We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Nearby Hotels
The Captain's Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dawar El Omda(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arena Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Turtle's Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Corners Rihana Resort(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$54
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$87
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Three Corners Rihana Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Bleue El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,909)
Filter reviews
3,909 results
Traveler rating
2,474
960
287
120
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,474
960
287
120
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon pooljenya boyanimation teamthai restaurantmega funmain restauranthealth clubkids clubspecial thankssea viewshuttle busnice holidaydowntown areawater polotuk tukmain poolevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
1,655 - 1,660 of 3,909 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Second time at the Movenpick and still like it very much. Big, sprawling hotel set in lovely gardens so you can hole up here for some time in the sun without being disturbed by noisy activities or families - although we always go in January and other times might be busier. Great for a relaxed, quiet chillout.

We pay a little extra for superior rooms and get a little extra space. Best bit? The amazingly comfy beds - perfect if you're coming away to escape work stresses and catch up on sleep. Beach is nice, with very shallow waters for a long way out and a small, unexciting reef a good swim out. However, sea in January too cold to swim/snorkel in unless you have a wetsuit.

Staff friendly and helpful, room service sometimes gets things wrong, but overall, very good. On the food front, the main Palavrion buffet restaurant is good, without being out of this world. Breakfast includes lots of choice, and then themed dinners at night for 200 Egyptian pounds per person - we found this a little pricey. Recommend the El Sayadin fish restaurant - well cooked and presented fish and great sea views - again, a little pricey for Egypt, but still great value compared to UK.

Only real downside to hotel is the location/design of Palavrion and the hotel 'Gallery' bar. They're arranged around a 'piazza' type of area, overlooking a small square - and certainly don't make the most of the beautiful gardens or sea views. Both have small balconies/terraces facing the gardens/sea, but they're high walled so you can hardly see over them. What the hotel needs is a beach bar or beachfront bar... the 2 pool bars are also pretty small and feel a bit 'squeezed in' around the pools. Only the Lagoon pool is heated during winter and even then, it's still a tiny degree cold.

In terms of getting out and about, tuk-tuks run from hotel to El Gouna downtown and Abu Tig Marina for 10 Egyptian pounds for 2 people each way - 5 EPs for one person. You need to tip drivers, though, I think. Supermarkets in El Gouna downtown are good - sell cigs and one or two sell alcohol - you need to ask around to find out which. We'd recommend the authentic Egyptian restaurant downtown - called Abu Sid or something - fantastic mezze selections - and we heard good things about the Athena Greek restaurant and White Elephant Thai restaurant. At Abu Tig, meanwhile, you'll find lots of boutiques, a bookshop, a tobacco shop and a pharmacy, plus huge choice of restaurants, coffee places and bars - all very quiet in January. Top tip - the Maritim restaurant on the marina front beside the main tuk-tuk stop - fab food (steak for £10 anyone?) and great views over yachts. It's a fave with expats there, and top-notch - open all day from breakfast to dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SarahHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for rating our hotel based on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Your Mövenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

a great hotel with a very friendly stuff , great location, great food and alooooooot of facilities , spa , swimming pools heated and not heated , beauty center ,with a range of resturants of diffrent cuisines, the room is huge with a magnificent bed mattress..... simply all u wish for is there >>>>

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohamed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On looking back over recent reviews I realised that somehow or other I hadn't submitted a review after a fortnight's holiday here from 2nd-16th October!

Taken overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The room (cluster 5) was really lovely! Bright and modern with the front view over a lagoon and a side view of the sea! Kept beautifully clean by our room boy! Breakfast was satisfactory with all the usual choices, and we ate outside the hotel for all other meals........both downtown, and in the marina area! Sooooo much choice!!!!

Beaches and pools kept in sparkling clean condition, as were all public areas in the hotel. We found the reception, restaurant and all other staff to be helpful and friendly.

Our only real gripe was the extortionate cost for what was a very "iffy" Internet service! Surely when the vast majority of hotels worldwide provide free wifi these days it's more than time the Egyptian hotels did the same!!! As stated the service provided was very hit and miss, and the charge was high!!

We also prefer the position of The Sheraton with a shuttle bus service to both downtown and marina areas! Getting to the marina from Moevenpick was a palaver to say the very least! I don't do tuk-tuks I'm afraid after seeing the way most of them are driven!!!

Room Tip: Cluster 5 is very central. Not too far to anything.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanddLeighGtrMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Movenpick for 7 nights including New Year 2012/13 having spent the previous week enjoying the nile on a dahabiyya cruise (thoroughly recommended).First impressions of the hotel were good, great location,good facilities plenty of room and beautiful gardens, our room was comfortable too with colour TV and coffee making facilities.We had booked the hotel on a b & b basis except for New Year when we attended the gala dinner.
Our first breakfast was a little disappointing being a buffet style serve yourself affair.I cannot complain about the food on offer which was plentiful and good catering for all tastes but the restaurant had the atmosphere of a canteen however we got accustomed to it.
The gala dinner for new year started with a reception offering non alcoholic drinks in the hotel reception then over to a huge marquee seating in excess of 800 people on tables of 10 people with a dance floor in the middle.Yet again it was a buffet style meal with starters and sweets along 2 sides with main courses available in 2 areas between sections(It was split into 4 equal sections of approx 25 tables)The wine waiter took our order and we were underway to enjoy the evening.My wife felt unwell during the evening and we sadly left the dinner around 11pm and went to bed. At 12.30 we were awakened by the phone,it was the wine waiter saying we had not signed the bill for the wine we ordered and insisted on coming to our room then and there for a signature.I was not delighted with this situation as you can well understand. Note - wine is very expensive £32 for half bottle of average french wine.
On another occasion we had a meal in the Gallery bar only a light meal as we had already had lunch at a restaurant in the nearby marina.My wife ordered a salmon and green salad meal and when it came after 30 minutes it consisted of a bowl of lettuce 10 croutons 300mg of salmon and a dressing (£15) needless to say it was returned!
Finally when checking out because we were not on full board the bottled water,the tiny bags of crisps and sweets which were supplied daily were charged to our bill.
I have been fortunate to have travelled extensively generally in good quality hotels and never had issues like paying for water expecially when tap water in not safe to drink and sachets of tea and coffee are supplied free of charge.
Get your act together Movenpick you have all the ingredients of a great hotel don't spoil it by slipping up on the little things they can cost you far more in the long run.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our second time in Elgouna. The Moevenpick front desk service is a disaster and the rooms are filthy. The Front Desk staff are highly unprofessional, clueless about the hotel and need a course on customer service. It took us 1.5 hours to check in! .. The rest of the hotel staff were fantastic... at least they tried:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hala E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit. We regret to know, that the service provided at our Front desk was not up to your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences this may have caused. We will investigate the matter and take corrective action wherever needed. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention and hoping to be able to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews