from there. If you are buying leather make sure you get them to burn it with a lighter to prove it is real. Also, be nice to them because it helps to get the price down. If they won't budge then start to walk away and they might change their mind, if not, there are hundreds of shops like it around!

BEWARE: if you wear rings and someone shakes your hand after making a deal in town, just double check they are still there! A man in a shop slipped mine off during an oddly long hand shake, so just be careful.
The beach is not sandy and is rough but the sea is HEAVENLY. please please please if anything on your holiday you MUST snorkel - it is beautiful. And if you have the money for it, go on the introductory dive (haggle), it is amazing and you get a nice lunch on the boat too.
If you are an attractive young woman, please for your own sakes cover up a little if you go into town. If you don't you will end up feeling a little uncomfortable!
Overall, the hotel was pleasant but not 5*, personally it should be a 3-4*. But, a holiday is what you make it, you have booked it so just kick back, relax and have fun! If you are looking for English food, English people and an English atmosphere my advice is to just stay in England because you are on holiday to eat Egyptian food, not to complain about there being no chips!
If you want an Egyptian-english experience there is a Mcdonalds in the senzo mall that you can get a taxi or bus to.

NOTE: if you love seafood, find a 'Starfish' restaurant because they have cheap cheap cheap seafood and i had a huge fresh lobster for about £10.
I had a great holiday and i love Egypt.

Room Tip: Try for the villas as they are closer to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie123303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Melanie123303,

I am very happy reading such a nice and long review , we are very faltered you really spend all this time in observing the resort and writing each detail about the rooms , the service and the food , it is a great help for other readers who want to know details about the resort . Thank you again and have our warm greetings from Hurghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I went with family and spent 3 nights all inclusive there from 25th of august. We checked in smoothly and it didnt take much time to do so. We needed an extra bed in the kids room and requested it with our check in, we had to call the front office like 3 times to get it as the kids needed to rest from the trip and finally after calling the guest relations after 2 hours from our check in we got the bed. The rooms were clean and very good furnished. The hotel grounds landscape and the internal decorations were really excellently done. The pools area was a real pleasure to sit within specially with the green landscape background and its barmen were hardworking. Our kids enjoyed long hours of swimming and playing in the pools area. The meals in the main restaurant were very good and varied but still they almost serviced the same menu in our 4 days stay, the staff also there were helpfull and pro's in what they do. The entertainment during the night was a reall cool to attend but was boring in one show though. The beach was a restfull place to sunbath with a pleasant view of the sea and the mountains and the hotel landscape in the background and though we had to walk into the sea at the tide but still the red sea water is the best to swim and Snorkel and we enjoyed it. I must say also that house keeping did a very good effort in cleaning the rooms everyday. In all we enjoyed our stay over there and would repeat the experience next year for a longer period of stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hoss_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Hoss_2012

Thank you for this very detailed review , its our pleasure to host you and your family again and we will always make sure that you enjoy your time and have a nice vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

its such an amazing hotel i really loved it ..... i am from america and it was the best vacation of my life when i was at the hotel ... very clean rooms .... very tasty and yummy food its so amazingly awesome ... and the general manager was such a nice and amazing guy hes funny and helpful keep up the amazing work and thank you for making my vacation such a wonderful one i really loved it there cant wait until i go back there this summer :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadin123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Nadin123_12,

Thank you for your nice review , it is always a pleasure to hear our guest enjoy their stay and our service , we hope to have you as a regular guest at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
Titanic Palace
Titanic Palace
#98 of 221 in Hurghada
670 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 221 in Hurghada
2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#50 of 221 in Hurghada
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#29 of 221 in Hurghada
3,449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing