We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice holidays”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A break away from Cairo for 10 days in June.
Staff are very polite. Hotel is clean. Restaurants are ok: the portions at the fish restaurant are a real disappointment (extremely tiny and I am a small eater!!), the main restaurant is oriented quantity instead of quality and taste. The Thai restaurant remains the best option.
Despite few disappointments, we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked the hotel and the staff. We regret to know you were not happy with the restaurants. Rest assured your comments have been taken seriously and the issues have been discussed with the F&B department to take the necessary steps in regaining the standards in order to meet our guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a further visit.
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,974
    856
    248
    105
    65
See reviews for
1,103
1,235
163
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was so luxurious , every thing was pretty good , the food was really delightful and the rooms are big even the cheapest room was so big and the dressing room was in the bathroom so the bathroom was really really big . There a lot of good activities you can do in the hotel like riding bikes , scuba diving , parasail and the boat rentals . The staff was really good and friendly . And some nights after the dinner they make an oriental night . So the hotel was awesome and I really recommend it for you .

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ziad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, April 24, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were here in summer 2013. It's a beautiful hotel, good services, good food...
The animation-team is really great! Such fine people! We laughed a lot with them and had many talks. Our children(19, 17 and 13 years old) played beach-volley , petanque and waterpolo with them almost every day!
For the hotel just one remark; a disco in the hotel would be nice for the people who do'nt like to go down town to party.
The all-inclusive formule is ok, but it's a pitty that you have to pay for the fish-restaurant. And also that the alcoholic drinks changed into local alcoholic drinks in stead of international alcoholic drinks as it was in march 2011.
In the evening there are some shows, but only 3 in a week, that should be every evening!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, April 24, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was a wonderful Holiday in mövenpick resort. We enjoyed 8 days in el guona. The Animation Team is great . we always had fun with them. Tito and buddy are good guys and they did their work excellent.

We would like to come again :)

Peace janina&janina

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germangirlsinholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, April 24, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having read previous reviews regarding what the Movenpick Resort was like, we found this hotel to be absolutely fantastic. My wife and I have holidayed in Egypt for the last seven years and this was by far the best of all. We asked for a sea view room in cluster 7 and that is exactly what we got. The view from our room was spectacular, waking up in the morning and drawing back the curtains we could sit in bed, enjoying a cup of tea, looking out over the sea.
The complex is vast and you do have to walk a lot to get around but this exercise was really good, especially after an enourmous dinner. Apart from the three swimming pools, there are lagoons which you can swim in as well. The one thing that I did find amazing was that we never had to go down early in the morning to reserve a pool side bed. In fact, every day we would go to one of the pools at approx 8.30am and often we would be the first there.
At times, the weather can be rather windy, which is great for all of the kite surfers, but still lovely and hot.
If any one complains that there is insufficient variety of foods, then there must be something wrong with them. Everyday, there was a different theme for the food in the main restaurant and a huge choice. The desserts were to die for and the chefs would go out of their way to look after you, if you wanted something different.
The staff in the restauarnts and around the pools were always friendly, helpful and courteous, especially as this is ramandan. Hany, at the Oasis pool was fantastic, and the fish and chips were to die for. If you go, keep an eye out for Abdulah in the main restaurant as his sense of humour is so dry, but really funny.
We went all inclusive, which meant we had buffet breakfast in the main restaurant, what a choice. Then for lunch we could order a 3 course a la carte lunch at one of the pool restaurants and in the evening we had a choice of 4 restaurants. All drinks were included and Movenpick ice creams - beautiful.
As for all of the unrest in Egypt, we never experienced any problems. What we did experience was the lack of people and how quiet is was. One of the shops we went into in downtown El Gouna, told us that he had had no customers for 3 days.
If you want a fantastic holiday and to be treated like a king in Paradise, this is the place to go and I will definately be going there again next year.

Room Tip: Cluster 7 rooms have amazing lagoon and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrustyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, April 24, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

just come back july 2013 never again would i go to this supose to be 5 star hotel more like 3 star.i saved all year to take my husband and son for his 16th birthday and we never even got any proper welcome infact yo might as well say we never excisted out their.problems the minute we enterd the hotel staff rude never properly understand you intact trying to communicate was so very hard but so easy when came to money.they had put three double beds in one same room with out any privacy for me and husband they all might share a room for their whole famaily but in england rules you dont sharea bedroom with 16 yr old son so we tried to fight the case with the so called english rep holly who is realy swedish and could tell she had no time for us and was all for money and so rude ignorant no help what so ever. the hotel was catterd for their local egyptians who then have the nerves to look a us with disrespect because we like to wear bathers to sun bathe in. and staring very rude children the the animation well their was only a couple who had spoke to us adam and olga was the best two out the whole lot the rest never even acknowledge us. infact we only slept at the hotel we spent more time with people we had met before.the food is the same everything is oil oil oil even rice is made with oil so if you into your health and fitness you will def be on the toilet for few days and sick with it the rooms was no perfect no way on earth this was a 5 star and to say how much i paid for this was like a fake lie to me so im still fighting the case.the beauty as the veiw and sea that was all BEWARE ENGLISH and ive been to elgouna plenty times but def wont be staying in hotel ever again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and for having the time to review our Hotel. We regret to know that you were not happy at all with your stay. According to your booking confirmation from your Travel Agency, you booked 1 triple room, which you were allocated. Upgrades are available according to availability upon request and against charge.
Regarding your comment about us catering for Egyptians, this is not the case and we cater for all nationalities the same.
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a fantastic holiday in Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna. We did not notice anything of the current uncertain political situation in Egypt. I had the feeling I spent a week in Paradise. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They did their utmost to make our stay as nice as possible. Breakfast and dinner was very good: Real good quality food and very friendly staff. We also liked the theme-evenings (e.g. country specific) and in particular the traditional Egypt evening. (Including live music and shows). Furthermore we spent 3 hours on The Ocean Diva, a 62 feet catamaran! This was amazing!! Snorkeling, swimming with Dolphins!! Drinks and lunch included! We absolutely recommend to go on this trip. Very nice and professional crew and a very high quality catamaran! http://www.orange-elgouna.com. What I definitely would like to mention here is the Animation Team of the Moevenpick Resort! A big bravo for this team! Such nice and friendly persons who really made the difference by means of liaising with all guests. They brought guests together, they came by for nice chats, provided us with relevant info and tips and invited us to participate in e.g. morning gym, aqua gym, beach voleybal etc. Big compliments to this energetic and friendly team and in particular a big thank you to Anastasia Ermak. She is the real El Gouna Sunshine. Best regards, C.D. Hoftijzer, the Netherlands

Room Tip: Cluster 7 is a bit remote; but excellent if you prefer a quit area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choftijzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
0.3 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing