We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel/resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks March 5-13 2013 and had a wonderful stay with very little to find fault with! We reqested a room in cluster 7 which is about as far away from reception as you can go but our was just what we wanted with fantastic lagoon and sea views and nice and quiet. We liked the long walk to breakfast and the restaurants, afterall you do need to walk some of that excess food and drink off when staying 'all inclusive'.
Room was well maintained , clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast We couldn't fault with plenty of choice both hot and cold and the staff polite and efficient. Lunch from the menu we took at the Oasis pool restaurant daily and enjoyed except the one lunch we had at the Lagoon pool which was terrible, both the food and service. Not recommened!
As we were there to celebrate a big birthday we decided on the day we would book breakfast in the Elsyadine restaurant at an extra cost of £6 per person. This was very very disapointing and
although the service was good the food standard was poor. Waiter service with No menu and NO

Room Tip: All rooms now seem to be re-furbished, some bigger than others but get what you pay for. We liked c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Owner at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and positive review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the room location you have requested in advance by email was according to your satisfaction.
Regarding the food and service at the Lagoon Pool, we apologize for this experience and your comments have been given to our DF&B and our Training Manager to correct these issues.
We appreciate your comments and have taken note regarding our new "Sunrise Breakfast" served on El Sayadin terrace overlooking the Sea which is a 3 course set menu served A la carte instead of the usual breakfast Buffet in the main restaurant, for this reason only there is an added extra charge.
Hoping to welcome you back soon for another visit at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.
With best regards,
Amanda Soundy
Executive Office Secretary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 3,555 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Second time at the Moevenpick. We stayed in April 2011. It was good then, but just seems to get better.
I emailed a preference for the area we wanted, and on reflection, can I advise anyone on a first visit , not to be influenced by people's choices, it all depends on your first experience. So, what I am trying to say is that there really there is not a "bad" area. You have busy pool areas which is the Oasis. The Spa pool area( nice) send the family off somewhere, or just disappear in to the
Spa ( Heaven), & the lovely lagoon pool & bar, which which we discovered, and loved.
The food, from breakfast buffet to any of the restaurants , cannot be faulted. The Food & Beverage Manager is a great, gregarious guy ( English), Anthony, easy to approach, the staff
love , BUT , respect him, & he does a fantastic job.
The rooms are very clean, everything you could need, and when you decide to venture out ( you must!) a Tuk Tuk s there as soon as you approach the hotel Foyer.
A few things I must say.
People talk about all the Trouble in Egypt? El Gouna is , I think, 400 miles away from the problems. Do we not sometimes have troubles & demonstrations in our Capital cities in the UK?
These people are just fighting for their rights & justice. You have no idea how hard they work, for so little..
Go & enjoy lovely ElGouna! It's fab!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean & good. You only need a request if you want quiet room , pool view etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellygirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

excellent stay in movenpick el gouna
nice kitchen, well maintained garden , rooms etc.
special thanks to the lady who made our kids so happy every evening with her tempting smile to encourage them to participate @ the mini disco? they were loving it !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spent one week in this wonderfull hotel! i got everything i needed for a perfect holiday! for breakfast and dinner you get always a wide choise of delicious food!!
fulsome praise for the animation team! they made my week at movenpick to something very special!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lani-Malu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know, that you had a perfect stay and that our facilities and services were meeting up to your expectations. With pleasure we will pass on your compliments to our Animation Team. Looking forward to welcome you soon back to El Gouna.

Best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The animation team at the hotel is the best! So funny and nice people!
It is so fun to play volley at the beach with them and the other guests. I had the best trip, and one of the funny things are that they remembered us from last year when we were there, it felt good. I just want to point out that the animation team has some good people. They are funny, talented and social, makes everyone feel welcome.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank anttohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

fantastic place to stay, all you need for a great holiday. it was quiet when we visited as tourism is struggling in egypt due to news reports but we saw no sign of anything going on and felt very safe and protected by all the people at the hotel. staff were very helpful especially the ladies on the guest relations. the men on reception were a bit glum and not as friendly. each day was a different experience as the beach and swimming areas are designed in a unique way. the restaurants also were varied, our favourite was the El Salaydin, spectacular views of the beach and wonderful menu. young adults might not like this hotel as its not near any night clubs or entertainment but for us oldies it was perfect and great for anyone with families and if you can't get around so easily as the facilities are friendly for everyone. we didn't like the beds as the mattress was hard but when we talked to the staff they were very quick to change it for a soft one.

we went on the dolphin and snorkling trip booked through the hotel, all day, lunch included and loads to see at a very reasonable price.the bedouin night was ok, good food and setting but entertainment was not very excitingthe walk into el gouna was great, we did it most days and the restaurants were marvelous too.everything we arranged through travel republic went well, the taxi picked us up on time and had no problems with the booking. thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Patricia
thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to know, that you had a great stay and that you felt safe at all times. Life in El Gouna is and has always been very peaceful and relaxing. We will certainly pass your compliments to our team members, especially the ladies from the Guest Relations Desk. Hoping to be able to welcome you back soon at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.
Best regards,
Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent a week on a quiet vacation at the Movenpick in El Gouna. The weather in late February was almost perfect and the resort was an almost perfect setting. My room was spacious , comfortable and nicely situated. The included breakfast was extensive my only suggestion is that the hotel provide real newly pressed orange juice.

I was not on a all-inclusive plan but tried most of the restaurants. Exellent food especially the seafood buffet with lobster at the seafood restaurant. The Thai restaurant was less successfull in creating the real thing. I had a good experience at the italian restaurant il Limone. Lunch at the Oasis pool was just fine. Friendly and competent service at all venues.

One downside to the resort is the very shallow water at the beaches, swimming is better experienced in pools ( some heated in February). Another alternative is joining the many outings by boat, I was pleased with Colona Divers.

Lastly I would like to compliment the reception staff for compentent friendly service and great language skills

Room Tip: Great room locations in section 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur N. O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
19.5 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,461 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.8 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: $103 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing